Regent Singapore

forestfen

thnx alot for sharing ur comments n replies.. hv signed up wif regent
my WD is in Dec 05 so who is holding her WD soon?

tou2

Sunil charging $250 for projector but I will be borrowing one from my office :p

Am I the next Regent bride? Anyone's AD earlier than me?

When do I need to discuss with Regent regarding the setup hur? Like everything not settled - even the jazz band, and digital protrait, wedding cake, cards also not done

cyprusblade

Hi Everyone, I intend to have my wedding at the regent but am scheduled to meet with the hotel coordinator Petrina next week.

I will most probably be having 40-45 tables for dinner on a weekday next year, can anyone tell me what extras they negotiated for?

Any other things that I should look out for? Thanks

okiedockie

Hiyee Huiling...
Oh urs on the same day too ??? Really ?? So exciting..

mine is Dinner. Wat abt urs ?? haha ... I can pop by for ur wedding and u can pop by for mine
My chinese name is also Huiling hahhaa ..... wat a concidence !!!
yup have selected my bridal and AD photographer..

forestfen

hi tougei

tot regent's coordinator said they will contact us 2mths bf WD to finalise things? ur WD is in july n now is oreadi coming to end may.. maybe u can call them? cos i tink d WD mth is best spent relaxing n preparing ursef for d big day

For me.. d 2mths bf my WD my FH will be very busy so we told regent to contact us 3mths bf n they agreed.

noe of anyone wanting to let go regent WD on 14dec05? actually dats my chosen auspicious date but ballroom not available thus took up another date wif them but actually finds it real cumbersome to hv on separate days leh.

Hi dear all,

Would like to know which are the recommended wedding co-ordinators in Regent?

Would like to find a co-ordinator that is nice, with excellent service and able to accomodate to special requests.

Also, as Regent hotel's reception area is an open area, can anyone give comments on the good and bad side of the reception area?

Still undecided about Regent as they do not have an exclusive reception area... find it too open personally... other than that, generally, my FH and I like Regent.

tou2

Hi Precious

Hahha... sounds like the wish list of all of us. It would be best if you can get Sunil for your co-ordinator. But I heard the others are also very professional and good

Personally I like Regent's reception area. Cos' it allows my guests to appreciate the grandeur of Regent's lobby. In many hotels, I only remember going from the basement carpark to ballroom entrance and back to basement again. Many of my friends have never been to Regent and it would be a pleasant surprise to find such an exclusive hotel in Orchard as compared to the "common" ones such as Hyatt and MM where there are so many shoppers walking in and out of the hotel

Hi Tougei,

Actually Sunil is the one that talked to us... and FH and I personally really like his service... he is able to accomodate to many of our special requests. The only thing is when we ask if we can get him as our co-ordinator, he says he can't promise us... that's the only thing. But we really hope to get him if we sign up as we feel that we can talk to him well.

As for the reception area, thanks for giving me another perspective of the reception area. Now I'm even more convinved to get Regent.

Yup... I agree with you that even though regent's reception area is open area, it's not that crowded. So in that sense, the whole lobby belongs to the wedding couple and their guests.

Actually I got a wild idea, thought of having a "mini wedding gallery" at the reception area since it's so huge. But dunno if it can be done...

rains

Hi preciousthoughts,

Seriously I don't think they will allow you to have your "gallery" thingy bcos one of the coordinators kept stressing on the importance of their guests (reads: angmohs) to me and they do not wish to disturb them in any way.

tou2

Hi Precious

Yar, Sunil seems super-busy these days. Cant get hold of him too. So this may also be a problem is he is your co-ordinator. In any case, since you know him personally, if your new co-ordinator refuse you something, you can perhaps still talk to Sunil?

Yar, the reception area is spacious and elegant and you get one half of the lobby to yourself. I suppose fo the gallery thing you want to post your wedding pictures izit? I think shouldn't be very difficult if you only do it within your reception area. Only problem I forsee will be who and how to hang up the pics?

