Plaza Park Royal

Hi Ladies~~

Little Devil & Iris> Icic... Mine is 25 tables + 1 table (FOC using UOB card) + 1 spare.. I request 2 spare tables, but Felicia say on contract stated that if more than 30 tables then can have 2 spare.. Sian.. LOL...

Child> I also hope that they will give the flower stand, just like other hotels. But during the wedding show, I never see any. If they wanna charge, dunno how much. Faint~ Another cost to burn my pocket. LOL

Yesterday I read up one wedding magazine. It advice us to think of a colour theme first before confirm the decoration. I am thinking of purple, green or blue. Do u all think is nice for stamford ballroom?

I will not be taking the Oriental Theme as it will clash with my EG.. Dun like the Garden Theme too.... So I'm left with the last choice. I forget what is that theme called... Heheheheh...

poorteristic

Hmmm hey gals sorie a bit off side, wanna ask ar..the wedding gown tat brides wear in the mornin..must it be the same as the dinnertime wedding gown??

Hi Ching> i hope they do too......think im gg to ask felicia again when the date is nearer if nt.. we nid to tink of smting else manz,.

Hi Child, for my package, the wedding gown will the same for morning and 1st march in. You ask Felicia already and let me know k? Must save up already.

Hey Iric> Got Garden theme meh? I remember during the wedding show I've see few table decoration. Hmmm....

Ching - I wonder if U can remember seeing 3 different themes on display juz beside the stage??

As for those table deco or those different coloured table cloth, it's another issue. My coordinator told me those coloured table cloth are meant for VIP tables. So we can choose 1 out from that few (Red, Green, Gold, Purple, Black) As for the normal tables, the table cloth is somehow "beige or yellow".....

xiaocai

Hihi...
juz taken my photoshoot last weekend...super tired...

waa...the thread move faster liao...

child> $2 per sash...same as 2yrs ago when i held my ROM at park hotel orchard, same cost leh.. hmmm...mayb i only decorate alternate chairs along the asile ba... otherwise (25tables-2VIP = 23tablesx$2 = $460!!! hmmm.....still thinking...

Patricia> do upload your photos to let us see if possible...

Chingching> i tot they will provide 2-3 pairs of flower stands??? isnt that part of decoration??

Ya, there is garden theme, the one "with a lot of flowers and green leaves"..Oriental is the red one i think. One more is just bronze leaves with candles?? somethin like tat la...
Actually i like the purple table cloth but think it doesnt go v well with any of the 3 theme leh..

Iris> Hihi~ No lehz.. I never really notice it. I only get to see the diff colour table cloth only. Hehe..

Joanne> Any idea whether the stands are along the carpet or...?

If I wanna to do my own theme, any idea whether the hotel is alright with it or extra charges needed?

xiaocai

Hi chingching,

had email to felicia abt flower stands but she is on leave till next week. will update u again once she reply..

own theme?? u means all deco dun use hotel ones??

Hi Joanne> Thanks alot!! Yah... I am thinking of doing up my own theme, but not say totally dun use hotel one, but to enhance it. Hmm... if I did it, will let u all know. Haha.. anyway mine is next year July, so enough time for me to crack my brain. Hehe~

Ching - Woohoo... I like your idea... Too bad I'm already "shag" by the preparation for this Big Day.. no strength to think le....

Xiaocai - Ya.. That's the one (bronze leave).. Guess I can only take this theme.. The Garden Theme is simply not ME! Too girlish..

xiaocai

hmmm...i m thinking of adding on more deco too...felt the deco is too plain.. my mum and sis had customised their dresses to be pinkish/reddish theme. Guess i got to forgo the oriental theme too..

Iris> guess, i m the only one not "shack" by the preparation as i haven start preparing yet... haha
))
so u had taken ur photos? ready for viewing?

Shyfi> my email addy for facebk: [email protected]
but i haven upload my photos up to facebk yet leh... tis weekend then select the photos only..

xiaocai

felicia had replied my mail once she is back from her leave.. (thumbs up!!

1) Sash per chair is confirmed to be $2nett.
2) each choice of stage backdrop comes with 6 flower stands
3) Theme available:
Candle - bronze leaves as stated by iris
Garden - alot of "green leaves"
Oriental - red color..

i had checked out wif felicia too, if we want additional deco, we may contact the florist (JM creation)

hope this is useful!!

Hi ladies~

Joanne> Thanks for the info!!! It's really useful for my budget planning. LOL. If candle theme, think my parents will faint to see candles. Haha~

Pink_piglet> How's ur wedding dinner at stamford ballroom? Mine is also gg to hold there. Is the feedback from ur guests good?

Iris> Thanks~ How's ur preparation for ur big day?

Child> Yah, purple is a romantic colour. LOL...

Shyfi> Hihi, not able to PM u on my email for facebook. are u able to activate it? =)

xiaocai

Hi pink piglet, had added u in my facebk, waiting for ur approval.

