Raffles Town Club

shelyn

Hi Daphne
was waiting eagerly for your feedback haha... =P
M very glad that your AD went so smoothly.. so all your effort was worth it now. I hope my guests will be impressed as well.

Wat fanfare did they have? U mean the 1st dish presentation? So we dun need to choose our own song for 1st dish? Did u have the live string performance as well?

I was quite upset during my food tasting cos we waited for more than half an hr b4 they serve the first dish. But overall my parents were quite pleased with the food. However, my HB family had lots of complaints.... so it really spoils our mood... hope the rest of the guests can be impressed with the food too.

How many tables did u have in the end? was the ballroom squeezy with your number of tables? Any pictures to share yet??...

so sorry... like asking for a lot of things hor =P

dolphin48

Hi shelyn

I will show u the pics once it's ready cos my PG says that he will pass to me before CNY. was waiting more eagerly actually for my video cos i want to view the first dish dance again. All I remember was I was laughing away and even till now, my mum's friends were telling her it was one of the best dinner they had and very entertaining. My MIL is very happy cos everyone was telling her the food is very good and she's very particular about food. I had 50 tables in all. No, u don't have to choose your own song. They mix 3 songs together and the songs are songs that you know.
How many tables u have?
I also have some other hiccups but then since it's already over so it doesn't matter anymore. Like there was a miscommunication over how i do up my table list. End up about 8 tables had 1 or 2 chairs missing so my advise is to communicate to your coordinator and the banquet manager again and again. Remind them again on the actual day. We didn't use up all the 2 barrel of beer. In fact only 1 1/2 barrels used. Cos we told the banquet manager that when they asked, don't ask if they want beer but instead ask if they want wine, soft drinks or tea. And only when they request for beer, then they give beer. I ordered about 72 bottles of red wine and left 8 bottles so i think my group can really drink. Was surprised that all my mum's friends drank wine which i didn't expect. still expect to return some part of my wine initially.

shelyn

Hi Daphne,
U made the dance sound so interesting. I think i wont wan to look at it until during the dinner so that i can be surprised by it too... haha... and u are so full of praises for the dinner. I really hope mine will end up as successful as your's.

I would be having around 55 tables... and i was told it would be a bit squeezy with 60 tables. So i wonder how it is like with 50 tables. I hope still fine so that we can move around easily during the photo taking.

so surprising that u used only 1 1/2 barrel beer. I was still thinking how many barrels i need to pay...haha... cos per barrel is around 500.

So happy for u that things turned out ok for u. Hope u have a forever blissful and loving marriage.

dolphin48

shelyn, wat we did was we told the banquet manager that when they serve the alcohol, don't ask if they want beer, but instead ask if they want wine or soft drinks and only when guests asked if there's beer, then offer beer. so that's how we save on the beer cos we don't want to incur the extra cost on that too.... and i would advise u to get wine that is not bad so that more pp would drink wine. that's what i did.

sweetpea

Hi Shelyn, I had 57 tables, it was a little squeezy but still acceptable. I had no problems walking with my EG. But if WG, then maybe a bit tight if walking between tables. The only thing is the tables had to go all the way front, so prob the front tables could not really see the stage very much. Anyway, it is a pillarless ballroom, so do not worry too much about this.

sweetpea

Hi Shelyn, I had 57 tables, it was a little squeezy but still acceptable. I had no problems walking with my EG. But if WG, then maybe a bit tight if walking between tables. The only thing is the tables had to go all the way front, so prob the front tables could not really see the stage very much. Anyway, it is a pillarless ballroom, so do not worry too much about this.

sweetpea

This is the ballroom with 57 tables, so one side is 28 tables
344218.jpg

shelyn

Hi Sweetpea,
Thanks so much for the info.... ;->
it is really helpful. Now i am trying to cap the tables at 55. From the picture it looks ok at the area around VIP table but the rest of the tables looks a bit squeezy leh...

My EG is also 'pong pong' kind...similar to WG so guess i wld have some difficulty walking b/w the tables.... but no choice....

