Plaza Park Royal

Hi esther,

Can share your photos with me too? Also, possible to share with me your contacts for your photographer?

email: [email protected]

Am planning for my wedding in 2007... starting to source for my AD venue. So is PPR recommended for brides who had their special day there? Any feedback?

xin2 and gelaine

you've got mail!

Sam's contact no. is 98584964

He is very nice and not pushy at all. But I must warn you he is very sought after so if you really like his work better book him fast.

I had fun and enjoyed PPR services and food so for me i would recommend.

Agreed with Esther.. PPR food is great and the portion is great too. Do go thru' our previous threads for recommendation on the dishes when your food tasting date is nearing.

Butter: Very fast hor.. "blink one eye" 4 months past already. Can share your pics? My email: [email protected]

Janna: Just to share with you the songs I used for my AD..
1st march in- Hero by Enrique Iglesias
1st dish- Love is in the air by Barry Manilow
2nd march in- The Gift by Collin Raye

Check with your will there be any confusion in the guests if I take the stanford ballroom coz they will ahve to be ushered to the pool right as I understand that the plaza ballroom is booked for wedding on that same day.

Hi esther and butter,

Could you kindly share your photos? Thanks.

My email: [email protected].

Esther you make use of Sam service for the whole day or just for the morning sessions? Is his price pricy? Can email me to tell me.

Esther: I still come in leh.. just like I got nothing else to ask so.. see see look look only lor. Should have waited till after new year then get married hor.. have to spend so much $ for angpows..hahahah..

Chris: I had my AD in the stamford ballroom. Before AD, I was told that my guests would enter via the poolside entrance where the cocktail would be held (was also told that the guests of the other couple who was having their AD at the Plaza Room on the same day would be having their cocktail at the common area (space between plaza and stamford ballroom). Thought there would be any confusions.. but on the actual day, there were actually 3 weddings (or 4), all couple's guests were being invited to have their cocktail at the open-air area. It was more than a shared cocktail to celebrate the three couples' happy occasion.. hahaha... So do check with your co-ordinator for necessary arrangement else, risk having a messy cocktail like mine. Minus a little hiccups here and there, I still had a memorable night lor. PPR good! no regrets. At the end of the day, your guests wont remember the nitty gritty details.. just make sure that you enjoy this special occasion.

Chris: one more thing, put ur portrait photo big big at the reception.. get ur family members to be at the reception early to help identify relatives, sure no confusion. All the best!

Hi Agnes & Butter,

Can share your photos with me too?

Esther,

Thanks so much for the photos and your replies. Really appreciate the effort even though you're busy... Thanks alot!!!!

hi esther and butter,
tks for sharing your AD pics with me!! Very well taken.. by the same PG izit?

hi xiao lao shu and brink_79,
I hv sent u the link..

hi gelaine,
can i hv your email add? tks

heloooo...

can I hav e links to [email protected] [removed e no-spam] too, butter & agnes? thankie!

glad to see our seniors like jlyn,butter,esther,agnesguan coming in to help out in our queries...3 cheers!

hi Gelaine and Minicutie,
will send to u..

hi win, i got a bounced back email from u.. relised i din remove the no spam.. hahaha..

hi esther,
forgot to mention to u earlier, realise u had a holy matrimony b4 the banquet.. me too, had the wedding service b4 dinner..

hi Jlyn, Agnes, Butter, Esther,

can share your pics with me too? my email is [email protected] thanks.

is anyone torn between a hotel and a restaurant? cos i'm looking at Plaza Parkroyal and Qian Xi restaurant, the new bt batok outlet. any comments?

Hi Sogo, I dont know abt the others but I have chosen PPR because I prefer its ambience as compared to restaurants yet, didnt cost me a big bomb as compared to the other 5 stars hotel. Most importantly, PPR serves nice food. A few of us booked our package at the bridal show and were entitled to the free flow of beer and 12 bottles of wine.. worth it lor. I'd my company D&D at Suntec, the food is not nice.. not hot also. Qian Xi's food is nice also.. they do give free flow beer, stout & wine if I'm not wrong.. but I'm not sure if your guests would give angpow "in accordance to restaurant's market rate" or not? Do ur calculations.. make sure that your choice of venue wont cause you a big $$ loss.

My AD photos are not the digital ones.. cant share online like the rest. Take a look at the other ex-brides.. you'll probably get "a feel" on the ballroom's ambience.

