Regent Singapore

tealeaf

The stage for the Chinois theme

193729.jpg

tealeaf

Hi kevin,
the picture is the stage for the chinois theme. No, don't think regent is "dao" at all. There are more pictures of the ballroom in the earlier posting. Go have a look.

tou2

Hi lala, I thought your flowers are beautiful too. Can I ask how much are they?

There are 2 stands on stage right? Do you find the ones in front very cumbersome? I mean, do they like block your way or something, esp during the Yum sheng when everyone's up on stage?

tealeaf

Hi tougei,
If I am not wrong, the bouquets for PS and AD and car flowers and corsages in all add up to $500. No idea how much exactly is a bouquet.

Yep, 2 stands on the stage. Don't think they block coz didn't feel that at all. There are enough place to stand. Don't worry

kevinng

I guess it depends on the manager you get. Some managers are more 'tau' than others. Can I ask to change managers?

jan_snow

lala, where did u sent ur cards for printing? i mean the inserts...
do we print on normal paper or those translucent type huh?

me still hav not settle all these le....

pork_chops

Hi Kevin,

My experience with the Regent has been great like the other girls as well ... in fact it was their service that made me sign up with them ...

LALA,

The stage looked good man ... going to send it to my husband to see to consider the Chinois theme. heh

tealeaf

Hi Jan Snow,
Sunil recommended one shop and is the one and only one shop that Regent recommends. Me forget the name liao ... we didn't use the translucent one coz think no one will really bother with the invitation card. The price is reasonable.

Hi Pork Chops,
I find the VIP table very nicely decorated

jan_snow

lala, thx and me totally agree wif u on the vip table setting...very grand n impressive.
in fact the other tables tables look good as a whole too.

Thumbs up...for brides-to-be, do consider popping by regent to see the actual setup, its slighlty different from the fotos, of cos better la

tealeaf

Hi Jan Snow,
yep I like the VIP table most coz it really looks very grand and nice. My HB thinks the same. My wedding coordinator and her HB kept singing praises of the decor

Oh, not forgetting I had 2 days of enjoyable stay in the hotel ...

Thumbs up ....

kevinng

We only have 1 day stay... They have like 'options' open for us to choose, but it's not all that great because we only have 3 'options' and seat covers is one of them. I mean... who has a wedding without seat covers right? She threw that in, after I protested.

... and then the projector is considered an option. Sigh... :p

We have to beg them to give us 2 more places for the test panel. They only gave us 6.

She gave us extra cards and parking, with thanks, after some begging.

We have to use our 'options' for the rest of the items.

For the remaining 2 'options', we may take the jazz band and the 2 cartons of wine.... or maybe an extra night stay.

Waiver of corkage is on top of my list, but they refuse to budge. If she doesn't waive it, I may just have to hold my wedding somewhere else because wine is important to my guests.

So, all in all, I'm quite happy with the package except for corkage and we wanted an additional projector, which she refuses to get for us.

OK... so we have to negotiate for such things... but her tone and attitude during the negotiation was not good at all. Plus I have no problem maxing out the ballroom, so I don't see her problems, as far as profitability is concerned. She kept saying that I'm asking a lot... with a grimace...

All of you probably got better managers, that's why you had a good time. That's why I asked.. can I change a manager? When we hold our wedding, we will be relying on the manager to help us coordinate things. I'm just afraid that she cannot deliver.

princessweds13

hi kevin

i talked to sunil. he's good. maybe u could ask to speak to him?

hmm - i dun think u can get complete waiver of corkage unless u get the wine from them which is at a reasonable price. i think it's the same everywhere else?

hahaha - dun take it as "begging" - take it as "negotiating" lah.

have u gone to other hotels? u should have a range of hotels to choose from and from there, u'll have a better idea on what to expect and what u can negotiate for

i dunno manz - to me, i thought grand hyatt was the super dao ones. they were the ones who couldn't budge on anything..
but that's just my opinion.

iluydia

kevin

you worked with evelyn? yes I believe sunil is easier to work with : )

lala

send me your link! can't wait to see it : )

kevinng

Aha! I see some people have bad rep. :p

I don't like to give names at public forums... unless in good light.

Perhaps I shall ask for Sunil.

bugbear

Kevin, I think maybe you should call up and make an appt with Sunil. I talked to Sunil as well and found him pretty nice. Open for negotiation. But as what princesswed ahs mentioned, don't reckon you can get complete waiver for wine unless u purchase wine from them, which i feel is of reasonable prices. If you think that Regent is difficult when it comes to negotiation, i have met another hotel which i feel that it's much worse than what you described...which i shan't mention names here
but, do talk to Sunil k...

jan_snow

Wow Huiling, I luv the wedding present...envy envy....am sure u will get a very beautiful gown

keep us updated ya....

dor

hi Kelvin
Of course you can ask for a change of co-ordinator, if you are not comfortable with the current one. I have changed mine too. As for the wine corkage, I think majority cant get the waiver. I have tried their in-hse australian red wine during my food tasting. It's pretty smooth to drink. Maybe you can try that out so as to save the hassle of bringin in ur own.

Hi jan snow
when is ur AD? I have not did my cards yet either but my good friend is taking care for me.

jan_snow

Morning dor, my AD is end of this yr. How abt u?
i would like to check wif u abt the change of coordinator le....

i pm u

pork_chops

Eh how come all of you think that Sunil is easier to work with har? Can share? My coordinator is Evelyn and so far I find her quite nice leh ... maybe cos I did not ask for many things? I asked for food tasting for 10, day room for coordinators and rose petals on tables...she ok to all leh but when I asked for projector she did say have to rent...but since I should be bringing in my own I though it's Ok ...

