Raffles Hotel

pinkypiggy

I have mis-placed the raffles wedding package brochures. Can someone be kind to help me dig your brochures to check what is the price to use the raffles lawn for solmn??

muddpie

thanks ladies....finally annabel called me...

lilo, When is ur AD?? mine is 2nd Dec 07. But Annabel said more or less the tentative couple is confirmed...*sob*...i hv to be on wait list...if not have to choose another date...

Bride, were you there at the show? pic u took are those which I saw too.... but dun really remb the setting on the right.is that a smaller room?? cos Chia Hui mention if I were to have 20 tables only 1 room can accomodate (the red setting)...

probably have to look at Raffles the plaza...but their service like not very good leh...& saw their dinner menu...so so only...
hai...headache...

lyons

<font color="119911">hey cheryl, yup, i was at the show but i already signed up before the show so just wanted to take a look at the setup. No, these photos were not taken from the show. They're from the website and one of them was sent to me by my coordinator.

If you're going for RTP, go for stamford ballroom. I highly recommend it as it's the best ballroom and most exclusive one. Not sure about the service but I've attended dinners there before, food is really nothing great. Acceptable at most.</font>

lilo_stitch

bride, thanks for e photo
are e set up much nice than e photo? do u know when was their last reno of e ballroom?

cherly, mine AD is 28/12. i also manage to speak w annabel this afternoon
what do u mean e red setting? i got a friend told me RTP food not nice also.
happy ger, are u also BTB of raffles?

lyons

<font color="119911">hey lilo, no problem. But I'll have to admit that the photos look nicer than the actual setup... esp the gold table cloths because the actual setup looks a bit yellow to me leh... it's champagne gold, that's prob why. The pic is brownish gold which is what i prefer.

the red setting was only for the VIP table, right cheryl? That's the burgundy setting one. But the rest of the tables are white. That was the other room. Raffles has a few areas, upstairs next to the main ballroom there's another smaller ballroom for max 20 tables.</font>

lilo_stitch

bride, is it their cloth too old liao? hmm.. what abt their carpet is it e same? i tot can choose red for all ;)what gold is it only for VIP only?

lyons

<font color="119911">hey lilo, I'm not sure, maybe you can check with your coordinator? If I'm not wrong can choose between burgundy (red), champagne gold and ivory (white). Any combination you can choose. e.g. all red then vip table white/gold, all gold then vip table red or all white then vip table red. It's really up to you. The gold cloth they used during the show is the new one. It's meant to be yellowish gold.</font>

muddpie

bride, did u choose chinese dinner? which 2 did u choose then?the classic or the jubiliee? i still hestitating which chinese menu to choose? cos compare the dishes like not very much diff leh...i think wif abalone slice for $200 more..wonder if is just a slice for each guest..then kinda like not too worth to pay for the more exp dishes...
but i dun kinda like the red &amp; gold table cloth setting leh...issit just for VIP table? I think i went to the wedd show it seems the whole room setting was in that colour...&amp; according to 1 of the coordinator seems like they only have 1 ballroom for 200pax..the rest are very much smaller...think they can't hold up to 200 pax...hai...real heachache...

lilo ur AD is this oso dec next yr? or this year?

muddpie

btw, ladies...any idea how much usually FH give pin jin to your parents?

I think my mum is looking at Pin Jin &amp; also angbao for the dinners...cos seems she ask for 5 tables from FH side...does tat mean give her 5 tables &amp; then angbao goes to her or come to me??wonder how to talk to her...help!!!

lilo_stitch

cheryl, my AD is 28/12/07. e max they can hold is up to 24table plus 1 reserved. me also bid head but then dont care just book then ask parents cut guest list
my mum ask for 6table, pinjin so far never heard from her. normally angbao sure go to them if they ask for 6table. are u paying ur own dinner?

lyons

<font color="119911">hi cheryl, yup, mine's chinese dinner at the main ballroom. Classic menu because like you said, the price difference is quite significant and already raffles is expensive plus it's only 8 dishes! How many tables are you having? The main ballroom can take up to max 25 tables. The casuarina suite can take up to 20 tables (i think it's called casuarina suite), EIC I think 8-12 tables, can't remember.

