Raffles Town Club

fudgecake

Hi Dap,

Thanks for the sound advice. I think I must be more thick-skinned and hound my co-ordinator for a response. 50 tables is a lot. Hmmm.... I am already thinking that pic taking would be difficult with 40 tables and u have 50!!! How did u manage? did the wedding dinner end late due to the pic taking?

dolphin48

fudgecake, for me, my dinner started quite on time. march in by 8.10pm. surprisingly my guests were 90% there by 7.45pm liao so i was told to prepare for march in soon at 8pm.... super stressed then cos make up just ended... i finished the dinner by 11pm so i think the time is about nice ba. i have 2 friends to help out in photo taking such that, i don't waste time waiting for the guests to move their butts when i arrive at the table. my friends quite efficient. it's always 2 tables ahead prepared so i literally turn, take pic and turn again to the next table and take pic. each table takes less than 10 sec.

sphire80

Audrey - Not sure if Alastair is good. But all i knw.. he's very busy and always in a hurry to hang mi up. Loosing fate in RTC.

fudgecake

Hi Daphne... must have been hectic... turn here... turn there... smile here .... smile there. Your jaws must be aching
Good advice... must find some good frens to organise and co-ordinate everything so that I can relax and enjoy my wedding.

fudgecake

Sphire.... dun lose faith leh.... there are guaranteed to be hiccups when a new team takes over. Give them some time and hopefully they will be much better. Btw... when is your wedding? still some time to go rite?

sphire80

Hi Fudge - My date is on 15th Sept 07. Still got time. The way RTC handles my request ( I dont think I'm pushy), both my FH and myself dont feel comfortable. But RTC is still on our list. We r also considering Oriental. Oriental we forsee parking prob.

fudgecake

Hi Sphire,

15 Sept 07 is still a long way to go. Oriental is nice too but u r right, the parking is a problem but their suites are WONDERFUL. if u want to pamper yourself and FH, go for ORIENTAL. anyway, u might want to call lilian? there is a few pp i have been talking to like lilian and alice and they have been pretty responsive till date after I hinted my displeasure.

dolphin48

sphire, i think cos yours is still a long way to go and they would be focusing more on the upcoming events...... it's like this one and i believe so for all hotels..... if you are not comfortable with your current coordinator, change to someone else perhaps? not sure if my coordinator is still handling wedding events cos she told me that i'm her last case as she is switching to corporate events. if not, she is quite ok. her name is natalie.

fudgecake

Natalie has changed to corporate events. I spoken to her during the wedding fair and she mentioned she is doing corporate events now.

sphire80

Thank Fudge and Daphne
Hvnt block out RTC from my venue list. Waiting for Oriental's final costing and Menu. Even for RTC I need to change menu and further discuss the costing. Do see the interest of the coordinator. Probably i'll contact Lilian or Alice. Still like RTC tho. It has a real different feeling from hotels. RTC might be having BS in aug/sept. So wanna finalise my package before its too late.

jq1406

need your advice. the price that RTC had posted in the website had +++ (svc charge, cess & GST) anyone have their 2007 price list? do they still have the +++ price or a nett price? Can share?

email: [email protected]

michiko

Dear all RTC brides

can share with me on some of ya feedback on this place.
I saw the website, the place looks so nice!

One concern... is the location convenient?

fudgecake

Hi michiko,

cannot help you much on this as my wedding is next year. Based on the previous feedback from the other threads,it seems positives. However, there is a change in the banquet team and currently, I think there are still hiccups during this transition period. Why dun you give them a call, see the ballroom and talk to the co-ordinators to see whether it meet your requirements?

wiseharmony

halos...

mi Dec'04 bride.... seems beli long ago hor... (^_^)

we charted a private bus packed all mi relatives in the bus and all of them came on time...
dinner starts on the time & ends on time.

minty_mic

Fudgecake

Thanks a lot for your confirmation. I have met up with the co-ordinator and loved the place. But I have forgotten to check whether I need to be a member.

It really cleared my concern and worries.

becky

I'm new here. Went to RTC and really love the place and heard that the next wedding fair is in Mar '08.
For those who previously signed up during the wedding fair, what were the additional perks that were given? free table? discount from total package? corkage waived? extra barrel of beer or free flow of beer?
Would really appreciate your feedback.

fudgecake

wow... next wedding fair in march 07 or 08? Btw, their wedding fairs are usually in Apr and Aug.

Hi becky, the perks are 10% off the menus (min 40 tables), corkage waiver for wine and liquor, extra nice stay, $100 F&B vouchers and extra 5% cards.

champ

Hi! Finally gotten my AD dates from my shifu! I'm thinking of holding my wedding dinner next year in RTC. Any kind soulz willing to share their AD pic?

I've spoken to a lady from RTC called Ain. Wanted to pop by to look at the ballroom on Sun but she didnt return my call... =(

dorin

I went to RTC last evening to finalise some of the details for my wedding this year, 23 Dec.

In the course of the meeting, realised that there is a complete overhaul in the catering dept. Its a completely new team now.

