Raffles Hotel

sweetpea_lee

Hi Bride!
Alamak! yes its ivory and glossy not 'white' as I put it!! I am becoming like a guy and getting very undescriptive!!! hahahaa
I chose the card on the right that Blue Monkey put up.

Hey Vez,
if its not too late, just found out that we could also use T dragon as the printer for the invite! I think both printers ( Jasvy and T Dragon) will give you the same end result but frankly found the service at T dragon much friendlier, look for Connie at T Dragon she is very nice.

blue_monkey

Hi guys - are u able to share regarding additional perks that you managed to negotiate at by Raffles Hotel? i only managed to bargain corkage down to 30+++ and 12 bottles waiver...

vanadis82

Hello Vez! Wow you must be very busy now. Can we print our own cards instead of letting Raffles send it to their printer?
Vez and lilo, send ur pics to me!
Thanks! look forward to seeing ur pretty pics!
Btw, Blue monkey, who's ur coordinator? I think corkage at 30+++ is quite ex leh.

hweyhwey

Hi Vez,
sorry, i didn't receive ur photos, do u mind send it to me again when u free?? [email protected]

I used the red card also... cos I think it's quite nice...

did u ask them to re-print ur card?? I think they should do that loh cos it's their fault, and maybe u ask them to email u before they re-print. cos i remember last time the t dragon email me to confirm everything before they print.

Bride,
it's a boy... hehe... maybe few years later try to have a girl then stop. haha..

blue monkey,
i think 12 bottles waiver is the max already... last time my husband's cousin also helped us to bargain with raffles, at the end also 12 bottles... but my guess really drink very little... they couldn't even finish the 25 bottles for each tables... they only finished 24 bottles.. haha..

blue_monkey

Minmin : I'm dealing with Pauline. She's quite nice actually. And i was telling her that someone got the lawn for 1000+++ and she quoted me 1.5K+++ but she can't reduce it anymore she said. I also tried asking for 20+++ corkage - but she says that doesn't happen anymore as well

Hwey Hwey : yeap, i think 12 bottles free waiver is the max. my friends are all "borderline alcoholics" - they drink like fish.

serapheve

Hi there Blue Monkey,

Yup I also managed to get 12 bottles no corkage. I think they are quite firm on the corkage.

Agnes offered the lawn for $1000+++ but that's cos no food would be served there. Only water and soft drinks. Flowers would also be the same ones as the ballroom. Not too sure if that price is still valid in 2007 as I booked it in 2006.

Hi Minmin and Hweyhwey,

Ive sent the photos. Do let me know if you dont receive them!

Yup we can ask Raffles to let us print our own cards. American wedding treasures have BEAUTIFUL cards! However to cut cost, we just took the Raffles cards.

blue_monkey

Vez i think the price was probably for 2006 then. I'm not taking the canapes & drinks - just purely venue rental. But will move drinks / mixers from dinner reception to use at the lawn.

Seems like 12 bottles is the max. *sign* no choice....

hweyhwey

hi Vez,
i received ur photos already, Thanks!!
the photos are well taken and u look very pretty and sweet!

a bit confused... u all want to hold ROM at lawn or just reception?? i know if ROM is quite expensive, I only hold my reception there, but only 500+++, and i top up the finger food myself... don tell me they increase the price till 1000+++??? wow... scary man....

serapheve

Hi Hweyhwey,

Glad you received the photos

Was your wedding in 2007 or 2006? I remember someone telling me that the price for the lawn in 2006 was 500. Hmm, it does seem like it increases by 500 each year! Yup that's a lot!!!

I'll be having my solemnization at the lawn followed by dinner. Will have the cake cutting at the lawn for a more intimate gathering and also ensure that the people who come early dont starve all the way till 8pm!!

vanadis82

Hi Vez!
I've just seen your photos. You look gorgeous! Wah, finally put a face to your name haha. Btw you look good in the red cheongsam. I personally love cheongsams as u can see from my ROM dress.
Btw, Vez, lilo and hweyhwey, i've also sent a few of my rom pics. I havent got time to download the rest yet. :p
bride you got email addy? I send to you too.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin, thanks! My address is [email protected]

Hey Vez, I want to see your pretty pics too! Can you send them to me?

Can anyone be so kind as to give me the dimensions of the raffles hotel invitation card? I can't seem to get hold of Pauline. Sigh... And I need the dimensions to start designing my church invites cos I want to slot them into the raffles card...</font>

serapheve

Hi Bride,

Ive sent the photos over
The card (when folded) is roughly 15cm x 11cm. A quarter of an A4 paper. Hope this helps!

Hi Minmin,

Thanks! I thought you look gorgeous too! You're so slim and willowly! You'll look good in ANYTHING you wear!!

vanadis82

Hmmm, I cant access my email lately dunno why. bride, I'll send u the pics once my email is ok.

hee, thanks Vez and lilo, I suppose all brides will be pretty on their wedding day!!
Oh the place I had my ROM is Tea Chapter. Really love the place and the food is nice.
Really recommend those who want to have small intimate gatherings to go there. They allow u to book the whole of the top level which can take 30 pax.

lyons

<font color="119911">hi vez, THANKS!

