Raffles Hotel

blanc

I holding my banquet at RH this year end. Was kinda panicky after I saw from some forums that ppl complaining that the food sucks totally and regretted paying for the ang pao money! That was why i was worried about the food.
Visha: I think you should take the cards though simple, yet classy.

kartaly

Hullo all, I must be the most last-minute bride-to-be ever. I'm planning to get married probably in June or July (because I may be going overseas subsequently), and so am kinda scrambling now to find a venue.

I like the idea of Raffles Hotel given its historic status. There are two possibilities that I am mulling over:
1) Sunday champagne brunch at Bar and Billiard. They are quoting me $125++ per person. This does not include any frills eg hotel room stay. Was wondering if anyone considered this option?
2) Traditional sit-down dinner with the cheapest option being the classic menu at $1088++ for weekend. I am shocked at the corkage - $40!! - for every bottle that we bring in. May I know if anyone managed to negotiate with the hotel on this point? I would love to bring in champagne for my guests!

Thanks so much for all advice.

chrissyc

Hi Kartaly, I love the idea of champagne brunching at Bar and Billiard Room! In fact, that will be totally unique. Hmmm.... why didn't I think about it. Is the champagne free flow? If it is, it's really a steal at $125++!

You mean to say that Raffles has dropped their corkage from $100 to $40? That's fantastic news! My understanding from the hotel is no waiver possibilities. We need to pay something to bring in our own =( I tried really hard for it before signing.

p.s. Woops Visha. Sorry I took your date! And yes, I do like the look of their cards.

kartaly

Corkage of $100 per bottle?! That is... daylight robbery!! Wasn't there something in the earlier threads on how the hotel allows you to bring in 12 bottles free, before inflicting corkage? Hmmm.

Hey Crissy, yes it would be free flow as per their usual Sunday brunch. There is a minimum spend of $25,000++ though, no matter what.

I am sorely tempted by this idea except for two things: Capacity is capped at 200 - which is a little of a problem for me, and some of the older folks who are not used to this are liable to complain about it being a "cheapskate" daytime buffet. Oh well, will have to think it through.

Anyway, congrats on your big day! Were there other perks that you managed to negotiate from the hotel for?

shingirl

corkage is still $100.
the reson on the high corkage is because they dun encourage ppl to bring in their own lousy wine...lol (u can see in this forum ppl selling at $15)

their house wine is really really good at only $75 per bottle. if you buy one bottle of wine from them, they will waive one bottle that you bring in.

in my case, i will buy their wine to waive corkage for my hard liqour.

carebearz

Granted that RH is old but it overwent a makeover in 1989-2001 (IIRC). The entire hotel was closed and major revamp and renovation work was done. Considering that the makeover wasn't too long ago, it shouldn't be an excuse that the lift is old or the sound system always breaks down etc.

I had wanted The Lawn for my ceremony then move to a room for the buffet lunch but they said it will be considered as 2 separate charges. Even though I pointed out that the room is gonna be 'empty' anyway since it's a standby room for the Lawn in case of bad weather, but no go there.

I find their services kind of atrocious as well. Their wedding planner was talking to me in Singlish, I don't mind mimimal Singlish but when she said things like,"In case you don't know, this room cannot use for dinner, hor!"

I expected them to be more professional and it's so dificult to get hold of them. It's even dificult to call their mainline! I'm having 2nd thoughts about holding my wedding there though I love the European setting.

I also thought of doing the Lawn ceremony or doing the ceremony at the Bar & Billard room then can do brunch there..But at a cost of $125++ and I probably need to do decorations, it will be pretty expensive.

Also I did a survey among my friends and asked them among Ritz, Shangrila, Raffles & Fullerton (lunch,tea & dinner) which hotel would they gave the biggest ang pow.
The general consesus is:-

1)Ritz
2)Fullerton
3)Raffles
4)Shangrila

Quite surprisingly, the majority of them didn't think that Raffles was expensive as they deemed it old. They see it more like a touristy heritage place rather than a 6 star hotel like the Ritz.

