Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

princess_val

Yes. You can request to interchange some of the items from other menus, perhaps may need to top up.

Wedding cards got quite a selection. Only I only liked 2 out of the stack.

henkitty

littleval,

yes pls i will love to see the fotos..
For the top up will be very much in different?cos for the rice i prefer to change to noodle..
u should be very excited for yr AD..hehe

sweetheavens

Anyone with the Hilltop Garden Wedding Packages can send me for consideration?

Please send to: [email protected]

Thanks a lot!!!

magic28

I just had my wedding lunch at Crystal Ballroom.

According to my parents, my relatives are happy with the food, complimenting on the big portions. I haven't really have time to check with friends yet.

I just want to gather some feedback from others, as well as inform those holding their banquets there. When my hubby was settling the bill, the captain or Asst Mgr passed an empty red packet to my hubby and asked him specifically for a $ one-eight-eight ang pow for all the staff. My hubby just a bit taken aback that they open their mouth for that amount, but of course we give them as requested. Anyone has the same experience??

henkitty

magic28,

I think you dont have to gv them..is not stated in the contract that you have to pay them..everything is already in including the GST & their service..
if they hv ask u for an ang pow they oso cant specify & ask for a certain amount..that was too much..

I think you better feedback to Suzanne

~I need to think twice for using the liao~

magic28

Hi Kitty

We do intend to give them an ang pow but just taken aback that they specify the amount. We were all too tired and since it was a happy occasion, we din want to argue.

Actually, they were quite accommodating to our requests up to the wedding day. When I needed 20 extra invitation cards, Jenny the Mgr printed the inserts at home for us.

As for the ang pow amount, the next day, we tried to sound out from another staff when we called to check final bill. This staff very diplomatic, says its up to the couple to give any amount they wish. Anyway, we just hope the guy splits the amount among all the staff who deserves it.

I want to gather some feedback from couples who have hosted their banquets there before telling Suzanne.

sealy_me

Anyone to share their views on the food in Hilltop garden and the conveniency to travel from the MRT to BB CSC? Do they provide shuttle service btw MRT to the CSC?

herain

Hi..

I'm interested in Qian Xi Rest in Hilltop. Anyone has signed the package with them can send me the package for reference pls?

Whoofy Jo,
Can share ur package pls?

As for the cardboard in the lifts, anyone been there last weekend? Cos the official opening was last friday. Just thinking if the cardboard in the lifts have been removed. Anyone can share?

herain

kitty,
planning for 2008 2nd qtr.. =

have u booked with them? any additional perks they they would give?

Gosh.. 3 weddings..? wow.. i wonder hows the food then..

henkitty

herain,

mine will be 3rd qtr of 2008.. :p

i will be going down again to discuss sumthing wif Suzanne if everything is ok then we will put the deposit..no additional perks so far..

my hubby has attend dinner @ qianxi b4 but is not this hilltop he comment the food not bad

whoofy

hi herain...
my package is similar to the existing $688nett on their webpage.. but mine is with the crispy chicken instead of the roasted duck.. and we've changed the noodles to the lotus-leaf rice. Also, as I've booked since 2006, the price is slightly cheaper...

whoofy

Hi herain..
yup ! Can call us kiasu..Back then our fren had attended a wedding dinner at Hilltop and given gd feedbacks.. so we thought why not just check it out.. On our 1st visit, my hubby alreadi like the ballroom very much and find tat it's quite a gd deal.. to hav hotel atmosphere @ restaurant price.. anyway we'r not the sort to go for 5 stars hotels type.. Also our parents had "approved" of the food standard since we've brought them there for dinner a couple of times.. So with no objections from all parties.. we placed our bookin wif Suzanne..

herain

whoofy jo,
That's good for you. At least you don't have to crack your brains over the banquet venue. It's always good to book early than late. =)

Little Val,
your AD in 3 days time? congrats!! remember to update us ok?

celine313

Understand that Hilltop didn't provide Wedding favour.. so are you all going to buy on your own?
Please share what are you all going to buy..

tare1919

Just went to down hilltop as I wish to have my own design. A female mag serve me she just simply say "NO" to my request without even saying something like I trying asking for you then gat back to you. I got to ask her can check out for me aft 1week no one reply. I still got to call her myself.