Hey minmin, no problem, I'll wait
Can't wait to see your photos... I heard of Tea Chapter. Very nice, quaint place</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi blue monkey, don't fret. just think of it this way... you're paying for the service and name of raffles, really. the corkage is raffles' way of earning
how much are you paying for corkage? I'm paying $35+++ and they are offering raffles' wines @ $50+++ so I made calculations and including tax, if I want to buy wine from outside, must buy below $17 nett if not bo hua might as well get from raffles. So now I managed to find good $15 wines

hweyhwey

Hi minmin,
ya agree with Vez, u are so slim, and very sweet also
I was trying to reduce my weight before my wedding.. only managed to cut 1 kg, 47, but still not as slim as u.... and now... haha better don tell u all my weight, will scare u.. haha

Hi Vez, my wedding was in 2006 Dec, and i signed with Raffles in about Apr 2005. so i don know they increase the price in 06 or 07.

oh make sure u tell ur guests to go to Lawn first, I hold my ROM at Merchantcourt, so at Lawn i only have pre-dinner reception. and quite a lot of my guests go to the ballroom directly, because they couldn't find the Lawn.

emmelineseah

I'm new here and got dizzy reading all the threads liao. The Raffles forum is very active. I am planning to have my wedding at Raffles too... GWP gave me a hard time by not replying for more than 2 weeks!! Anyone has tips to share? I just emailed the hotel and am still waiting for their reply, so not sure who will be my coordinator...

Any tips and pictures will be greatly appreciated!

Emmeline

audrey_ng

Thanks bride! Gabriel did a really good job with the photography.

In case you're wondering what the last pic is about, Glenn was presenting me to the tourists and hotel guests who had gathered to watch from the balconies overlooking the courtyard. We had so much fun with the solemnisation that morning!

tingshen

you guys can email them for the packages. If you need direct contact, PM / email me for one of their catering sales, he's quite a romantic guy with many many ideas!

anyway, the upcoming wedding show is in September, gets your wallet ready gals!

sweetbeng

tingshen so have u signed up yet? or waiting for their show? Did your coordinator mention what perks they will be offering at the show?

jow

is it so bad wif pauline? really dun wanna :eek:( risk having bad experience for a once a lifetime thing *crossing finger*

cactus_79

Hi joycelyn, I'm dealing with Pauline. I find her okay. She may be a bit slow in responding to my emails but I find her nice and professional.

blue_monkey

I'm dealing with Pauline - she's actually quite nice. Instead of emailing queries to her, i usually call her direct and she's always answered my queries very pleasantly.

lyons

<font color="119911">Hmm, I think there are very varying comments about Pauline. She's my coordinator and she's good so far. In fact, she reminded me to collect my invitation cards and I did already.

Just a question to past brides. The invitation card is 3-fold right? But when I folded the cards, the bottom is longer and sticks out from the top! Not sure if you know what I mean but the card is like not equal like that. Is this normal?</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">I was given stickers too but when you fold the card into 3, does the bottom part stick out from the top? i.s. the bottom is longer than the middle section.... not sure if you understand what I mean. Even sticking the sticker, it's quite ugly cos the border is not even</font>

cactus_79

hi Bride, yes, it happens to mine also. Hmm... I saw a different wedding invitation card for a wedding dinner at The BAllroom. It's red and the usual 2 fold. I'm not sure if the couple sourced for the cards themselves. The dinner was held at Ballroom on 7 July.

lyons

<font color="119911">ya lor, very wierd, isn't it? The bottom of the card sticks out fr the top when folded... looks quite ugly leh. I think that couple sourced for their own invites cos raffles only has 2 and both are 3-fold. I'm going to call and check with pauline liao. I feel the cards are quite unprofessionally done leh...</font>

cactus_79

hmm.... I dun think Raffles hotel can give us new cards at such short notice unless they are already planning on changing the card design and have already printed stock and change for us on goodwill basis. I guess I'm not so affected cos I'm not using Raffles hotel's cards to give to guests. I only requested a card from Raffles hotel for keepsake. I will be using my own invites...

lyons

<font color="119911">I remembered that I promised some people I will share my photoshoot pictures... Can't remember who though but my raw pictures are ready</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin, sent!

BTW, my photos are also raw photos, unedited one. But my photographer gave us the whole CD
Do share with me your photos

lyons

<font color="119911">hey! Does anyone know how to print the wordings on the raffles invitation card? there's no space for english and chinese words on the middle section of the card. Can write english on middle section and chinese on bottom section?</font>

lilo_stitch

bride, did u manage to get ur card fold e right? if u want i get send u a pic of e card as i got one sample card from RH which is been folded

lyons

<font color="119911">thanks lilo! We've figured out how to fold liao. Just press down slightly and it's ok already. Raffles card super small right? Then my church invites also have to be super small
The smaller flap is on the inside or outside har?</font>

tingshen

sweetbeng, we only verbally booked the date, unless somebody is taking the same date, we will wait until their wedding show and be the first to place the deposit :D

beckylaw, the coordinator we are dealing with is Tom, he's the assistant catering sales manager, introduced by my friend

and gals, I'm not the bride hoh...I'm the groom i'm the groom!!!!

hweyhwey

I am here again... I didn't have problem with folding the card leh... so i don't quite understand what u mean, u fold the bottom part first, then fold the top part(the shortest) and put the sticker. correct?

ya i print the English words on the middle section and the Chinese words on bottom section. Actually I like the card very much, I choose the red card, then i use red shinning words,the sticker is also red, so the card is red and ivory, looks very nice leh... my friends also said that, Raffles changed the card??

Hi bride, send ur photos to me can?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi hweyhwey and past brides of raffles hotel, where did you get your invitation cards printed and how much was it? Need help as I need to print my cards soon... 7th mth coming...</font>