Qian Xi - Hilltop Garden Restaurant

hapiley

dyeann> thanks for the compliment.. :p I took my bridal package from JB and the outdoor shot was done in Desaru... was also surprised and happy that the result of the photos is great.. :p

That's something special for your wedding where there is live entertainment...

hapiley > Congrats! Glad yours is a smooth event too. By the way, Kelvin is very nice, patience and got those very very honest man look, LOL. I liked him too.

Yeah man, same great feedback ... their cereal prawns is superb! Talking abt their waiter and waitress, u are right, not to rush our guests and if they can get this worked out, that would be absolutely perfect restaurant in Singapore liao.

dyeann > Yours is next Oct, don't worry too much first, many things will change for the better de. There's an idiom, "worrying is like a rocking chair, it gives u something to do but gets u nowhere".
Inviting your friend to sing on your wedding is a good idea too .... i just saw my online friend husband singing for her in Cantonese, so sweet and lovely.

ALL > Going back on next Monday to eat again, LOL. My turn to sit down and eat liao, can't wait to eat their delicious food.

dyeann

thanks garfield and hapiley for your advice
btw, can I know what they use to deco on the plate for the 1st dish? is it red bicycle blinker lights? *lol* cause that's what they used for my colleague's dinner at farrer park many many years ago

ALL > Sharing my menu hopefully it helps those who are thinking whether they want to hold their banquet at Hilltop or not and we can even discuss the food rating here for couple who had hold their banquet there too.

1299330.jpg

1299331.jpg

1299332.jpg

hapiley

dyeann> I dont think mind is the bicycle light one.. keke... think its more like the photos which garfield has uploaded above.. :D

garfield> Thanks for your wishes! yaya, kelvin really got the nice guy look and he is indeed helpful and nice.. :D btw, my menu is almost the same as yours.. except mine had change to include the herbal duck, lotus rice and Yam paste.. heehee.. but overall the food are nice! I also have another table to consume and will be arranging to feast it out soon! hahaha

akino

yup the food is nice n big portion according the feed backs from my guests. ballroom beautiful. nice ambiance but, that time u all told me the halal was 548? mine only 498 lei.

hapiley > Ha ha, no worries .... in fact, their menu are abt the same if we picked the close price range. Quick arrange to go down and consume the one last table for your wedding.

akino > Strange, think u better confirm again. Maybe u are lucky, they gave u a good price for Halal. But from what i know, Halal and Vege are fixed at $548

ALL > Merry Christmas to all of u!

hapiley

Dear all, I have posted my actual day photos in my FB.. think I have a few on the ballroom itself.. can take a look if you are interested.. :D

pinky_dris

hey everyone, i am back from my wedding dinner!!

just a sharing, crystal ballroom was awesome!! andy, kelvin and jenny have been very helpful. during our dinner, andy lead and guide us thru-out the night. the whole team did a great job and i am very satisfied.

so far, none of my guest complain about anything bad. all mentioned that their food is very fresh and ballroom looks very grand.

my only worry before AD was carpark and lift issue. but was lucky as we are the only wedding dinner group yday.jenny mentioned that carpark issue will usually happen when they have 3 groups in 1 night.

just a note, at e end of e banquet on actual bill price, qian xi group might request for an angbao for good luck.

but, a good service we received as they called us this afternoon asking what time we r going down to settle our bill. since its during dinner hrs, we r offered a dinner treat by them after settling the bill.

