Poll: CCK VS Yew Tee Flats??? Pls help

pls help

I know this topic might not appropriate in this thread but I have no choice sorry!!! hope kind people out there can help!!

if given two choice

choa chu kang out of MRT flat VS yew tee 10mins to MRT flat (both resale)

which you will go for?????

with the tot of renting out room in future

CCK flat
pro : lot 1 nearby
con : > 15mins to cck MRT Station

Yew Tee
pro: nearby to MRT
con: factory areas nearby

kindly share your view. especially those staying at CCK. much appreciated

jewelmelody

Hi pls help,

No worry. I stayed in CCK so I hope I can help you by giving my opinions.

If you refer to CCK flat nearby Lot 1, I believe u are refer to CCK loop, CCK central or CCK Ave 4. The flats are around 7 to 15 years

For Yew Tee, CCK North 5,6 and 7 is not really near factories? Which particular CCK near factories? The flats in CCK is pretty new,not more than 10 years.

I guess both areas has has no problems in renting out in future. Accessibility to MRT is usually the prime consideration for most tenants unless they drive then not much an issue.

pls help

Hi Jewelmelody,

Thanks for your reply.

I'm considering CCK ave 3 and CCK crescent.
if you were me which will you go for???

try to help

I am staying at CCK cres. The advantage is that the market is nearby, lot 1 side has no wet market. Yew Tee also has a big food court where the food is nicer and much cheaper than the lot 1 foodcourt. Of course lot 1 has more shopping, bus interchange etc. But to me, 15min from mrt is quite far, its not walking distance to me, so its added cost and also if you have to wait for the bus, it'll end up slower then going to yew tee by mrt. But that's just me.
Depending on which part CCK cress you are looking at, have to warn you that you can hear trains (the m'sia one), the latest is at 11pm, earliest is abt 6.30am. Its quite loud.

So far I like staying at CCK Cres. Its quiet and quite convenient, except for the occasional train.

samgirl

I just got my Yew Tee resale flat last dec...and previously, I pondered betw CCK or Yew Tee flats...in the end, we got our flat just 1 min away from Yew Tee Mrt (Block 62*) and so far so good, cos the food at Yew Tee food courts is really nice and cheap. And though being near Lot 1 is good for CCK flats, but if you are talking about being 10-15 mins away from Lot 1 then it’s not really that near too..I’d rather for the price, get a flat at Yew Tee (though more “ulu†than Lot 1) but very close to the MRT , shops and food court. If I take MRT, it’ll only take around 3 min (if no train waiting time) for me to get to Lot 1.

no_life

Hi samgirl,

Can i ask you, how many percent u paying for the downpayment for resale flat? how many percent cash, how many percent CPF? Cause i trying to ask around for the percentage for resale flat nobody knows.

rainny

Hi Try to help,

May i know which blk in cck crescent that can hear the train noise?

samgirl

We paid $500 by cheque (can be any amount between $1 to $1000, depending on agreement between buyer & seller) for "option money" - meaning within 2 weeks, the seller cannot sell this unit nor allow others to see this unit.

Then, we paid another $500 also by cheque( also can be any amount between $1 to $1000, depending on agreement between buyer & seller) as "exercise option money" after 2 weeks to further "confirm" that we are buying this unit. By paying both "option money" and "exercise option money" are legally binding. Meaning, the seller can sue u if you decide to back out later.

Then, as both our combined CPF is more than the 20% of the price of flat, the CPD deducted all of our money from that account and tabulated how much we need to loan from HDB and then work out our monthly loan repayment amount.

As for the other misc fees (stamp fees, laywer's fees for changing of owner name...etc.) are all being deducted from our CPF ordinary account.