As for pin jin, I already hinted to my mum that we're paying for the dinner ourselves and no one is helping us but I think she's going to insist a pin jin. In that case I will tell her yi shi yi shi only. She'll get angry but I don't care so much la, it's my wedding and if she's going to suck us dry now, then we'll be in debt for our wedding, I'm going to tell her does she want that to happen to me
I know maybe not so filial but no choice mah</font>

muddpie

lilo, think i might have to chg my date to 6 jan 08...a week aft urs....cos i think 2 dec 07 must have been taken up cos annabel didn't come back to me that is available.

Yup, we are paying for the whole dinner. didn't ask my mum &amp; FIL for single cent. except that cos FIL side has alot of malaysians &amp; FIL side agree to top up lost from their side....cos hubby didn't 1 2 invite tos m'sia relatives..but FIL claim is a must...
thats y i wonder y the angbao from relatives (mum side) goes to my mum...

b4 all these happens...she mentioned abt sponsoring us 2 tickets for honeymoon...wah i so happy....
then when i discuss more...heard she wanted 2.8k or 3.8k pinjin &amp; some abalone stuff...prepared to pay for other things...told mum don't really need dowry (I can pay for tos on top of her pinjin)&amp; jewelleries...
meaning to say...think I have to prepare 10k for my mum alone...&amp; hold a wedding dinner is she initiated &amp; insisted it &amp; urging me y so long still don't 1 2 get married (cos ROM in 2003)...my dad &amp; FIL said its up to us...&amp; doesn't really matter....
she even kinda ask y do i need to spend so much $ on wedding gown &amp; photo...y will i need an album...etc...y can't i just rent a gown &amp; take 1 photo enuf...this really upsets me...
my dad mentioned to her angbao to give me back...cos she already take pinjin...then saw an expression from her face...like not very happy...&amp; she mentioned...how she will know which relative give how much etc...i told her will sure write down on a list at end of everything...&amp; return her the extras from her relative side....
hai...i really didnt expect her to be like this...think i rather not have her sponsor my honeymoon tickets...really upsets me very much....

muddpie

hi bride...i don't mind paying for a jubliee menu cos majority are relatives...&amp; like u mention lor...8 course only &amp; menu like very general...not quite nice...
i m only having 20 tables...but didn't know there is 1 more suite that can take up to 20 tables...nvm...will ask annabel when i meet her this friday. cos planning of having lunch but still use the dinner menu. wonder this can be done....
but if my mum insisted on the pin jin &amp; dinner angbao...think i will have to forgo RH...but hopefully i don't have to...cos hubby &amp; i really like the suite &amp; the hotel itself....the feeling is different unlike other hotels...agree?? :p

lilo_stitch

cherly, just spoke w annabel, she's very friendly. now waiting for her to send me e agreement. i wanted to plan another nite for my friend only on 29/12 but was taken
so i thk no choice die die must ask parents to cut their invites. when u meet her get her to get if e other couple had pay for e venue if not ask her to relase for u. me also abt e same as u ROM very long liao haha a.a..... which dialect are u? why got abalone?

muddpie

lilo, i m cantonese....wat abt u??
i also dun noe...guess besides $$ my mom wanted some delicacies ba...so thats y have abalone &amp; sea cucumber etc lor...
have u paid the deposit? are u waiting for annabel to send u the agreement before u pay deposit right?

lyons

<font color="119911">hey cheryl, ya, mothers always want to show off the pin jin to relatives one. My mother said no face if say no pin jin. Then i just got fed up and said, you can tell your friends/relatives that you're not selling your daughter! Then she got angry. But i put my point across. You want yi shi then I will give you however much you want just so that you can show off but at the end of the wedding, you return it to me. You've got to sit your mother down and talk to her, tell her how you feel. Tell her what she's doing will get you into debt. You'd rather not have a wedding.</font>

vanadis82

Hello gals! Haven really posted anything in the forum cos just got down to confirming my venue. I's also going to be a Raffles Bride! Oh Cheryl, such a coincidence! I think we are the couple who took 2 Dec 07. Just confirmed it yesterday. :p So many other venuees are already fully booked for that date, dunno why....