Hi forestfren,

We did speak to Sunil to tie up some of the details but not all. So still abit stressed
Are you having the jazz band? I will be asking them to play "Just the way you are" for my March-in

Hi Tougei,

ic... yeah...I think Sunil is super busy. So any other co-ordinators to recommend?

For the gallery thing, it's a wild idea.... yup... thinking of hanging our wedding pictures up on the "exibition boards" ( prob got to rent)... I'm quite excited about my PS though it will only be next year Jan because we are getting Kelvin from Chrisling and FH and I really like his works.

Or do you have any other idea to make the reception area more special?

By the way, though I'm getting a lunch thing, I will also be having jazz band as we like the concept very much

tou2

Hi precious

Err... I only dealt with him so far leh. But on AD, he will get someone else to help me, not himself. Actually, I have heard of the gallery idea before - to hang the pictures instead of putting the album there. I think it's a great idea - just that more hassle lor.

For myself, nothing much lar. But I will be getting my BIL to play on the piano at the reception area during cocktail. that's all
If you want to make a really big impact, order the chocolate fondue for the cocktail. Some of the brides here were discussing abt that but very ex - $11 per pax. Huiling will be having that for her buffet though. Lucky gal

huiling

hallo OkieDockie, I'm having a luncheon
I might be too tired to pop by your dinner, and you might be too stressed out to pop by my luncheon! who did you get as AD photographer and your Bridal shop? Mine is the wedding present.

hallo precious! I think Kelvin from Chris Ling is very good! Your guests will surely enjoy the photos

hey tougei, how are things coming along? found a printer to print your cards yet? BTW, saw your studio and regent shots,thanks for sending it to me. You look good! will you be displaying the album at the reception table? or are you doing something different like what precious is thinking?

Hi Tougei,

hmmm.... think we'll still like to deal with Sunil... guess probably have to risk that he might not be the one on the AD itself... but should be fine

The chocolate fondue sounds really delicious... but too exp already...way out of budget.

Hi Huiling,

Yup... I think Kelvin really very good! I really love his works so much! We can't wait to have our PS in Jan next year!

Actually, I'm also thinking of a luncheon... but it will be a sit-in banquet style.Is your buffet or banquet? When will yours be? Maybe I can pop by and see see. Will it be in the ballroom or function room?

tou2

Hi Huiling

Quite stressed now. I printed the inserts with lil-art (Regent's printer) afterall cos' their service is GREAT as well. And the rest of the printers are not really much cheaper anyway. Just collected the cards from lil-art. The cards are lovely BUT to my horrors, I realised that I have to tie ALL the ribbons by myself
kao_scared.gif
Now trying to perfect the art of tying ribbons -not easy leh. If you don't tie them properly, it spoils the look of the cards. Stressed!! cos' I was supposed to send the cards out by this week and I'm only halfway thru tying ribbons!! And my hubby is in Japan now on work

Heheh... no more strength, time, and energy to do what Precious is thinking of liao
How's your WG design coming along? When are you taking your PS?

Hi Precious, yar, I had alot of fun on my PS. I'm sure you will too

huiling

Hallo Moonlight, Regent does not accept tentative booking? I did tentative booking with Regent last year. usually they will allow it until someone else comes along who wants the same date. Last year sunil told me that after 2 weeks, we must confirm, but in the end because no one had expressed interest at my date (dinner is more popular than luncheon), Regent held onto that date for me for a long time.

hallo precious, mine is a luncheon buffet style. I'm having mine at The Bar, so it may not be applicable for your situation
Actually I have not decided if I want it a buffet or semi buffet. will work out the details with sunil again sometime in sept.

hallo tougei, did you get the cards from Regent hotel? which one did you choose? The black card?
My wedding gown design, after months of contemplating, I have finally decided on the gown material. as for design, I have some ideas, but still thinking hard abt the exact design of the front and back. I'm frightened abt leaving the design totally to my designer cuz I'm afraid that it may not turn out to be something that I like. very jialet. Cuz it takes forever for me to decide. Not taking any bridal PS, so i guess the pressure is not that bad for the moment.

