Regent Singapore

xaverielee75

Hi Jules...

Yes...the cheena theme gt the lanterns...realli very oriental lor...

Hi Eudora...
The bridal suite that we go and view, not bad ley..the carpet ok ley...is at the 9th flr, if i not wrong...when is your big day?

lexilicious

I'm looking to ugently transfer my package with Regent on 12 October 2008 - Sunday.

Some details as follows:
~Min 35 tables, Grand Pavillion Ballroom
~$918++ per table (rate available only with DBS/POSB card payment)
~choice of 6 themes
~Food tasting for 10 (negotiated from 6)
~2 nights' stay in Bridal suite
~ 45mins set of jazz ensemble
~either 1. Free printing of invites or 2. video montage from I-Do Imaging
~Free flow beer, mixers and soft drinks
~waiver of all wine and hard liquor corkage
~70% (negotiated from 60%) invitation cards for confirmed attendance
~30% (negotiated from 20%) car passes
complimentary helper's room from 3-8pm

We've already paid a $5000 deposit with the hotel and are willing to let go for less.

Please pm me or email me at [email protected] for more details if interested

gladys_seah

hello all.....
i am new in this thread....i am also a regent bride....can anyone pls share garden theme(dreamz) and summer jazz....with me cos i am actually considering tat....xie xie..

gladys_seah

I am new in this thread.....and also a regent BTB....can anyone pls share with me pics for Dreamz theme and Summer Jazz....cos i am actually considering tat....xie xie

luvz17

jules,

any updates on the hotel price??
my coordinator told me no grp discount and their so called special rate is not special. it is the same price as what they offer to public. wonder y they call it special??

faithz17

hi gladys, which room are you having your wedding? perhaps you can ask your coordinator if you are looking at tanglin or nassim cos the usual theme schedule is for ballroom... according to the theme schedule i have there's no dreamz or summer jazz chosen for ballroom so far...

luvz17, i think you need to have like 10 rooms to get the grp discount... their so called special rate is only slightly cheaper by less than $100 kind, not like half price off kind...

gladys_seah

hihi faithz17....thanks thanks...mine is the pavilion ballroom ....
cos i have heard the dreamz theme not bad but i haven seen yet so far i only get to c the candle and the italian theme....when is yr AD?

firedove

Hi Gladys,

Actually my wedding co-ordinator said tt Regent will not be offering the Dreamz theme anymore by the end of the year, so maybe you want to check whether it'll still be available for your wedding.

Anw, if you want to see the photos of the themes, I've put them up at:
http://picasaweb.google.com/ruth.khan/RegentThemes

All photos are from Regent. I've put in little comments of what I think of them, but u can ignore them as those are just a summary of opinions tt me and my friends had of the themes, for my personal use in choosing the themes.

luvz17

faithz17, did you ask for more rooms? the price diff is only $5 loh..that's why I am so pissed when they claim it to be special rate

faithz17

luvz17 are you the one with more than 20 rooms required? perhaps you can ask for the group rate rather than the wedding guest rate...

if you are really keen in the Dreamz theme, even if your wedding is next year, since they showed you that theme when you signed up, you can still request for it... but it might not be so suitable for ballroom which is prob why they are phasing it out...

luvz17

no no..i need 5 rms, at this moment. Yet to get confirmation fm my guests. I thought if it is really that special , thn i can get my overseas guests to stay there. Now..i gotta think twice if I should invite them.

After gng through ryck's photos of themes, i realised regent theme like nt very attractive hoh... which theme do you all choose? Btw, thanks to ryck for putting the photos for us to view. definitely gd reference..

firedove

You're welcome! I didn't take the photos personally anw. My Regent co-ord sent them to me.

Luvx17, actually I felt like you when I 1st saw the pix -- most themes not v inspiring. I'm hoping tt maybe it's cos they didn't hire a professional photographer. The L'Amour theme was a professional photographer, and can tell the difference. I showed the pix to some friends, who all agreed tt Chinois and L'Amour seem the nicest. I think the main problem's the ugly stage curtains, n both Chinois and L'Amour cover them.

I'm probably going for L'Amour and top up w church flowers. Was considering adding half the La Dolce Vita gazebo, but when I went down to visit the ballroom again, realised actually it's not v big. Too many things on the aisle may look v cluttered.