muddpie

hi minmin...ya...so coincidence...hahaha... :p which place u went that is fully booked? is yours a lunch or dinner ah??
how many tables are u looking at? btw which menu did u choose? i cannot decide between classic &amp; jubliee...cos dun no if i choose jubliee if its worth it...&amp; classic seem not very nice menu... hai....
i checked with oriental, shangri la, RTP, all available leh...except hyatt that is booked...

muddpie

bride....i shared my woes with another gf who is getting married this yr end...think she also has the same prob...except that her FIL asked for the angbaos...instead of her parents...hahaha...&amp; she &amp; her bubby footing all bills themselves...sometimes wonder y parents are like tat...don't they want the best for their children??hai...

vanadis82

Hello Cheryl,

Mine will be a dinner. Cos having tea ceremony and stuff in the morning so lunch quite rush.

Huh Oriental they told me they are fully booked leh. Wah I went to quite a few hotels, Four Seasons was the first choice but we eliminated it cos the package was too expensive and no corkage waiver, so much more ex than Raffles. Then we got ask Meritus Mandarin, Marina Mandarin, but both booked. All the others we either din like the place or my PIL din like. Haha.

For me prob taking the classic menu lor, cos we adding a whole suckling pig on top of that so quite ex already. Take Jubilee menu then will be quite "burden". My FIL insists on having roast pig for every table.... dunno why.
we were hoping to save the money.

vanadis82

Oh and I'm looking at around 20-22 tables. Should fit the Raffles Ballroom just nicely.
Actually My FIL din really like the place cos its outdoor reception... Say will be very hot. Dunno leh, hubby and I just keep telling him that if we dun take then no more liao. we like can already :p

lyons

<font color="119911">hey minmin, sigh... parents can be like that. Want this want that only for what? Face lor... so they can brag to their friends. So we've got to speak up lor. Like in my case, I know I will tell my mum off if she wants a lot of pin jin. Not that I'm being unfilial but isn't providing a dinner good enough? The thinking is always "guys' side pay one what" but then if the couple's paying for everything then their daughter will also be in debt in her future life with her new family!</font>

lilo_stitch

cheryl, me hokkien, ohya now waiting for her to send me e agreement. i know cantonese need roast pig ;) i thk after adding other stuff which other hotel dont inlcude, raffles are abt e same as other hotel even their package look exp.

hmm.. anyone have 29/12 dinner or lunch?

pepper

hi ladies, saw ur discussion threads and bring back fond memories of my wedding at RH. Just some photos of the wedding taken . The figurine is the wedding favour. it is actually sat and pepper shaker. very unique and all the guests love it very much

RH is really a charming place, the photos turned out very well with a nostalgic feel. But the reception area is indeed warm.
421999.jpg

vanadis82

Hi Bride,
wah seems u quite upset by what your mom is doing. What about your hubby? What does he say on this? Actually my mother also a bit "want face" kind. But both of our families quite traditional and when it comes to wedding stuff, they agree to let the guy's side make decision. Including how much they giving for pinjin and stuff, or how many tables my hubby side want to give.

Btw, Belle, is that the bridal suite that RH hotel provided?

lyons

<font color="119911">hey belle! Congratulations! You must have had a beautiful wedding! Thanks for the photos.

Actually, Raffles Hotel's favours impressed me the most out of all the hotels I've seen. They have the most variety of favours ranging from modern chic to elegant english styles. Favour-wise, I don't think any of us need to worry.

