Raffles Hotel

lilo_stitch

hi minini, hope u feel better now. i ask annabel abt e sucking pig she qoute me $300 more than u

hi cherly, dinner better than ur guest will dress more formal n pretty if lunch hot they wear simple ;)

serapheve

Wow, was busy at work for a day and there's so much lively discussion online now...great!

Meme, yup Mademoiselle is in RH itself. I was considering between Mademoiselle, Ted Wu and BlushBlush. In the end chose Mademoiselle as though it is rather steep, I think it'll be more value for money as I want lotsa embroidery. It's very complete so I wont need to pay for extra stuff here and there which I may need to for the others. Also wanted to have RH as a one stop all place for all wedding stuff. It's central and convenient esp since I dont drive.

Minmin, hope ya feeling better today. Sounds like it!

Hi Maltese lover, the $1K should cover everything...Agnes said it usually costs $1.5k for the full setup and is only charging $1K as Im having the dinner later. Sorry but I dont have the 2007 wedding dinner set. Only have soft copy of the 2006 wedding dinner (no pork no lard) set which isnt available now... Let me know if you want that one? Think only $10-30 diff in price between 2006 and 2007 but I preferred the 2006 menu...any news of Royal China moving out??

Bride, me too! I intend to remove the shark's fin for environmental reasons but fish maw is kinda lame...dunno what else they can provide. Intend to speak to Agnes about it.

Hey gals, Im having a Chinese sit down dinner. Do you think guests would mind serving themselves instead of having the waiter serve them? Reason being I prefer the more warm Chinese dinner feel where everyone digs in rather than a Western served meal feel. Also some people may not eat certain things as a substantial proportion of my guests are non Chinese...so wasted to throw the food away. Your comments pls?

vanadis82

Hi gals thank you so much.... Coming to this forum always makes me feel better...
Hope we can always be around to exchange pointers for our wedding preps!

Meme, i sign with French studio. How about you?

lilo, you mean annable quoted you $500 for a suckling pig per table??? thats daylight robbery! maybe you check with her again? I have asked around most of the 5 star hotels and they quoted me between 180-280+++ per suckling pig.

Vez, with regards to your guests serving themselves I think it depends on what dish. Personally I don't like it when they serve the fish dish, cos the waitress will always mash it up and I always end up getting the parts I dont like. Maybe you can discuss with your coordinator which kinds of dishes you wan them to serve, (soup, noodles, dessert etc) while your guest can help themselves on the rest?

Btw, I heard Raffles provides 1 waitress per table is that true?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi vez, ya, Me environmentalist mah
fish maw IS lame so wondering can replace with suckling pig or not... hmm... can you let me know what the outcome of your coordinator says?

hey minmin, yes, RH provides one waiter per table which i think is fantastic!</font>

vanadis82

Oh, just like to find out also how long before your wedding date do you gals actually start to liase with the coordinators regarding flowers, themes, food tasting, menu etc? I haven't really asked Annabel yet cos she seems quite busy lately.

serapheve

Hi bride,

Yup will let you know but likely only discuss these stuff in May when my FH gets back. Or do you think it's too last minute and we should discuss this before he goes in Feb? I dont want to discuss too earlier as Im pretty indecisive and may just end up changing my mind over and over again. Drive everyone crazy!!!

Minmin, yeah! Exactly what I was thinking...I heard food tasting is about 1-2 months before wedding but for the others, I also dunno...if you have heard from other brides, do let me know yah?

Or brides who already had their weddings at RH, if you see this, do let us know!

I think the RH staff are generally pretty busy but very attentive once we get their attention
Just need to wait...

pepper

minmin

yes that is the bridal suite that RH provides.

Lilo, i don have many photos with me because i am working overseas. i used white table cloths for all guests and gold for VIP.

sorry for not replying early because i seldom come in to chat.

cookies_gal

For myself, we met up with the coordinator to discuss the banquet details something like 1- 1.5 months before AD. If you know what you want &amp; need, about 3 meetings should be more than enough to tie down all the details with the coordinator.