I met up with Jandy, the new Asst Mgr. She is much better than the previous executive. Jandy is very warm and willing to offer ideas for your wedding. She gives good customer service. I would strongly recommend you guys to look for Jandy to service your account.

You can even quote my name. We talked for 3 full hours. She has given me some ideas on how to personalise my wedding and how to simplify the planning for banquet.

Have fun with her!

fudgecake

Hi Dorin,

My present co-ordinator is Jandy and I agree with you that her attitude is GOOD. Hope she will stay on as I have 3 changes of co-ordinator so far. Care to share the ideas for your wedding? can PM me is not too convenient to post it here. My AD is in June 06.

Hi SP.. suggest u look for Jandy if Ain is not rsponding promptly to you.

sweetpea

Wise..you are still here!
Hi Shelyn..congrats to you too. glad all went very well for you.

I was a Jul 05 bride and still very happy we chose RTC. With the new coord and banquet team, not sure how the coordination and food will be like. But last year, Terence was our coordinator and all went very well. We had our 1st anninverary dinner and stay at RTC in Jul this year, and I loved it. Brings back all the wonderul memories of the big day. : ) Enjoy!

minty_mic

Lollie

I have signed up for RTC bliss tea package as I am also having a church wedding followed by hi-tea in Mar next yr. The package is same as shown in web link

I am requesting for theatre-style seating but the co-ordinator do not have any pics as she mentioned not a lot of people are having the same request as me.

lollie

Hi Minty,

I read from other threads that they managed to neg some perks like 20% invitation cards, 30% parking coupons for their romance tea pacckage. They liaised with the Banquet Manager, Steven. Wonder if you are successful in your negotiation? Or you just got exactly that which was ofered in the website? I'm going down this week to have a look at the place.

minty_mic

Lollie

Not sure on romance package as we have ard 200++ guests. We want to make them comfortable by having more dishes and pillarless venue. For Bliss package, there is inclusion of invitation cards, parking etc.

I have checked out some hotels.. The venue and price what RTC offered is considered very attractive..

lollie

i really must applaud the Asst manager, Jandy.
Although i decided on another location in the end, she still continue to keep in touch as friends and helping me out with any other issues i may face in the course of planning. Among all the banquet sales manager i've met during this period of searching, i give her thumbs up.

So brides considering RTC, look for Jandy.
Other banquet sales managers looking for a gd wedding planner, can headhunt her too. haha

jasleo

Hello Laurel,

How should I look for Jandy?Just call the number stated in the website or?I am interested to know more about RTC packages as well.

lollie

Hi Jaselo,

Jandy can be reached at 63573389. I was 'played out' by the other hotel i have booked and is now seriously considering RTC again. I hope Jandy can come back with an attractive package so that i can convince my bf to choose this location for our wedding dinner.

sunbubble

I have attended my friend's wedding hi-tea recently. The ambience was so-so, like those typical hotel's arrangement. Nothing very special and their audio system was bad. There were a couple of times the audio screeched very loud or no images were presented on screen. Not sure if it's the person-in-charge was not familar with the AV system or there's technical problems.

Not a pleasant experience with the entire event though. Rated 4.5/10.

qqkel

Thumbs up for Jandy too. Had a rather bad impression on RTC sales when I first called up to enquire on the wedding dates as the person on the line was rather unfriendly and impatient. Luckily, I met Jandy and she is really friendly and patient. Really appreciate her. Thank her for all her sharing, her guidance and advice too. Thanks, Jandy!

posygal

Hi all Brides who had their wedding dinner at RTC recently, did u gals choose the 8 course or 9 course dinner? Was inclined to choose the 8 course dinner ( as we are having a real wedding cake cutting during the wedding) but parents were afraid that 8 course is not filling enuff for the guests. Can please advise? Many thanks.

kitty_33

Hi all RTC btbs,

Jandy has left RTC recently! Who will be your new coordinators? 'm inclined to sign up with them, but am unsure if the service will be just as good.

Kindly advise.

fudgecake

oh dear. u mean Jandy also left RTC? hmmm... she did not tell me this when i called her last mth. very sad as I think she is rather good. hope the new asst banquet manager will be just as good if not better than Jandy.

Kitty : any idea when she left RTC?

wola

i am thinking of signing with RTC too. Jandy is now serving notice. I am currently liasing with Judy, the manager. personally, i think jandy is friendier

fudgecake

Sigh... i have been thru the hands of many co-ordinators. Terence to alicia to someone else ( cannot remember name) to Jandy. wonder will Judy be here till my wedding or will there be many other changes

kitty_33

Hi Fudgecake,

Jandy's last day with RTC was 2 days ago, i.e Wednesday.

When did you book your banquet? Aiyo...changed to many times ah?

We're going to finalise everything in the proposal next week. Also dunno who will be the new coordinator :-(

fudgecake

hihi kitty,
i booked my banquet in April 06 when RTC is having wedding fair. Loved the ballroom when I first saw it and also the pte and large reception area. When is your wedding date?