Qian Xi Restaurant??

ii_yume

jellioz: yah there is the cocktail reception. if you think u required two tables, which by default is only 1 given, you gotta ask of it, else on the day itself, they may not be able to arrange one for u.

eiggam

Hi matsu,

I had 41 tables on the actual day. i initially stated only 32 tables but i increased the number of tables in the end. the ang baos, i organised them according to the ang bao packets i packeted the $$ into. I got some real cheap ang bao packets from JB so all in that packets are $4. the rest (the bigger amts one) i indicated the receipent's name so wun get mixed up.

bubnbut

cas: eh..i dunno if it's ok to mention the captain here or not leh..though the captain didn't really do anything bad..but i juz dun wanna u girls to hv any misunderstanding abt her..hehe..

matsu: keke..yah loh..i still hv guests tat time leh..den the captain said" bride..can u come ere for a while?" den she discuss the total costs right infront of my guests..which frankly..i dun like it..at least wait till everyone's gone..cash cheque no problem lah..keke..not i nice lah..but i tink it's better to give before wedding starts loh..i too blur on tat day liao..clean forgotten abt the ang pow thingy..

duckling: keke..i nv received yr call leh..keke..

maggie: ooohh..u gave $38 for captain and the rest of the crews..? actually we already prepared $188 for all to share..but bcoz in the end they gave me the empty ang pow..want me to give them some money as tips as all of the table are nett price..somemore they requested for the ang pow one leh..if give less like very bad..so in the end we gave them $288..for all to share loh..

loversinparis

hi maggie
viewed ur pics...very nice..and u really seem to have fun!what's the bubbles blowing part about...its at ur first march in?also which ballroom u took...was it kinda squeezzy for the march in and all?

hi angeline
you are such a nice soul!u gave more instead for their horrid attitude!!!aiyo...i really think they dun know how to "zhuo ren", no etiquette at all..

actually anyone got idea how much to really give to the rest. staff and all? and also who has done their rehearsal?the mgr told me no need to do!but i thot need to got test out ur cds and stuff and to try marchin in along to ur music? what else to do for rehearsal?

matsu

Maggie,

Try to PM u but yours not activated, can i check with u abt something? Thanks

duckling78

Angel

paisei been busy will try to call u in the afternoon and during the weekends.

Yah at least wait till the guest leave ma...wait make the guest think we have no money to pay or what so pai sei leh. They better dun do this to me.

Hi Cas, where is your banquet at? Maggie's is at FP.

matsu

Duckling,

Juz saw this topic @ other thread, they said 12 days, counting AD as 1st day

Be careful of those that u need to paste on doors & furniture, some gals complaining that the stickers left stains that cannot b removed.

I intend to paste doors & furniture using 'blue tag' instead.

matsu

Any1 gng to get center piece flower for the 2 VIP tables? Those that QX provide is so 'fake' looking & too small in size for the table liao. Sigh...vy disappointed with their deco

Considering myself but hate that i have to fork out $ ourselves...sianz

pisces36

matsu : for a restaurant their decor oredi consider ok liao lah..mai hiam lah... if u get fresh flowers u will b incurring extra cost liao leh. anyway the VIP tables is for the parents so close one eye lor.

duckling : i think when u go down for rehearsal better prep them wat not to do 1st.

cas : dun care what the mgr said. it's better to hv a rehearsal. u will hv to test out the sound system, projector, the march in songs..like how long it will takes..how fast or slow do u need to walk. my mgr actually advise us to go for rehearsal leh.

but hor i dun like the way the present the 1st dish. the restaurant MC annouce until like the presentation gonna b veri spectacular but in the end they juz dim the lights then the waiters juz walk in with the dishes. i was thinking : " huh? tat's it ah?" i was expecting something interesting lor. unlike some hotels the waiters they will hv some dancing steps. but since BG not gonna hv these performance then better dun anyhow annouce. ppl will laugh lor. so my advise for those who's getting the restaurant MC better tell them not to annouce abt the 1st dish instead.

ii_yume

tansan: i must make sure my hubby dont get too generous at that moment! guys are always like that... ^_^

all: i nearly forgot abt the rehearsal. i tot since i m holding the dinner in the restaurant, i can do without the rehearsal. NOW i think i better plan for the rehearsal.

Hi duckling,
so long neva come in liao.. hows ur preps so far?? Erm.. for my Xi word right, since my wedding in june 06, its still on my doors and cabinets leh.. Cos I think I read somewhere that u cant peel it off unless it drops off on its own..

cas: your AD is 2 Dec 06 huh? I'll be attending my fren's wedding at hilltop crystal ballroom on tt day too..

i feel that rehearsals b4 the banquet is a muz.. not only its serves to test the sound system, it also enables u to know how fast or how slow u shld walk.. for me, i had my bridal entourage to march-in in pairs b4 me.. so a rehearsal is also helpful for them to know where they shld stand and when they shld come in.. i had some photos of my march in at my multiply site.. if u girls wish to, u can go and take a look.. http://jasminehoon.multiply.com/

For me, my relatives likes the food at hilltop.. they provide very big portions unlike the hotel type.. some tables, i even squeeze in 11pple and the food is still sufficient..

