Regent Singapore

gorky

hi girl ren yu - Congrats to you!
i had the same feelings too...can say getting married this year. Now with just under 3 months to go, suddenly bogged down with stuff to do.

lilacblur - My humble opinion about the hotels. Hyatt has too many ballrooms which are too close together, so it feels really crowded on a popular date, esp with other events going on. I was considering InterContinental too, but I saw Regent first and got hooked

dor - Congratz! Must be feeling really excited now

dor

Hi tougei & all

thks a lot. no top upon the flowers cos i ask them to do mixture of flowers and not to increase the flowers. Yup i m takin the Jazz theme. as for songs to be played, i leave it to the hotel. if you guys wan to see the setup, do drop by,mayb at 6.30pm
think i will still b up in the room.. hehe.

tou2

Hi gorky, hehe I agree abt Hyatt - that's the hotel where I almost went into the wrong wedding :p cos' they are all around the escalator on different floors.

hi lilac, I quite liked Intercontinental too
It's foyer is very private and the ballroom ceiling is very high. But that time I didn't quite take to the wedding co-ordinator so dropped the idea of Intercontinental.

Hi Dor, oic. Must try hard to go down Regent on Thurs to see your setup. Hope can finish work on time. But I sure cant make it at 630 one leh. Can I drop by later? When will you be at the reception?

preci0usm0ments

hiya tougei,

for now, i think intercon will b my first choice, follow by regent
can only decide after viewing actual venue

spoke to Jeanie from Regent today, she really gave me a very professional feeling
much better compared to intercon.

yingal

Hi jan snow,
May I view your photos too? I have already signed up with Regent but can't decide whether to have the jazz or chinois theme.

tou2

Hi Jan.

Paisei, you sent to hotmail liao hur? I just checked and saw the email. Haven opened yet though. Thanks!!!

tou2

Hi Jan, just saw your pics. Very well taken
Who's your photographer?

I liked your WG!! When I saw it on the bed, I was already like "Wow, cant wait to see how you look in it"
Which BS are you with?

And your dogs are sooo cute in their little coats. Are both yours? Did you ask them to do the March-in before you?

Notice you have dry ice... did you use the bubble machine at all? And, did you do the kiss below the flower arch?? hehe

Haha, so many questions

I will be going down to see Dor's setup tonight but I just realised I forgot to take my camera along

jan_snow

Hi tougei, u so funni...sure an excited bride to be
ok ok...my WG is off the rack lo but me 1st one to wear on AD since its fr their recent show. My BS is J&M bridal.
My AD photographer is my dear cousin, Robin. He's great. I have more fotos wh r fantastic...small little impt details were all captured...in short, I LUV the fotos...and many frens luv the fotos too.The mood is very well captured.
nah...my dogs were too tiny to march in, they just sat wif me and frens, The dry ice effect is from the machine near the entrance and bubble machine is at the stage, during the cake cutting, did u notice?
no la,, so "rou-ma" to kiss below the arch, when i march in is like "wow sooooo bright" and i cant see faces u noe,,, the lights were shot directly on u n we can hardly see properly...
k, do share wif us Dor's set up...should be v nice too....

tou2

Hi gals. Went to Dor's wedding last nite. Just a quick update

Hers the jazz theme so got no flower arches but the fuschia roses really stand out. Prefer it to pure white
She also uses the cupid cake rather than Jan's one. Also very nice lar.

I saw the jazz player too. He's an uncle hehe... He started playing near the door as the guests came into the ballroom. My FH says his skills are not bad. But I think he sounded quite lonely playing alone and not many ppl are paying attention to him also.

Now for the bride. Dor looks sooo pretty last night. Such a sweet looking bride hehe... And I like the flowers she had in her hair - Orchids that are slightly purplish in color

ahcapp

Hi tougei,

Thanks for the feedback. =) I think the only hotel which allows 06 booking right now might be Four Seasons. Anyway, I will ask the hotel to update me once the booking is opened.

Hi Bugbear,

The package which Regent sends me is for 05. So I was told that it is subject to changes. I am going down to meet up with Patrina this Sun to see the ballrooms and stuff. Will ask her when the 06 package is out for you and me =P I am looking for a wedding lunch for 120 to 150 people.

dor

hihi ladies
i m back..
hey jan, i didnt receive ur link on the photos lei. send me again, ok
oh.. tougei, nice meeting u tat nite. thanks for the compliments. All brides look pretty on their Big Day la. U will b one on your Big Day too. The flowers is Cybridium, another family of the orchids. Got the flowers from Greenpoint. Thumbs up.

bugbear

Hi Jan, i din receive leh
Can send to [email protected]? Thanks hor...

Dor!! U are back!! How's married life??

