Raffles Town Club

shelyn

Hi fudgecake,
I dunno whether she has any website... i'm meeting her tonite to get my DVD!!!.... so happy... hehehe... will ask her whether she has website and let u know

fudgecake

Daphne,
Would love to see your pix. [email protected]
How's married life for u? Starting on Project BB yet?

Shelyn,
Hey there. thanks. let me know if she has a website. Must be so exciting to view the video and pic after the wedding. All those memories... ahhh.....

Btw, I was thinking of a live band during my wedding. Any of you had a band for your wedding ? Will RTC charge me for the use of the sound equipment and the mics etc?

fudgecake

hi Daphne,
Thanks for the link. U also one of the "mei mei" brides. YOur jiemeis really tekan your hubby !!!Your AD fotos are very well taken too. Who is your PG?

Hihi Shelyn,
Got your email and will check out the website. Hope u are feeling better.

Hi gals, it is weekend again!!! Cheers and enjoy the week ahead.

kexie

Hi fudgecake,

Thks for ur mail

sphire80

Hi Fudge.. c ya here again..kekekeeke
Havnt finalise my package with YC.

Hey PPL, anyone interested in 1 night stay at RTC Presidential suite w breakfast for two? Price neg. Expires in 2nd July. But if u are holding ur banquet, can extend till 2nd Aug to use it on your banquet day. interested email mi at [email protected]

sphire80

Hi Fudge

Yup.. only paid minimal deposit. Went thro the contract again and found that dont really need some items. So thot of exchanging those for something else.. like pics when I pay my balance deposit. At the moment just waiting for my dinner date to be fixed. Then will settle with YC.

Hi Daphne, I hv received an offer for abt $700. But want to give it to someone who is holding their banquet at RTC as it will mean more. After the wedding banquet, couples need something more relaxing than a normal room. The room given by RTC cn be neg for something else. price is neg. send me and email if interested.

shelyn

Halo everyone,

Long time no posting... and this thread seems very quiet. No one getting married at RTC here to chat??

I'm here to share my photos... finally got my photos from Sam Wong and the photos are all fantastic. I'm so happy with it.... and of cos very happy to share it with all of u...
BTBs who wans to look at RTC's ballroom can take a look at the nite photos... they are at http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/shelyn_ng/my_photos

dolphin48

hi shelyn

thanks for the photos! they are very nicely taken. seeing your photos remind me of my own dinner... keke....

anna, the food is good. one of the better ones compared to some of the hotels out there. for me, the svs is good. i got no complaints from my end.

dazzle81

Hi Shelyn, thanks for sharing your photos, very nice!! They are also very nicely taken..Just wondering if you had to pay for extra decor, for example the flowers decoration on the stage?

pigletz

hi daphne,

thanks...location is one of my concern. for the banquet staff, they are old or young ah?

and who did u laise wf for your event?

dolphin48

dazzle81, the flower deco on the stage is included in the package. they are quite generous with that. but every year got different theme.

anna, for my wedding, what i did was i catered a bus to send the guests out to newton mrt cos mine ended quite late due to the big number of guests i had and it happens to be raining that day so the bus came in useful.

as for the banquet staff, they are young.
The lady that coordinate my wedding is no longer doing wedding events but corporate events instead. You may try Terence or Alicia.

fudgecake

Hihi Shelyn,
Long time no see. the fotos were very well taken and as usual, you are a beautiful bride
. Sam Wong is not bad. Can share with me his contact and quotation.

Btw, I am stuck between choosing 8 course and 9 course menu. Hubby and I are keen to choose the 8 course as we are having a real cake later but parents rather us choose the 9 course as they dun want guests to complain not enough to eat. Did any of u gals choose the 8 course menu and any comments?

Btw, I finally received my contract from them (after 2 months!) and spotted a typo in the wedding date... haha..... *faint*

fudgecake

Hihi Anna,

Just to share. I was there at the wedding fair and the service staff are young and attentive. I was impressed with the speed they cleared my dishes and topped up my drinks unlike some of the other wedding fair i attended.

shelyn

According to frank feedback from my very close frens, the food is one of the better ones they had had so far... as least for wedding dinners. The service staff are young and attentive. I liased with Terence, the assistant catering manager. He's quite a busy man... so it's quite difficult to get him at times.

