Regent Singapore

dor

Hi Jan
Thks for the extra invites... really helps. I will drop by to see the setup. 6.30pm shld b alrite.. Congrats once again

Any one coming along... wan to meet up too.

jan_snow

hi all, ya me kindof relax still...hehe
girl, my bs is j&m bridal. juz collected my gowns today. MU by them lor...me not getting the external sources...anyway mine is jus a dinner affair lo
i shud b confined in the bridal suite on thurs so aftr viewing the setup, u can pop by the suite???

tougei, me taking the chinios, quite similar to lala's.....taking the deep red and chilli red roses...

C U gals...

sharkfynn

Hey Huiling, another shop just popped into my head. There is this shop named "Lavender" at Stamford that stretch. It doesnt sell bridal but I think it is a better alternative to Daniel Yam. Not all the stuff is formal but I saw a couple of dresses I thought was suitable. I think its less than 300 but I really cant remember how much it cost. Its not too hard to find. Thre are several dress shops there.

tou2

Hi gals.

Hi Jan, do you get to choose the flowers or is it fixed with the theme you choose. I agree that the Chinios theme is very romantic
Are you having the ensemble with the dinner??

Hi Dor, you will be there at 630? I will try to drop by as well. Maybe we can meet up?

Hi Huiling & Sharky, Oh I went into the Lavender shop before. Ok lar, some of the dresses are quite sweet. Seemed to be from Australia... I also have a suggestion - Allure at City Hall has very nice semi-formal dresses too

sharkfynn

Hey i completely forgot about jan's day!! i wanted to go see the set up! and at 7.30 i remembered and it was too late! Aiya!!!

anyone has photos to share?

huiling

Jan Snow is now married!congrats! Sharky you must ask Dor. think she went down.

i think i will be the last one to marry in this thread. no one to talk to anymore!

hallo tougei, i went to lavender before, think they have quite a few satin dresses? my friend bought a dress from Allure for her photoshoot. very nice! and yep yep, the pair of heels I like from Tangs is abit silvery bronze kind of colour. 3 inches high. Open toes with straps which can tie around the ankle. I finally went to buy it! Got the last pair for my size.

tou2

Hi gals. Happy New year!!!

I called Regent and it seems that there is a wedding on 8 Jan with the Jazz band. Wonder if we could go see see ornot

Hi huiling, don't worry, we will still come back to chat after our wedding mah and help you jia you

Hehe, you are the 3rd person (including me) who just bought their wedding shoes which is 3 inches from Tangs. Sekali we all bought the same pair of shoes hehe...

jan_snow

dear gals, i am back here....
yeap the whole setup was exactly wat i requested for. Thumbs up!!!
Yeap Dor came down and she luv the cake too. I luv it too....its really eyecatching cos of the colours!!!!
i wil try to send u gals the fotos once they r ready....
No complaints for the service and food. So dun worry too much la 2005 brides to be.

Cheers!!!!

luckystar

Hi all Regent brides...
can i know whether regent practice "tentative" booking? cos from what i understand from one of the co-ordinater, they don't practice tentative booking...
can only confirm when u sign the contract with the deposit... is that true?
so did all of u sign the contract and paid deposit immediately?
thought most hotels will give some grace period to think about the location, while they "hold" the rooms for u?

tou2

Hi Jan

Glad that your wedding went well
Did you order a real cake?? Cant wait to see your pics!

Hi Luckystar, I didn't do a tentative booking. Paid up the deposit when I signed. But when I saw Regent, I have more or less decided liao so didn't bother to make tentative booking.

luckystar

Hi tougei,
Thks! but you didn't sign up on the first meeting right?
or u juz confirm on ur first meeting? but when did u sign the contract and paid up the deposit?
few weeks later? or immediately?

Hi Jan, Congrats to your wedding as well!!
Must be great! Hope i be able to get Regent as well!

tou2

Hi Lucky star, I signed up on my second meeting
one week later. Very chop chop hor? But actually before that I looked at quite a few hotels oredi but wasn't very keen on any in particular until I saw Regent.

sharkfynn

I think if someone also called to enquire about the date, they will "hold" it for you for a reasonable time (like 3 days) before they release the date n venue to the next person on the list.

I was apparently 2nd on the wait list because someone else called literally HOURS ahead of me. I guess lucky for me, I was down at the ballroom the very next day and was ready to sign even before party 1 had a chance to view the ballroom over the weekend. And they told the 1st in line they had like 3 days to decide after they had seen the ballroom. So essentially, I guess the poor couple didnt have much of a choice. Heah. Good for me lor. Either that or they changed their date. I can't remember which was it.

So my guess is someone else is after the same date.

dor

Yup I have the photos on Jan's. I hv tried putting up here but too big. Can anyone teach me how to link them here?

tou2

Hi Dor
Cant wait to see the pics hehe..

