Raffles Town Club

tulipz

hmm realli? hmm.... i shall check again then.. cos when my fiance called terence, he din seemed willing to reduce anything or give any discount..

thanks =)

dolphin48

tulipz, try Natalie. she's my coordinator and she's very helpful i find. more helpful than some of them and that's why i change my coordinator to her.

september

hi there, i heard tat RTC food for wedding banquet is nice, hv any comments for those who hv tried? i am thinking of holding my AD next yr Oct there, but juz wan to find out the quality of the food.

daphne, u mind gifing ur co-ordinator contact no. or email? my email address is [email protected] thks.

dolphin48

Hi there, Natalie's number is 6357 3387. She responds faster via phone than email from experience.
Not sure if you will get any better perks if you mention my name though you can give it a try....

tanlea

Hi Wise

Yes, we went back to RTC for our anniversary! The food at the restuarant is very very delicious. We went back to the resturant a 2nd time! Remeber to bring proper clothes as we were turned away that time due to we wearing casual clothes.

wiseharmony

Hi Hi blueangel,

Which resturant u went? the last time we went to the jap & order lobster!! dun think i will order tat again... coz it was served wif the lobster head together wif it meat! & it head was still moving!!! :p

shelyn

Hi Daphne,
I think the bridal suite is straits suite.. the one with pool is president and chancellor suite
but of cos this is wat i tot lah... muz ask those who stayed there b4... =P

anyway, wat's the room number that they usu give huh??... duno whether can request for one with nicer number cos my mum quite particular

wan to find out also hor... how long is the music for 1st march in huh??...

wiseharmony

Hi Daphne,
shelyn is correct. onli the president suite got indoor pool.... it a super big room. no.. mi not so luckily. didnt stay in tat room. it was the 1st prize for 2years ago bridal fair gift. but we managed to "see" the room for a while.

as shelyn menioned. ours is the bridal room. which was beli lovely deco too. wif lotsa red roses and balloons. it not a small room either. am gg back for mi anni tis dec... cant wait.

Hi shelyn
cant remember mi room number :p guess it was some nice number. how long was mi 1st march in.... hmmm.. think half of the song. coz we were walkin...so slowly. it a short walkway... :p
actually, was mi flower girl. she refused to throw the flowers at first. so all of us... stuck behind her... ha haaa. didnt even notice if the music was on...may b can check wif the music co-ord there. cant remember his name. sorry. remember to test out yr montage/CDs which u wish to play on AD. coz ours got reading problem. their PC cant play ours. but luckily we found out the day before AD, so got it dup in lower resolution then okie. we olso bght our player to standby.... stressful right... ke keee...

dolphin48

hehe..... i think chancellor room got that indoor pool lor..... so just wonder if any of you stayed there before and how was it..... wonder how much to top up? i saw online that per night is $1k! wa..... haven't really seen straits room but heard got jacuzzi?

tanlea

hi wise

we went to the rest called The Dining Room. we like the food very much.

i finally got your email. nice pics!

hi daphne

straits room got bathtub jazcuzzi not those big big round or heart shaped type. hee hee.

yah agree with wise, the room is very big already. it comes with a living room, a big toilet and a bed room. all in all, 2 TVs inside + karaoke feature.

hi shelyn

dun worry about the length of the song, the coordintor will adjust the song for you, he will soften the music when you reach the stage.

agree with wise, better try out your music and montage the day or 2 days before on RTC's players.

tanlea

hi wise

we went to the rest called The Dining Room. we like the food very much.

i finally got your email. nice pics!

hi daphne

straits room got bathtub jazcuzzi not those big big round or heart shaped type. hee hee.

yah agree with wise, the room is very big already. it comes with a living room, a big toilet and a bed room. all in all, 2 TVs inside + karaoke feature.

hi shelyn

dun worry about the length of the song, the coordintor will adjust the song for you, he will soften the music when you reach the stage.

agree with wise, better try out your music and montage the day or 2 days before on RTC's players.

tanlea

hi daphne

sorry leh, i dun have pics of the room... the room has balloons here and there, and rose petals decorated in a heart shape on the bed ... what else is there ? cannot recall liao.

wiseharmony

Hi Daphne,
mi gg back for mi anni in Dec.... will remeber to take foto tis time round!!

Hi BlueAngel,
mi just moved into BT Panjang last week... @ last.

aliciatansk

Hi all - How's has everyone been? Me just back from honeymoon not long ago, thus busy with work. The dinner at RTC went really well.. all my guests left with praises for them..

Diana - You can also look for beatrice chew. She is my coordinator. She is really nice, helping me to handle lots of last minute stuff..

dolphin48

btw, check with you gals, i read in the above posts that the waiters and waitress will do a dance for 1st dish? Is that true? And do we need to provide them with the songs for 1st dish and throughout the dinner?

shelyn

I would like to ask hor... for the sharksfin rite, which is nicer? with crabmeat or crabmeat and bamboo pith?... if the one w/o bamboo pith, wld the crabmeat be more or the same??...

then for the chicken, wat's the difference between crispy chicken in nam yee sauce and crispy chicken in preserved beancurd sauce??... are they the same thing?????....

sweetpea

Hihi Everyone...