To those who are interested, I have uploaded my PS photos.... can take a look if u wan.
http://sg.photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

dolphin48

shelyn

saw your pics...... u very pretty! is the one in the studio your WG? Is the red one your EG?
I like your WG..... nice and u look so princess.

btw, i find your hubby familiar. looks like one of my JC mates...... is he from YJ?

sweetpea

HI SHelyn

U're welcome

I love your outdoor pics! I also had my PS at Sentosa..hehe..same tree. Did you take ur PS at the marina at Sentosa or somewhere else? I love marinas I almost wanted to pay to take my photos as Raffles Marina. Nice nice..esp dusk photos..so romantic

shelyn

Hey Daphne,
haha...but sadly none of my frens and relatives say i look pretty leh =P
The WG is OTR... i can choose another one for my AD or can use back the same one. I like my WG very much too... actually it looks nicer in real cos there's a lot of sequins and crystals which cans be seen clearly in pics...

yup the red EG is my MTM one... very 'kua zhang' hor...hahaha...

my hubby from AJC...he stays ar AMK area... cld be ur sec sch fren??

dolphin48

shelyn, ok lah, the gowns not so pong pong..... my WG almost as pong as yours cos i used can-can in the night for easier walking...
my seating arrangements is based on 52 tables and plus 2 VIPs, that's 54 tables in all. But must get one friend to help to coordinate the photo taking such that you just need to turn around from the next table and min walking....

shelyn

Daphne,
i din wear any can-can for my WG during PS cos they say no need to wear in studio. On AD will wear either a big or medium one...
and my EG is with can-can sewn in.. and will wear another can-can on AD cos they say need to wear more for it to look nice...
so on AD i will be pong-pong thruout..hahaha... which is wat i like =P

shelyn

wah the idea of arranging photo-taking such that i only need to turn around from next table is so good....never tot of that...hehehe... will follow your method..

dolphin48

shelyn, i will post my AD pics after i finish uploading them and then u can see how it looks with full 54 tables cos i took it from all angles.....
btw, u taking their rolls royce? very nice car.... hehe....

shelyn

Yah shd be taking their rolls royce. Were u the one who mention that they have 2 different colours? So which colour did u take??....
When did u decorate the car and who did it for u?

My bridal shop says they can provide the deco and help to tie but have to drive the car there the day b4....which i dun think RTC will do that rite?.. so how huh?

dolphin48

shelyn

i didn't know got 2 colors leh..... i think mine is the grey one..... can't remember :p

My BS decorate the car and i insist that they drive the car down to my BS cos my BS is not far from them.. it's at Tg Pagar so i think still ok.

shelyn

Oh, at tanjong pagar is ok for them? mine is also there.... so maybe can request for them to drive there too??... ;->

So far i also saw only 1 rolls royce there... bluish grey in colour and car plate 3000k rite? Have not discussed such things with my coordinator yet... he seems very busy with CNY stuff now.

aggalicious

hello ladies! I'm very keen to find out how the RTC ballroom looks after dolling up! Can any sweet brides send me pix if you had your wedding there?

shelyn

Hey my wedding is only 10 days away...but Terrence has not called to meet up with mi leh... should i call him???... cos last time when i called he said usu they will call up couples 2 weeks b4 wedding to discuss the details.. he say even if we dun call they will also call to rush us. But now he still hasn't call leh and i feel bad to keep calling him like very gan jiong..... HOW???

dolphin48

hi shelyn, i think you should call him.... never leave it to them to worry for you cos they have too many events to handle. i call my coordinator endlessly during the last week too.....

shelyn

Hey Daphne,
How did you tell your coordinator that you want gold table cloth for the rest of the tables? Cos mine say there's only white and ivory leh... dun have the nice nice gold cloth that you used...
Their's is the plain one...which i find very restaurant-like.....

shelyn

I dunno wat's the name of my theme leh... it's the red table cloth one lor..i think same as ur's.
who's your coordinator? How many tables did u have again? Maybe I get him to go and ask again whether have or not.... cos i really like that one..

