Plaza Park Royal

hi Esther,

thanks for your advice. for the solemnisation, did u ask the coordinator to write it down in the contract?

xiao lao shu,
u mean there's another couple that has the same AD as u? has she given u the confirmation letter?

btw, there's a wedding show at Marina this coming Sat and Sun. for those potential couples who wanna sign up for Plaza ParkRoyal, u may want to do so.

xin2- oh dear! Yes she shld have r'bered such an impt thing. When was the date you wanted to book for? When did she confirm the date with you? Both ballrooms are booked on that day?

sogo- my whole wedding was a special case didn't have it written down and it's not convenient to say why in here ... but to play safe on your side have the coordinator write it down in contract and make sure you read through it thoroughly!

Where's the wedding show? Marina as in sq or hotel?

Hi Sogo,

You were saying there was a wedding show at Marina this sat and sun? You have the details? Do we have to register to attend?

hi brink,

yes there's an upcoming wedding fair at marina square this sat and sun. no need to register

hi Erica,

u can just go to Marina Square cos i heard there's quite a no. of booths there in terms of hotels, bs, etc. check it out!

Hi all. I jus went to TNP wedding show ytd. Saw Plaza hotel there n find their rates quite attractive. Need some help, I din get to see the pixes of the hotel..Can anyone share? Thanks! My email is [email protected]

Did the guests complain abt the venue n hows the ang bao like that they give. Just need some feedback. thanks !

It's been a while since i've come in here. Wow...esther, still very active here and helping all the newbies! really sweet of u

I was ard Beach rd today and so pop by the hotel to take a look. Must say that i love the newly renovated look! The foyer looks really nice with the white and glass look. very modern. The lobby looks great too with the revamped modern image.

keke...The one thing i like most is the PLASMA SCREEN. B4 i always hated the manual board they use to annouce the wedding couples for the day. so obiang. Fortunately they have the sense to upgrade themselves too.

Now keeping my fingers crossed that the ballrooms will be equally nice.

Esther, I got ur fotos, thanks!

Really they revamp the look, was there in july last yr, waiting to see hw they look like or to check out if there is a wedding going on to see the deco

Hey, every1......I'm newbie here. I'm PPR bride too. Any1 sharing the happy occasion with me this May 2006? Very curious to find out how the outcome of the newly renovated ballroom??? Just managed to c the newly renovated lobby on last mth, Nt too bad as compared to the previous 80's look! Anyway, I hope for the best, plus no change for the banquet manager, Vincent till my wedding ends in May. I find him very attentive n nice. I nt too sure abt every1's situation. Jus that for my case, there's seems to be a high turnover rate for the banquet Manager in PPR. What do u thk??

How's your Valentine's Day?

Anyway Hubby and I went back to PPR to have our Valentine's day dinner and was surprised to see the lobby nicely done up. A nice big green sofa was the highlight. We also went to look at the ballroom but no changes. There was a dinner by the poolside(not sure if it's a wedding or birthday party).

If i'm not wrong i think they will only renovate the ballrooms during the 7th month. It makes more business sense for them i guess.

Twiddlebabe- It's common actually to have high turnover in hotel-line, it's the same all over. Just make sure your contract is all in place so even if your coordinator changes you will still be guaranteed as promised.

Hi esther,
I went to attend a friend's ROM on Valentine's Day. After which, went to town and spent the night with 3 other girl friends who are single.

My hubby was busy working... but we went to have dinner last Sunday... didn't really celebrate loh... coz even without this Valentine's Day, we also eat out on weekends.. :p

Hi esther, thanks for yr adv....Clear my doubts nw.........

Anyway, I'm a beach-goer.... So of course, I spent half the day at the beach with my husband-to-be on Valentine's day. Moreover, this year, he's on tight budget so having a picnic is cheap & good.......

So curious to ask!!! What is the reason that couples choosing PPR, though the ballroom is abit old-fashioned? Besides gd food & reasonable price, ok???

me currently looking at PPR as one of my potential wedding dinner venue. just went down yesterday and spoke to Felicia, anyone know her? How's she like? anyway she mentioned that the ballroom going renovation soon will end abt may. Btw, for all ex brides of PPR, how do u gals find the ballroom? i shld be helding mine in stamford ballroom. the stamfort ballroom celing seems quite low and will the pillar block the stage view? and how's the bridal suite? i know there are 3 anly according to Felicia, will be given to any avaliable 3 on ur AD. i only got to view the orchard suite.. not impressive leh. got 2 toilet but no dressing table. bed also small...
sorry for asking so much question.. sure need all ur helpful comments thanks in advance :P

justine-

yes pillars will definitely block view for some guests but then they can move a little. The hotel will try their best to arrange the tables to the best that they can. I had 41+2 tables but no one complained about the view.

We loved the bridal suite though i can't remember which one we took... it had a dressing table too but hated the spa suite. Too colonial for me.

butter- well everyday can be valentine's day too rite? glad you had fun with your friends too
I did feel funny too after dinner went to the beach to walk but only for about 10 mins before we decided to head home. Somehow after marriage home is still the best place
hahahahah but it was so funny looking at all the young couples celebrating... reminded us when we were dating hahahha!

sorry a newbie here, just signed up with PPR.
May i know how is the wedding experience, how is the food n ambience, any things to take note etc?
appreciate all advice n help

Congrats to all newly-weds;)

hi meifang,
my experience with PPR was a gd one.. guests comment food was gd, ambience not too bad lah for a 4* hotel.. when is your AD? they r renovating the ballrm in july so guess the ambience wld b better..

hi agnes,
I went to Italy and Switzerland + a one day tour to Germany. Yup... I took up package tour... It was very very very fun!! Especially over at Switzerland... so beautiful!!
Let me know if you wanna view those pics..