I'M BACK!!!!

Really sorry to go MIA for 4 months. Heh..been 4 mths since I logged on and since I got married. Think u all forget me by now liao. After the wed, we moved in to new house, then went Turkey for HM, then I went Thailand, then come back and work...and during work I was not able to log on coz on training...and so drag until now lor. Then I forgot my password to log on.

OK, pls shoot your fire arrows and questions

shelyn

okie sweetpea
enjoyed yourself hor....
1st thing 1st... photos photos!!!... =P

so how did it all go? any hiccup??
how was the deco?? I've not seen any AD deco b4 leh so dunno how it will look like....

and how was the comments on food?? good as usual??

sweetpea

Heheheh *blush blush* paiseh...

But I really did enjoy myself on that day, and not tired although I had the morning tea ceremony, church wedding and then dinner at RTC. Coz most of my frens did the legwork for us..we just had to smile and stay pretty. Food and decor was good, the place was lovely. But lights a bit too orange...such that my photots also quite orange. But my in-laws said that the food were abit cold, though some colleagues feedbacked food was good. I had not much other feedback. There was a Filipino sting duo serenading the crowd, but according to my dad, these 2 poor fellows were singing their hearts and lungs out but coz the room was quite noisy, no one really paid much attention to them. The march-in was smooth, and I mananged to walk w/o tripping. The food entrance was also lovely with the criss-cross dance. But some things that could have been better though...

Last min 1 day earlier my FIL added 3 more tables...*Penggzz* and he did not get the revised table arrnagment, thanks to my hubby. Hiaz, was a bit angry coz so last min. But the ppl at RTC were very helpful, just that we did not really give them time ample for the changes. The doors opened very late...at 8 pm plus though they said 8 pm latest. So my dads were quite unhappy coz everyone was crowded at the foyer. but then after everyone got in, we still manged to start in good time 8.45 food arrived and we mananged to end 10.45. But I really had to rush from one table to another during phototaking, coz I had 57 tables...which I was also quite unhappy about as there was absolutely NO time to talk to my guests. As a bride, I think it is impt to talk or acknowledge the presence of your guests. Also had to rush up to chnage, and for my 2nd EG change, I was just only in time to catch my first few guests leaving.

I think there was also a misunderstanding about the background songs, which I tot I wanted to use RTC's songs but in the end I heard my friends's CD over the background instead. didn't like that. But also myself, I was so busy the days before, getting gowns and nails, flowers, etc done that I regret I had not enough time to pay much attn to the banquet, cos most of my energy spent for the church wedding. Like the march-in songs (Anyhow chose a super slow one for the 2nd march in) , the background songs (Did not specify the CD) , background PS pictures (did not manage to do this though I had quite many pics to share..wasted!) , reception decor (My MIL forgot to bring the table runner I bought) , and last min guestlists...they were all pretty substandard to me..but fret not, I am usually a perfectionist. Think I am complaining too much and expecting too much..but these are the not-so-nice sides I felt...which I would like to share.

But otherwise, getting married is one of the best things in life..I am glad the wedding is over, but I do dream that I could re-live the wonderful day again..so sweet, so much attention...so glad that after 18 mths of preps, the day went rather smoothly. and now we are happily married, no need to get angry over my hubby's bo-chupness of wedding preps liao.

shelyn

Wah sweetpea.... your wedding seem so 'happening'... hehe...

Glad that you enjoyed yourself and also that RTC staff were helpful. Further set my mind at ease.
Anyway, was the Filipino string duo engaged by u or RTC? cos it was not mentioned in the contract leh.

Heard so much about the criss-cross dance... looking forward to seeing wat it is all about. So u took the shorter aisle too?

U had so many tables ah??..57 tables and u still had the time to change into 2nd EG???... wow... muz be busy running around then. So did u have videography?? If u have then u can alwiz take it out to relive those moments.

Anyway i think those hiccups u mentioned are quite minor... so dun think the guests would really realise anything. So overall your wedding was still a great success!

So u took the rolls royce from RTC? was it true that they have 2 colours for u to choose from?

Any photos to share with us?

sweetpea

Hi Shelyn

Yeah..I also didn't know about the singers...but think they are quite ok lah though I didn't hear them sing. The photos loked like they were singing thier hearts outt

I had videography..done by my fren more for the church wedding and morning..coz dinner not much to take. I dun think I missed anything much as I am more a fan of photography. Yep u r right, the hiccups are minor...more impt is u enjoy yourself that day. Which we did! As for the Rolls Royce...I think there are 2..but the other one if I'm not wrong is Navy blue. The one I took is champagne brown..nice and big..and it feels nice to have pple looking in and at your car when it zooms by..hehe..just for this special day. Photos...I did not upload anywhere leh...I see how I can show u....

shelyn

Hi Sweetpea,
If u did not upload your photos then ok lah...no need to purposely upload or watever. Cos i tot u have the soft copy then can 'soon bian' let mi see. If not then dun go to the trouble ok?

enjoy ur blissful married life.... =P

dolphin48

HI gals

check with the ex brides of RTC on the menu..... is crispy chicken with nam yee sauce nice?