Hey minmin, i'm just making my point with her lor. If she still insist on making life difficult for us then what to do? My hubby's very chin chai one, in fact he said if my mum wants what then give her whatever she wants. sigh...</font>

vainpotash

hello all RH BTB...

me juz cfmed with raffles hotel too.. simply love the place. juz abit sian that cannot get more perks from my coordinator. =\ they are realli firm manz. :S

muddpie

lilo...my hubby oso said the same thing...to have at RH is not very diff from other hotel..cos other hotel dun include beer &amp; wine...&amp; usually is 1 nite stay... &amp; we both fell in love with their suite when we 1st enter during the wedd show...its very lovely &amp; u hv the "WoW" feeling...Great!! Its exactly the photo wich Bella posted...!!
As for the roast pig...my mum say is when i return to her house in the afternoon lor...hmm...this 1 not to worry..cos if i plan to have lunch at RH then tell her no need lah...
actually quite hassle...i prefer as simple as possible...not need so many things...hehe :p

Belle...congrats on ur wedd....guessed u had a very memorable wedd... ;)

Minmin, do u have to top up extra cash for ur roast pig? mine to share a little of ur package? not convenient u may msn [email protected] or email me [email protected]

Bride, I truly agree with wat u said abt the pin jin...had the same prob too...(read my post on top)...i oso told my mum...cost me a bomb to have this wedd cos she insisted it...luckily my dad understands....think will really hv to talk to my mum this weekend abt it....hai...
RH favours oso impressed me...i think is the bridal suite, favours &amp; the whole hotel that attracts me....

Meme, who is ur coordinator..&amp; when is ur AD...wat extra perks did u ask for??

lilo_stitch

cherly, ur AD 2/12 lunch?

minmin, me also want to know e prices ;)

belle, congrats u too! can u share w me ur photo? actually me didnt even view e place b4 sign so very eager to see e actually place. what color did u use for e deco? thanks!

vainpotash

hi cheryl!

my coordinator is pauline.. i din get any extra perks from her, grr!! she's firm!! juz get those in the package, oso the extra perks from the wedding show, thats all! how abt u? did u manage to get more perks?

my AD is on 22 Dec 07!

vanadis82

Hi Cheryl and lilo,

Me had to top up $200 to exchange out the appetiser of the clasic menu. If we want to add on then its $250. We think its quite ex, but guess its part of tradition so PIL think it "looks good". Actually I think although Raffles dun give extra perks they are quite flexible cos they let me change out beer for corkage waiver.

Hey Cheryl so have you confirmed your date yet?

vanadis82

Haiz, actually i quite troubled today.... dunno if anybody can chat chat with me.... its about me and hubby and headache over wedding preps...

serapheve

Hi there Minmin,

Cheer up! Most couples would go through that patch in the wedding preps too. That's what makes the whole preparations so memorable
If you feel like it, you can either chat here or you can email me at [email protected]. Take care yah!

vanadis82

Hi Vez,

Nice to hear from you... Dunno leh, lately due to wedding prep we keep quarrelling because we have different views about doing things. I am so scared that we will just screw up and everything will be "finished" because of these.

My FH and I gone through really really a lot... cos initially my parents very against us, then now we finally managed to convince that we really love each other and will be happy together. But now.... haiz... When we are ok we are really happy together and we really click. We got common interests, common topics, same kind of expectations about each other, even our characters are similar. Maybe can say we equally stubborn and thats where the conflict arise.

I don't know how to handle the situation now. Cos we just quarrelled about our housing issue also. Our wedding date is in Dec 07, but we'll probably get our house keys in July 07. So I asked him if he'd want to renovate before or after the wedding. Then he get stressed because I said that if we do before wedding we wont have to shift to his parents place then shift out again. I understand that it is also a good thing to wait till we recover financially after the wedding, but then he says he intends to just keep his current status (and leave his room as it is and squeeze on his single bed).... and we are not even going to get our own bed till we have our own house.
Am I being unreasonable in asking him that?

Then I think now my MIL kinda think I spend money unecessary, want everything to be new.

Sorry for being so long-winded but i just feel very frustrated and got nobody to talk to so just pour out my side of the story lor. I know my FH also has his reasons for doing things certain way, but I can't help feeling upset over all this.

serapheve

Hi there Minmin,

I can understand how you feel. I'll feel exactly the same way too. I think you have a reason to feel frustrated and upset so dont feel bad about feeling that way.

I think you're lucky to have found someone whom you have so much in common with. And from what you say, you two must also really love each other and have gone through a lot. You have the foundation for your relationship well laid and that's what's important.

