Qian Xi Restaurant??

ii_yume

haven fixed anything with the BS.. my package off the rack but if cannot find, then can made-to-order. anyone's hubby is a teochew?

celica75

well ... mine is a teochew

pisces36

duckling : i got give lah..but u din add mah. mine is Pisces36.

Elaine : so many things ah? the lamp issit the bedside lamps? not we buy ourselves wan ah?

Then on the AD the groom suppose to bring wat to my hse then wat am I suppose to give back huh? all this traditions is making me veri confused

btw both me & FH r hokkien

duckling78

The bedside lamp is part of the jia zhuang. The chockstick and bowl if for cantonese only. some include sewing kit, "mu ji", "shui yi". But i will get the minimum only.

celica75

agree with duckling ... try to prepare the minimum if both your parents & PIL okie with tat. cos most of the stuff you will not be using anyway keke :p

celica75

hee hee ... only bought e lamps lah cos the rest my mum will be buying loh. scare later at nearer date too nervous till forgot keke :p

trina_wys

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD VG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Qian Xi Branch</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Number of Tables</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Email</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Love Nest</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Multiply ID</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Angeline</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">23 Sept 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">French Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">French Bridal PG</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected] </font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Vonchong</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Sept 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bridal Zone</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Phoebelow</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Sept 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Se1etar Broadway</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">38</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Tampines</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Tansan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">1 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60 plus</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Maggie (Summer Gal)</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Germaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">21 Oct 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Scanivalue</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">36 - 40</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Jurong</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Silver Cloak Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Simon - F0t0 Themes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Punggol</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Sw</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25 Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">French Bridal</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">20 - 25</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Rayna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">2 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">VC</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">VC</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 32</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Elaine</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">4 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Raymond - d.nuptials</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 32</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Ang Mo Kio</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Trista</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Janet</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">9 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Ever Bliss</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Aljunied</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Pisces36</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">16 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Jurong East</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Yaya</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 Dec 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sam Wong</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Farrer Park</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Nez</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">7 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Simon - F0t0 Themes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Christopher Tay</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 35</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">cherynn</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">White Link</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Baobei</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">27 Jan 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Golden Horse Awards</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Expo</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">40 - 45</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10 March 2007</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">32</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">ii_yume</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">15 June 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Santiago </font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Kelvin</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Kelvin</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">60</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">pkum</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">yurieve</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">16 June 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Yvonne Creative</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">16</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">yurieve</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ngjoan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">29 Sept 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Santiago </font></TD><TD><font size="-1">3D Lab</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">3D Lab</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Panjang</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Moon</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nov or Dec 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Santiago </font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Paya Lebar</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30 - 35</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Seng Kang</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Kittylover</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">15 Dec 2007</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Santiago </font></TD><TD><font size="-1">In-Jack Studio</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Shiku Photography</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bukit Batok</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">20 - 25</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">[email protected]</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

bubnbut

hmm..my mummy gave me music box, sewing kit, lamps, a set of night gown and slippers..eh..tt's all i remember..haha..the rest i nv take coz no need mah..like potty, basin, etc etc..haha..den god table cloth n tea set for the male side..

duckling: paiseh paiseh..been busy lately..preparing n having my doggy's birthday bash..which is today..even now 3am..my guests still in my living room while im typing this msg..haha..

matsu: haha..the lightings are so sleazy man..wahaha..coz my theme gold..so can't use their tables for wine glasses n dummy cake..keke..so lucky they hv the golden cloth..

elaine: hmm..only the names, golden cloth are from the restaurant..the rest i bought it myself..like the flowers ard the whole edge of the stage..keke..coz QX changed the new table set..which is in pastel green colour..machiam like garden..so i add fresh flowers ard the whole edge of the stage..so the stage won't look so plain with juz the balloons..yet not too heavy feeling..

matsu

Angeline,

U used fresh flowers but how do u know how much flowers enough to do up the stage? When did u have time to arrange the fresh flowers coz u have to do it on AD so that they last rite?