Kevin, how much more parking did you manage to get? The standard is 20% right? How abt the card? I know they give 60% and most hotels give 70%. You managed to get the seat covers which I think is quite good.

Lala, you worked with Sunil is it?

klkh

My Coordinator is also Evelyn. I find her quite professional. Same thing when I asked for food tasting for ten persons she also agreed. But for rental of projector, I think it's hotel policy that they have to charge a fee. So got to pay.

As for parking, I think it's restricted to 20% cos of the parking space available. I think I may not have enough parking coupons cos a lot of my guest drive. So whoever comes early will get the coupons.

I think generally if you have any special requests you can bring it up to discuss with the coordinator. The coordinator will try to help out as much as possible.

One thing I find about Regent staff they are generally professional and polite.

huiling

Hallo Jan Snow which bridal shop are you with? how is your wedding prep so far? have you decided how to let your precious dogs walk in with you?

tealeaf

Hi Pork Chops,
yep my coordinatore id Sunil. He is very "jing cai" leh, whatever we asked for, he will think think for a min, then said okie

jan_snow

hi pork chop, thot u bringing ur own? u have lobang??? cos me same fate as u wor...no FOC...sob sob...so unless got other lobamd, i will do away wif the montage

jan_snow

hi pork chop, thot u bringing ur own? u have lobang??? cos me same fate as u wor...no FOC...sob sob...so unless got other lobang, i will do away wif the montage

pork_chops

yah thought of bringing my own ... but see if anyone actually got it FOC from the hotel so I know if I have bargaining power at all...ehhehe...Jan Snow, when is ur AD?

jan_snow

pork chop... good for u lor. i think my co. sure hav but din wan all the hassle la..
abt bargaining, not so easy ...well i failed

my AD in dec...u neh?

pork_chops

oh then yours is coming soon! Excited?? Mine is next July ... still a while to go.

So r u taking their new themes or going with their 2004 themes?

After u signed your contract with them, did u still ask for some freebies as your AD draws nearer? Becos I asked Evelyn what if I want a few more things nearer to my AD, then she said we can discuss then lor.

kevinng

OK. Maybe I won't change coordinator until later. Maybe that day she was in a bad mood. Let's see what she has to say first. She's supposed to get back to me on Wed, but she still hasn't called.

tealeaf

Hi Kevin,
I think the reason is because I was supposedly an oriental bride, we changed to Regent coz Oriental is having a major reno. Thus based on the friendship between the 2 hotels, Regent gives us more perks .... this is what I gathered.

pork_chops

Oh, i see...prob that's y u got more perks also ... then also cos ur wedding is in 2004 and ours are in 2005 so the perks have changed....

Kevin, so far Evelyn has really been very nice to me and I actually signed up cos of very bad service from another 5 star hotel ... and she is very bz so one nite she actually called me only at 9 plus ....

bugbear

Kevin, u can try borrowing a projector from ur office? Cos i understand that Regent will also need to rent from others...hence, the will charge u for that.

jan_snow

hi dor, thanx n have replied u.

okie, i shld be confirmg my food tasting sch soon. Maybe mid Nov and also abt the cards, yeap i need to confirm soon.

have a GREAT weekend

aeebee

Hi folks

it's been a while since I came into this thread. I'll begin by saying that if you're thinking of having your dinner at the Regent, then you've really made a splendid choice. My dinner was last Nov 29th and I still have wonderful memories of it. Everything went smoothly, thanks in no small part to the caring and professional staff at the Regent. Some say the managers are 'tau' but I think you mean accurately, 'inflexible', with pricing that is. Well, I did think so initially but I got to realise, with time, that they really do try their best to meet your needs. They do have to protect their business and so there will always be a limit to how far they can bend, as in all other establishments. I trust I am not alone in saying that the people at Regent do seem to be more concerned with the making everything work out right, down to the very sensitive details of making you (and your guest) feel totally comfortable, thus enjoying the feast and festivities. The premium you pay goes a long way. I know because I have tasted sweet hospitality from a great hotel. Kudos to the staff, Agnes (who has since left the Regent) and Evelyn in particular. I'm looking forward to our anniversary night at the Regent... All the best to all you who are preparing for your BIG day. It is all very exciting! God bless

shyen

I'm considering Regent as 1 of my banquet choices. Was pretty impressed wif my tele-conversation wif them...
However, the weekend rates for 2005 are almost close to $90, hence am considering a weekday instead. Would like to know how's the food & svc on a weekday banquet? Also, do ur guests have trouble finding the place, since it's not v accessible from the MRT?

Btw, I was given the package by Patrina. Anyone has worked with her before? She seems quite nice...

bugbear

Hi Shyen, i personally patrina friendly. I did not exactly liaise with her, but met/talked to her when i attended their workshop. Maybe you can find out from Patrina if Regent will be conducting any workshop in the near future. During the workshop, u will get to meet almost or all of the planners, taste 2 of their wines, look at their table settings, etc.

shyen

Hi Bugbear,

Thanks for your comments. Ya she say on & off Regent will have workshops.. but it's only upon invitation to those couples who have asked for quotes before... so prob tat makes me eligible
but do they offer discounts at these workshops? Also, do we get to choose the planner? Sorry for asking so many questions :p