Regent Singapore

pork_chops

never mind Huiling, I will let u know again if I hear of another Chinois wedding....I may not be able to make it this friday also...but I think there will be more to come....

bugbear

Hiya!!
You gals more interested in the Chinosis theme izzit? I also quite like that one...it's not that red as i thought it would be.

BTW, does any of you feel that the stage deco (the curtains) looks a little old?

pork_chops

I like the Jazz theme ... but tot of seeing the Chinois to see if it will change my mind!

Agree with u they are a bit old ... but then they have been ard for very long lor ... well, when the lights are dimmed then cannot see lor...hahaha

shyen

Hi Busybee,

Thanks! Hope there'll be a workshop coming up soon.. For the jazz theme, does the couple really have to kiss in front of all the guests?

huiling

hallo shyen, i think it is up to us which of the theme to omit and which to include
so if you are not comfortable with any aspect of it, should not be a problem

aiyah, my wedding still got one more year to go, have to wait so long, i'm already bursting with ideas, but cannot execute them. anyone felt the same way?

bugbear

ME ME!! Girl...u are not the only one...i worse leh...initially in 2005...then postphone to 2006

Shyen...don think jazz theme u need to kiss...i think it's the chinosis theme...kiss under the floral arch. Romantic wot

huiling

very sian right bugbear? actually i have already been thinking about gowns and venues since last year. haha, very jialet.

want to do a survey on MUA. anyone has seen any works by sam ong or leon lim?

tou2

Hi Shyen, think a chaste kiss on the cheeks or forehead when under the arch
is sweet and romantic. None of those passionate lips-locking kisses for me
Think my parents will fall off their chairs and hide under the tablecloth hehe. It also gives you a chance to pause in the middle of your march-in and hence more chance for ppl to admire your gown etc mah

Hi Bugbear and huiling, I'm also counting down to my wedding. I love the counters Femalebrides online have in their postings - can help me remind me how much time I've left.

Huiling, Sam and Leon are also my shortlisted MUA!! I have met up with Sam already - he's a nice guy. He did alot of magazine covers. In fact I heard the this month's publication of U-mag with Constance Song as cover was done by Sam. You can check it out. I have spoken to Leon too but he doesn't have any updated portfolio except those on this website. Think the more famous MUAs are more "dao" and they don't want to meet up one

Anyone have comments on Freddy Ong? i'm also looking at him.

pork_chops

Freddy Ong is very good leh ... he did my SIL's make up for her PS and AD and I tot he was great! My SIL has very short hair and he was still able to come up with different styles for her ....

shyen

Hi Girl, Bugbear & Tougei,

Thanks! Pai seh, so it's the Chinois theme, not the jazz theme.. hehee.. erm.. think we too shy to do even give a chaste kiss...

my wedding also most likely to be in 2006.. how i wish it's 2005! banquet cheaper & also can't stand the excitment

dun mind i come in to chat wif u gals in teh meantime? Think regent is nice but haven't really seen the actual ballroom..

anyway, Bugbear, 1st quarter of 2006 is open for booking liao.. when's urs?

U gals sign up wif BS liao?

tealeaf

Hi tougei,

Freddy's skill is very good !!! esp if you like more glamourous makeup. For people with short or thin hair, he can do miracles

bugbear

Morning Gals!!

Shyen...serious ar? Regent open for booking for 1st Qtr of 2006 already? Abt 1 month ago when i talked to Sunil, he doesn't allow me to even book beyond Feb 2006 leh....ah yo...i must faster call him again liao...Thanks!! BTW, any changes in package price?

shyen

Hi Bugbear,

Yup, tat's wat Patrina told me.. cos i am looking at 2006 as well, but only open for 1st Q

Abt 2 wks ago I enquired.
U wan weekend or weekday? U so fast confirm Regent liao??

Erm.. not sure if there's any changes but i've the package cos i dunno the original price, hehee.. let me know if u need the package... but if book weekday, the promo is not bad..

bugbear

Hi Shyen...no lah...i toggling between 2 hotels now...but if it's open for 2006 and no changes to package..then i might consider lor :p I looking at Sat. Yah...the weekday promo is not bad...and i recently asked for Conrad packages...and there is a weekday promo which is fantastic as well.. so tempting leh...but the validity is till Sept05 only...

Can send me the package, pls? my email: [email protected] Thanks.

tealeaf

Hi Moo,
my MUA, Joanne, is also very good; esp if you like natural look. Many of my guests gave good comments of her makup.

tou2

Thanks Dor and lala. I heard from gals from another thread that Freddy's good with glam glam look and very good with hair
Think I will check with Margaret if she has any package with Freddy as well.

Hi moo, I'm not sure abt their charges. Leon says he gives a special price to Margaret's brides which is $600 but I'm not sure abt his normal price. Which BS are you with? Mayb they tie up with either Leon or Freddy too? I will prob call up Freddy this weekend. Will tell you the price next week, k?