I'd encourage you ladies to stick to plated service (ie, waiters serving the guests their food). This not only frees up your guests from having to reach out and get their own food, it also makes your photos so much nicer as the hotel does not remove the centrepiece arrangement. If you really worry about the fish, why not choose codfish for your fish dish?

vanadis82

Hi lilo... wah I dunno leh... I thought they supposed to have a standard rate for suckling pig. U wanna double check with Annabel?

serapheve

Hi there Eline,

Welcome!
Great to see new forumers here! Hope your preparations have been going smoothly. March? That's pretty soon...so I guess you would have had most of your preparations done? Just 4 more months to go...you must be real excited!!
Time flies yah? I used to think I've got lotsa time...then I realised Ive less than 8 months before my wedding in July!

Have you done your photoshoot? Did you do it at Raffles? I intend to. Wondering where's nice at Raffles

elinechua

Hi Vez

No preps done w RH yet actually! haha but my gowns and all are settled already, jus did photoshoot end of Oct, chosen the picts and now waiting for the layout to be done. Didnt do the photoshoot at Raffles cos thot tt on the AD itself can actually take some picts there anyways so went to other locations for the photoshoot. =)

Time really flies, its been 9 mths since i last signed the contract w RH haha you will find that yr wedding gonna come even b4 u know it! =)

vanadis82

Hi Vez...

They have some photography guidlines for taking your photos at the hotel premises right? Wah I like the lobby area and hotel entrance very much, its got lovely chandeliers and the stairs leading to the guest rooms are so colonial. But too bad we are unable to shoot there...

lyons

<font color="119911">hi girls, i think we're only allowed to take photos at some places that are not that nice
I think Eline's idea is better. Take on actual day then maybe can steal a photo in the lobby or entrance

serapheve

Hi Eline and Minmin,

Thanks for the tips!
I think there's many nice places at Raffles for the PS...but reading your replies, don't know if Raffles would allow photos there. Minmin, I also thought of the same areas as you!...any reason given why not allowed?

Where are you all planning to have your outdoor photoshoot? I can only think of Botanical Gardens (orginally was thinking of having AD at Burkill hall but it was too small).

lyons

<font color="119911">hi vez, how about pulau ubin or sentosa? Sentosa got beach and old colonial buildings.</font>

vanadis82

Hi Vez,

I think Raffles hotel wants us to keep away from the lobby area cos there's where all the guests come in and they dun wan us to obstruct.

My hubby and I personally like very rustic places, but seems like Sentosa is a common place for couples to take wedding pictures. We are currently looking around for unique places. Like old abandoned buildings. Anybody thought of arab street?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin, some people i saw in other forums thought of going to arab street. That's an idea. How about esplanade? only common thing about sentosa is the beach. Other than that, the old buildings there are quite nice. How about labrador park? it all depends on what type of landscape you like</font>

vanadis82

Hello, the past week seems to be quite quiet. Guess everybody's busy! :p

I think we can find out more about different places in this website http://www.visitsingapore.com/
More for tourists, but gives us an idea of different unique places in Singapore that locals normally wouldnt think of going to!

lyons

<font color="119911">this sucks... we're subjected to the 7% increase in GST!! I called my coordinator and she confirmed it! Should write in to the MP and complain! It's not fair, how come the wedding couples (we're considered poor) have to suffer? Thought the GST increase is meant to "help the poor, middle class not affected and tax the rich"??</font>

vanadis82

Bride,
I agree with you! I also just confirmed with annabel.
Haiz, how would we know that there will suddenly be a tax increase? Pay more taxes but salary no increase... sad. too bad the contract already states that its subject to "prevailing gov taxes at time of payment".

vainpotash

i cant agree more too!! when they announce i was hopping mad!!! GST is increasing like mad while cpf employer contribution rate is forever stagnant!!!

still wan ppl to marry early. how to?!?! sigh...

vanadis82

hey gals, have you all gotten wedding bands yet? I havent leh... got problems trying to find a suitable one....

