Plaza Park Royal

Win- yeah just to add a little on jlyn's reply the cards are $110 for 200 inserts additional $5 for every 50 more inserts i think.... something like that.... Yes deposit is 3k... PPR only charge for corkage for wines brought in if you take their house wine, they dun charge corkage.... I personally feel that the beg and muslim menu not worth the price at all.. the dishes come as soup, then rice with vegetable meat and some other side dishes on the same plate(like when you go hawker centre and you order economical rice thingy) and a dessert. Imagine your muslim/vegetarian guest eating their food all at one go while the others get their by courses....

jlyn- Yeah hard copies.... will only get album and the CD and negatives in mid-end oct...... sigh...

butter- make sure you get a good coordinator that run "military style" to make sure things go smoothly.... enjoy your saturday! btw congratualations!

Hi Jlyn,
That means I need to let the hotel know the bridal car and ALL the ah yee's car number before this Sat? Or... is it only my bridal car and ONE ah yee's car??
I think I would like to be present during the briefing... Don't think my hubby can handle.. haiz... Then have to let the coordinator know when to play the music.. when to open the door... etc... Getting the stress now... so many things to remember like this...

Hi esther,
Thank you for you well wishes... do share with ur your photos when they are ready...

Thanks for e advises, Jlyn & Esther. Wil firm up all the info gathered & move on from there.

Congrats, butter...tat dae wil move veri quickly b4 U noe it, enjoy every min of it, ya?

Hi Jlyn, for yr 27 tables, oni consumed 17 bot of red wines? but U gt 9 litres or bottles of brandy? PPR can charge by litre also? thanks.

Yah Jlyn & Esther, really thanks for all the details and advices... will bear them in mind too...

Hi butter,
I can understand your nervousness.. but I'm sure all will be well on your special day, rest well these few days if can and be a mei mei bride this Sat.. enjoy!!

Hmm... I only bought 12 bottles or red wine for my wedding this Sat. I wonder whether Plaza has got any "stand by" red wine or not.... It will be so pai say if we run out of red wine when guests need more.
For hard liquor, I have 10 bottles of Martell. I guess this should be enough.
It's really tough to estimate the bottles of wine/hard liquor needed.. haiz.. another stress thing....

Hi win & agnes,
Hopefully I can sleep peacefully on Friday night... Scare that I will have problem sleeping..

Hi butter,

can one lah, zzz early on thurs nite then to compensate in case U do have problem zzz. so hw muchie PPR charge U for wine/hard liquor corkage per bot? U shld get yr coordinator to take note of e standby thingy, at least they know when to kickin when yr 10th bot is been opened.

I gg dwn tis sat 2pm to mit Fiona, wish mi luck.

Hi win,
Oh... U are going to meet Fiona this Sat ar... Then maybe you will see me there.. hee hee...

Eh... I think the corkage is waived off... I am not very sure.. Needs to double confirm.. Coz I signed up the package with them last year June... more than one year back...

I also worried about the montage... the music... don't know whether the AV man knows when to play what music or not... haiz.. then need to brief them on when to open the door for us to come in...etc...

Hi butter, yap I tink so cos e timing she suggest shld be juz in time b4 U chk in e hotel at usual 3pm onwards, ya? Wil cya, btw I a gentleman
, wil be there with my wife.

I guessed yr is e free 12 bot if I not wrong, so subsequently one wil be charged accordingly as & when neccessary I believed.

Firstly, eliminate tis concern cos they shld have e expertise in tis, I mean they hav run multiple different scenarios/requests for PPR customers before though hiccup might occur technically which is beyond their control, U can brief them with steps note for them to follow cos I understand it wil be gd to have a reliable frn of yr who can coordinate all tis, or like see hand see leg kinda. For U, juz make sure yr laptop, projector(self bring? or PPR provided?) is available when needed, backup yr montage files & mp3 songies to another thumb drive juz in case wil do. Cheerios!

Hi Butter

I shld think that the hotel defintely have standby wine for you. But just to be doubly sure ask Fiona to keep stated no. of bottles of wine for you. If you are afraid that the guest might "over drink" tell the op manager that day that xx no. of bottles of wine is all that the guest can go thru if it exceeds dun open anymore and get them to drink something else. Furthermore they have free flow of beer right?(not sure if you have that) I know it's hard to say but it really helps or else the waiters happily open and open and the wine nvr finish all. Also you might want to check the number of corks left at the end of the day to be doubly sure that that's really the no. of wine they opened.