Ya... saw so many young couples on Valentine's Day... My hubby's colleague spent $1k+ (flowers, gift and dinner) on my friend coz he was after her... Well, he managed to win her heart...

hi butter,
so nice... can i see the pics? [email protected]

i hv oso took up a package to Italy, Sw and Paris.. so excited now thou only going in july.. hee..

hi esther,
u r always ard to help the new PPR brides.. so nice of u...

still upset over the mistake that fiona made. Still not settled yet. apparently, another colleague booked the same date that i booked earlier in the computer system. And now the other couple do not wish to change date too. Then we are stuck!!!

have already made arrangements and now cant carry out. really dunno wat to do. Anyway, they tried offering another day at a much lower price but we are just not interested. Cos the date we choose is of great significance.

fiona asked the senior manager to speak to me also no use. me and my FH just not interested to change.

we've tot abt it. worse come to worse, we'll sue the hotel. cos in terms of black and white, we signed the contract first.

really lost my confidence in the hotel and fiona. tot advice was that she's good. but think not really so now.

Xin2- I'm sorry to hear that your experience with PPR isn't pleasant. Why don't you try to speak to a higher management to see if they can do something about it and get back the date you want. Just my 2 cents worth.

hi agnes,
So you are going this coming July! Which agency are you going with and going for how many days? Switzerland is really very beautiful... U should go up to Jungfrau... really worth the effort, time and money! As for Italy... hmm... if you like architect stuff, then you will know how to appreciate... So July is Summer or Spring??

Hi xin2,
Don't be upset... maybe you can switch to other hotel? Or go to Grand Plaza ParkRoyal? and make them give you a good deal...
I guess... Fiona is still green in this field... So... just forgive her...

I am also considering PPG as my potential venue in 2007. Just got to know that the ballrooms are undergoing some renovations this year. I always have this impression that the pool is beautiful (from what I see from their website). Price wise, I find it very reasonable.

Agnes, care to share your photos with me too? My email is [email protected] With your photos, at least I can have some rough idea of how the place looks. And hopefully it'll look even better after the renovation.

Thanks so much for your help!

hi butter,
yup most likely going in end june or early july cos hb will only finish his course then.. it's beginning of summer so like s'pore i guess.. no choice..i heard abt switzerland very nice.. tks for your advice.. how much did u spend for the trip roughly?

hi xiaolaoshu,
when is your AD? think they shld do a big compensation cos u signed the contract 1st..

hi hellokitty88 and huiz,
my banquet was at plaza ballroom...chose the white theme for deco.. will send u the link to my AD pics, not very clear thou.. but can chk out the dinner part for the deco.. think after reno, the ballroom will be totally diff..

Hi Agnes,

Thanks so much for the pics. It will give me a good idea of how the place looks before I sign up. Really too hope that the place will be even better after the renov.

Huiz> u mean for 2007 need to add $30 more per table? The package I got states 2006/2007 package.... I m looking at 2007 8th june lei, its a friday.

Hey gals... does anyone has the package for 2007? I'm planning for my wedding in Nov 2007... Having about 30 tables. so wondering if the ballroom will be suitable. The last time i requested for the package, was told it was only up till March 2007... does anyone has any idea on this?

Hi Agnes,
We spent around $2k+ for the trip. This is excluding shopping and somemore, we made a bit of money at Switzerland casino.. hee hee... and most of the meals were covered, so we didn't really need to spend a lot on food. I went with CTC... I must say the tour guide is very friendly and good. Thumbs up for his service.

The shopping at Italy and Switzerland is not really that cheap.. but some of the stuff, can't find locally.. so I bought there.. and we each bought a Tag Heuer for memory sake...

Oh... I think I haven't send you the pics yet... Shall send you now... Hope you are going to Venice.. nice nice place....

Hi Suelynn,

Ooicic.... so there should be a promotion at the fair lor.... wah $698 for 9 course is really a very good price leh.

Hi Gelaine,

I do have the 2007 package, but I am not sure if it is still applicable till Nov 07. I can email it to u if u want it.

hi butter,
wah won money at casino!!! how much is the tag heuer? I'm going for a 14D trip... i heard venice is very very nice... very excited now.. okie, shall wait for your pics!!

hello everyone,

so many posts! welcome to all the newbies here
just some updates: i'll be going for my outdoor ps on 1 march at sebana cove near desaru area. getting excited, but now trying to slim my tummy area.... haizzz. abit difficult though. got any ways to go for a 'quick trim' cos the day is drawing near? haha.

intended to do my indoor ps on 9 march, but my company has a retreat from 5-9 march at KL. scared later pimples will surface after the retreat, thus decided to change my indoor shoot day. haven't chosen a date yet. that's all for my updates

hi agnes,
That time, we also went for 14D trip...
The package is $4k like this per pax...
Erm... won quite a fair bit of $$.. hee hee... but initially also lost quite a lot.. managed to win back during the last night.
If you are going to Switzerland, most likely you will stop over at Interlaken and Lucerne. Both places have got casino.

But the most important thing is to enjoy the weather and scenery!!!

The tag heuer which we bought cost $2k+ per piece... There are many different pattern ones.. You tour guide will bring you to these shops...

Over at Venice, we took the gondola...have to pay around SGD$50 for each person... but quite worth it...

Gelaine - oops, sorry. i'm so blur! have re-send it 2 u. hope u can see it this time

Hellokitty - over to u too!

Thanks Huiz!

Had contacted PPR myself also. Just right after i got your first mail. Heh... went to email them myself and contacted Felicia.
Planning to meet her on Saturday this week. Abit kiasu for my AD atcually... only having it in Nov 2007. Hah.. but will be outstation so wanna get thigns settled. LOL