Raffles Marina

joelle_kong

pls send details of their package to me as well @ [email protected]. Do they allow the wedding couple to engage external caterers/florists?

has anyone held an outdoor wedding there? was wondering what kinda backup plan they provide in case of wet weather.

Lotsa thanks!

jenzhuzhu

i was once a RM bride. I had my AD dinner at their ballroom instead as my mum is pretty traditional thinking

I used Stefii as my official florist. Josephine is nice in the sense that she is willing to accomodate our decoration and do it within the budget given. We only top up a fair bit

Svc wise, im nt too sure y the svc staff that i had was pretty bad. A lot of negative comments abt the staff svc and the food. However, as compared to The Lawn svc, it seems like others are having a more pleasant experience that i do

Joys ia a pretty gd coordinator but she tend to be slow in getting back to you and she oso failed to compensate me when i feedback after my wedding that the food which was served was cold and nt hot

My package includes two 40 seater bus (to n fro)

Jus sharing my experience with all of u

new_bride

hi, I'm new here. Also planning to have my dinner at RM on Nov 10. Keeping my fingers crossed about the weather. Anyone knows what are the wedding favours that RM offers?

ngfifi

Hi New Bride

If i nvr rem wrongly, its chocolate, candles n bears

However, RM will change their door gift every nw n then so its better that u chk wif ur coordinator

new_bride

Thanks for the info. Did you use RM as well? I'm planning to have my wedding at the lawn. do you know if they charge extra for marquee? Am worried that it might rain.

ngfifi

Hi yingsan

Tink u can ve ur PS there but u need to pay $300 for using their place

Its the same charges for couples holding their wedding there

Hi New Bride

Yes, my wedding dinner was at RM too but i was using their ballroom. Kinda of regret

Haha

Im nt too sure if they do charge but do chk wif ur coordinator

new_bride

Thanks Jen. I went to RM to check out their charges..most likely i'll go for their lawn. My coordinator is joys. Anyone had joys as your coordinator?

ngfifi

Hi New Bride

I think most of the brides whom had their wedding there had Joys as their coordinator

Mine is oso Joys. Nt a bad lady

new_bride

Glad to hear good feedback abt joys. I'll be going down to RM this weekend to finalize on my booking. Decided to use the lawn. Just pray hard that it wont rain and spoil my wedding...

new_bride

Thanks Jen

new_bride

Hi ppl..got a question.. I'm taking the lawn for my wedding but was told that a stage won't be provided. Am afraid my guests may not be able to see the perfomances and cake cutting. Anyone had your wedding at the lawn? Care to share with me if you had a stage?

ngfifi

Was any of RM ex-brides given a night of complimentary stay at RM during ur anniversary?

Any idea hw small the guests rm is?

I tt of upgrading my guest rm to their bridal suite during my 1st anniversary but RM told me to top up a diff of $130

Nt sure if it is worthwhile to do so? Any advice?

new_bride

Hi, got a question to ask. I've signed up with RM for their lawn wedding..bbq style. But recently my friend attended a chinese banquet and the feedback was so poor. They complained that the food was cold and the chef took his time to serve the food. Feeling so worried now..My wedding is in Nov this year. Really hope the same thing will not happen to me. Anyone heard of other experiences like this in RM? I also find their service very slow..the coordinator takes such a long time to answer our questions and request... ;(

ngfifi

Hi New Bride

Dun worry abt the food or svc if ur wedding is holding at the lawn area

I juz dun kw y a lot of ex-RM brides ve very gd feedback frm their guest abt the food n svc when they had their wedding at RM lawn but nt for RM ballroom svc

I had the same issue as wat ur frz faced when i had my wedding at RM last yr

The food that was served in the ballroom was cold, svc sux n food was nt up to standard

Thou feedback was given n demanded explanation frm RM y, no replies was received

However, b4 my wedding, Joys (whom was my coordinator) then was very helpful

The delay in replies cld be coz the coordinator are busy n they ve a lot of events to coordinator at RM too

So, u can put ur mind at ease

new_bride

Thanks Jen. At least my mind is at ease now. I did ask for an explanation from Joys about the food. She explained that the chef for the ballroom is different from the one at the lawn. I guess that explains on the difference in quality of food. My wedding is only 5 months away..getting very nervous now ;( I have not even settled on my choice of food... Waited for 3 weeks before joys got back to me on my preferred menu ;p Getting a little impatient now. I even considered choosing another location for my wedding. But my FH said that since we have chosen RM, we should stick to it. Really hope that Joys service will improve..