As for the quarrels, that's what all couples go through. I used to think that other couples were all so lucky as they appeared happy all the time. I would then feel crappy as to why Im being so demanding and difficult and spoiling the relationship. However, Ive realised that couples have differences as they are 2 individuals, not clones, coming together. What's more important is how it is resolved. I guess that's where a lifetime of compromises comes in.

As guys, they are always very practical about $$ issues. Girls, normally want it all PERFECT as it's a one in a life time thingey. Im oh so guilty of that. Do give your MIL respect but in reality, dont worry too much what your MIL thinks lah...It's your wedding, not hers. Things were different in their generation. Never make the mistake of giving up certain things and then regretting it when you think back about your wedding.

For your dilemma, there's 3 possibilities. There would be some losses at the wedding as it's at RH but hopefully not too much. The hongbao money should help to cover some of it. So money saved up now till then can be used for the reno before you move in. Im assuming you're using CPF for down payment for the flat. There's more than a year till your wedding so you can try saving as much as you can from now till then. Try working out how much you both can save up in 1 year and then see if it would be enough for both wedding and reno. If you work it out and present it to your FH, he might be more amenable to the reno. You both would also need privacy as a newly married bride

Other option if your FH die die dowan shift to your new place would be to ask him to make space for you. Not very feasible to have you shift in yet there's no space for you! My FH's rather skinny and I'm small and we have difficulties squeezing into a single bed! Not possible for a good night's sleep.

Third possible option. I dont know if this is usual for most Chinese couples (Im not fully Chinese) but the bride can also help pay for stuff. Im footing the dinner (table cost alone) while he foots the other half of the total bill. However I'll recover some back from the hong baos as my parents are not asking for any. Not too sure if Chinese custom allows that.

Haha, hope you dont think that Im now being long winded
Chins up Minmin, Im sure all these would work out well in the end!

vanadis82

Hi Vez,

Thank you for replying so fast and really appreciate your opinions. Well, actually I havent insisted my way on anything and just wanted to hear his point of view. But guess everybody's stressed up regarding the wedding preparations and we just end up getting short-tempered and kind of ask why the other party is not being understanding.

Actually I have occasionally stayed over with him and we've squeezed on his bed and so far we can still sleep quite comfortably.

But my idea was that after marriage it should be another phase whereby we have our own space and I can finally manage my own house and stuff, but I guess I was just expecting him to think exactly what I wanted and not whats best for the situation, thats why we ended up quarrelling.

And with regards to paying for the dinner, we are also doing it together. But my FH started working for only 1 yr+ and he got very expensive hobby, so all along he hasnt saved that much so we pretty much sharing the cost of our wedding and housing. To tell the truth if we do the renos before wedding we would have just enough to cover the wedding losses and we would have to start saving all over again.

Btw Vez, you also a Raffles Bride? When is your wedding date?

serapheve

Hi Minmin,

Yup I know what you mean... getting married is just so expensive...sigh...So hard to save but so easy to spend!! I get stressed thinking of the finances too!
But it sounds like you are carefully considering what's best for the two of you. That's good and Im sure you guys would make the right decision in the end

Yup, Im a Raffles Bride too...Getting hitched on 1st July 2007. Just dinner, no tea ceremony but got lawn solemnization. Wedding's 8 months away and other than hotel, booking BS and AD photographer, nothing's else fixed. FH gonna be in the US from Feb to May too...Haha, as usual, Im gonna do things last minute. But Im glad that the RH package is very comprehensive so there arent a lot of other stuff I need to take care of. Most importantly must get a JP soon or else got wedding but cannot legalize it!! Jialat!

How about you? You got your bridal studio and AD PG already?

vanadis82

Hey Vez,

Wow, 1 Jul 07? Really easy to remember. How come you didnt choose 7/7/07? :p I am still thinking whether to have solemnization on the same day or separately. Cos we having tea ceremony in the morning so worried it'll be rush. Did you have to pay for use of the lawn? I think its a romantic place for solemnization.