Out to you gals.. Agnes, Butter & Esther..share share your pics with Sogo.

hi sogo,
i agree with jlyn.. i find PPR is quite gd for a hotel banquet with a reasonable price.. i got free flow of beer, the food portion was big and nice.. many guests commented the food was gd.. i chose the 'white theme' for the stage.. will send u the link to my AD pics.. take a look at the dinner part for that deco..

wow! so many postings in 2 days! My pc dwn so cldn't reply sorry....

Gelaine- You're most welcome... As long as you felt that it was helpful can liao
Don't worry just post any questions, i'm sure all ex PPR's couples will be happy to help you

Agnes g.- Thanks for sharing your pics! why nvr say i have sweet smile too leh hehehehehe....yup same PG and he's the best! hahahahaha.. Right butter? Yes we had our mini church wedding before dinner... Sigh it rained so heavily that we couldn't use the pavillion... so sad! I was really looking fwd to having it there..... But my service was really long like almost 45minutes! Pastor's sermon a bit long lah hehehehe.... but good!

Win- don't say senior leh... Bu gan dang!
How's prep?

Sogo- Will send you the link soon.... Everything that jlyn and agnes said is true and i'm quite sure we more or less had the same reasons for having our wedding there.....

btw GONG XI FA CAI everyone!

hi Jlyn,
thanks for your advice. Qianxi at other branches offer free flow of everything... from soft drinks to beer to red wine. but not sure about the new outlet though. btw, Plaza Park Royal is raising its rates to $30 more per table within these few days as quoted by the person in charge. since both places are "NEW and renovating", i cannot see the actual look, so no feel. but very nice of Agnes and Esther to share their photos with me.

hi Agnes and Esther,
thanks for sending the pics. have seen them. nicely done!!!

Sogo- maybe you might want to check out SB's thread on QianXi and make a comparison of it's comments. It might help you in your decision.

Esther,

i've read the thread there and asked for their comments already
see how and update all of u again. hehe...

hi esther,
Yes u hv a sweet smile too..
i particularly like one pic of u n hb kissing in the bkgd and parents kissing too.. i rem u mentioned abt the rain so gotta move to ballroom.. it's ok, had it in the ballroom not that bad..

hi emax,
will send to u..

hi brink_79,
tks for your compliments..

sigh.. 3 days break juz ended.. so fast..

Happy new year to all
I have heard lots of comments that the food of PPR are nice.....but I'm not sure what to choose from the list....can share with me what are the specific food that have been choosen or any other comments on which to choose or to avoid?

carey
i recommend the green curry sauce prawns had very very gd reviews about it from the guest. Eventhough i dun like prawns myself that was my fav dish! Heard the hua tiao prawns was nice too.

We didn't like the yam ring and pineapple rice the were both very oily. Steam fish was good, ee fu nodles good, bailing mushroom with veg was good. Can't r'ber what else liao

What we did was that those dishes that we were not quite sure (like wuxi pork ribs etc) of we used it for food tasting and if it tasted bad than we just simply chose the usual dish.

Hope it helps!

I am also a PPR bride to be.....=) and i am new to this forum.Is so interesting to see so many PPR brides around to share their exp.

can share your pics with me??

i'm about to finalise my contract this wed liao. abit nervous man. keke... just to check, do we have to choose the dishes when we sign the contract? do we have to pay for the solemnisation arrangements such as the sound system, mic, floral stands, table, etc? cos i intend to hold it near the poolside.

if we sign on the contract as 30 tables, but 1 mth before, we need 40 tables, we can still increase right? any other things i need to watch out for before 1 sign? thanks in advance for the advice.

Sogo-

Don't need to pay for anything for the solemnisation at the pavillion. They should provide the sound system, tables and chairs. Even the pens and flowers too.

Yes you can increase the number of tables 2 weeks bef the dinner but after increasing, you can't decrease it.

Choose dishes only before food tasting.

Make sure that whatever they promise you even to the most minute details are written in the contract. If they say don't worry and they'll do it when the time comes say no you would prefer to have it written dwn. This is to safe guard yourself in case your coordinator leaves or any other misunderstandings or miscommunications later on.

Make sure you get a receipt for your deposit too

I'm sure everything will be okie if you read through carefully

I'm considering PPR as my banquet venue. Read the above comments, very helpful indeed. THanks. Could your kindly share your pics with me too, so that can have a look at the ambience of the ballrm, as well as the skill of the photographer etc?

so upset....

just rec call from fiona telling me that forgot to book my AD date in their new computer system. But she book for me in their record book that time. then now ask me to change to another date. so unfair to me...
just tell her that i dun wan to change and ask her to solve the prob..
dunno y she so irresponsible.