Hallo Okiedockie, always walk past silverlining at Tanjong Pagar, they have some beautiful gowns! heard that Junita Simon (spelling?) had one of her gowns sponsored by them for her wedding. some sure if this is accurate though.

tou2

Hi Okie, you sound like my fren's wifey leh heheh... theirs' is also SilverLining and Regent and in Dec 05. Hahah...if yes, then I would have sent your hubby my pics liao
I love Silver Lining too - all the sexy low-back gowns. I think you would look lovely in his gowns. Jit is a sweet guy too

Hi Huiling, yep, I got the black and red cards
But I printed red inserts for the black card. Actually wanted shocking pink but they ran out of stock
Lilian is very patient and responsive. And they didn't make a single mistake with the printing so it was chop-chop. Highly recommended
I think Regent place quite high standards on their suppliers as well

huiling

Okiedockie n tougei, what a small world!

okiedockie, how is your wed prep coming along? since ours is on the same date, we can pace each other ;p

Have you settled on your gown design? I'm doing it this June. settled on videographer? me not getting one, low budget! maybe get a friend to help me with this
are you getting an in-house makeup artist? i got kenneth Lee to do my makeup. Initailly wanted leon Lim like tougei, but met kenneth at a friend's wedding, like his personality.

hey tougei! in the span of few hours, I think I have decided the design (80% of the look)of my gown. i really sat down and flip magazines, surf net the whole day today! But I'm not sure abt the back design. that one, i will leave it to my designer. getting a headache already.

forestfen

wow so much coincidences for d 3 of u

hvnt had time to come to d forum lately as i was busy searching for wedding bands.. cos of d s'pore sales lots of jewellery shops r hving promotions! see till i groggy.. quite fancy d'meyson's perfect brillance eternity ring cos of its arrows n hearts

hi tougei

yup hving d jazz band.. hehe actually dats wat attracted my FH to regent
do they provide a list of songs for us to choose or we hv to come up wif d song list? but dun tink im getting d jazz theme decor..thus oni hv d 45min ensemble.. btw is d band supposed to start playing at d 1st march in or during d dinner?

hi moonlight

yup unlike other hotels regent was reluctant to tentatively hold d date for me as well.. after abt 3days my coordinator was calling to tell me dat she has to release d date JUST in case there might be others who r interested.

okiedockie

Hi Huiling,
I've settled my gown's design...juz sitting back relax and wait for them to call me for my 1st fitting...
Well won't be getting videographer.. me too on low budget.. my MUA will be in-house..
Oh I saw kenneth lee's makeup he did it for my good friend very nice.... expensive though to get him..

tou2

Hi okie, no problem, I will send you again. Sekali you are not who I think you are then oophs heheh

Hi forestfren, Regent's orginal arrangement with the band is to start just when the guests are coming in from cocktail. Meaning, once the door opens, the sax player will greet them at the door as they come into the ballroom. For me, I have specially requested that the band starts only during March-in. Essentially, in the 45mins they will play about 12 songs. I have their repetoire but too big to upload here. Please leave me your email if you want the song list for your reference, but not all are suitable for weddings.

The songs I chose are:
- Dream A Little Dream
- I Love You For A Sentimental Reason
- Fly Me To The Moon
- She
- It Had To Be You
- Close To You
- What A Wonderful World
- The Way You Look Tonight

Any comments on them please? I am still fretting over the songs for my 2nd March-in and the rest of the dinner

Hi Tougei,

Can you send me the list of the songs the band play? Also, did you engage them on your own or through regent?