Also a bit disappointed tt they can't provide show plates for normal guests. Think the white crockery looks a bit cheap. But I guess we're not exactly paying Shangri-La or Ritz Carlton prices either
Gonna ask for the Western cutlery setting together w the Chinese though. I went for a wedding dinner last night (not Regent) tt served unshelled prawns. It was impossible w just a pair of chopsticks! And some dishes like chicken, they didn't cut into small enough pieces, so it was a bit clumsy w the chopsticks.

cookiefleur

Thanks for putting up the photos Firedove! Very useful!! =)

Btw, anyone has photos of the bridal suite? When I signed my package that day, they were running full house, so didn't get to see it... now I'm abit worried especially with Eudora's comments... =(

firedove

Np cookiefleur! For pix, you can refer to Cloudz7's post at
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/599814.html
Look for post 282 by her. She has links to an album tt shows some pix of the bridal suite.

I did some of my PS shots in a bridal suite at Regent on the 11th floor, but can't really see the room fr my photos. If u go to http://www.regenthotels.com/hotels/risin/rooms and click to enlarge the pic w the housekeeping lady in it (lower pic), tt's exactly how the room looked like. It's quite ok lah -- v spacious. But as cloudz7 says in her album, must lower ur expectations if u've ever seen the rooms at Ritz -- I helped out at several events there before, and their helpers' rooms, sorry to say, looked better than Regent's bridal suite!

cookiefleur

Wow, thanks for the links firedove! =D

The room looks pretty nice from the Regent website... so was it worth it to take PS in the suite???

Btw, how to look for post 282 in cloudz multiply??!

firedove

Oh sorry, in her multiply it's album 39. If u go to the 1st link in my post above, scroll to the bottom of the pg, the 3rd last post has a link to it (Regent wedding night). I don't really want to copy n paste the link cos it's her post, so not quite right. Hope u understand. Glad u like the room. But maybe it's nicer cos it's on the club floor (11th floor). Maybe u can request for a suite on tt floor.

In the end, I only selected one photo fr the suite shots cos I liked other photos better. But the room's v useful to touchup makeup, do gown chg, let everybody rest a bit between venues, and put down ur stuff while u shoot in the hotel. The nicest photos of Regent during our PS were the bar n the lobby lounge near the bookshelves (I posted a shot of it here http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/3674.html?1212461891).

firedove

Thks cookiefleur! Yup he's in the navy. How'd u know? Is ur htb in the military too?

Btw, does anyone know of any cheap printer for inserts? Printed too few inserts and now regent says to print another 100 more will cost me $100
I did 50 xtra already to begin with. Didn't realise I'd need so many more. Parents still think it's only polite to send cards to pple whether or not they're coming.

cookiefleur

Hey firedove, the white pants gave it away... only Navy uses white pants. =) I used to be in Airforce, but not uniform personnel lar... heehee...

Not sure about a cheap printer... your package didn't come with the complimentary printing option?? btw, which invite did you choose?

firedove

So cool! Lady in in the air force. There's this really cool PS shot by Tri-angles (Tristen Yeo) of a couple in flight uniform nxt to an aeroplane tt I really like. Maybe you cld borrow uniforms fr ur ex-colleagues and do a similar shot for ur PS. That'd be amazing!

I did get complimentary printing but only for 70% confirmed attendance at tt time. I also paid $10 for 50 xtra inserts. Problem's tt we now need more cards but for the 2nd printing, it's not complimentary even if u increase ur confirmed no of tables
I chose the black one with pink ribbon but also got a few red with gold ribbon for older relatives.

me_jules

Hey Luvz17! Sorry for my late response. Haven't been in here for a while already. The rate Joanne gave is 260++ room only for Fri-Sat. Sun-Thurs is 295++ room only. I decided to try and see if Traders or Orchard hotel can give me a better rate.
And ladies, I heard the bridal suite is nothing to scream about at all. Friend of mine just had their wedding last month and told me.

happysnowball

how flexible is regent in allowing u to mix & match the themes? Heard they are rigid abt mixing colors from diff themes.

I had the manager Soo Ting as my co-ord.

happysnowball

hi florabliss, no comments as yet leh haven really dealt wif her enuff. Hopefully cos she's the manager, she will be able to have more empowerment to make decisions for my requests.

hw's ur experience? my food tasting in sept.

flora_bliss

So far, she has been very prompt in replying to my queries. She replied my email on the very same day. Very nice lady who offers lots of advice. I'll probably be arranging for my food tasting in Oct.

ixoral

hihi, can i have soo ting's email? cant seem to locate any email contact for Regent Hotel for my banquet enquiry. thanks!

faithz17

it's for Regent only...