As for the deco wise, i really like the spacious and grand feeling.. I even got fresh red roses for my deco.. some of my fren who missed my wedding still ask me "which hotel is this?" when they saw my AD photos.. they couldnt believe it when i told them its a restaurant.. cos they say its so grand and nice..

matsu

Pisces,

U have your rehearsal already? So fast!? Ha ha...the way u talk abt their 1st dish presentation so funny but i agree with u too

How's your prep for other stuff? Me only gng chinatown this sat with MIL to buy GDL stuff ^_^"
we will go look @ the cantonese cakes too.

pisces36

matsu : haven lah. one wk b4 AD then rehearsal. my FH's uncle told us that near geylang tat side got one sell hokkien traditional cake veri nice. so might b going down to chk it out..hopefully not too ex. then might go down to the one u recommend at bukit batok one too.

pk : it's better to rehearse if u wan everything to go smoothly.

pisces36

pk : u will become panda lor...:p

i hv 1.5 mths left..can't wait for it to b over..then looking forward to the long break from work

matsu

Pk, my sis went to get a sleeping pill from doc for the eve of her wedding. Think I will do the same too

2mths 4 me, I a bit scare & worry lei ^_^"

matsu

Pisces, update me on the cake hunt ok? ;) What abt your GDL stuff, bought liao boh?

Juz PM u my multiply nick
Share yours with me too lei

ii_yume

i even tot of getting my jie mei to play mahjong with me.. else.. i scared even popping sleeping pills will not make me sleep.. then all become panda bride and panda bridemaids...

eiggam

Hi matsu, u can contact me at [email protected] actually pop sleeping pill not v good. what if oversleep how? hahah..

Duckling: I agree with Jasmine, must put the "Xi" word until it drops off. Heard from my ex-colleague that her uncle's son is already pri3 and they still have the "Xi" at their door. But my mum said the main door one (da men) can remove and replace with CNY's stuffs during CNY but the couple's room one CANNOT remove until it drops.

Cas: Better to have rehearsal. I had mine two days before the dinner, after their peak dinner period. Just to test the system and communicate very properly to the manager.

pisces36

matsu : i add u liao. my GDL haven buy yet. still early lah. will let u know once i chk out the cakes.

pk: better dun eat pills lah. i think u will sleep wan lah..coz u will b veri busy with your preparation wat. if u tk the pills wait morning u can't wake up or u might feel sleepy then tk pics not nice liao.

bubnbut

cas: i did..i went for rehearsal..my cousin who is my emcee told me it's a need to rehearsal like to test the cd lah..sound volume..march-in..etc etc..but i told her no need lah..actual day can do some rehearsal before banquet starts..but she insisted..lucky we did man..coz on actual day..we're soooooo busy tt we dun hv time at all except to ensure everything in order..i suggest u should..at first the captain say no need to rehearsal one as no couples ever did tt..but they can arrange if we want to..so we arranged the time..and the captain very helpful..the captain arranged all the walk-in customers of the day to dine in the room..den we can hv the entire hall to do our rehearsal..but i can't help it but feel paiseh when march-in loh..lol..coz the customers cheer for us..clapped hands when we march-in..haha..tt's why i say the stffs they very very helpful..

duckling: yah loh..totally agree with u..i do feel a bit uneasy loh..some of the guests are sitting at the table where she sat down to discuss the total bill..keke..as for the "xi" word..it's been a mth since our wedding over..but we still put it up..haha..i also dunno when to take it down..

pk: dun take the pill..!! wait like me like that..i scare i can't get to zzz..so pop the pill at 6pm..coz it'll take quite long for the effect to start..den at 1am..my mum still talking to me..cannot tell her to end the conversation rite..since she suddenly wanna talk to me so much..den when she saw the time..she said: " girl..faster go sleep..muz get some rest.." which i totally agree..and when i close my eyes for seconds..she goes.." girl arh..blar blar blar.." untill 4.30am loh..i can't tahan..den i told her.."mummy..i tink i really need to rest for a while..in the end..juz close my eyes for a while..i muz get up an shower liao..in the end..all nv zzz loh..my hubby side hv bbq..all also play n bbq n chat till morning..muz is to be natural..if can sleep..u sleep..nv take pill..the entire day i feel ok..except after tea ceremony..u went back home n shower to get ready to resturant..den u'll feel tired..coz no more rushing here n there liao..no more taking pics liao..u'll feel tired once u stop moving ard..