I doubt they will charge corkage whether you signed last yr or not. I do noe that they dun want pple to BYO wine so they waive corkage for house wines. But of course again make sure with Fiona

The night before usually hard to sleep.... But try so that your face will be at it's best and make up will stay!
Enjoy your day!

Hi all (cant say girls.. we've got a guy now),
1st of all, i mentioned 9 litres of liquor cos acutally 9 x 1 litre. Trying to refrain mentioning the bottles fr DFS mah.. (pour into duty paid bottles.. no corkage). Dont worry abt the wine, the staffs will monitor. They will alert you when about the bottles of wine are about to finish and ask you if you need more bottles..house wine no corkage.

Butter: u can check in earlier.. 2plus shouldnt be a problem. Let them know the veh numbers of the cars parking at the 2 VIP lots early, ideally a day before else half a day should be ok. I didnt sleep well the 2-3 days before AD.. worrying abt everything. The nite before AD, I had some mugs of beer and managed to sleep soundly for 5 solid hours.. but i wont encourage you to do the same lah... take care

keke, no problem, majority wins & U all more senior mah, feel free to use yr usual terms..hee

okie, okie, I gt U, idea! take e method which serve u well of cox, i.e. beauty sleep...counting sheeps is nt e in thing nwsadays & I muz say nt effective in fact.

so who nxt after butter? anyone here wil be holding their AD in 2006?

hi gals & guy,

my wedding day is on 25th sept (tis sun), diner on 26th sept.

I also quite worried whether the AV man know when to play the music as the AV man is a non chinese. so afraid after the chinese emcee speech, will the AV man understand & start playing the song. or do i need to station my helper to b wif the AV man during my 1st march in, 2nd march in & champange pouring?? I plan to hav a rehersal b4 my wedding diner. Jlyn, do u brief the AV man during the rehersal when he should play the songs?? i m sooo worried tat tings will go wrong.. do the hotel provide rose petals?? to sprinkle at the bride & groom during 1st march in?? i getting nervous n nervous as the time pass by...

Besides getting a helper to standby the AVA man, maybe you could give him a list of songs of when to play instead of just telling. Let him know e.g. when the emcee says let's stand and welcome the groom and bride in english following will be the chinese version of it and it shouldn't be that long a sentence too so when the emcee starts clapping (which he/she shld to welcome the couple)the ava guy can start playing the songs. Same goes for the 2nd march in etc......

Hopefully you all understand what i'm trying to say hahahah dunno how to put it any simplier... hope my two cents helps...

BTW Serene CONGRATS!... dun worry so much
a happy bride is a pretty bride

Serene: I didnt get to see the AV man throughout the dinner (actually i dont even know where was the AV station.. muahaha) HB passed the three discs to the banquet operation manager with a piece of paper indicating which disc & song for 1st,2nd march in and 1st dish.. Esther's idea is good, get ur emcee to liaise with AV man. Unless u are at least half as boh chup as me, else start delegating tasks my dear (applies to butter & esther also hor)..u'll peng sun, trust me. I doubt PPR will provide rose petals..

Esther: Were u the one asking abt muslim food? Old woman poor memory.. but anyway, my colleagues gave thumbs up for the muslim food!!! They said they'd never tasted such delicious muslim food in hotel's banquet before.

Butter: Gong Xi Gong Xi.. have a gd rest tonight!

Hi Win, Winnie e Pooh,

How was the wedding show at PPR? I went for the wedding show this april so this time did not go.
Was the turnup good? Can share with me what they offer this time. Thaks

Jlyn, Butter, Serene congrats..

Hi Win, Winnie e Pooh,

How was the wedding show at PPR? I went for the wedding show this april so this time did not go.
Was the turnup good? Can share with me what they offer this time. Thaks.
My email: [email protected]

Jlyn, Butter, Serene congrats..

hi brink_79,

it's was great.. there got display of their theme.. quite a nos of ppl turn up.. better den last year 1... i din reali see the packages of wat it's contain.. cos i already sign up mine last year.. onli going down to see the theme and favor and the stage decor..

How's abt u?? u hven sign up their package yet??

Hi Jlyn- Just got a wedding planner to do the work on the actual day hahahahha. Well actually she is a friend of mine and is going starting her own wedding planner company. So I'm just leaving everything with her.

Had problems with printer. I suspected he forgot about it and when i called him up to ask, he claimed that he sent me the revised copy of the printing and even said he was wondering why i didn't reply him(if he was really wondering dun you think he should have called?). Then when he sent it, it wasn't even the revised copy, it wasn't changed at all! What a load of bull!