For those who have yr AD at Hilltop you have such incident? Any manager you gals prefer? I dnt wish my AD got to worry abt hw my Bro's & Sis's gng to co-oridinate with her.

tare1919

I book already. My design meaning usually normal ppl will put wording for the invitation but I wish to have those pics logo so tat elder dnt knw hw to read but they can understand the pics. It's nt a must but at least shld try.

queenly

need some help here....if i were to book now for 2009, wat price will i be paying the package now or i have to wait til 2009 pricing out?

whoofy

hi Queen,
I believe u will be paying for the current package price that u have chosen.. My AD is in 31/08/08 and I booked it since in July 2006.. so there's quite alot of savings for me considering that their packages is sure to increase every yr.. FYI.. the package tat I signed up wif no longer exist in their list already.

queenly

thanks whoofy, i will call n check it out. i called pioneer spring and they allow using the price now even for banquet in 2009. think should b the same for qian xi ba

Hi Cheekychick

FYI, we've paid $2K for the deposit.

The minimum tables requirement depends on which ballroom u take. For mine, I need at least 45 tables for the Crystal Ballroom located at level 4. I think for the 2nd level venue, 20 tables is the minimum.

You can contact Suzann to confirm the details

whoofy

hi Cheekychick
me hav the same situation with Yoshiko, hav got about 40++ tables.. so we've paid 1.2k which is for the ballroom usage as part of the deposit.

cheekychick

Hi Yoshiko & Whoofy, thanks for the info!
I've emailed them thru their website last nite but till now, no reply from them...

I only have abt 20 tables so i tot i shld dropby to take a look at the rooms as i noe i wont be using the very nice crystal ballroom....

Im hoping to be able to book now for my AD in 2009. Very very early i noe but as my hubby will be out of singapore most of the months next yr, i do need to settle the venue soon...but so many places do not allow *sad*

Hi Cheekychick

U r most welcome. Please contact Suzann (I think her contact numbers are listed on their website) and fix an appointment with her. I think is good to book early as you secure the venue and the price too (just in case they increase their price in the future).

I understand they do break down the restaurant with partition for smaller weddings...so I don't think it will be a problem for 20 tables.

Book early may also means that your bargain power is lesser too....anyway nothing much to bargain as they provide almost everything except for the wedding favors.

Good luck with your meeting with Suzann : )

cheekychick

Hi Yoshiko, thanks for ur reply
Meaning dat i email them is of no use? I have to call & make an appointment? keke...thks so much, i will contact suzann, cos im tinking of dropping by this weekend to take a look
I read on the website dat they do have duno wat ballroom A/B for 20 to 50 tables...cant reali rem...i can clarify with Suzann then :p

cheekychick

Hilltop gave me Suzann's hp & i did call her but she isnt free to talk rite now...

Anyway Yoshiko, u mean u weren't provided with wedding favours when u signed up for the package then? Will let u noe if i do manage to meet up with her

Yes, Hilltop don't provide wedding favors and we have to search for ourselves... reason being they already provide free flow beer, red wine and beverages...

cheekychick

Suzann didnt call back...hmm..mayb i will juz drop by this weekend, if i like the place, i will call her again...

Yoshiko, now dat i read the website again, really no wedding favours :p But invitation cards come with free printing, not bad loh...

henkitty

well cheeky chick although invitation cards are free the design is quite old fashion..

haiz hope suzann will get some new design soon

cheekychick

Hi all, Suzann called back afterall..quite late last nite...She seems to be doing a 'one-man' show???...Im meeting her tml evening to view the rooms & discuss the packages.