Also, now headache on the wines.... any recommendation? hopefully budget around $16 per bottle....

sweetpea

hahaha..wise...so fast u moved house liao!
Getting ready for bb is it....

Hi Daphne, we didn't like the chicken during the food tasting (think it the one with the bean sauce, so we just changed it to the normal salty crispy fried chicken instead

sweetpea

Hi Shelyn, maybe u wanna send me ur email? I can show u 2-3 pics which I have in my pc now..
btw..u taking Sam Wong as photogrpaher? We also met up with him, but we took so long to decide that by the time we wanted to get him, he was booked. I think he is quite a good choice. My cousin also got him as photographer.

shelyn

Hi sweetpea,
thanx ;->
yup i'm taking sam wong... glad that i managed to book him. I went to his website to see a few times b4 i called to meet up with him so booked him on the spot. Was comparing him with k*h heng.. lucky i chose him. U heard all the things about K*h Heng?
So in the end who did u engage?

wiseharmony

Hi SweetPea,
ha haa... BB not so soon lah. We hd married for coming to a yr & still w/o a roof leh. so quite happy at last got a new house.

Must share when yr foto readi, k.

lovebug

Hi RTC brides,

ME too also will be having my banquet at RTC neaxt year June. In fact, I'll have my luncheon reception after my church wedding there too. Mine will be a 2 day affair, the next evening then have the banquet.

Shelyn, I heard bad reviews about that the KH guy, think it's not really advisable to commit for his service. I've met him before, nearly engaged for his service, then I read abt the bad reviews on him on a particular thread, I withdrew my thoughts. I've settled my AD with Derrick Ong. He's very friendly and pretty professional with his works.

wise and sweetpea, would love to see your pictures too hehe.. can share share? my email: [email protected]

sweetpea

btw...my fren just mentioned to me last week that on our wedding day, the live string performance by the RTC duo were singing all the wrong songs... like unchained melody and one-way tiecket! gosh

shelyn

hey sweetpea,
Not sure whether mine's the next one... it's in march. Any earlier brides??
going for food tasting next thursday.

Now very headache with the tables... think i'm going to have close to 60 tables with both sides fathers adding more and more...sigh sigh... anyone seen the ballroom with 60 tables?? i'm afraid will be squeezy esp during photo taking... cos my EG also very big with can-can inside.

dunno whether mine will have live string performance. Terence din mention anything to me. Maybe will ask him during food tasting.

dolphin48

shelyn

i tot the live string performance got to request for it? mine also keep adding tables. initially only 30 tables and now at 52 tables liao.... dunno will add anymore or not leh.....

shelyn

wow Daphne,
your's coming so soon ah?... 1 week more. nervous?? Hope u have a great time that day. I can't imagine how i will feel when it's my turn. Dunno whether i will be very nervous and excited or juz feel normal leh...hehe...

U have not chosen your songs? Need any help? I have a few mp3 which i requested from some other brides that i going to use.

So your table increment more terrible than mine!.. from 30 to 52 is really quite scary. I juz hope mine will stop at 55. Since your's is juz 1 week away, dun think will increase anymore rite?

dolphin48

Happy New Year gals!

shelyn, dunno leh but i think at most increase or remain or maybe decrease by 1 table?

wat are the songs that you are going to use for your march in? me still a bit undecided but have selected a few songs....

how i feel ah? dunno leh.... maybe very frustrated wtih all the coordnation that i don't feel excited or nervous.... more frustration then excitement... maybe when it's 1 or 2 days away then feel the excitement.....

shelyn

Daphne,
for my first march in i'm using the bridal march by jonathan cains + From this moment on (HB fren going to help us combine the songs). Photo montage will be using Angels brought me here. 2nd march in song is Tonight i celebrate my love. Champagne pouring and cake cutting tentatively using Cannon... Like the song very much but it's very common... I think RTC will have their own 1st dish presentation song? since i heard they have some dance?

I alwiz hear pp saying the few weeks b4 is very busy and frustrating, etc etc... makes me very worried. So now i'm trying to do as much as possible to reduce my frustration later...

Hope ur frustration will go away soon when everything falls into place.

dolphin48

HI gals

I had my AD last nite..... it went very well and all guests were very impressed. Shelyn, i like RTC's fanfare cos it's nice and very different. I think u will like it too. Actually i was too lazy to think of the song for first dish and i was supposed to view how it was like but didn't get a chance to as was too busy with preps so the dance was a pleasant surprise. Everyone is talking about the dance and my guests loved it. Food is great and a lot of pp were telling me that it's one of the best they had. Only hiccup is that one of the waiter accidentally pour vinegar on one of my guest but they have followed on this so still ok. The banquet manager Stephen is simply fantastic. I think u will be in good hands.