Anyway when i called him up again to tell him the next day, and told him, he said yes it is and i firmly said no and then he quickly said that the email had some problem attaching the file to it. What a load of crap! If it really did how did he send the original one? Then when he finally sent the revised copy like hours later( he must have quickly got some1 to do it) he only changed the English part and not the chinese! ARRGHHH! He even made it out like it was my fault that i want to change etc etc etc and that if it didn't sound right it's not his fault! GOSH! It took quite a few to and fro of confirming! He doesn't realise that his english is grammatically wrong even the chinese part!

Really am mad with him!

Wonder if it's me .. so suay kena all this things hahahhaha

Hi Winnie e pooh,
Have not signed up any package as wedding likely to be in 2006/7. So see see look look now.
Have not been seeing other hotels as yet so maybe after all that then i will see if PPR is the one we want.
How about u? What make you sign up with them?
Esther: you print your cards with the printer for PPR?

I hav just signed up with Fiona, PPR tis morning for my Sep06 wedding. Finally 1 area covered, photographer alreadi booked as well and BS which I signed up with for our ROM 1 yr bck.

Fiona or PPR provide a great level of service committment to their customers, at least nvr reject my request directly when asked, but anyway, most of the areas are covered, so I am satisfied with their service, hopfully after-sales service wil stay tis way which I believed wil be so.

Hi brink_79, prices now started at $588NETT for wkday for 2006/2007, not sure what were the price for april promo, the promo tis time wil end on 1st Oct. Perks besides the standard stuff are:-

1) free 12 bottles wine
2) full course tasting for 10 PAX
3) 1 additional nite stay at deluxe room or for
helpers on the same day
4) free flow of tiger beer
5) $100 printing voucher
6) spa package for the couple

http://www.singaporebrides.com/plaza_parkroyal_show.htm

btw, was butter wedding held in stamford or plaza ballrm last sat? We were there on sat noon to meet Fiona & went bck tat nite at ard 11pm lvl4 & found both rooms in use. hee.

I am back from my wedding!! Actually back yesterday liao, just too tired to log on... Hee hee... I guess Serene should be preparing for her 1st march-in now. CONGRATS, Serene!!

For my wedding last Sat, there were quite a number of hic-cups which we are very fed-up... 1st of all, the table layout given to us was wrong and the right one was given to us at around 7pm on Sat!!! In the end, due to the so last minute changes, one table of my hubby's colleague sat in front and his relatives sat at the back of the ballroom!! So pissed...

Car-park coupons were given to us very very late. Despite my friends kept calling Fiona and asking her for the coupons, her answer was... on the way sent to us already!

Next, when we went to trial run my montage, the AV man did not tell me that I couldn't do my march-in immediately after my montage (consist of childhood photos till now) coz he needs 2-3 mins to clear the projector and stuff. So, when I was up there in the hotel room making-up that time, I had to worry about this montage thingy. In the end, I told them to extract my march-in song out from the montage coz I die die want to use my version of that particular song.

Throughout all these, Fiona didn't dare to show face... coz my friends and sister were so pissed with her that they wanted to scold her... Haiz...

The food served to the VIP tables were super slow! I wonder what's wrong with the servers. How can they take so long to serve food to these 2 tables?
Another thing, one of the tables (my friends were seated there) was served the chicken only when the other tables had already finished eating. The server told my friends that the kitchen was still in the midst of preparing their chicken. Then at another table (also my friends' table), the spice salt was given to them only when they were about to finish eating the chicken. My goodness.... Haiz....

Oh well, despite all these... I still enjoyed my wedding very much... Over so soon... Luckily I had engaged a videographer to capture all these moments...

Hi Butter,

I believed i met you on your wedding day. You happened to just come out from the lift going to the ballroom. I was with Fiona and you said u wanted to scold her.

So sorry to hear about all the hiccups. I just signed with PPR today. My wedding next oct. Hopefully all will be well for the rest of us.

Frankly, Fiona looked really tired that day. Even duing our conversation, she wasn't her normal self. Very toned down. Guess it must be that she was on course for the entire week. Althou i knew it's not an excuse for her to screw up your wedding, i have to say that she did a great job in replying to me at the end of each day. She went back to office even after her course.

Glad to know that you enjoyed your wedding still!
CONGRATULATIONS!