So in all, we only paid the deposit to the seller ($500 + $500 = $1k), $177.50 for valuation report, and (I for got the amount) insurance in cash. All the other fees are by CPF.

no_life

That means basically, for resale flat we must pay at least 20% downpayment? I heard pple saying 10 % downpayment. That is why i confused. thanks alot samgirl

been curious

Samgril,

Wat's abt the CASH top up portion??? I heard this year is 5%. regardless of cpf is enough 20%. is that true?

samgirl

huh? I not sure about wif there's any new ruling, I got my keys last december and we didn't had to do any cash top-up...our combined cpf is more than 20% of flat price. Why don't u ask your agent? Agents should know. Do u have 1? if not, i can recommend you mine if you want? :p

samgirl

I not sure if it's minimum 10% or 20% for resale..cos we didn't check about it since we meet 20%. Anyway, even if your combined CPF meets 50% of the flat price, HDB will still deduct out everything from your CPF ordinary account upon purchase of your flat..

samgirl

Oh ya...I used to stay at CCK ave 4, blk 419 and though it's about 10 mins to Lot 1, I still found it quite inaccessible back then...cos need to either walk to bus-stop to take a feeder bus (1 stop) to the MRT or walk 10 mins to MRT...

If both of you dun drive, then imagine if you go groceriy shopping then how? your poor HB or you'll have to carry rice and cartons of drinks and walk 10mins? At least find a unit that's near a supermarket or main bus stop (not those bus-stop that only have feeder buses)...

And as for Yew Tee, I've heard that the blocks that are near the factories area tend to be very very quiet...and my FH's mum's friend lives there and her neighbour's flat was burglared.

Anyway, it's all up to you and your FH... :p

jewelmelody

hi pls help,
CCK ave 3 is not really far from MRT. I am staying in CCK central and even further from Lot 1.

As for CCK crescent, that area is near Sungei Kadut hence more factories but do take note there has been numerous complaint about "chicken shit" smell from a nearby egg factory. In additional there are still a lot of CCK cresent flats for walk in selection so it is not worth to buy a resale in that area.
I will choose CCK ave 3.

However if u have time, you may consider CCK loop, CCK ave 4, CCK north 5 and north 7 . these areas are nearer to MRT.

trying to help

Hi Rainny

I believe all the flats that are at the same side as Regent grove/ Quintet/Stadium would be able to hear. This includes CCK North 5/6/7 cos the track spans across the entire stretch. Please double confirm that.

Hi Jewelmelody

If I'm not wrong, the chicken shit smell problem is more for CCK ave 1. CCK Cres is actually very far from the farms. I have quite a few friends who stay in different parts of CCK cres but I've never heard of this complain. But its worthwhile to check it out if you're really considering to buy.

I believe there is a CCK Cres thread somewhere in this forum. I think it'll be best to find out from people who are staying there. And also, CCK Cres is actually very long stretch so be sure to ask about the relevant area that you want.

I got my flat from WIS 2.5 yrs ago. I believe the selection for WIS is very minimal now, most of the flats are taken up.

sheepy

Hi if you are worrying abt YT not having a shopping mall like lot1, dun. Cos they are having a new mix residential cum shopping/entertainment development at the empty plot of land next to the YT MRT Station. I believed that the plot of land has been tendered for and awarded.

Anyway i used to stay in CCK ave 4 before i got married and after that i got my flat at YT/CCK Cres.

The chicken shit smell comes from CCK area where my mum's hse is at ave 4 cos thats where the chicken farms are located near Tengah.

I like CCK Cres and i do enjoy listening to the occasional train.

stnov

hi pls help.....i stay at cck cres as well.....there mayb a lot of deciding factors u wish to consider.....cck cres basically houses d younger generation esp young couples......chicken shit not so much of an issue as well as near to factories....

Train is not as bad cos it passes pretty fast so no major concern as well....rather peaceful estate ard here....hope tat tis is helpful.....

oh ya pertaining to d cck cres thread.....
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/230563.html?1128318489

albert_sy2

i will buy any flat in either place because i love both CCK and Yew Tee! i've lived in YT for 2.5 years and in CCK for 3.5 years. anyway, i found a flat at CCK ave 3 that fits my budget. i found that YT flats are WAY too expensive for me....

tweetie74

Just posting the picture for interest

998592.jpg

Please email me at [email protected]

mllee

Im new to CCK and YEW TEE.. getting married soon. Going for resale flat. Any tips on which block is accessible to mrt and convenient? Any review on CCK and YEW TEE? Thanks for the info!!!

P.S. I've noticed why are more people selling HDB around Yew Tee MRT station than CCK? hmm