I m thinking of covering the reception table with their ivory &amp; gold table cloth, dunno is it big enough? Then mayb deco the edge of the reception table with flowers.

bubnbut

matsu: ooohh..coz tt time rehearsal got take down measurements of the stage lah, the walkway lah, tables lah, etc etc..so roughly guess how much flowers to use..i reach the restaurant at ard 3.30pm..den somemore my mum-in-law n aunt wanna my MUA to make up for them..so hv time loh..no need much time one mah..keke..but i hv to let u noe it ain't cheap to get the flowers..coz i use lots of roses petals n baby breathe to deco the entire place..somemore for only few hours..

loversinparis

hi all....the thread getting really "perked up" hehe...had to read thru the many posts! mine is at hilltop...2 dec...wondering who else is there...also my GDL stuff not really settled yet!went to a shop at sembawang to enquiry already...wonder how much does it cost really to get the cakes, trotters can and the 2 baskets?? anything else?
ah the deco!who is doing deco...any ideas or lobang for balloons...and rose petals??looking for it!also wondering how to do up the stage, looks plain...
rehearsal!im only left with the 2weeks before AD to go down actually coz hubby just went reservist, what a bad timing! so alot os stuff not prepared yet...and also have not got PG...budget very tight, any recommendations?
thanks all of ya for the advices and sharing!

matsu

Angeline,

Good thinking ^_^b ok, i will do that when i go down to collect my cards this week

Yah loh, vy ex to use fresh flower so still considering only...

celica75

gals .... any idea if we need to print more cards than 70% will BG charges us for that???

cos 70% not enough for me leh ... never expect my PIL need so many cards.

celica75

duckling ... i have already collect my cards last saturday. Think will talk to them that I need more, hopefully they will not charge me :p

PK ... dunno leh cos they only having 9 tables so din expect they need more than 60pcs. Typically they will invite relatives &amp; friends so normally will not need so many pcs loh

pisces36

matsu : my mil went to buy the traditional cakes at the geylang for us to try. those pong bia. for hokkien traditional cake will be one big round one in a big. it's abt $9. but my dad said usualli kids seldom like to eat so suggested getting cake instead. so now sourcing for cakes lor..

matsu

Cas &amp; duckling,
Ha ha...yah loh, i blur liao :p Thou cas left 2 weeks &amp; sounds like still so many things not settle yet so i kanchong 4 her too...hee hee

Duckling,
Those coffetti canons, when r u gng to use them? During your 1st march-in, along the way? Will it b too loud huh? Worried the children will go crazy after that if too loud

Pisces,
oic, so cakes will be easy liao loh
Heard Pine Garden's tasty.

matsu

Duckling,

Beta try 1 for rehearsal &amp; i heard need abt 10 to have the nice effect
Think i will buy 1 to try 1st too

Pisces, i dunno abt pine gd's price, sorry
can't help u on this.

pisces36

matsu : if get the confettit ah..the floor will be messy will bliss mind or not huh? i wanted to get leh..but my FH say messy.

i call up pine liao..they say will email me.

do u want the address for the traditional hokkien cake at geylang? if wan then i will chk then let u know. my FH say the sweet pong bia not bad

matsu

Pisces,

Hmm...din really think to ask bliss garden if they r ok with confett :p ha ha...
Ok lah, will check with kelvin when i go down to collect my invitation cards.

Want me to check anything else? Me also gng to do some messurements, need to measure anything?

As for the tradition hokkien cake, yes pls, if it's not too much trouble
Thanks dear.

matsu

Any1 having buffet in the afternoon? Sourcing 4 cater now. Any good service, yummy &amp; cheap recommendation? LOL

bubnbut

cas: u can try to deco the stage like wat i suggest..if u dun mind u can try to use balloons..but u hv to choose the colours rite for the balloons..we attended our friend's wedding tt time..they're using balloons too..but somehow..e feeling ain't rite..it seems more like a children party or clown show..

keke..my hubby worse man..he also kena reservist..somemore to thailand..wahaha..he need to go there for 3 weeks man..den right after he's back..a week later..it's our AD..keke..so tt time pretty stressful n lonely man..coz we already staying together liao..only me n my 2 doggies at home..but i juz sit at home folding the wedding favous boxes..making flowerband for the flowergirls..juz killing some time loh..if not go my MIL place for bbq..tt's why we tried to settle those important matters first before he headed to thailand..

mastu: hmm..if im not wrong..it's ard $450..i use it on stage, walkway, tables and flower girls..

for ladies who wanna to get their GDL thingy..u can try this very tradition bakery..the name is Gin Thye Cake Maker..they hv 2 branches..it's at 423 sembawang road singapore 758392 and block 152 bukit batok street 11 #01-264 singapore 650152..