Hello Agnes,

Eh... Did I say I want to scold Fiona when I came out from the lift? When did you see me? When I was wearing the maroon cocktail dress? Or when I was in the Wedding Gown with my hubby?
I can't recall saying that I wan to scold Fiona... coz it was my friends and sister who kept saying that.

When I saw Fiona last Sat during the cocktail reception, she really looked very tired. I understand that she was not feeling well last week also. Don't really blame her if she's really not well. But I just hope the management can give us an answer to all those hic-cups.

hi butter,
good to hear from u.. hope i'm not too late to congrat u.. Best wishes and happy marriage to u n hubby..

aiyo, your wedding quite eventful huh? but I guess they are not impt.. the more impt part is this new chapter of life u n your hubby hv started with..

but still want to thank u for sharing with us.. so r u going for your honeymoon?

Butter- I'm sorry there were so many hiccups.... Thank you for sharing with us.... It certainly helps the rest of us who haven't had ours to watch out for hiccups...

If you really want an answer, email Fiona a formal letter and though you can't do anything about it now but it would definitely appease you with explanations.... Which ballroom did you use? How many tables did you have?

Well at least you had fun

brink- yes the hotel's printer, with the $100 voucher that was given in our package

It was terrible trying to liase with the printer! Major attitude problem!

Butter- I do agree with agnes, the hiccups are not impt. Mine was more jiak luds than urs.. hahaha. Still, I enjoyed the special day lor. I was kinda of lost for the next few days.. it was the *huh? finished already? so fast.." feeling.

I tried not to go into the nitty gritty details cos too stressful. Besides, you wont have time to monitor all these details on AD.. way beyond ur control. Just do the needful ones and enjoy the night..

Congrats Butter & Serene. Who's next huh?

Opps...got the wrong nite. I was there on Fri nite. Aiyo...that bride i met said she wanted to scold Fiona the moment she saw her. Gee...PPR really so many hiccups??!?!?!?

Nevermind lah, we ourselves minimize the cons and emphasize the pros!

Oh dear... Wonder what happened with that bride who wanted to scold Fiona... Aiyo....

Sigh anyway I'm meeting Fiona tmr to get my cards and also to let her meet my wedding planner. Wonder what Fiona will say about the printer since I've complained to her about him..... hmmmm....

Oh no, I juz signed with PPR & within 12 hrs gt a no. of hiccups reports from butter, e bride on Fridae nite liao, jlyn's one also more jialat hiccups? esther's printing issue...not a veri gd start for new customers like mi & Agnes leh. The consolation is mine wil be a yr from nw, anything can happened one, hope esther one wil be a new twist in event on her wedding nite, got to kep our fingers crossed.

Gd tat U gers are forgiving & kep e composure to make yrself/luv ones hapi on yr wedding nites, tat is realli commendable.

Hi esther,
I met up with Felicia on Sat night, funny thing was I only saw Fiona once... I think she didn't really dare to show face that night.. So many of my friends "after" her. Felicia told me to drop her a note on all these "happenings" and she will forward it to her management. Well, nothing could be done now since my wedding is already over.

I had a total of 31 tables and attendance was good. Mine was the Stamford Ballroom. There was another wedding at the Grand Ballroom that night. But I think there was no mixed up or stuff like this.

Hi Jlyn,
I agreed with you! Now, I am feeling so lost.. like nothing for me to worry about.. haha.. The feeling is the same when I just finished my part time degree last year... for a moment, I was like so free... having all the time in the world.. haha... One over year of preparation and it was over in just few hours time...

esther,
when's your wedding? tks for sharing with us abt the printer, i'll take note of that..

butter,
i heard quite sometime ago that the entrance of the stamford rm will be changed so that the reception area won't be so messy when there r 2 weddings.. so they hvnt changed yet?

Win- dun all these get you down. Learn from it and make sure you speak to your coordinator about these issues.

butter- true there is nothing you can do now about your wedding since it's over but it'll be of great help to us(who haven't had ours yet) if you could just drop a feedback to the management about it. Hopefully they will learn from their mistakes.

agnes- mine's 10th of Nov. Think the entrance is changed oredi.

butter, so U engage Sam as yr photographer? saw him tat nite. He was my ROM photographer & coming AD photographer too.

agnes, understand from Fiona reception/cocktail for those holding in stamford rm wil be outdr, so guests wil need to access stamford rm from there where there is another door near to e stage/VIP table, the main entrance wil be for march-in & exit for guests right after that.

esther, thanks, no worries on my end, did noted dwn those points mentioned, juz try to do preventive measures as best as possible when tat dae come lor. Gt to swee4 ji1 yin4 bian4 liao.

hi agnes,
Nope... they haven't change the entrance of Stamford Ballroom. The reception area is just beside the Grand Ballroom's.
Ya... I hope my feedback here will serve as a "warning" to you gers... keep a lookout for all these...