And based on a minmum attendance of 50 people for lunch/tea buffet, the most expensive pricing quote to me was:-

1)Raffles
2)Shangrila
3)Ritz
4)Fullerton

So my conclusion is if intend to hold it at Raffles, be prepared to lose more as most people's perception of Raffles seem to be 'moderately expensive' instead of very expensive.

doggielurver

I'm quite surprised that how much people would give as ang pow is one of the factors that people would use to determine where to hold their reception. As for me it never ever crossed my mind, and indeed for the reception, some of my financially struggling friends gave me a token ang pow only, but I thanked the fact that they took the time and trouble to come to my wedding, and being such special friends of mine (it was a small wedding and everyone who was invited was very special) even if they were going to give me an empty ang pow, i would still have loved them to come to be present to witness he events.

To me a wedding is about celebrating the happiest day of your life in the presence of people you love very much. What was very precious was the effort they took to attend the wedding, and the gifts they gave or did not give were of no relevance at all. Some of my friends flew in from overseas and gave me a bottle of wine as a wedding present. But how much would they have spent on their hotel and airtickets, their annual leave etc? There are the intangible but very precious things in a beautiful friendship, these are the kind of friends I like to celebrate my wedding with.

If you look at your wedding this way, your wedding will become an even more enjoyable and rewarding experience! =)

chrissyc

Hi ladies, I'm back. Was away for a business trip and gosh did I miss much.

Hey Kartaly, would champagne brunch be deemed as cheap? Not in my opinion with free flow of champagne! It is amazing. If I were to work on a free flow of champagne for my wedding, it'll probably cost me an equivalent of 10 more open tables!

I absolutely agree with Dog lover about the reason for hosting a wedding celebration. I too, haven't thought about the amount of red packets my friends or family will be giving me. I think people have been influenced and moulded by the mass to make a profit out of a banquet. I would be overjoyed even if my friends from Australia flew to Singapore without a gift. Their presence is more than priceless really.

My wedding consultant at Raffles gave me a tip: To relax and leave the worry to them. That is the only way I can truly experience my wedding. The memory I want to bring back with me is tears, laughter and joy; not worry and anger?

I'm sorry to hear that Carebear is experiencing such service. Through my experience, they have been as professional as can be. My girlfriend (wedding in July) and I signed with Raffles really for them being a National Monument and their Service. They got back to the both of us with a proposal in 24 hours. And when we requested for an appointment, we were gotten back within the day. So I believe they are pretty consisent.

Sigh, if we were to find fault in everything, there'll be a long list for everything in this world and the first should be ourselves. Why not just embrace and love life. I chanced upon this qoute by Alice Walker:

"In nature, nothing is perfect and everything is perfect. Trees can be contorted, bent in weird ways, and they're still beautiful"

Would you rather have a cracked floor tile with a 200 year old story behind it or a modernly concealed treasure which could have touched a million hearts?

I wouldn't have chosen Raffles if they were perfectly renovated. What's the difference between them and the others then?

Well, just food for thought...

shingirl

WeeeOOooooWWWeeeeee!! *clap clap* to Crissy Choo.

i mean if you can afford.... why tot of the angbao money.
Or is it that you wanna minimise expenditure and yet wanna hold it at this kinda place?
In fact for buffet lunch...... i dun even think alot of people wanna give ang mo at all..... it's always presents, gifts or simply attendance.

I can say in fact, i did not even notice the old lift, until u girls mentioned....lol.....
i mean its an old hotel...... to me..... it will even be better if the lift is the manual operated type..... that will impress me even more.

regarding all other hotels you had listed..... i think its better you go and see for yourself..... esp fullerton..... then maybe you will come to appreciate raffles. =P
For me, i had many 'encounters' and many memories regarding all these hotels as i work in a line where i had to attend lot of dinners, events in various hotels. And my husband and I choosed Raffles

shingirl

anyway, girls whom had chosen Raffles:

have you decide which dish to choose? =)

everytime i thought of the wasabi prawn.....my saliva drips..... =P~

doggielurver

The wasabi prawn was delicious. Many of the guests complimented on how tasty it was. Even my mother in law was so impressed that for my upcoming brother-in-law's wedding in March in another hotel, she almost twisted the arm of the chef to allow her to change the prawn dish to wasabi prawn.