Tougei, din the jazz player got 2 bass players to accompany him on stage? The poor uncle must feel so left out...any idea how long the jazz was on??

dor

hi jan
saw ur photos... ur doggy r soooo cute. And i realised we didnt take much couple photos that nite cos we r busy entertaining..

hi luckystar
I hv engaged Greenpoint for my bridal car, bouquetpackage. They r not w Regent

sharkfynn

thanks jan!! I got your pics!!! I am super excited now!!! They even have a pet tag?!!! My dog is too big to bring into the ballroom

Lee, i think they have at least 3 rooms. One grandballroom, Tanglin Room (seats about min of 200) and Nassim (about min of 100). The asile for the ballroom isnt long. The Tanglin and Nassim are not exactly ballrooms, the are more longish seminar room type. Their pricing ranges from 700 upwards. Weekdays pricing is lower than weekend pricing and lunches are cheaper than dinner. BUT, depends on which menu u select too. Hope this helps.

luckystar

Hi Jan, can i have a look at ur picts as well cos i only have the setup picts also?? Thks!!

can bring pets there??
by the way, is Regent super "strict" on rules??

crushh

Can share the pixwith me too? Thanks alot! =)

Same qn, you mean pets are allowed at the Regent? Would love to bring my fiance's corgi!!!

sharkfynn

Yeah Crushh, pets are allowed but you should check with the hotel. I am sure they have LOTS and LOTS of rules and restrictions.

sharkfynn

Actually I am not even sure if they will be allowed into the ballroom. Dogs + food , maybe not.

^, call your coordinator to check. As i said so many restrictions that you may not want to put the dog thru the stress and trauma of a new environment. Besides one extra thing to worry about.

tou2

Does anyone knows if Regent can do individual servings for the dinner instead of everyone serving themselves from the dish? I was thinking of doing this instead as it will be neater and less wastage also

bugbear

Hi Tougei, i thought Regent is individual serving? Except that we can actually request if the entire table of guests would prefer 'help-themselves' arrangement?

Actually, i dunno if individual serving will minimize wastage. I actually think otherwise, cos if u servce individually, for those small eaters, or don't eat a particular dish, will leave theirs as it is, whereas those bigger eaters or lovers of that particular dish will be 'deprived' of having a 2nd serving? Just my 2-cents worth
I totally agree with u that individual serving may be neater.

huiling

hallo tougei, i think for individual serving, have to pay a plating fee to the hotel, cuz of the effort needed to portion out the food

tou2

Hi Bugbear, hmm... you got a point on the wastage thing. Maybe it's just that usually we will see food being left on the main serving plate and now we wont see it.

Hi Huiling, you confirm need to pay hur? I thot all the hotels with 1-1 waitressing eg. Conrad and Fullerton all have individual serving? Wonder if they need to pay too?

Jan, do you have individual serving as well?

jan_snow

dear all, will send the pics to u all later....today super bz...
but 1 thing i wld like to clarify is abt the pets.
Regent is pet frenly BUT pls note that they are not allowed in all F&B areas, this shld be kept in mind ya. I was allowed to bring in my pets cos that was ultimately the 1st question i checked wif Regent and the reason for signing up wif them. There were several clauses included in my agreement wif them too. So hope that for those who wish to have ur pets to share this dae wif u, do check wif them first and pls do not quote "so and so" brot her pet too ya...cos there were some agreement and rules that i need to follow ya...
Basically, they are allowed to march in at the ballrm BUT once banquet starts, they need to be returned to the rms...got it????
hehe....for those who wans to know more,, better to pm me la...lets not "spread" this in the forum, ya

huiling

hi tougei, Regent will assign one staff per table. but I'm not sure if this means that the food will be portioned out. maybe for your chinese banquet they will do it. you can check with sunil.

I have been waiting for sunil to send me customised menu for weeks. sigh, communication very slow.

bluegrapes

Hello brides-to-be of Regent,

I attended a fren's wedding dinner last week at the Grand Ballroom of Regent. The atmosphere was nice and decoration was lovely. The waiter was very professional. The guests were very impressed by the wedding favours which are metalic keychains binding a couple and it's contained in a very nice box (at least it's not chocolate!!). Food was quite average (sharkfins a bit too starchy).

Juz one thing to look out for. As there are two pillars in the ballroom, the guests 'behind' the pillars didn't seem to notice that the ceremony has started. While the video montage was screened, they did not settle down but were producing lotsa noise mingling among themselves.

Anyway, juz to share. For your info.

bugbear

Hiya Gals!!

BluBells, thanks for the info. May i ask how many tables your frend have? Is it very tight between tables?? Cos i am looking at ard 43-45 tables...thanks in advance.

bugbear

Hi Blubells, I dunno why, but i find Regent ballroom kind of small eventhough they promised me that they can cater up to 50 tables. I am quite concerned that with 45 tables, it will be quite cramped

huiling

hallo everyone! happy Valentine's Day. I kinda miss the buzz in tis thread. Hope more regent brides can join in
just spoken to Sunil, he said the hotel has received more wedding bookings with the launch of the Miracle package!

and anyone seen the cards yet? there is a black one with silver prints. for adventurous couple who really want to be different
my fiance and I like different cards. but I think he really like his, cuz he was holding it from the start looking at it from left to right. and I know that he is not into cards
so will prob give in to him on this, happy to see him happy

hallo bugbear, hm, agree that the ballroom does not seem to be able to cater for 50 tables, if it really does, then perhaps the tables are really side to side. anyway, are you now more inclined towards fullerton or regent?

bugbear

Hi hi...

Happy Birthday to All!! Today is Ren Ri

Hi Girl, i am keeping Fullerton and Regent in view. I personally more inclined to Fullerton, but I like the Jazz theme of Regent a lot...how i wish they can combine...heheh...headache leh...cannot make up my mind. Also, i think the loss will be quite a sum if i take Fullerton. This is a major consideration as well

Gals, need a little assistance here...would you estiamte a loss of about 3k and go for a less expensive hotel/menu, or would you prepare a loss of at least 10k and go for a hotel that u really like?