Hi win,
Yup... Sam is my photographer. I must say that he's really good coz he kept track of the time for us... be it in the morning when we went for outdoor shots with the "brothers" and "sisters" and also during the banquet itself. Really no regrets engagin him...

butter, and smemore his rate is veri competitive, value-4-$$$, no calculating kinda of photographer in term of $$$ or x'tra time. haha. Yr reception is besides plaza ballrm? Fiona tell mi my reception/cocktail wil be outdr behind e escalator area...cos my AD alreadi have 1 couple booked e plaza ballrm alreadi.

huh? ur reception will be outdoor? then will your guests know where to go? that means they won't be opening the ballroom door which is facing plaza ballroom...

butter, yes, the ballrm dr wil be closed, oni for march-in, guests exit for toilets, leaving, so mean wil be opened at e march-in timing. There wil be a signage or staff to direct guests further up e poolside area direction where U wil pass by e escalator, small see-thru wall, take a few steps up, thru e glass drs? U wil c the area where reception table wil be setup & cocktail along tat line (behind e stage area). Sry if I nt clear enuff, not too gd at describing e exact spot, but at least it separate e cocktail area between stamford & plaza ballrm as 2nd best.

kk, thanks, wil slowly consolidate all the neccessary lobang & contacts tat I need. Sam juz kal mi to cfm his availability liao, he briefly tok abt yr AD too.

hi esther,
sorry ah, keep forgetting your AD.. so u will be the nx one to get married!! How's prep so far? Oh, u collected cards liao? So how? Did Fiona convey the msg to that printer?

hi win,
when will they start with the new reception area for guests to stamford rm?

Agnes, I not sure when they start, but can be done liao, cos when I went on last sat noon, gt 1 couple having lunch wedding at stamford rm using tat area, is not realli new I believed, so Fiona suggested tat I can do it tis way if there is 3 wedding on my AD, but she mentioned tat usually e 3rd couple is poolside wedding, so U know e human traffic flow lah...

wow so 3 couples using Sam Wong here in PPR, Butter one was his 1st in PPR, when I kal him & he mentioned he be adjusting his price in yr 2006. So far, there is sme changes to his t&c, pricing model as compared with his list prev, else nothing muchie changes.

agnes- met up with Fiona yest and she looked amazingly tired. She mentioned that she's been working 7 day week for the past month or so. She also said she has been ill. Asked her about the printer and she claimed she "scolded Richard for me and he felt very bad and apologise"... Like i believe hahahahaha.. anyway collected my cards liao.. thank gdness all went well... I think the cocktails at their respective ballrooms will start soon/ started? cos I saw high tables(like those you see at the pub) outside the respective ballrooms.

Win- Plan early good good! you were very clear in your description! Yes the stamford room entrance will be closed from the foyer. Mine will be at the plaza ballroom and my recep will be just outside the ballroom.... So i dun think there will be any sharing of cocktails anymore(hopefully). Anyway need help for other things just shout and we'll try to help from our experience

Maybe during jlyn's and butter's wedding recently and other couples this past sept, there have been complaints? i dunno just speculating.

So far for now there isn't any other wedding on my AD... Fiona says there might be though....

Sam Wong is great gals and guy..... really value for $$... like what butter mentioned not so ji jiao with timing. Very flexi!

Ya.. Sam is great! What I like best about him is that he kept track of the timing for us! He made sure that we never over-run the time. And during the banquet, kept reminding us that time is running out as the guests were sure to leave after the last course. Really a great guy!!! No regrets engaging him.

You gals have any videographer? I think it's good to have one... coz I really had a good laugh looking at the morning gate crashing event. And, I think it's better to have motion capture beside having still pictures...

Realli no life man, hw long can she last working continuously w/o rest? sighz. But usually after e 7th mth is peak period till e end of e yr.

esther, at least U feel 'gd' psychologically on e printer issue, hor? juz forget abt it for nw & move on to nxt phase of yr prep.

butter, I still deciding on e videography service, between professional or frn, nid to see wat I wil wan to shoot, unless it a whole dae, professional wil then nid to come into e pic, if oni for morn. gate crashing, might get frn to help out. Who did U engage for yr videography service?