Ching/iris/child, ur facebk email? or u add me in facebk? my email addy: [email protected]

so our dates at parkroyal:
Iris - 3rd oct (stamford ballroom)
Joanne - 4th oct (stamford ballroom)
Shyfi - 5th dec (?? ballroom)

ching, when urs? hmmmm anymore to add to the list??

pink_piglet

Hi Ching ching,
some feedback is that the room is a bit stuffy, aircon not strong enough.
Food wise all right for most ppl, only some commented it's a bit cold.

Hi Xiaocai, mine is on 25 July 2010~~ I have try to add u in facebk, but can't lehz. Ur email not found. Hmm...

Hi Shyfi, i've added u in my facebk~ Hee~

Hi pink_piglet> Thanks for the feedback. I will take note abt that. Keke

tinybear83

I am new here...i will be holding my dinner at park royal too. My date will be on 5 Dec 2010 at plaza ballroom.

Shyfi and pink_piglet>i have added u in fb...hope u dun mind.

xiaocai

Hi all..

so to update:
Iris - 3rd oct 2009 (stamford ballroom)
Joanne - 4th oct 2009 (stamford ballroom)
Shyfi - 5th dec 2009 (plaza ballroom)
Ching Ching - 25th july 2010 (?? ballroom)
tinybear83 - 5th dec 2010 (plaza ballroom)

heehee...i will be having food tasting with felicia on 1st week of aug.. will update u all

xiaocai

Hi pink piglet>
ur photos are so nicely taken!! and u look so thin huh... me fat fat...

thanks for uploading the photos to share w us!!

Hi patricia>
had added u in my fb...waiting for ur approval...

Hi ching ching and tinybear83> wats ur facebk email huh?? i try adding u...

xiaocai

Hi patricia, ur photos are nicely taken leh!!

btw, the wedding cake is the fake cake that parkroyal provided right? u did some "decoration" izit? it look abit different..

Hi tinybear83, added u in my fb, waiting for ur approval..

pkahchu

Have added all of you.

Joanne: yah the wedding cake is the fake cake you have mentioned. We didnt do any decoration. And the cake was so hard to cut lor...

Congrats and Happy Preparations for the ladies who are having their banquet at PPR

mosaich2t

Hi little_devil,

I just had my food tasting on 7 Aug 09.

See link below for photos of the food and comments =).
http://mosaic.multiply.com/photos/album/2/Food_Tasting_at_Parkroyal_on_Beach_Road_on_7_Aug_2009#

The most recommended dish is still the green curry prawns. The only dish which every1 says is good. =D

The hot cold platter's dory fish taste better than I expected. =D

All the other dishes so-so; pretty standard.

Not recommended to go for the fried udon. I wanted to try something new and in the end most dun find this dish nice. So most probably changing to ee-fu noodle.

Service wise, food were served timely. However Felicia just escorted us to the room and then went mia. Didnt follow us thru the entire session. When its done, she din even sent us off.

Also our dinner was held in the left partitioned Plaza Ballroom while their staff were still setting up the room for another event. It wasnt a private room but just anyhow place a table near the entrance and eat there. Looks so miserable lohz. Dun even noe if its really Marina Room as stated in the dinner menu. =/

xiaocai

My apologies to all, i forgotten to bring my camera that day...so no photos taken

However, the food quality and hotness for the food tasting is not really up to my expectations. (quite disappointing)

anyway, my food is as follows:

1. Hot and cold combination
Chicken Money Bag - not bad
Mini Octopus - abit too big for "mini"
Fried Shark's Fin Omelette - seemed like omelette with bean sprouts instead of sharkfin
Prawn Salad - doesnt taste fresh, fruits are canned fruits
spicy top shell - soso only

2.Braised shark's fin soup with crabmeat - taste normal but not much shark fin.
take note the vignear served is red instead of the normal dark brown

3.Roasted crispy chicken - not crispy, abit tasteless

4.Steam coral garoupa in superior soya sauce - ok, but served not hot, just a but warm when served to us.

5.Steam prawn (not really nice)
thinking to change or not..

6.Braised sea cumcumber with assorted vegetables -the dish tasted ok but sea cumcumber (the main indigrient) is really hard!!! cant bite!!

7. Braised Black Mushroom with seasonal greens - seemed normal, mayb changing to bailing mushroom (look like abalone but not la)

8. fried seafood udon in black pepper sauce - not really nice, seemed like "rojak leftover carrot, green pepper etc" fried w udon
-changing this to rice instead

9.Walnut paste with glutinous rice ball - ok, not bad, at least its hot..

mosaich2t

Hi Joanne,

Wow what a small world! .. aiya .. pai seh, I didnt see u ... but i did walk pass a small function room (crawford room or stg - i think) where they also set up a dinner table there .. guess u had urs there? =)

If steam prawn not nice, u can consider the green curry prawn .. its the more outstanding dishes ... the prawns are very big! haha

Is ur crispy chicken the one with spicy salt & crackers , or same as mine (lemongrass with honey)? I'm thinking of changing it ..