Kitty, how old fashioned?? Hope its not red card with gold wordings??? But to be honest, if v old fashion, dun tink i will spend $ to do nicer invitation cards too...Hubby wont allow & i myself rem i always throw away invitation cards after attending weddings *oops* I tink no wedding favours nvm...Too bad i only have 20 tables cos i read dat its free flow hard liquor & wine for 25 tables & above. Dat to me, is pretty cool~

Will update here after meeting with her..wonder if i can take pics of the banquet setting tml...

henkitty

cheekychick,

they do hv red card with the traditional "xi" word and some other colour card with the word oso...i oni saw 2 design which i like..i oso wont spend necessary $ card to print nicer card too..
but juz hope that they will come out with nicer cards as it is still a invitation to the guest though usually ppl throw away the cards after that..
I do keep 1 invitation card which i think is special, actually to use as a sample of my invitation for my future since qianxi provide cards so I dun need it liao..sob..

cheekychick

Hi Kitty, so they have other designs too lar? At least, they have designs dat u like, not so bad
Seems to me dat Suzann is super busy..Wonder how she cope?

haha, u so funi, sob cos they provide wedd invitation cards, ur samples no need liao rite...heh~ At least can save abit of $...other than then banquet cost, the rest are reali sunken costs...

cheekychick

Have met up with Suzann & found her to be quite a warm person...Its true dat for food tasting, she is very firm on the 50% charge. Carpark also...cos carpark total dun even have 200 lots. I've seen the invitation cards. Quite reali obiang but there r a couple of cards which my hubby & myself quite like...not so bad actually..

If i book, i will be taking ballroom A. Have seen the crystal ballroom & its gorgeous!!! Suzann explained dat as long as its crystal ballroom, it will be an additional 1.2K...which i tink its alrite actually...but im only having 20 tables...

cjs

So far my dealings with Suzanna has been pretty okay, not as jialat as what some others had mentioned earlier on. But I guess she's really really busy with her own schedule as she is one taking charge of the coordinating for all the Qianxi restaurants.

That time my wife & I were having a simple 2-pax dinner course at Hilltop while waiting for Suzanna, and she kindly gave us a 50% discount off the dinner bill, perhaps becoz after we booked with her and paid the $1.2k deposit.. haa...

Invitation cards wise.. so far got a few options that I think are pretty gd ah... some I received from restaurants are worse.. so need to quite worry abt it.

The only bad thing I agreed are the wedding favours and parking lots.. hmm.. but not choice lar... it's not a hotel after all. But at least there is no more hidden course during payment.

cheekychick

Hi CJS, agree with you...when i met her, she was dealing with 2 families already. And her hp rang non-stop. When i was speaking to her, her husband sat near me too..I guess, dats Tony?? He din intro himself. U taking the crystal ballroom? There was a dinner at Crystal ballroom ytday & its gorgeous
Better than some of the hotels i've viewed...

For wedding favours, my hubby say its alrite. In fact, he may decide to do away with it. parking lots, im quite concerned to be frank. One more good thing is, she allow us to go back the next day to pay the balance. But then, there is no free stay watsoever...

Hi CJS: Are you planning to get wedding favors?

As for parking lots, guest can park at the nearby HDB carpark (just across the street) and it will be FOC if your dinner is on a Sunday.

For invitation cards, it is quite standard as compare to other restaurants or hotels and hotel don't even print for you and you need to pay and yes I agree, their ballroom decor may be even nicer than some hotels....i fall in love with the ballroom when I first saw it...

I heard their service is not but I will advise the captain which tables need to have more attention than others so that they can assign better waiter/waitress to those tables that need attention.

little_dinno

i had just sign the package with Suzzane, but after some tots.. decide to cancel off the package.. but when i call her.. she told me that i am not allow to cancel or to transfer.. how... HELP.....

cheekychick

Geraldine, when did u sign with Suzzana?? I've juz met her last Sat & find her to be quite a warm person...but cant decide yet as both sides of the parents haven agree yet...

Did u book the crystal ballroom or the smaller ballrooms A & B? When is ur AD? Mayb can try to post in some threads here, see if anyone is interested? I rem seeing some Qianxi brides in other forums trying to sell off packages....

collateral

Hi to all,

I just sign a package with Suzzane and paid a $2k deposit. When i ask if the rest of the payment can be made by credit card, she say no. Must be by cash or cheque.

So i like to find out if this is true for all? Need feedback on this issue. Thanks