Regent is a four seasons hotel... so technically there are 2 four seasons hotel in singapore...

faithz17

Hi, in terms of food, Regent is known to be quite good... they have a Cantonese restaurant in-house where the wedding food comes from called Summer Palace... you can try their food at Summer Palace and decide whether it is good or not...

firedove

Just had my wedding dinner at Regent ballroom on Sat, 5th July, and they were fantastic! Some thoughts:

Pre-Wedding Prep
I was a bit upset initially cos Regent can be quite inflexible on some things. But they were v professional, and gave some v honest opinions on some of my crazier ideas. Initially worked w Michaela, but she left, so we were transferred to Isabelle, who is probably one of the more accommodating co-ordinators. Spoke to Joanna once over the phone, but she began every sentence w "no", so I didn't like her v much.

Florist
Lora can do amazing things, and she really does give u more than u think u're getting. However, she can be very difficult to contact. We had to chase her for 3mths on email and her mobile to get a quote on the additional decor we wanted. If you want decor different from Regent's normal themes, speak to Lora. Regent's own co-ordinators will be reluctant to commit on her behalf. Our theme was "Of Toy Soldiers and Garden Fairies" and I think she did a great job bringing out the whimsical feel.

Food
We had v gd comments on the food -- some of my guests said it was the best wedding food they'd ever eaten. This year's Singapore Tatler rates Summer Palace (Regent's inhouse restaurant tt prepares the wedding food) 9/10 -- the highest rating for any Chinese restaurant in Singapore. I tasted some of the food tt night, and while it was quite gd, I thought it tasted better during food tasting. Guess that comes out of cooking in bulk.

Banquet Manager
My helpers were v impressed by the banquet manager and his team. We only had to tell them things once, and they did it perfectly, even though we kept changing instructions during rehearsals. We had quite a few performances and a fairly complicated march-in requiring certain music, video, and light co-ordination, but it all went according to plan. They were also v good at prompting us and helping to accommodate last min request, such as a changing space for performers on the ground floor.

Bridal Suite
The bridal suite itself isn't terribly impressive, but it is a suite, and Regent provides many small touches that help eg. toiletries were all fr L'Occitane (I love their moisturiser!), housekeeping helped pack our toiletries on the counter and arranged them neatly on a towel without asking, etc. Service was also excellent -- they remembered our names, provided a bellboy at a call, and so on.

My only complaint is with their operations side. First, one of our guests went to get more carpark coupons from the concierge (about 80 more), and we weren't informed, so now we are being charged 80 x $4.50 for the additional coupons. We feel they should have informed us before releasing the coupons and charging them to us. Also, reception somehow managed to record that I had checked out, and my hubby hadn't even though we both checked out together.

Altogether, though, I'm very pleased with Isabelle's service, Lora's final product, and the banquet manager's team on the night itself. Everything went according to plan, despite a non-traditional wedding, and that's about as much as I could ask for!

ceo38

Hi Firedove, wah your comments r indeed comsoling to us Regent BTBs. Can i check with you something? U mean yr wedding got extra "performances" and you had "rehearsals"? Rehearsals on actual day itself? I intend to get band & some of my frens to sing so wondering if rehearsal is necessary or not.

Hope you can enlighten me on this. Thanks.

P/s: By the way, do share your photos with us ya.

luvz17

Rcyk, congrats!! Your big day is finally over.. Thanks for sharing those, it is really helpful to all Regent BTB.

As for the florist, which of Regent theme did you choose in order to match your whimsical magic? I wanted to enhance the decor other than what Regent can provide. But, frankly speaking I am worried abt the price. Many told me not to get from htl florist as they tend to be more expensive. Yet to contact Lora. Any inputs in regards to this?

Lucky you highlight on the carpark cuopon thingy.
Better highlight that to them.

Seems that few coordinator has left Regent. My coordinator also left and took over by Hwee Ping. Anyone has the same coordinator? I haven't met her yet, spoke to her on the phone and exchanged emails.

Share with us some photos yeah?

firedove

Karen -- rehearsals are defn necessary. We began rehearsals abt 5pm on the day itself. Good to test out the timing, volume of music, n lighting. If you're having your own band, the hotel will require them to have their own amps, which will need to be tested. Also, we realised the singer's mike couldn't really be heard; we had some issues w the lighting transition btw items, etc. Luckily everything was ironed out at the rehearsal.

Luvz17 -- thanks! I'm so glad it's over! I woke up the next day and it was the first day in weeks tt I didn't have to think abt what wedding things I had to do.