ngfifi

Hi New Bride

Im oso like u when my AD was getting closer back then n i do ve complaints towards RM svcs too

Overall Joys is okay but sometimes she tend to get things done a bit slower

Even till nw, ive got no explanation or compensation given to me for the cold dishes which was served to my guest on my AD n the extremely rude services i rec'v frm their service staff

I reali regretted paying higher for the ballroom dinner and paying extra for additional servicing staff

nevertheless, hope u will ve en enjoyable wedding

new_bride

Hi Jen. Phew..i thought i was the fussy one expecting things to be done fast. Am glad that you've had the same experience

Seems like RM service is really very poor. I'm currently looking into the yatch club..service is really important to me and if RM continues like that, i'd rather go somewhere else.. Hai..i only have 5 months to go and now i have to look for another location.. *sob*

ngfifi

Hi New Bride

Yes, i agree that service is very impt but dun tink its a wise choice to look for another banquet venue given that ur AD is only 5 mths away

Like my earlier msg stated, lawn staff service is very very very much better than the service staff RM given my on my wedding

The reasons y is coz lawn service staff are RM permanent staff whereas service staff engage for couples wedding in the ballroom are students and PT whom dun ve any experience or little knowledge of servicing

new_bride

Tx for ur advice. It's definitely comforting to know that the ground staff are permanent staff. Looks like i will have to wait...till joys comes back to me. Tried calling but couldnt get in touch with her.. Will you posted on the outcome..wish me luck

tristan1975

I attended a wedding dinner at the Ballroom in Jan this year. Food was excellent and sevice is ok! Lovely location too. I'm considering to hold my wedding at RM next year.
Surprised to read about poor service faced by Jen Ng. Maybe the black sheep is a PT like she say.
I think I better reinforce this point to RM when I meet up with them. Make sure the service people will be ok and food will be to be served hot.

new_bride

Some feedback on a wedding i attended at RM. Setting was really romantic n lovely. Just one thing that i was concerned about... The lighting was rather dim at the lawn. I found that the guest can't really have a clear view of the food. I was thinking maybe I have to get those 'survivor' torch to light up the place. Overall all was nice...until the waiters started removing the wedding decor before the guest left!!! What a disaster...i think that's very rude thing to do at a wedding. I must ensure i inform my coordinator that they shouldn't remove the decor until all my guests have left...

ngfifi

Hi chimes

Yes, non-member can have their PS done at RM but u will need to pay abt $300 for the entrace fee which i think its not worth to do so

Maybe u wanna try SAF Yacht club at Tanah Merah. I did that as the entrance fee is only $30 or so

Btw, any BTB having their wedding dinner at RM on 29/09/2007?

ngfifi

Oh coz i was gg there for my anniversary stay and understand frm the recep that there will b 1 wedding on that day

As last yr 30/09/06, i had my wedding at RM ballroom and had feedback that svc was very bad so i tt if sum1 had wedding in the ballrm, maybe i can juz pop by to take a look at the svc level

Im kinda of still feeling unjustice that RM did no compensation to me after all the negative feedback

Haha...

Anyway, Li Ching, congrats to ur frz. Think she will enjoy her wedding

li_ching

Hi Jen, times flies and its your one year anniversary....enjoy your stay to the fullest!

Dun brood over what has happen and have a happy anniversary...perhaps by chance i might meet you there...cheers

ngfifi

Damn pissed off with RM svcs

Dun tink i will recommend any of my frz frm holding their wedding there in the future again...

ngfifi

My stay there was sucks thou kinda of enjoy the scenery

I actually requested RM to chk out the cost of using rose petals to deco the rm i will be staying so that i can surprise my hubby. However, i was charged $30 when i chk out for the deco when i did nt even authorised RM to proceed

This is ridiculous lor. Hw can RM proceed w/o the guests acknowledgement. Im oso damn pissed off that RM did nt give me a satisfactory ans for the screw up works that had done on my wedding day

I mean i paid for their svc, shldnt they at least be polite to call me back to apologise?

Dun tink i will ever recommend anyone frm holding their wedding there again

new_bride

Sorry to hear about your encounter..Makes me worried that they will do the same for my upcoming wedding. Something like that happened at my sis wedding several yrs ago. My sis didnt want any beer served at the dinner and already informed the staff. However, without asking the wedding couple, the waiters started serving the guests beer and my sis had to end up paying for it.. I've already informed my coordinator Joyce that i dont want the same thing to happen again.