I thought that the soup with the sharksfin (can't remember what its called now) was impressive too, there were chunks of sharks fin in it(both during the food tasting and on the wedding night). I have been to wedding dinners at many 5 star hotels and you're lucky to get one strand of sharksfin in the soup!

All the food they served was quality, quality. Everything was cooked to perfection, nothing was overcooked or undercooked. There was no el cheapo substitutes - true to the spirit of a 5/6 star hotel. The dessert we chose tasted like cheng tng, BUT it was yummy as they used fresh lily bulbs in it instead of dried ones - first time in my life I had tasted the sublime crunchiness of fresh lily bulbs.

I have been to one 5 star hotel which served hainanese chicken in its menu. And the prawns were not fresh - the meat was mushy and the heads were falling off. I was NOT impressed.

Even the housewine provided by Raffles was really nice! It was a French merlot which was very smooth and easy to drink. My guests were impressed and some even went to ask the waiters for the name of the wine.

Another reason to choose Raffles is the bridal suite! You will love the indulgence of it! Anything you need, you just call the butler and it will be delivered. And the toiletries they provide are those from the Amrita Spa - really really nice! The rooms in Raffles Hotel is worth $700+/night, it is worth this once in a lifetime experience.

I have been very lucky to have been put up in 5star/6star hotels all over the world - including Park Hyatt Seoul, Grand Hyatt HK (their flagship hotel), Westin Sydney, Hilton Istanbul, Hilton London, Hilton Sydney etc etc. The experience as an inhouse guest in Raffles is indeed unique and very enjoyable, its nothing like the other hotels. It truly stands out.

From the time I placed a booking with them, until my wedding, the co-ordinators have provided me very good service and been extremely prompt with my requests. A few times, they even email back (presumably from their blackberry) when they are on leave and on weekends. How many of you will respond to work emails while you are on your holiday, especially when it is not an urgent matter at all? I thought this is a sign of true dedication to their work and great service. Sure, they took a few hours to email back, but I thought that was still great considering they are on leave and my query was of no urgency. Of course, people who expect immediate service will be disappointed and classify this as bad service. Sometimes it boils down to expectations too.

I also thought that the wedding favours given by Raffles hotel were really elegant. There was a good choice to choose from. I have been so a fair few weddings where the favours looked so cheapskate that I would have been embarrassed as the bride to know that my guests received such awful gifts.

I was overseas for the 2 months prior to my wedding. When I came back to Singapore 17 days before my wedding (and out of this 17 days I went overseas again for 3 days for work). I thought everything was going to be a mess. But Raffles Hotel had it all under control and I really had to do very little, just enjoy the day. I didn't even think of march-in music, and ON THE DAY ITSELF my coordinator came at 4pm and asked me if I had any preferences for march in song, and I asked for one particular song. She immediately sent her men to locate the song, which they did after half hour. We also didn't bring our own laptop, so they also scrambled to find one for us.

Prior to booking with Raffles I made enquiries at several 5 star hotels and was not impressed with the service at a few of them. It was a "take-it-or-leave-it" attitude. Some didn't even return my call after 2 days!?! I had to call them repeatedly.

I think those of you who chose this hotel, you really made a good choice.

doggielurver

I once had an ex-bf who was so fearful about "losing money" in a wedding that he wanted it in a function hall with catered food. I told him why not we make it a pot-luck party and ask the guests to BYO wine, and then charge them corkage for opening their wines, this way we'll definitely make a profit from the wedding...

chrissyc

Wow! DogLover! What an incredible testimonial! I was so proud of my applause from Visha but I think you deserve a standing ovation man. What better 'gossip' to hear but from your own exerience. Thank you so much for sharing and you really made us all feel so assured that we have made the RIGHT choice.