2 thumbs up to qian xi group for their quality service!!

pinky > Whahahahahaha ... another satified customer!
So glad to see so many great feedbacks. The ang pow are definitely optional and hope this won't frighten off those who want to hold their wedding banquet there.
I am so jealous, i don't have FREE dinner treat after settling my bills.

bomohpang

hi all...my wedding is over too..

i find their food not really fantastic hmm maybe i did not have chance to eat much also...anyway i will hv 3 tables to consume ..will give feedback on the food again..

regarding the angpow ...we did not give angpow to them after the dinner but Vincent gave us an empty angpow asked us to yi shi yi shi give angpow to them...:S borbian...so we gave ...haha

but...i have to thank Hilltop for giving me a smooth and sucessful wedding night..they controlled the video and music perfectly..

ryce

I'll be having my banquet in Aug 2010. And this thread has been very informative for my wedding planning. Thank you for sharing

Since i signed up last year, Hilltop has not contacted me yet. How does one know who their coordinator is? When I signed up, Suzanna did say I can look for Jenny if i have other queries. Does that mean she will be my coordinator?

pinky_dris & bomohpang, do you mind sharing how much ang bao you gave? You can private msg me if you want.

pinky_dris

Garfield> just nice e time i went down during dinner time ba...hehe..dont envy. its not e wedding pkg dinner. its their usual ones....but at least, tried other dishes, they r nice too!

ryce> haha..glad that its informative....i was active in this forum too while searching for my banquet venue. always good to see good reviews n gain confidence in our selection.

as for ur querries, they didnt contact me too until abt 2 weeks b4 my AD to confirm tables n to go down to test their system (sound/lighting). if i m not wrong, usually e coordinator will be either Kelvin or Andy.

ryce

Hi pinky_dris,

2 weeks sound kind of rush... Starting to get the preparation jitters...

What about wedding invitations? Did they call you first or did you call them to ask for it?

pinky_dris

Ryce> wedding invite I called them to do it for me. they just need about 2 weeks for printing. Mine was completed about 1mth before my wedding so I have lots of time to slowly write and distribute them during my GDL day.

2 weeks is fine. coz most importantly for yourself, you need to make sure your guest list and table arrangements are ready. if they call you too early, you might not have the final number for them to prepare. all they need to do is order ingredients for your day and arrange manpower. table setting can be done on e AD itself. mine only 1 VIP table but they made 2. when i arrive in e evening for makeup, spotted it and they changed within mins.

no harm calling Jenny if you are worried or you think they are contacting you too near to your AD.

bomohpang > Congrats that your banquet is over le ... "Vincent gave us an empty angpow", fainted!

Why become like that liao?
LOL

pinky > U zhuan dao liao, still can try other dishes. I also want!

Ryce > My wife and i are quite busy and super lazy, we tried starting all the video, sound system and thumbdrive stuff 1 hour before the function.
As for printing of wedding cards, do get them earlier ... better call them yourself. I called them 2 month in advance and got mine 2 weeks later as there are some amendments BEFORE printing.

ryce

pinky_dris > Ok, thanks for the advise. Any idea if they provide floor plans? I may only be having 40 tables. I hope the ballroom does not look to empty ^^"

garfieldhello > Noted! Still planning my guest list... arghh...

Did you folks time how long it takes to walk the whole aisle?

pinky_dris

garfield> find a chance to go down for dinner w ur family. then tell them u hold ur wedding there...see if jenny can give u discount...hehe

Ryce> they do provide floor plan for u. suggest that u call them up to do your wedding card printing n collect from them directly. hmm...r u using lvl 2 or 4 ballroom? i think they will spread e tables out and not make it v empty. as for aisle, 1 song timing shd be more than enough.

pinky > Ha ha ha, like that also can "A" for discount ah?
That's a good one though!

Ryce > Relax and enjoy the process although it might be very stressful and different views might clash at time ... always put on your smile to your partner and tell yourself, this happen only once a lifetime. Do it good and do it well, enjoy!!!

w3ngal

ginger breadman, i think the link to the pics is not crystal ball room ba, ballroom crystal is wat bigger. any idea how big can this venue hold? is the level 2 ballroom in hilltop? do u all experience carpark issues when having banquet in hilltop?

bomohpang

yes the level 2 ball room at hilltop too..crystal ball room at 3rd level..can accomodate 50 over tables i think ?..

level 2 has 2 ball rooms namely ball room A & B, can hold abt 25 tables..

yes the car park is v small so it's first come 1st serve..i had some guests complain that they queue for 2-3 times for the parking lot but still ended up to park their car at the HDB car park which is opposite hilltop...

kcpc

Gingerbreadman> The link i've posted is Ballroom B at level 2. Max tables in Ballroom B can be up to 30, but i had only 28 for mine...Spacious enough for grand march-in..[

hillgal83

Garfield!!!! fancy seeing you here...