I suppose if you want to link them, you gotto put them up on some website eg. yahoo! photos (go to www.yahoo.com.sg then click on [photos] & you have to register to use the service)

Else, are you able to use Photo Editor to resize them to much smaller sizes before uploading them?

jan_snow

tougei, so excited ah
basically mine abt the same as lala's but i woz lucky cos they were taking some prof. fotos dat dae. i had the backdrop on stage and the red carpet lo... my cake is also diff fr lala's, that's the one which i mentioned in the brides mag. It looked good on actual and its not too small for the ballroom

jan_snow

dear all 2005 brides, i had a wonderful time dat evening. Like i mentioned, all that i requested were delivered. I was lucky to view the setup at time of check in cos they were doing a foto shoot of the chinois theme. I was impressed....
The cake which Regent suggested to me was to my liking too...
During the dinner, we were well taken care of. The banquet manager gave us good prompting etc. We need not worry about running over time etc.
About service, i guess its very individual cos of individ. standard. No complaints for food too.
All in all, THUMBS up...

tou2

Hi Dor, did you take the pics yourself? They are very well taken, esp the one of the flower stand. Much better than me hehe
Pity I couldn't make it down with you that night

Hi Jan, what time did your dinner end? Did it start on time? Remember to show us your AD pics when it's ready so we can see the pretty bride

So your cake is real hur? The colors of the flowers really made it stand out. You gave out the cake as dessert?

jan_snow

HI tougei, did u see the last pic with the rose petals on tables,, isn't dat romantic...i luv it alot personally
oh, my dinner started v late considering its a thurs cos my make up was v late. dinner starts abt 8.40pm n i think ends close to 11pm lo...
no la.,...the cake is a dummy cake la...but very colourful and cheerful lo...hope will stands out in the fotos too....hehe
hey urs in july, rite? excited bo?

tou2

Hi jan. yes yes, i saw the pics. very nice
I prefer the red theme too!! Are the roses Holland roses (much bigger type) or normal roses? When you march-in, did you get ppl to shower petals on you?

your MUA is late hur? hehe, you should deduct some money from him/her
Who's your MUA?

Oohh, the cake is a dummy?!! Wow, with the flowers we cant really tell it's fake. Will we get to ask for this cake too? I hope so cos' I like it better than the cupids one

Yar, Jul is like less than 6 months away. Time really flies. I still remember I booked Regent a year before my wedding. I'm having my fitting next week. Very excited abt that

For those who are looking for photographers, take note of the bogus photographer Chris S0h re-surfacing as KaHeng. It is just for your info
in case you are considering KaHeng. But if you really like his style, then just it is really up to you

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/127706.html?1104976394

sharkfynn

huiling>> i saw some simple white dresses at Arthur Yen (there is a small collection at Robinsons City Hall). Its fairly cheap and i think its nicer that what Daniel Yam has. You can try it out. I was toying with the idea of buying those dresses as Bridesmaid dress heah.

Oh no. Now i worried that I wont have enough time better church and dinner. Hmm.. how long does make up take anyway?

tougei>> thanks for the info. Its weird. I actually met up with KH and our primary concern was that he wasnt assertive enough. But its funny to have someone using fake photos. You would think that by now, he would have built a portfolio of his own. thanks for the heads up anyway.

jan_snow

ya actually we are not allowed to shower rose petals during walk in but i guess its just some kind of spontaneous act from the guests since they are on the tables...haha...too late to stop them too...but of cos, it was more romantic for the march in lo
i think u can choose the type of cakes, they have a few design le...do check them out
my MUA from the bridal shop wan la...when fotos out, will show u all my face..haha
anyway mine was a v fast n simple MU, not the drama bridal kind lo

dor

hi jan snow
could u forward the photos to girl ren yu & bugbear. thks. i m on leave already n the photos r in my office comp.. hehe. I have changed the flowers colour to pink..it will b a pinky affair wor..

ahcapp

I am looking for a place for my Mar06 wedding lunch. Regent is one of my options but their email told me that 2006 is not opened for booking yet. As to the package, I can only use the 2005 package as a reference.

Thus, I will like to ask all of you who have booked with Regent for your wedding. How long before your AD that you are able to book with Regent?

Thanks a lot! =)

tou2

Hi Jan, are there fuschia roses?? I must be very sua ku
But hey, if there is, I think it will really stand out.

Hi Dor, when's your big day hur? Are you having the jazz band?

Hi AhCapp, I booked mine in Jul 04 for Jul 05
You should ask Bugbear cos she is also 2006 I think...

preci0usm0ments

i'm shortlisting Regent as well. Would like to have some feedback on their service and package?

same as AhCapp, i'm also aiming 2006 :p too KS to find out now huh? :p

tou2

Hi lilac, I took up with Regent cos' they thoroughly impressed me with their service when I met up with them. But I'm not sure abt their banquet service. Heard from Jan_snow that it is not bad

Which month are you having your wedding? Which other hotels are you looking at?

bugbear

Hiya all!!