I got my bridal studio already. Its French Studio and Bridal, hope its good cos we were kinda "talked into" signing up for it. And it was the first bridal studio we went to see. haha. Anyway I'm not too particular about the gowns cos I've seen a few of their collection and quite like them.

As for my AD photographer my hubby already settle it cos he is a free-lance photographer, so he got contacts. And that is what his expensive hobby is. haha...

serapheve

Hi Minmin,

Haha, I could have guessed...there are only that many expensive hobbies around. My FH also likes to tinker around with his camera. Good thing he doesnt buy much expensive equipment!

Didnt get 070707 as I wanted a Sunday wedding...I know it sounds strange but I was born on a Sunday so I wanted a Sunday for my next phase of life too ;)

I dunno how long the average tea ceremony takes but Im guessing it should end by noon? If that's the case, it wont be very rush for the solemnization as the solemnization can be around 6pm. Before it gets dark yet not too early so that your guests need not wait too long for dinner at 8, That's what I'll be doing.

Yup gotta pay for the lawn...$1K to cover everything. Agnes my wedding coordinator suggested I bring the cocktails (soft drinks only) forward so guests can at least have something to drink. It can get quite hot...but Im hoping that it wont be so hot in the evening.

As for flowers, they will bring the flower stands out from the ballroom. My only worry is that they will wilt by the time it's dinner!!! Gotta speak to Agnes about that. Most probably will get lilies as those are hardier. Dunno if need to top up for those.

Ive heard good reviews about French Studio so it shouldnt be a problem
Anyway, nowadays with the internet and forums such as these, most BS wont dare give a shoddy job or else face having their BS being flamed online!!

My bridal studio is Mademoiselle. Considering buying the gown after the wedding but dunno how much it's gonna cost...likely an ARM and a LEG!! Keeping fingers crossed!!

vainpotash

Vez, is Mademoiselle the BS @ raffles hotel itself isit? looks v expensive!

anyway minmin, like wAt vez had said, its a common phenomenon for couples to quarrel alot during wedding preparations. so.. cheer up!! things will turn out fine!

my FH oso share same expensive hobby as urs, btw. tho he din buy alot of expensive equipments, he does buy alot of cameras. grr, at time like this when we need cash most =\

vanadis82

Hello Meme,

How come it seems as if all our hubbies seem to have the same kind of hobbies? Haha, yalor... I think guys will still be guys. Well i told him i dun care how much you spend on your hobby as long as he got enough for us can already!! We'll see how things go anyways...

I'm so looking forward to trying on the gowns. Dunno when is a good time to start though. It seems a bit early for me now.

muddpie

hi lilo, think will fix my AD on 6 jan 08 hubby seems not to like lunch...he keep stressing tat its gonna be real rush...but i tot lunch can end early so by evening ppl can go home instead of ending late when everybody rushed thru the dinner &amp; end it fast...
probably start earlier...think annabel should allow that...

minmin, do u mean u top up $200 per table for the whole suckling pig?....
i have the same prob....think my hubby wanted the jubilee pkg...hai...wonder how i can convince him not to take that...cos add on burden financially....
read abt ur prob...think most brides face the same prob...me too...hubby alwas claim its once a life thing...make it memorable more than anything else...but im more practical...i noe RH sure bound to make a loss...i m just trying to minimize losses...cos if not will burst my honeymoon...
really hate tat....&amp; he alwas claim $$ can save back...but its not easy to save &amp; alwas easy to spend....

Vez, are u having a chinese set dinner or buffet style?

Hi Vez,

Can I just find out for the additional $1k that you pay to book the Lawn for solemization, does it include AV setup , chairs, solemization table &amp; deco, etc...

Would it be possible if you can forward me the wedding dinner banquet for Raffles hotel for 2007. My email is [email protected]. Thanks in advance.

lyons

<font color="119911">hey girls, can i ask you ah, I'm taking the classic menu, but I don't want shark's fin. Now I'm thinking of replacing the fish maw (what RH will give instead of shark's fin) with suckling pig / duck. do you think i will have to pay more than $200? But fish maw IS cheaper than shark's fin anyway...</font>