I did not know you just did your AD!! Congrats!

I just paid my deposit for the ballroom in Jurong Safra... we have too many tables and as much as I love the Crystal Ballroom, we cannot take that... BUT on the good note, my HTB's brother will be having his AD at Crystal instead. (They are also our Segar gang one ah)...

Dear all, I am very happy to find this thread... I find Garfield's pic of each dish specially helpful, and that everyone mention that the serving will be big is very comforting to know.

But as mentioned above, I booked Jurong Safra instead of Hilltop... (if there is a thread for jurong safra... then I have not found it yet...) Does anyone have photos of Jurong Safra's wedding dinner?? I have seen the ballroom without the fancy lightings... and it looks very yellowish.... I am quite worried.... someone?? help??

gingerbreadman

kcpc, w3n: Oic.
I went to Hilltop for a company's dinner and the curtains were drawn so looked very different. Hmm... actually Ballroom A & B look not too bad.

hillgal83: I'm having it at Jurong Safra too.
Go down and talk to the manager. The helpful staff was showing us all the 'fanciful' lighting they have, the screen, sound system... before we signed on the dotted line. Hehe, my Hub-to-be and I prefer without the fanciful lighting. Susanna mentioned about getting new tablecloths and seat covers for 2010. Have you seen the new ones?

garyting

Hi ladies, I'm planning to hold the solemnization after my first march-in into the ballroom. Anyone has any idea if Hilltop provides the service for us to have our solemnization on stage?

hillgal83

Hi ginger, no Suzanna did not mention about the new tablecloths. Maybe I will ask her when I meet her next time... We went down to Jurong too, the staff wanted to on the screen to show us, but think she had troubles on-ing it... then we did not want to wait so told her nm... thats why I asking around to see if anyone else have got pics...
You having yours at Jurong too?? How many tables?? Which ballroom?

I have about 80... so we are taking all 4 ballrooms... which is quite good... then we have the whole recept area to ourselves...

To Garyting... for solemnization, I think Hilltop can do... that night when I went to see the ballroom, the setting was for a dinner/solemnization for the next evening. I saw they set up a standard solemnization table on stage... I took a pic from the back of the ballroom... but you can see the table on stage.

Hope this hopes.

1379910.jpg

gingerbreadman

hillgal83: Wow! 80 tables!! I am having around 30 tables, the big ballroom was already booked so I took the smaller ballrooms A & B. The recep area is just outside the lift, small and cramped but no choice. My date is a relatively hot date, most hotels and restaurants are fully booked. Hehe, the LED screen makes me giddy...

garyting: I am also having my solemnisation on the same day. Can't decide to have it during first march-in or before dinner.

garyting

Hi hillgal83

Thanks for the information and pic. =)

Hello gingerbreadman

I’ll prefer to have it during the first march in cos won’t be so rush for the make-up etc. =)

gingerbreadman

garyting:

How do you manage the time? I would like to have a bit more time too but I don't know how to arrange and ask the JP since I cannot provide a specific time (don't know when will majority of the guests arrive so I can start the dinner). Haven't source for my JP.

hillgal83 > Oh my god!!! I am so stunned to see u here too ... when's your AD?
Whahahahahahahahahahaha, Segar gang, LOL.
Congrats on your marriage!

hillgal83 > Wow kaoz, why so long?
Tiger year don't wanna get married?
I never know u got so many friends sia ... 80 tables?
Oh gosh, that's alot man.

hillgal83

i have a lot of friends... BUT they only amount to about 11 tables... Abt another 10 to my family... the rest ALL my HTB's contacts... LOL...