Any of you gals getting yellow gold wedding bands?

btw where is Vez? long time never see liao.

Meme you found BS yet?

lilo_stitch

hi gals, any idea when do we meet up e florist before AD? what kind of flower are do they give?

minmin, mine is white gold
maybe u can look for design with both white n gold

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin, we want white gold/platinum ones. I don't like yellow gold but it's a personal preference.

lilo_stitch, they told me about 2-3 months before the AD then meet florist. I actually met the guy from Raffles' florist already and he's really nice. Very creative ideas too. He said if you want out-of-season flowers, probably have to top up to bring them in. If you stick to seasonal flowers you don't have to top up.</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi lilo, it's the florist at raffles hotel itself. Forgot the name. Think it's sir something... Think the seasonal flowers depend on the weather. Like certain flowers bloom in dec not in apr or whatever. Guess the common ones like roses, gerberras, normal lilies should be ok.

have fun with the BS meme! That's one of the more exciting shopping I feel

serapheve

Hi there gals,

Happy to see that there's been much discussion!

Sorry I was away as was busy with work...got big event next week and then flying off for 2 weeks to Myanmar. Keeping my fingers crossed I've survive till Christmas!! ;)

Yup Ive decided on my rings. We're going for platinum to match my jewellery. Actually fiance decided where to get them as he likes the big fat found Lucida ring. However I found that didnt match my engagement ring so I'll just go for a similar pointy edge Tiffany setting. Haha, realised Im getting EVERYTHING from Raffles Hotel!! Even rings and BS. Hope the rings won't look too weird side by side in the little blue box...but at least it would look similar to my engagement ring when they are on my finger.

There's a shop, Kim T, in Raffles which custom makes jewellery. They have some very very nice 3 gold (white, gold and rose) rings. It looks very modern and sweet. I was thinking of just getting one to wear for fun but then I think wearing 2 rings would be more than enough

The florist at Raffles is Sir Charles. I found their rates rather steep. Think I was quoted 2.5K for the walk in arch. I also wasn't very impressed by the flower arrangement during the wedding show...but I guess boh pian lah...they are the in-house florist. Hope I can get lilies without topping up. I love the smell of lilies and they are also hardier...so won't wilt too fast especially since Im having solemnization on the lawn first.

vanadis82

Vez, Is Kim T expensive? whats the price range like for simple ones without diamonds?

You mean the arch alone cost 2.5k? thats on top of the fresh flower centrepeices included in the package right? thats ex.... Can we use our own florist if we wan to add on?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi minmin, I don't think that's allowed. You can try asking your coordinator if you can get your own florist.

Kim T sounds interesting! Vex, is it expensive?</font>

serapheve

Im not too sure about the price range at Kim T. When I was there, I saw a nice 3 gold (yellow, white and rose) intertwined ring for around $700. So that was quite ok. However when I asked them to give me a quote for custom made platinum rings, I found the ones at Tiffany's cheaper than theirs. So obviously going for the cheaper ones. Strange...

Yup I was quoted $2.5K but if Im not wrong, that was for the actual one they used during the wedding show. Ie some big big orchids. The price can be brought lower if normal roses are used instead. The guy there told me something around $2K if Im not wrong. But I still think it's a waste of money as all gonna wilt anyway.

Sigh, quite upset that the makeup artist Sam I wanted has been taken up...URGH. Anyone got someone else to recommend me?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi meme, raffles should be providing the recep table but not sure about the photo stand. Try asking your coordinator closer to the date. Actually they should have...</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">hi lilo, I'll be having a real wedding cake! My coordinator advised me against getting the cake from them cos it's much more costly as compared to getting outside cake caterers to do it. But you'll have to sign the waiver form to state that Raffles Hotel will not be liable for any food poisoning should any occur.</font>

lilo_stitch

hi bride, do u sign e form w the main agreement or separate? which cakeshop u had order? do u know if Sir Charles have website?

gals, who will be e 1st bride of raffles? shall we have a table
anyone can help becos i dont how to create