Hi lala again. Oh, your MUA is Joanne. Your MU was indeed very nice! How's Joanne with hairdo? Cos' there is another bride who is abit concerned about her skills with hair. What makes you choose Joanne instead of Freddy? Both tie up with Divine, right?

tealeaf

Hi tougei,
Yep both are tied up with Divine. Actually both are good but each has different style. Girls who prefer sweet sweet look and more natural make up will prefer Joanne. Those who prefer more dramatic look will like Freddy better. Joanne will do simpler and sweet hairdo while Freddy will do more stylish ones

Both are good in their own style

bugbear

Hi Jody...from what i know is that if u take the jazz theme, u can utilize 1 of ur amenities for the jazz players...as for harpists..i guess if u request to swop the jazz for the harpists...maybe possible? Try call the planners to check out.

huiling

Hi dor, which bridal shop do you tie up with? have you had a trial with Leon? any photos to share share? i think i sd be using Leon, but I'm worried sick about whether he is suitable for me, since I'm so afraid that I would not look my best on my wedding day.

tou2

Hi Huiling

Does the Wedding Present tie up with Leon too? Maybe they have portfolios with him as the MUA?
Leon doesn't seem have an updated portfolio

Don't worry abt not suitable for your wedding day
as you can tell him exactly what you want during the trial MU session and can gauge his style then. Sure will be mei mei one. Have you booked Leon yet or are you still looking ard?

dor

hi huiling
i m w Kai. I forget to take any trial photos ;p. My hubby likes my makeup, esp the eyes
Ya he really did a good job on that. Well Leon has done my PS make up. I quite like it. He can bring out the best feature of u. You hv to do some homework like wat type of hair style or makeup u like. Show him and he will see and comment whether u r suitable anot. I would listen to his advise lor. After all, he is the pro
Btw, I hven got to see my PS photos yet.
Dun worry, he will sure make u a beautiful bride.

huiling

hallo bugbear, thanks for your assurance, i certainly hoped to look good on my AD! actually i have a friend who got married and found a MUA that charges only $250 for AD. MUA name called Lina, not sure if it is the same person often mentioned in this forum. but anyway she asked for a natural makeup, it turns out to be so natural that she looks like not having anything on her face in her photos. my friend was grumbling that she might as well do the makeup herself.

so moral of the story: pick your MUA carefully

hi tougei, wedding present does tie up with Leon. have not really seen his works at the BS yet. wedding present has made a booking for Leon for me, at my request. but as the trial is usually nearer to the AD, what if i don;t like his style and it is too late to change a MUA? crossing fingers now..

Hallo Dor, Kai ties up with Leon and TG right? there is this bride featured on her world brides, she has a beach wedding, and Kai designed a orange evening gown for her. is her makeup done by Leon or TG? you must share your PS pictures!!

tou2

Oh yar, I agree that the trial is abit too late for regrets. Can we do the trial earlier then? or must it be at first fitting?

I tried calling Freddy ong but no one answered leh. Dunno if I got the wrong tel no. Anyone has Freddy's contact?

huiling

tougei are you with margaret brides?

i think what we can do is to get the MUA to do our makeup for functions or dinner to have a gauge of his skill. then nearer to the AD, then we have the trial. but the problem is leon charges $150 for functions and Sam ong charges $200 *faint*

sorry don;t have freddy's number

tou2

Hi huiling

yes, I'm with Margaret
Hmm...why don't you use the trial for your functions instead? I have a fren who uses the trial for her ROM leh. thot that's smart hehe...

Managed to get hold of Freddy liao
His charges same as Leon but Leon sounds friendlier on the phone. also dunno how to decide between the two *vexed*

huiling

hi tougei, i tot the trial is for us to tell the MUA the exact kind of look that we want for our AD? i don;t want to look the same for AD and functions! how ar?

between Freddy and Leon, i wd take Leon. I'm biased. hahaha.

bugbear

Wah...u gals really did research on MUA. Me very moutain tortoise...those names that you gals mentioned, i knew neither of them

Are you gals engaging external MUAs or just choosing between those that tie up with your BS?

huiling

hi bugbear, makeup is so important to me that this is a first priority for me. so I will get th MUA that i like even if the BS does not tie up with him/her.

am torn between leon lim or sam ong. Leon ties with my BS but not Sam ong

bugbear

BTW, how do you gals determine which MUA is good and which to avoid? Any tips for me...i am a goner when it comes to makeup

tou2

Hi Huiling. Hehe, yar I like the err... "vibe" I get from Leon better also. Dunno why. But I will wait till Friday and ask Margaret for her opinion since she has seen both's works quite often. Will tell you her comments abt Leon

Hi BugBear, haha your wedding still long wat. No need to worry
Actually I also want to ask this question too. How to choose the MUA when most of them don't want to meet up? Like that can only determine "chemistry" over the phone and most of them sounded impatient or tao cos' they quite busy. For me, I really don't want to waste the money on trials and then wash off. And I agree with Huiling that I wouldn't want to wear bridal MU to functions hehe
So far I only base on recommendations and comments and of course price lar.