Hi Polarisgal,

I was at RM last Sat. I understand that it was your friend's wedding. How did it go? Do you know if all went well? I will be having my wedding in Nov at the lawn so i really want all to go well. I somehow found that the lighting was rather dim. How did you find the lighting and the weather..since there wasn't additional fan?

li_ching

Oh dear..could be a communication break down in between. Dun get so upset, sometime things just go haywire.

Hi New Bride,

Apparently you got it wrong, Polarisgal was the bride whose wedding was held last sat. Coz she was my gd fren....

Overall the ambience and food was reasonably gd..its was quite cooling so not that bad. But Polarisgal will be a better person to relate her experience..heehee

Hey Polarisgal,

Have you figure out who am I?

new_bride

Oops, i got mixed up ;p Hi Polarisgal, you had a really good band. I was impressed that they had the full band. I may engage them for my wedding too
Will be great if you can share with me your experience with RM and if there is anything i should look out for..

polarisgal

Hi new_bride,

Were u there that day to see the band performance? Overall everything went smoothly and I must thanks to my big team of brothers n Jiemei that day who helped out in all the co-ordination. We bring our own walkie-talkie to distribute out to ensure everything go as plan. Luckily din rain but I din get to eat:-(

The only thing that was a bit disturbing is the lift break down and I have to walk down the stairs from the 3rd storey. We feedback at the at of the event and Joys waived off one barrel of beer for us which I think is a blessing in disguise. The banquet manager Robert was also v helpful and thumb up for the service.

I believe communication is v important. You need to have assign someone to help out and talk to the staff to ensure everything under control. I am v happy with the service there.

Miss Li ching,

You put your name so big how can I don't know who r u leh. Mdm Kwek

li_ching

haha...but no nd to lian ming dai xing oso spell out leh..

hope u hv a wonderful nite tat day..and dun forget to share the photos once ready..believe the RM BTB here are oso more than happy to share your blissful moments..cheers!

ngfifi

Hi polarisgal

Congrats! Was there for my anniversary stay on ur wedding day too

Had stayed to watch ur match-in and ur video

Very well-done. Me n my hubby was so surprised that u managed to engage Daniel Ong as ur Emcee

new_bride

Hi polarisgal,

I was there for my food tasting. Heard the band play and thought that they did very well. How come you didnt get to eat? What a pity. I hope i will be able to enjoy the food..hehehe. Btw, how many tables did you have? I'm asking because i'm considering how many barrels of beer is needed. I'm having about 21 tables. Hopefully, i dont have to spend too much on alcohol. I'll be bringing in 40 bottles of wine.

ngfifi

Im back! I muz sd RM svc isnt that bad afterall. In fact, the management had contacted me in rgds to my feedback and both me n my husband was being offered dwn to RM for a informal dinner session with the banquet dept GM

I rejected RM kind gesture as both me n my husband felt that its kind of weird to have a dinner session with RM management

Nevertheless, i muz say a BIG thank you Ms Azrina for their effort to follow up on my "complaints"

Haha...

polarisgal

Hi New Bride,

I had 2 barrel of beer open and finish 10 blts of white and 19 red. Total I confirm 21 table n 1 reserve but think that that my reserve table also open. Is yours at the lawn too? Y I din get to eat while cause I want my first march in before sunset so I reach hotel at 3pm and start to settle down and plan for the night and time pass v fast that day by 4pm I went for my rehersal for the boat n short disscusion with the Banquet Ass mgr. By the time my MUA reach liao and we hv yet to deco the recep tables.. luckily my hubby got alot of brothers who came early n helped us plus my jie mei.

After first march in while the guests are watching the Video I rush back for my second hair do n make up and the lift was down that day so I have to climb up to 3rd storey with my gown. By the time my second march in is about 8pm follow by phototaking so really no time to eat at all but I was nt feeling hungry. Anyway the waiter will bring some buffet food to your room so you can eat after the whole event if you dun mind is cold food :)

Jen,
Daniel Ong is I engage him to be my Emcee as I think for outdoor event we need professional to do the job as friends might not be able to react to any unforeseen situitation. I really enjoy myself that day cos this is the wedding I wanted and even after the whole thing over everyone still talking about it.

dreamerme

Hi all, can anyone share with me photos and packages on Solemnisation @ RM...Can email to [email protected]. Went to their website and nothing much was stated..and email Joys already also haven't get back to me yet.

ilovetokyo

had my solemnisation at RM..a very beautiful place i would say..and guests love the place as well..especially when the sun sets in the evening..

service wise is only so-so..u gotta make do with their very average level of service though