In the end, I chose L'Amour, n got Lora to add pink ribbons on alternate chairs, 6 flower stands, a flower arch, half the La Dolce Vita gazebo in pink, lots of vines, n flower petals on all tables. On top of tt, I bought 50 garden fairy figurines, and 50 toy soldier keychains, which Lora helped use to decorate the tables w. We also scattered fake petals along the aisle.

I initially wanted to get another florist to work w Lora cos the prices fr some other florists were a lot cheaper. Problem is tt for L'Amour, Lora has exclusive rights to tt particular shade of pink rose, so no other florist can get it. I paid abt $2500 for additional decor but I thought it was worth it cos I used them for church too, and then Lora transported them to the hotel at night. I have seen some of the portfolios by other florists, incl those recommended on Singapore Brides, and many of the cheaper ones are a lot less impressive. Lora's arrangements are defn fuller than most other florists', but if u're on a budget, u can let her know what ur budget is, n what u don't mind cutting down. Eg. my floral arch cost $600, but she offered to do it w less flowers for $500.

As for Lora, call her mobile or text her to get a reply faster. Emails don't quite work. At least agree w her on ur budget n what u want early on if not it can be quite stressful cos she can be v busy n hard to meet up w.

Will defn share some photos soon!

luvz17

Really appreciate for sharing ur info..
have text her already, see when she will be available to meet up with me to discuss.
as long as we havent cfm the colour theme, i cannot proceed with my other things.
I thought of getting a combination of white, pink, gold. For what I understand, we can mix and match certain things such as table cloth, flower colour, ribbon...bt i am not sure if the effect is good. that's y thinking of miting her real soon..

Ask u all ah.. if those 3 are my colour theme, my AD EG is purplish pink, what colour shd my bridesmaid wear? coz i dun want it to be overly pink. I am thinking of light pink or ivory with pink ribbon. do share with me with what u thnk.

noxy

oh my goodness, cham, got so many things to prepare for one wedding dinner. oh oh.....

*waves to luvz17 and karen!!! hi ladies, how have u been?

luvz17

thanks, cookieflour.
that page is interesting...they all look so nice.
gold/ brown has been reserved for mothers. bt yeah, i think we can consider pale gold coz for sure mothers will choose darker colour. i like the one in green (fm the web)..quite matching with the pink flowers.must meet Lora to discuss colour theme. She has not replied my sms. maybe will call her later.

*waves waves*
Noxy, u MIA ah? I am doing well. How abt urself?
i am busy with my house renovation and preparing for PS at the moment. Once they are over, i need to start on wedding prep le. have taken a long break on this..oni talk and see, but no action taken yet.

happysnowball

Hi rcyk,

Thanks for sharing the info!!! I din know we can engage someone to add the decor like that! Will like to see your pics soon as I also like L'amour but found some tables too black if they dun have the pink runner.. wondering what I can do!!

adnil

Hi miss cupcakes,

Regent Package for weekend dinner 2009 as follows: -

Saturday, Sunday, Eve of Public Holiday & Public Holiday
(Minimum 35 tables)
(Minimum 40 tables) - Auspicious
Wedding from January to September
Passion II – Eight Course Menu at $948.00
Wedding from October to December
Passion II – Eight Course Menu at $998.00

* 09 September 2009 & 31 December 2009 priced separately
All prices are for tables of 10 persons.
All prices are subject to 10% service charge and prevailing taxes

If you want the softcopy, i can email it to you.

angel112

Hi everyone! I'm a BTB for 09. Considering Regent Hotel as one of the possible venues for the AD.

I think their package is probably one of the better ones around in terms of perks. However, the menu doesn't seem so attractive e.g. u need to top up money to get a garoupa, else u just have to settle for soon hock... hahaha

Can I find out how big is the bridal suite which they offer us? Is it nice?

Do any of you have actual wedding pictures to share with me? I like L'amour but as what some of you mentioned, might be a bit too dark for our parents. Prob will take La Dolce Vita. Sounds quite romantic...

The package says free flow beer. Did any of you manage to negotiate for 30L beer and free wine instead? I don't think there are that many beer drinkers among my guests, so free wine per table might be more worth it.

sillycouple

Hi Angel,

I'm also planning for my AD. Looking around for hotels and Regent is one of the choices.

I agree. I also feel the menu isnt that attractive. I've not tried their food before. Not sure if its nice? And its pretty subjective too. Nice now may not be nice next year. Haha

ashes02

hi, anyone has got any videos to show? i am interested to see how the jazz ensemble is like. also, do u gals think the location a bit inconvenient? quite far from mrt right?