as for the decor parts..we hv gold n silver balloons on the stage n attached numbers on the gold helium balloons at the tables den use the gold wedding favours to surround the base of the balloon..rather den using their number stand..keke..i dun like the number stand leh..it doesn't match my wedding feeling at all..coz my theme is gold..i wannaa classic wedding thus chose this colour..den VIP tables we used wedding theme balloons..

at first i didn't wanna use balloons coz it somehow hv the clown feeling..but lucky it's on my hubby's birthday..so use balloons won't look weird..den we'll hv fresh roses petals along the walkway, reception tables, the table where e placed the wedding album, dummy cake n tables..golden cloth to cover the table of the dummy cake n wine glasses..mostly it's decorated with gold..but not very heavy feeling coz we hv silver balloons on stage to blend it..

den we asked the captain to maintain the lights at blue..coz it suppose to be disco lights..very fancy..very sleazy feeling..hehe..so keep it at blue loh..den we nv on the background lights..coz all rainbow colours..it juz kill the feeling loh..

sama sama jasmine..some friends tot it's at some hotels when they saw the pics..

duckling78

angel dear i am still waiting for u to call me.

Ok becos i am having chalet so must remove the Xi word after returning the key ma. Then at home one dun take out but at chalet one take out should not be a problem ba.

matsu

Angel,

Think quite a few of us don't like QX cheezy disco lighting & stage lighting hor

Like u, we also decide to maintain the ceiling light as constant blue, off the stage light, put 2 layers (ivory then gold) of table cloth to cover the cake table, reception table & wine glasses table...yeah, great minds think alike

Imagine after telling us all that they have juz newly done up the place & all, we chose to cover them instead...hee hee, so bad of me :p

matsu

Pisces,

I went to the temp chinatown mkt @ Outram MRT to check out the GDL stall but they r vy attitude
Will go other places instead, will try the chinatown area this sat if not, have to go bukit timah beauty world liao.

duckling78

Matsu u also feel that way. I tot i am the only one the women, Not helpful at all cos i think they feel we checking price so dun bother to talk more.

but my frenz who goes ther to buy bought abt 200 plus leh. She told me the lady tell her lot of things. I think becoc my frenz go there just ask her to pack so her attitude different.

There is another one at chinatown only behind the famous porridge.

matsu

Duckling,

Yah loh, vy sianz with these kinda sale person esp when we r blur abt all these tradition stuff so of course need to ask mah ^$#$@!! They act like we beg them to sell us so I not gng to buy from them :p

Thanks 4 the other shop infor, will check it out this sat too

Btw, i PM u abt your multiply nick too ;)

celica75

matsu: huh got to buy ourselves ar?? guess my FH will scream keke :p

duckling: my ps has done. collecting my album sometime 20th next month.

Gals ... may i know what are the themes BG is having & where you gals buy the rose petals? :p

celica75

hahahaha ... not fast liaoz cos mine AD on 4th Dec & Dinner on 8th so before that I want to make sure everything is done so my FH called up to get them to expedite cos end of nov i'm having exam mah.

ii_yume

you gals are very helpful! three cheers for you!

btw i very blur.. when haf to get the GDL stuff? my AD is 15 Jun 07. I haven even for any fitting for my gown yet. my appointment wif the BS is 18Nov.. i scared will be too late.

pisces36

duckling : y u no add me?
kao_cry.gif

i'm confuse liao leh..my mother said she's gonna buy the baby bathtub, potty for me leh...which i told her no need leh. but in actual fact mother need to give daughter wat gift huh?

celica75

pk ... for me my GDL is 5 days before my AD. All depends when you fix your GDL date. as duckling mentioned typically 1-2 weeks before AD. you have fixed up the design with your designer rite?? dun worry you still have enough time but probably you need to take into consideration for new year & qing ming jie loh.

duckling ... hee hee bcos they are scare of my FH. Anyway you might want to call up to check & get them to expediate. At least get this done & you dun need to worry abt it later.

duckling78

pisces u never give me your nick aiyo..
I got picture in multiply u can have a look when i add u. u give me your nick.

Eliane y they scared of your hubby. U have nt tell me whether u have top up your pix

celica75

pisces ... bathtub & potty is part of the dowry which you will bring it to your place. all depends on dialect perhaps. For mine, there will be bathtub, potty, chopsticks & bowls, pillow & bolester, ruler & 2 red lamps. These are the stuff i know but not sure if there is more :p

celica75

duckling ... cos my FH not very happy with their service & voice out to them loh. Ya i have top up abt 1000 plus for my pics

duckling78

but heard tampines one their package they give for top up is good leh. How many they give u in return? Pm me if not covinent tosay here