I will take note of the Wasabi Prawns! mmmmmm

avelinekoh

Doglover: i agreed with u on the response time from other 5 stars hotel... There is this G** hotel...5 stars.. till now haven reply my 2nd email even after my call.. how sincere they are....

shingirl

yes yes the wasabi prawn sounds very 'informal' or maybe too 'modern'..... but it is really fantastic.....

Doglover: Just a simple question, can we tabao the food back to our rooms to eat, or do you get to eat after the banquet?

doggielurver

Thanks, thanks. I just wanted to share my experience that's all.

I think that people who are disappointed with the service of Raffles need to really liaise with more of the other 5/6 star hotels, then they will realise that Raffles is quite a gem.

I would not say they are perfect (eg the corkage could be a bit cheaper), but they are very very good considering the true quality you get from them.

I do think that it also boils down to expectations, and somewhat, the personality of the person. You know how some people are always happy, and some people are always unhappy? I think that the key to happiness is realistic expectations, the ability to see that the glass is half full rather than half empty, and try to give credit to things and see the good in them.

Your wedding is supposed to be the happiest day of your life. Be happy and enjoy the process by looking at things positively! If the ang pows fall short of the costs, give thanks to God that you have a job and you can afford to pay the difference such that you were able to have an unforgettable wedding in such an iconic hotel and your guests had a wonderful time!

doggielurver

Oh don't you worry, they will keep aside the food for you. On request, the butler will warm it before delivering it to your room. Each dish will be on their separate plate, and covered by an elegant silver cover (so it remains hot). You won't miss out ;-)

I had the remainder of my dishes at about 1am in my suite, and they were served warmed.

kartaly

Hullo all,

Yes, must agree that service I have had from Raffles has been pretty excellent so far. Did not really have much experience with the rest of the hotels as I pretty much decided on Raffles Hotel from the beginning.

Crissy, to your question on whether a lunch buffet be considered cheap: well, certainly not to me! Unfortunately, I have had some feedback from the older folks that they may not be used to this idea. The fact is, coming from a different generation, their idea of a "classy" celebration would be a proper sit-down meal where they are served, instead of an informal do where they take their food themselves. And they wouldn't quite give a hoot about free flow of veuve clicquot!

Will they therefore give less ang pow? Probably. I have heard that there are some who reckon that a $25 ang pow should cover a lunch buffet. But that's not really part of our consideration. My fiance and I just want our guests to have a good time, that our wedding meal is more like a party where everyone can mingle and where we will be able to spend more time with each and different groups, rather than be ensconced at the royal wedding table! Certainly, our friends love this idea. But my fear is that the old folks would feel uncomfortable in this kind of setting. Not that they will give less ang pow.

So I gotta balance between the two groups - what we and our friends want, and what our parents and the relatives would be comfortable in. I guess this is what we'd call a generation gap!

At any rate, we're going to bring our parents to try the brunch, so that they can see the place and try the food for themselves, and hopefully be won over to the idea. Wish me luck!

doggielurver

I'm sure the buffet lunch would serve excellent food, and yes, it is an idea appreciated by the younger generation rather than the older ones. In fact I toyed with the idea of serving a western meal for my sit-down dinner (as I always think western meal is far more elegant) and my parents strongly opposed it as the old folks may not like the food. The buffet would I think mainly be western food, but do check it out.

I once attended a buffet wedding lunch at the Marriott Hotel in HK. The food was excellent, but what was weird was that there were other paying guests present as well, we were given like a corner of the restaurant. So there was no speech, no chance to toast. In this way, it felt very informal. Also, most of the time, the guests were actually at the buffet spread busy taking food, there wasn't as much opportunity for the bride & groom to mingle as you would think it would.