I din pay anything extra for the decoration.. Had asked for rose petals to throw at the aisle and they say will give mi...but in the end dun have leh... I also forgot to ask them bout it until the next day then i realised there was no rose petals....

Fudgecake,
The packages with 8 or 9 dishes are quite new... our's is the older version, all with 9 dishes so not sure how 8 course is like. Actually if they can offer 8 dishes that shd mean it's enuff to eat. For my case, 9 dishes, most tables cannot finish the food... esp the rice towards the end. So 8 dishes shd be juz nice. But of cos parents also wan 'face' so it's quite a difficult decision to make.

fudgecake

Hihi Shelyn,
Thanks for the advice. Hmmm...probably need to check with my co-ordinator on the response on the 8 course menu.

Hihi Anna,
No problem. I also have the same problem with shortlisting but in the end choose RTC becos it is something different from normal hotel venues.

fudgecake

just learnt that terence and alicia has left RTC a month ago. There is a new person taking over from them called lilian. She sounds pretty nice over fone. hope all goes well.

audreyaw

Hi there, Im new to the thread... kindly share comments for RTC. I went to see the place and one of the managers there brought me around. Its beautiful place. I wonder if anyone here has further comments?

sphire80

Anyone has any idea when is RTC's next bridal show?

Planning to signup during BS. Have to finalise menu and cost before that. Hence need a rough guide. Thank you.
Anyone got corkage waived? Find their corkage and wine EX. Do they provide dry ice effect and rose pettals?

shelyn

Hi Audrey,
No further comments on RTC. The place is fabulous and food is great!

Sphire,
I think their next BS would be in Aug/Sep... if they follow their usu practice. During previous BS, corkage is waived if u confirm on that day. They will have dry ice but rose petals need to be requested for.

shelyn

Hi Daphne,
Ermmm.... being Mrs also not much diff.... but need to do a lot of things by myself now such as washing clothes, ironing clothes etc.... hahaha...

but it's quite nice too cos u get to see your darling everyday, pamper each other and someone to massage u on a tired day
but of cos also got frustrating moments lah... but after that when both get over it it's sweetness again

Maybe i'm still in the honeymoon preiod cos for the past 11 weeks that i was married, my hubby was away on and off for about 5-6 weeks... cos of reservist, outstation etc etc... so maybe absence makes the heart fonder....

fudgecake

Hihi shelyn,

Good to hear that u are still in the honey moon mode. There is lots of pros and cons on staying together.

Talking abt ironing clothes.... I hate ironing his shirts at times. the sleeves.... frustrating... any tips on how to iron shirts?

shelyn

Hi fudgecake,
actually i din have much problem ironing clothes leh...surprisingly... wat's wrong with the sleeves?? his sleeves quite easy to iron leh.. in fact i find it's the easiest part to iron of the whole shirt =P... i also like to iron his pants cos no need much ironing already quite straight. I think one or 2 mths back the sunday times life taught pp how to iron long sleeve shirts... i learnt a few tips from there but din cut out the article so it's with gurung gunu man now...

but i dun like to do housework such as cleaning.. so we got a cleaning auntie to come on weekend. But i dun find her good leh...anyone got good recommendation for mi???.....

sphire80

HI Shelyn
Thanks for the info on the BS. Tht clip is really funny.

Did u girls take the long aisle or short one? I need to use projector and hv 40 tables. Do u think long aisle would still be good? find the short aisle too short as i'm hvin flower girls and page boy.

fudgecake

hihi sphire... u are back again. so have u finally confirmed on YC? when is your AD ? I think the short aisle is a bit short when u have little gals and boys trotting infront of u.

Hihi shelyn,
haha.... must take a tip or two from u then. I am okie with house cleaning but only do so once a week. usually we are not at home so it is not too much of a chore. Another thing i hate doing is WASHING DISHES... my poor hands... anyway... i been dropping hints here and there for a dishwisher.

sphire80

yup fudge.. here i am. Havnt been to YC yet. waiting to confirm the banquet first.

Jus wondering... which comes first. I need to amend my menu and not sure wht charges will incur. When i mend my menu, need chef to be around to advice rite? Do I sign the contract before amending or after?

fudgecake

hmmm sphire... if yours is going to be a customised menu... better make sure u meet the chef and specify the items u want to change before signing on the dotted line.