fudgecake

I find terence a bit on the bo chap side. Most of the time, it is me chasing him instead of the other way round. For example, I was interested in 2 dates for the wedding banquet but there is a tentative booking. He was supposed to get back to me a week go whether the couples who booked the dates decided to release or confirm so that I can look at alternative dates or venue. So far, no calls, call him but I think hp spoil, email him but no reply etc. Any of you have the same problem with him?

dolphin48

fudgecake, i heard terence is on reservist or on leave....

mage, as i know, it's 40 tables min.... price for 2006 / 7, i don't know cos my AD over already.

fudgecake

Daphne, izzit? Hmm... maybe should give him another chance then. Today he called me to tell me about the bridal show. So he not so bo chap after all. Thanks for info,

Mage : Price on website for 2006. I think if you do it early 2007, u can still get the 2006 price.

shelyn

Hi fudgecake,

Terence is my coordinator. I find him quite ok, though he can be a bit 'bo chap' like wat u say but that's cos he's very busy. When I call him, he's usu in a meeting or meeting client. But he would usu call back if I leave a msg for him.. so I find that still ok... He is responsible if there is work to be done.

My wedding will be this coming sat. So i shall see how everything turns out and let u know again..

fudgecake

Hi Shelyn, Thanks for the positive feedback. wah... only one week away from your AD. How are you feeling? Your's wedding lunch or dinner? Hmm... I wanted to see a wedding set up and terence was mentioning about one this coming weekend. haha.. he must have been talking about yours.

fudgecake

Hi Shelyn, Thanks for the positive feedback. I wanted to view a wedding setup and terence was mentioning one this wkend. Must be yours lah
Wah... only one week away. u must be nervous and excited now.

dolphin48

shelyn, wah so fast.... must be getting excited.... i like the food there very much but i didn't get to eat during the dinner..... so now i keep promoting this place to my friends who are sourcing for venue... keke....

shelyn, must remember to send me pics hor....
All the best!

shelyn

Hi Fudgecake,
It's only 1 day away, not 1 week!!!... haha...
Yah he shd be talking about mine then.. mine is a dinner. U can come and look at the setup if u free

Hi Daphne,
yah seems very fast hor... i also feel that time passes very fast. but b4 that i felt that time passes very slowly leh... haha... I intend to request that they keep our food servings and then bring it up to our suite after the dinner.. cos i think will be hungry by then.

And u know wat? I actually forgot to call Mr Chan 3 days b4 leh!!!... I juz realised it last nite at 11.30pm and was so nervous...scared that he dun wan to come.. I called him this morning and luckily he will still be coming...

Yup will remember to post photos...
starting to feel nervous and excited now hehe...

fudgecake

haha..shelyn.. paiseh.. u rest well and hope u have a great wedding tomorrow! remember to post pics to share. tomorrow will be a great day. cheers.

shelyn

Back from RTC today. I had a great time there... I'm glad my wedding went quite smoothly. The day really flew pass so quickly.. I felt that I had not fully savoured the day and it was already over.

The rolls royce was really nice leh hehe... The dinner was really nice also. The banquet operations captain, I think his name is Ianto, is a really nice chap. He is so super helpful and so super nice... He made sure we were very well-taken care of and made sure we dun have to worry about anything and juz enjoy ourselves that nite. And the dinner really went very smoothly. We requested for our food to be kept and brought to our suite at the end of it... and he personally delivered it to us.

We chose the informal 1st dish presentation but I think my guests were not very responsive... haha... so those who were dancing tried very hard to get my guests into the mood and luckily towards the end they did get SOME response.... hahaha....

The food was also quite nice. I asked some of my very close frens for their frank comments and they said it's very nice... one of the better ones and they liked it.

So overall, I think the whole day was a success. Morning was good, dinner was well-managed. They are having a bridal fair on 2nd Apr, so brides-to-be who are considering RTC can go take a look. I'm glad I made a great choice by choosing RTC.

fudgecake

Hi Shelyn,

Great that your wedding was GREAT!!!! Wah... this makes me want to sign up with RTC rite away. So waht's next? honeymoon? any pics to share?