In the end you also have to realise that Asians drink very little alcohol. You will not get your "money's worth", so to speak. I had a small engagement party for about 20 asian friends in a French restaurant in Australia and we brought 2 bottles of Dom Perignon to toast (that breaks down to about 75mls per person only, certainly less than one drink each). We didn't even finish that 2 bottles! So the waiters, after their failed attempts to urge us to drink it("this is very good champagne!!"), drank the champagne instead, with our blessings. Hahaha.

In my 22 table Raffles hotel wedding, there was one free bottle of wine per table. And if that was exceeded, for every bottle we purchase from them at $70, we could open a bottle of our own. The wines we bought were $30 each. If you break that down, it works out to be $50 a bottle. So it works out to be the same as a restaurant/hotel that charges $20 corkage per bottle, right? Because it would still cost you $50 per bottle of wine ($30 wine price, $20 corkage). So I didn't think that the wine charges were excessive, if you work things out this way.

You might like to know that in the end we only ended up purchasing 3 bottles more of wine, and opened 3 bottles of our own. Far less than we expected. I think they were very honest. I have a friend whose brother works in the F&B industry. He told us that there are hotels/restaurants who would open bottles and pour away the wine and charge them to the couple, because at the wedding everyone will be really busy and no one would notice dishonest acts like that. Unbelievable but this is insider information!

After the table-to-table photoshoots, I also chose to mingle with my guests rather than to go back to my table to finish my food. It was easy as they were all sitting at their tables waiting for their food to be served to them.

doggielurver

I'll share a funny story about sharing restaurants. I also once went to a wedding dinner reception in a Chinese restaurant in Sydney. It was a large restaurant and there were two events happening that night - my friend's wedding, and on the other side, a large combined hen's party.

The hen's party was so wild and rowdy (the girls were screaming loudly as there were stippers and all), that we had trouble hearing the MC on our side of the restaurant. The "physical barrier" did absolutely nothing in blocking the sound. The guests were so not impressed!

This is not going to happen in the Bar & Billiard room, but sharing restaurants remind me of this funny incident.

kartaly

Oh dear, that must have been hilarious! I once attended a distant relative's wedding in a Chinese restaurant in Chinatown. It turned out that the restaurant was hosting TWO weddings simultaneously, but there were no barriers, no indications - and just one stage! So when the first couple walked in, we were all puzzled that the bride looked so different from what we remembered ("Did she go for plastic surgery? Or is it just the make-up?"). The mystery was solved when the second couple came in 10 minutes later.

Yes you may be right in that a buffet would mean the lack of a certain focal point/structure. It would be difficult to get everyone's attention and make speeches and the like when they are busy queueing up for the oysters! Oh, and yes the cuisine in B&B is Western, although that is not an issue as much as that the meal is buffet-style.

Hmm, the wedding co-ordinator merely told me that there is a corkage fee of $40 for all wine bottles that we bring in - she did not indicate that there is this other option where we can bring in a bottle for every one that we buy from there. Do you happen to know how much their champagne costs?

Our friends are the drinking types, so I'm fully confident they will do the champagne justice! Not so the relatives though, and they make up two-thirds of the guests.

So sigh, yes, gotta think it through.

Did you do the lawn ceremony before your sit-down dinner?

doggielurver

Haha, it must have been hilarious thinking that you might have been at the wrong wedding!

Maybe Raffles Hotel have changed the rules about the wines. Do you get a bottle of free wine per table? I honestly cannot remember the prices for the champagne - no one ordered any. The prices of the alcohol will be given to you together with the dinner quotations? If not you can always ask your co-ordinator to send you one by email attachment.

Also, is that $40 corkage for wines only or does it include champagne? If it does then that's quite worthwhile, as champagne is generally quite expensive when purchased from hotels.