AhCapp, i also looking at 2006. Yah, Regent is not opened for 06 booking yet. I haven't been contacting Regent lately...so i don't know if they have any new packages for 06. if you happen to have their package...do keep me posted k

Hi lilacblur...i got feedback from friends that the food and service is good...Regent is the top on my list. Me also looking at Hyatt. my sis and friends attended weddings at Hyatt recently and they told me that the food not too bad.

sharkfynn

I started to consider Regent seriously after viewing their ballroom. The rest are sorta details lor. The banquet sales person was professional, but so were the rest of the hotels that I went to. And if you compare menu, its all about the same. Even the frills like cards and beer and decor. In the end, the distingusing factor comes to down to the one thing that the other hotels cannot replicate [which is their ballroom]. I honestly didnt even think about things like service and food because I already expected a certain level of standard for their services and food.

Like the other hotel I was looking at had free flow of beer, had a bigger capacity, free predinner snacks and a whole tonne of "freebie". but in the end, we decided that THAT wasnt important to us. So i guess, it really depends on what YOU want.

I'm also curious. What was the ONE thing about Regent that made you choose them?

By the way, is Regent a five star hotel?

tou2

Hi Bugbear. Welcome back
How's your prep so far??

Hi Sharky, I agree with you totally. Once we have our heart set on Regent, the perks don't seem as important anymore - of course the basic perks must be there lar.

Yep, Regent is 5-star

gorky

Had been a lurker in this forum but thought I should say something too
I'm also having my wedding dinner at the Regent in Apr this year. I chose this hotel for a few reasons:
1) I've never been to a wedding in this hotel so it'll be nice that the first wedding I attend in this one is mine :p
2) The ambience... grand, elegant & dignified in a way that does not overwhelm you like some of the other 5-star hotels. Ballroom also doesn't smell funny... just kidding.
3) Got pretty good deals during their bridal show, like corkage waiver and free flow of beer. No need to bargain for anything.
4) FH didn't have any complaints about it.

So we're happy

sharkfynn

"2) The ambience... grand, elegant & dignified in a way that does not overwhelm you like some of the other 5-star hotels."

I absolutely agree with you on this. Its grand without being excessive. Not overkill.

Wah you got corkage waiver?! Amazing!!! ha!

tou2

Hi gorky, welcome!! I see that you have honoured us with your first posting hehe

Same as sharky - you got free corkage and free flow of beer??!!! How did you manage it?!! You must be a fantastic bargain-er.

gorky

No lah... I think I was just lucky. I went to the bridal show armed with a list of things to bargain for, like the waiver, free-flow beer, seat covers, extra nite stay etc. But the bridal show had this promotion which offered all these already so there was really nothing to do but to check for available dates

Sometimes I still wonder what the catch was. Maybe it's just 8-course instead of 9, or maybe Regent just wanted to be nicer that day... hehe.

huiling

hallo girls! I agree! when I first stepped into Regent, I was like wow! You mean there is a hotel like that in Singapore? I walk round and round the place, admiring the high ceilings, the chandeliers at the lift. If it is not regent, then it would most prob be fullerton cuz my fiance loves the hotel.

and gorky! You really save alot without corkage charges! you getting married in April? congrats! mine still a long way to go, but hey it is already 2005, I'm getting married this year! hahaha, don't have to say "next year" anymore.

preci0usm0ments

hiya tougei & bugbear~
thanks for the respond
read so much abt Regent and is now tempted to go have a look! just to check, do they have any pillars in the ballroom? and how many ballrooms are there?

i'm looking into 2006, dunno which mth yet
still searching for dates

presently considering intercon, regent & hyatt

dor

hi jan snow

hehe.. me been mia. getting all the stuff up
me getting a mixture of fushia pink n pale pink.

hi tougei
my big day is this thurs...
takin the jazz theme

bugbear

morning gals!!

Hi tougei...heheh...me mia for quite a while. Been real bz with work...travelling ard...so hardly got the time to come in here to read the forum...heheh...no progress so far...still got some time :p

lilacblur, i think u should go checkout the hotel. Yes, the ballroom has got 2 pillars, but depending on the number of tables u have, might not have any blockage. There is another room up at the second level, smaller, long...think 20 tables max? not too sure on that...

Dor! Congrats! 2 more days!!

tou2

Morning gals,

Hi Bugbear, early in the year already so busy hur? Missed you in the thread

Hi lilac, you really should go down and take a look at Regent
It has only one grand ballroom which is what I liked abt it. Some hotels have so many ballrooms that there are different weddings going on on the same evening. Sometimes, I almost chiong into the wrong wedding hehe...

Hi Dor, wow 2 more days. You must be very excited. I think Fuschia and pink roses sound really unique
Do you need to top up for the change in flowers? Do remember to send us the link to your pics ok? Anyone dropping by to see your setup?

By the way, are you having the jazz band?? If yes, when are you asking them to start? How many songs will they be playing?