Anyone with more experience with choosing MUA please enlighten us?

busybee

hi gals!
since you're on the topic of MUAs, may i ask if anyone has heard anything about jasmine tiong? i'm totally clueless when it comes to makeup, so i'd simply be going with my designer's recommendation. still, it'd be good to have some positive feedback.

huiling

hi tougei! you must you must ask margaret, and get a detailed analysis of sam ong and leon lim! i have spoken to margaret before, she thinks that leon is good. but that's all she said that time. was only a brief chat.

hi bugbear, usually i go by recommendations and because i met up with quite a few photographers, i will ask them what they thnk of the MUA. since they show me their portfolios of photos, i look at the bridal makeup too, hehee
that's how i was impressed by sam ong, the bride's makeup was very good. though i'm not sure if it is after touch up of photos or not.

hi busybee. jasmine tiong is very experienced. i don't thnk there wd be any prob at all
which is your BS?

busybee

hi huiling!
tis good to hear that jasmine is experienced, and i take it that it means she's good.
have you seen any of her works in the various portfolios? i'm pretty bogged down by work to personally swing by my BS to bombard my poor designer with my questions...heheh...yes, i trust him enough to take up his recommendation but would still like to know more about the lady i'm gonna work with...literally putting my face in her hands leh!

i'm with silhouette. and you?

bugbear

Morning Gals!!

Heheh...Tou, yup...i still have a long time to go...but since you gals are on this topic...so i might as well start learning some tips from you all

Girl, can elaborate more on what do u mean by good? What are the stuffs that i need to lookout for when i see photographer's portfolio?

Which BS are u gals with? I have not spoken to my BS on MUA yet...but i think they have their own in-house MUA...don reckon it's anyone as popular as those mentioend by you gals.

kevinng

Did you guys read the Letter of Agreement? Please read it before you sign it. It's very very harsh and punitive. Make sure you can live with the clauses. Personally, I cannot. So I may have to walk away from Regent.

sharkfynn

Kevin, just curious, which part of the contract are you uncomfortable with. Did you actually have LA from other hotels to compare with?

Just curious.

kevinng

They want to be compensated with 100% revenue for 4 months prior to the wedding date, 50% for the 5th month and 20% for the 6th, should I cancel the banquet.

I asked my friends who are just recently married, and they said that they have similar clauses, but not this harsh. They said that 4 months is far too long to demand 100% revenue.

I mean 100% revenue means that they get the profit, plus the cost.

The whole idea is to compensate the hotel for the profit loss should I cancel. That is fair. However, what kind of cost does the hotel incur 4 months before the wedding? They won't have bought the food inventory and hired the temp staff, nor arranged the flowers. The only thing is the ballroom.

So, if I were to cancel for some unforseen reason, the hotel will be very well off since it won't incur much cost, but they will get compensation for the profit plus the cost they have not incurred.

There are some other clauses that would fall directly under the Unfair Contract Terms Act. Since these would be invalid anyway, I just left it in there if it pleases the hotel.

There's another clause that says that you are responsible for all damages caused by you or your guest. I had to caveat this one. Else, if say a waiter pours wine on your guest, your guest hits the waiter, and they end up fighting... then you must pay damages for your guest, the waiter, and the hotel. :p

I am still negotiating the terms. Hope they can be fair, because I really like the hotel.

I think people just sign these things without reading them. I think it is a big mistake. It is better to negotiate everything before you proceed with the hotel, and not after, so that there will be no dispute later.

tou2

Hi Huiling, I was impressed by Sam's work in the mag as well
that's why I called him also. Actually I asked Margaret briefly before on Sam and Leon. She said Leon is better at concealing flaws. I will ask her in detail on Fri

Hi Bugbear, mine is for Fri. Dunno if considered weekend or weekdays
For other hotels Friday is usually lumped together with Sun but for Regent it's separate dunno why. But I dont mind, I prefer Fri to Sun anyway.

bugbear

Morning mornign!!

Tou...yah...Fri for Regent is a separate package on it's own. Did u take Fri bcos of your date or? never considered sat?

diminished_6th

Wow, Kevin, that's pretty impressive.

I think you're right though in saying that most people won't read the letter of agreement before they sign. I think at that moment, you're pretty much too excited to worry about such nitty gritty. I guess that's what most hotels are banking on. Having read your mail, I will be sure to give this matter some thought. Have you compared it with Four Seasons? Was wondering if they both have the same clauses since they belong to the same hotel group.