As mine is the normal menu... chinese wedding banquet... i signed up during the bridal fair to get the corkage waiver. btw. who have u been liasing with? terence and alicia both resigned and i am dealing with a new lady called lilian.

fudgecake

Hihi audrey,

U might want to check out when is the next wedding fair. I think it is in Aug. Can get extra nite stay, 10% off certain menus and best of all, corkage waiver.

shelyn

Hi fudgecake,
Maybe next time we shd pair up to iron... haha.. i'll iron all the sleeves and u iron the other parts of the shirt...

How do u do house cleaning? Do u mop the whole house everyweek? Cos i find it very tiring to mop leh... there was once my cleaning auntie din come... so i mopped it myself and i almost fainted and almost cried hahaha...
cos it was so tiring and my sweat was dripping nonstop! But when my cleaning auntie mop it looks very relaxing leh... not sure whether i use too much force cos i wan my floor to be clean. Sometimes after the auntie mopped, it's still not very clean cos when i walk ard my soles will become a bit black and i dun like it...

is a dishwasher good??... so far, i'm ok with dish washing cos my HB will usu wash the dishes. Before our wedding, I made him agree to our separate 'duties' and my duty is to cook while he will wash hahahaha.....
Ask your HB to wash too! Then maybe when he's sick of washing he'll get a dishwasher...

shelyn

Hi all RTC Brides to be,

Forgot to remind u all one thing that happened during my dinner... They switched off the aircon b4 the end of my dinner... so it was very stuffy, esp at the foyer when we send off guests. I was sweating there....

fudgecake

Haha shelyn, we will be such a comical sight. 2 pple ironing a shirt. where u stay huh? after i iron the other parts of the shirts, i can drop by your house and get u to iron the hateful sleeves.

I agree house moping is another tedious chore. Try to do it once a week but sometimes...very lazy... just vacuum or sweep. Sigh...suddenly miss my house and my ever so efficient mummy.

Dishwasher is good except that waste water lah if u do not pack the dishwasher with enough dishes. My hubby would rather leave the dishes in the sink then to wash them. There was once when I procratinated against washing the dishes and let him stack and stack the dishes to see if he would wash them... in the end.... i gave up.... i ended up washing the dishes

how can they off the air-con before dinner??!?! Izzit way past 11 pm? I will make sure to remind them not to do so.

fudgecake

Sphire.... hmmm...do we liase with the banquet manager or the catering co-oridnator? confused liao. Alastiar name is also on my contract but most of the time i used to liase with terence.

sphire80

Fudge... oh is it? But I've been liasing with Alastiar. He's also so busy. Probably I shd look at my contract again. Is ur coordinator stated in ur contract.

shelyn

Hi fudgecake,

I'm staying at Bt Panjang. How about u?

My house floor... if only vacuum or sweep wont be clean... cos it's near main road so more dusty.

Yup the switch off the air con b4 11... it was only around 10.30 i think... i din know they switched off until i went out to eh foyer to send off guests and it was so super stuffy there... i asked them to switch on but it took quite sometime for the place to be cool again cos it's quite big there.... quite disappointed in the aspect but overall generally still quite ok with the service lah.

fudgecake

Hihi shelyn.... wah... we both very far away from each other leh. I am staying at Yishun. sigh... still have to iron the sleeves myself then. never mind... will come and hound u here when i need a tip or 2.

Wah... 10.30pm is very the early to off the aircon leh. but i guess u felt it more becos u were there for a long time sending off the guests. The guests should not have felt it that much.

Sphire... hmmm....my co-ordinator was stated as alicia but since she resigned... i assuming the new co-ordinator is Lilian. hmm..sent her a couples of email but no reply leh....

dolphin48

sphire, i think the coordinators that we used to have may have left RTC already so can't really advise who is good there.

fudgecake, i think you can try giving them a call. i used to do that with my previous coordinator and i did hint to her to be more responsive to my emails which she did. Anyway, i think they tend to be more responsive when it's nearer to the date.

sherly, i don't have the aircon problem then.

i think someone mentioned about 40 tables? I had 50 and i used the short aisle... for me, it's long enough....