I had my solemnisation in the ballroom half an hour before the cocktail reception. It was FOC to do it this way, and Raffles Hotel will elegantly set the stage up with the necessary items (tables, chairs, microphone etc) for the solemnisation. It worked out well for us, and it was still very nice and private. Usage of the lawn would incur an additional $1500 in costs and we thought that it was just quite extravagant for a process that will last 15mins. Right after the solemnisation, they removed those tables/chairs and set the stage up for the dinner. They were very efficient!

chrissyc

My understanding for the corkage is, for new contracts, they have changed the fee to $40++ per bottle of Champagne, Wine or Hard Liquor. I was told that the hotel used to work on a 1-for-1 exchange previously but are now changed to S$40. I am sure they will be flexible to work on the either policy, depending on our preference. They have been listening to my needs and trying to accommodate it rather than following standard procedures.

Though I did try to sqeeze more from the package, they were adament to stay firm on certain items. *haha*

doggielurver

Yes, they can be quite hard to squeeze things out of. But overall, I think that they delivered well what they promised to deliver in the contract, and do it all elegantly and efficiently. They left no stones unturned, and you could enjoy your day as a bride.

carebearz

Actually I never thought of making money from a wedding celebration. I'm prepared to pay the money to enjoy this special day with loved ones and I don't even want their ang pows. Just their blessings.

If we think about it, how many love ones do all of us have? Do we really want to invite that nosy aunt or uncle who always ask nosy marriage questions at CNY gatheings?

For a 20-30table wedding, how many of these are really guests that the couple want them to be there for the wedding? I believe a lot of couples definitely have invited such guests to meet the minimum number required.

But as my loved ones number only about 20people, I would need to invite 'close but not loved ones' to meet the minimum number of guests required. And for this group of people, they probably also know that they were invited to makeup the numbers and thus this group of people would usually base their ang pow rates on the hotel coz there's no close relationship with the couple to even begin with.

For me, I would give ang pows based on my relationship with the couple. Even if the couple were to give me a Macdonald's treat, I would still give a big amount if I'm close to them. If I'm not close to the couple, then ang pow rates will be based on the hotel/restaurant's reputation.

Which, anyway Raffles is out for me. I met their coordinator last Thur and had a thoroughly bad impression and it left a really bad taste in my mouth.

doggielurver

Carebearz, I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't think that Raffles Hotel is right for you. Your wedding should be the happiest day of your life so you must not feel pressured into inviting people whom you don't really want to invite, just to make up the numbers to meet the minimum number of tables. Do you realise that if these people are indeed not close to you, they may even decide to just not to turn up on that day? I have been to receptions where there are so many absentees, there were like 7-8 guests per table only, and it didn't look nice at all.

There are a few places which will accept a smaller booking, eg my brother-in-law is having a 10table dinner reception at Traders Hotel. You can ask around.

I wish you luck in finding a suitable venue!

pebz

I'm hoping to hold my wedding in Raffles Hotel!But now am in the midst of date selection..but am wondering what is the maximum number of tables? Thanks!

carebearz

Dog lover,
That's true, you've got a point there..I suppose a full room is better than a half-empty room. I guess we just have to give and take.

Edazz,
A couple of incidents actually or should I say it's more like an attitude problem with the coordinator. She suggested something for my dinner and when I paused to think about it, she actually told me,"It's up to you. Take it or leave it. Raffles Hotel is well-known for its food and service and quality. There are many couples waiting to book even if you don't want it". I was utterly stunned and amused when she said this. The irony was she mentioned the quality of the hotel and yet she told me to take it or leave it, in the same breath.

And when I said that I'll reply by 10th March, she said that we won't be able to reserve the room for me if someone else is interested as they work on a 'ebay basis-highest bidder wins'. She said whichever couple can offer her a higher deposit will get the room even if they made the enquiry later. I was like huh? Most other hotels, in fact, all other hotels work on a first-come-first-serve basis and would hold the room for a few days while the couple decides.

When I asked about their sound system and some room policies, she said,"oh you're also one of those who go around listening to rumours online." Huh? I said "no, I just read other people's opinions and it's precisely I wanted to get the facts clear, which is why I'm clarifying with you".

I'm in the service industry myself and defintely know this is not how a service staff should behave. And I'm defintely not a Bridezilla, my attitude to them was of utmost courtesy. I maintained my cool throughout even after such scarcastic remarks. I even told her that I'll keep her updated even if I choose not to go with Raffles. And her reply was,"Anything lah!"