Btw, for those who are having lunch banquet, as it doesn't come with complimentary food tasting, anyone manage to negotiate for it?

gpsl

Hi Tougei,
I did ask Sunil about the band songs before and he told me that the sax player might feel nervous when he play the song alone during march in cos all people will be focusing on the song and the wedding couple. So he encouraged us to play song from CD. Are you asking only the sax player or the band team to play for your march in?
He also mentioned that we cannot choose the songs to play during the dinner as they have a standard song lists. I feel that since we have chosen the 45mins ensemble, we should be able to choose the songs we like them to play during dinner. Can I have the song list? My email: [email protected]
Fyi, you can actually extend the 45min ensemble to the whole dinner but you have to pay a fee of about $500 (if I din remember wrongly). And you can also request them to sing and that will be another fee. I heard them sing before and it was very nice.

forestfen

hi tougei

yes would like to hv d song list pls email to [email protected] thnx

i like d list of songs u chose most of them r classics so cant go wrong
.. except for "close to u" cant seem to recall d tune. For d 2nd march-in i tink i will look for something livelier n faster.. as for d rest of d songs after d band ends.. hv a galfren who is into jazz so will leave it to her to come up wif d list.

how abt during d cocktail do we get to choose d songs to play as well? or lobby music?!

tou2

Hi gals, sent the song list liao

Hi Okie,
How's your perps so far? When will you go for your fitting and PS?

Hi gpsl, I was the opposite from you - Sunil said ok to play during march-in but last week I emailed the Compass entertainment (the jazz band) they said that if they play during the march-in, it may not have enough impact cos' it only a 3-piece band. Dunno if it's true
Have you heard them play? Do you think it's ok for
march-in?

gpsl

Hi tougei,
My FH also thinks that the 3 pc band might lack the impact especially there is only music. But with singing, it might be different. I have heard them sing during the wedding show but it was a 5 pc band instead of 3 pc. So you may want to check with them on the impact.

okiedockie

Hi Tougei,
Not much of preparation going on at the moment.. waiting to go for my 1st fitting probably end of the mth or in july...

huiling

Hallo all

I'm looking for a longish envelope, by the size of 9cm by 21 cm. anyone know of any shop that carries this size or close to it? the usual longish envelope is 11 cm by 22cm. it is abit too wide for my cards.

xav

Hi Precious/huiling,

I'm thinking of having a lunch reception at Regent 2006 too, got the package from them but notice that they did not indicate complimentary seat cover in the amenites/services and notice that they are separate of seat cover with bow at $4/- each. Do they provide complimentary seat cover for your lunch?

huiling

Hallo Frances

hmm, when I talked to them in year 2004, they did not mention anything about having to pay for seat cover, either at the ballroom or function room. that might have changed though.

tou2

Hi frances

For the standard wedding package, they will not put complimentary seat covers. But I think as long as you asked for it, there should not be any problems.

Hi Huiling, how's your prep? My AD coming up on Friday. Getting stressed
Just met up with Sunil on Wed to finalise setup. Will be using lilac organza instead of the normal red or white
Thank goodness they are flexible cos' the red I original chose doesn't really go with the jazz band. This "summer jazz" theme has the yam roses which I thot was really unique. I haven seen them being used in weddings yet

huiling

hi tougei, time really flies, so glad to hear that you are finalising your wedding details, you must b feeling very excited. Summer jazz theme with yam roses? wow! take lotsa photos and share with me yeah? Hope everything goes well for on your big day, and happiness with you and your husband
Do drop by the forum every now and then after your wedding k? better yet, we can meet up after your wedding! what you say?

I'm only finalising my wedding gown design end july. Nothing much to prepare so far, maybe closer to the date.

tou2

Hi Huiling

Yar, we have known each other for almost a year liao hor? Heheh... so fast. Sure i will tell you gals about my experience when I come back
But that will be after 20 July cos' I'm going straight for HM on 4 July

Oh, by the way, do you gals know that you can request the hotel to absorb the Muslim and vege persons? I learnt about this recently from my colleague and tried it out on Regent and they allowed me to absorb 2 Muslims
These 2 muslims are husband and wife and I can only put 8 chinese in the table. Now, I wont lugi so much cos' I would only need to pay for one table and wont need to add on the per pax price for the Muslims
Erm... do you gals understand what I'm talking about?