there's free usage of wedding baskets..juz tell the them wat kind of dialect u are and they'll arrange for u..juz bring yr oranges, pig trotters, wine, si dian jin, pin jin and whatever stuffs the female side requested..they'll help u to pass stickers n arrange nicely in the baskets..u'll need the long feng candles, big "xi" plate to put oranges and the red clothe to place the pin jin in..which they hv it on sale..so very good n hassle free..

i like it in a tradition way..as im a hokkien..so i chose the hokkien style..it's 6 candies in a box..coz the cakes are only for female side friends..but i ordered extra 3 boxes for my hubby side..so can eat mah..not everytime got a chance to eat this..keke..so juz treat it as tibits loh..den i got it fr my boss n few close friends and my neighbours..the rest for my granny's friends, mum's friends..

oh yah..for the long feng candles..u hv to check it by yrself in the morningbefore set off to female side..coz the long look so much like the feng..lol..on my GDL..when my hubby arrived wif the baskets..it's so funny n cute loh..he hv to carry it up by walking staircase..he's told not to take lift..haha..very funny..

den talking..chatting..and having some drinks..den it's time to place the stuffs at the altar..den my granny took out the candles..den they're guessing whether it's a pair of long, a pair of feng or a pair of long feng..keke..

after ard 15mins..it's confirmed a pair of feng..wahaha..den hv to make all the way back to sembawang to change loh..den worse..they all guess i'll be having a pair of daughters..wahaha..

do let me noe if i can help u girls in anything yah.. O=)

matsu

Hi angline,

Do u have any AD photos to share? U in multiply?
Can PM me your nick so that i can add u as contact if u have an acc? Thanks

eiggam

Hi matsu,

My mum knows a very good caterer and we used him for my wedding (and will be using him also for my sis's wedding) at both my mum's and my hubby's side. Very good food and huge amount of food (cos my mum always uses him). I used him for a company party previously and although we ordered 20ppl-portion to feed 30+ppl, we still have leftovers! and it was very cheap. Everyone commented that the food was very good. I dun have the contact offhand but you can see the food (the quantity and presentation) from my sis-in-law's blog here..
http://eat-to-your-heart-content.blogspot.com/2006/05/my-brothers-wedding-day.html

If u are interested to get the caterer's contact, drop me an email at [email protected] and i'll send u the contact once i got it from my mum.

And those who are interested in getting traditional Teochew wedding gifts (those for GDL), I have a recommendation too. This is the standard of Teochew weddings and coming from a traditional Teochew family, my whole big family (including all the aunties and uncles) were very happy to receive this and will view any wedding without this pastries/cakes/gifs/whatever-u-call-it as "mei mian zi". My fave is from this shop as mentioned in my sis-in-law's website below (sorrie i din keep a record of my wedding stuffs but luckily she did!) and everyone in my family who got married (and has the $$) will get the Teochew stuffs from this shop (cos it apparently has the best and most traditional). Even my aunt who lives in far far away CCK came all the way to Hougang to buy this. And they will prepare all the other GDL stuffs also, like long feng zhu, the big basket and dunno what for you to collect on the actual GDL. But but but, the traditional one as shown in my sis-in-law's website is quite ex and even my hubby was quite unhappy abt having to buy that for GDL. and I dun think every Teochew family needs this. Just the traditional ones. Anyway, just take a look..

http://eat-to-your-heart-content.blogspot.com/2006/04/teochew-wedding-pastries.html

pisces36

matsu : the card with my FH leh. i tried to get from him tonight then tell u tmw ok?

u can try neo gardens lah..the catering not bad leh.

after hearing wat angeline said i'm going bukit batok cake shop to look see.

but pine garden sent a mail to me liao..the prices quite all right leh..&amp; the cakes look delicious. they want us to make appt with them so that they can intro more choices to us &amp; i think will hv some sampling leh...

looking forward to it.

matsu

Hi maggie,

U mention abt the channel u prgram showing guangdong pastries, is it the same shop that u recommend @ hougang?

Woa...the BIG prawns in the beehoon looks yummy.
U said the Pork Ribs with Sweet Sauce &amp; Sauteed Broccoli with Mushroom not tasty huh? Oh, those r my hb's fav lei

matsu

pisces,

ha ha...u wanna get tradition pastries again huh?Yah, those 2 shop were the same 1 that i mentioned in the earlier post, heard they r gd ^_^b

Think i go check out the 1 maggie recommend 1st, nearer to my place...hee hee

I also wanna know the price for pine garden lei, if it's ok, mayb give some to co. ppl