And I was the one who offered to shook her hands when I was about to leave. in These were really too much for me to take so decided not to go with them.

shingirl

hi girls, just to check..... for your wedding invitation card.... do you print directly on the card, or print it on an insert?

doggielurver

Carebearz, that wasn't very nice of her and I sure hope she was having a bad day. My own experiences were no less than delightful. Maybe I had a different coordinator.

Pebz - 25 tables in the ballroom incl bridal table. I have been told ppl have squeezed in 26 tables but it was so tight there was no rooom to swing a cat.

Visha - you can do either. My parents-in-law handled the card bit for me, they chose to print directly on the card as they felt it looked better. For me, I didn't care. One thing to note is that if you choose to print inserts, you can print a little extra (say you're entitled 150 cards, you can print 180 inserts) in one go. In the end if you have last min changes in guests (as you will have), you can ask for more cards from the hotel (they may charge a small sum if you exceed the quota I am not sure). Or if you messed up an insert you can use another one and not have to waste a full card.

For me, I initially had 200 guests, hence 140 cards. Then it blew out to 220 guests. We needed 10 extra cards from the hotel. Then we needed to again bring this 10 extra cards to the printer to be printed. Which I thought was a hassle (tho thankfully I didn't have to do it, my lovely in-laws did). I am not sure if it would have cost more to print a second time too. The mould would already have been paid for though and reusable.

Hope that helps!

pebz

Dog lover - Wow! 25 tables will be maximum already.

Carebearz - That was really bad! I wouldn't have proceeded either, if I were you.

bibididi

hi all, anyone confirm ur wedding at raffles hotel for yr2010? i heard that they are increasing S$100 per table from this yr's rate!omg...i tot we are having recession now!

bibididi

hi meimei, could you send me the link of ur wedding pics at the lawn? cant seem to c in the link u posted....thanx babe!

avelinekoh

Winifred: Me! Ad on 10/1/10.... even recession, the price will not go down.... the most they can throw in more freebie..haha...

shingirl

when i sign my package with raffles last yr, my corkage is $100++, and today tracey emailed me to inform me that my corkage will be changed to $40++, even though i sign on the $100 corkage.

on top of that, if i buy an bottle of wine from them(on top of what is given free), corkage for the next bottle i bought in will be free.

i find that it's really nice of them to inform me the news when i din even ask for it.

she even pursue me to get their card rather than exchange+topup for projector because the cards cost alotalot more than the projector. in the end i rent outside for projector is just around $90

chrissyc

Yea. They are increasing about $100 per table for 2010 and heard that despite the recession, demand is still there for Raffles. It's fair though if we put 'recession' aside.

To be honest, I don't see an impact on Singaporeans yet. I see only packed carparks and long queues in restaurants the past few months. Gosh I had to wait 45 minutes for a lot in VivoCity.

Vihsa! I'm glad to hear that they have opened the choice to you on the corkage even after you've signed the contract! Very nice.

purpleval

Crissy, perhaps people were there for great bargains during this down period.

I was at Raffles recently and the lady I met was amazing!!! she's very patient and informative, not just to my numerous questions but down to bits like the artist who painted the walls around the ballroom. Thumbs up to her and I will insist on having her as my wedding co-ordinator even though she informed me that her other colleague (whom I have never met) will take it from there.

chrissyc

That's wonderful! I'm sure if you call her up to request that she signs you up for your wedding, the hotel will gladly oblige.

Have you decided on your dates yet? I heard weekends for the end of the year are going like hotcakes! Better be quick!

agag

I'm meeting up with May Liang, any feedbacks on her? Is she the 'poor service' person that some of you are referring to?!

I'm hoping to get a date for end of the year, not sure if I can still make it...

agag

Thanks Dog lover! It's great to hear that! I hope I can join you all 'officially' to be the bride of RH. Fingers-crossed for now!