Ha .. seems like the fried seafood udon doesnt go too well for everyone.

xiaocai

Hi Linda,

btw, when is ur wedding banquet? at plaza ballroom or stamford??

ya, we are at the small room - crawford room.. But the room is super hot even though aircon was on full blast.. till abt 6-7th dish the aircon was ok..think it need 30min-45min for warm up ba..but felicia did told me beforehand that she wont be with us for our food tasting, only came down to say hi and pass me carpark coupon...

my mum is afraid the green curry prawn isnt nice, dun dare to change leh (actually i also wana try the dish
) really very nice??
Btw, the dish has green curry sauce below the prawn izit??

the crispy chicken is with salt and crackers. crackers very nice and crispy but the chicken isnt crispy lo..i check with felicia liao, she told me the chicken is not crispy one, is "like tat one.."

fried udon, ya lo, not really nice...like rojak.. haa~~

mosaich2t

Mine's on 10 Oct at Plaza Ballroom

guess its a norm tht the coordinator wun be ard then ...

yup taste good ... they fry the prawns and trickle the sauce (tastes sweet) over the prawns .. stg different ... not the usual dish .. and looks presentable .. i initially tot it will be a messy dish with green curry all over haha ..

how bad was the steam prawn? if not that bad .. maybe just go with ur mom's wishes ... steam one more healthy

ohh think must be same as mine then -_-" .. actually for mine, the chicken tasted ok ... like those cold storage roasted bbq chicken .. meat is soft not hard .. but i was expecting those cui4 pi2 ji1 ... funny tot suppose to be crispy ha ...

Linda> Thank for uploading the photos!! Kinda bit disppointed with the comments and presentation of the food, espcially the yam paste~ So sian.. LOL.. The green curry prawn has always be the popular dish mention in this forum, think I gonna take that dish le. LOL..

Joanne> Does the glutinous rice ball has any filling? Is the rice ball enough for everyone? Hee~

Ladies - Wow, so most already had food-tasting... Me yet fix the date... only can do in during the 7th Lunar Month le =)

During the food-tasting, we get to taste all the food right?? How long will it take overall??

Time is running out le... Me realise still alot of "knots" not tied up.... Will be going to JB to print inserts tomorrow....

xiaocai

hee~~ just came back from my hubby hometown..shack...

Linda> 10thoct--is my actual day
but cos my hubby is malaysian so my actual day is in malaysia instead. 4thoct is for my side relatives and our friends..

for the prawns, i requested to have "drunken prawns instead of the normal steam prawns" but the druken prawns have no "soup" {outside drunken prawns steamed then soaked in herbal soup"
I checked w felicia she told me their drunken prawns-during marinating then use the "wine" so no soup served at all...But eat the prawns also got no "wine" taste - "not drunken at all" seem like anyhow stir stir then take out from the wine from marinating lo...

ya lo, the chicken we also expected the chui pi one... tats y feel quite disappointed

ching ching> the glutinous rice ball has peanuts filling. But normally people will cook in red bean paste instead of walnut.. its quite special la..my parents they all said not bad..
ya, enough for 12bowls with 2 each at least..
(i got 12pax for the food tasting)

actually the food potion are big.. but dun expect very fantastic food taste, just normal "zhu chao" taste lo.. or mayb my expectations too high??? ;)
duno leh, i looked forward to the food tasting but after tasted the food, i felt quite disappointed especially most of the food served is not hot lo...

xiaocai

waaa...iris...long time never "see" u in this thread liao lo...

so Linda, what theme and favors had u chosen?

i chosen the purple table cloth so felicia said the backgroung is the garden one lo..
favor-tentatively we chosen the pair of stirers (spelt like that?? seemed like wrong spelling...)
if change then we will choosing the saucer lo...

xiaocai

forgotten to answer iris...

iris, u gota let ur coordinator know from each of the category, what dish u had chosen (e.g. out of the 8-9 cold dish selection, choose 5 to taste; out of the 4 different shark fin soup, choose 1 of them for food tasting) then they will prepare accordingly. so it will be a full 9course dinner lor...served with chinese tea.
my family went at 8pm, finished abt 10pm or so..(abt 2hrs) but of cos got talk talk abt GDL etc..so drag drag abit lor..

so u are taking the hotel invitation cards? i got from JB-card plus inserts plus envelopes...
cos din really like the hotel ones....

mosaich2t

busy busy over these few days .. met Felicia on Fri to submit our comments for food tasting and select decor etc .. and finally get to select my PS photos yest =)

Felicia took our feedback very seriously .. and gave recommendations e.g. yam paste with pumpkin, she advised rather than mashing in (color may look wierd), she will ask the chef to cut the pumpkin into smaller cubes and add in ginko nuts, so as to improve the presentation (hope it will)

Joanne > Holding two dinners must be even more exhausting .. I'm alr tired out preparing for just one

I chose the Candle Theme.

For VIP centerpiece I chose the one with candle stand that has the leave design as it matches the Candle Theme; was torn between that and the other candle stand that has big candles =P

For the table cloth .. we could choose lavender (pinkish) or gold. Chose gold cos it looks classier but one bad thing is tht .. it will be too common ..

For the Floral type, I chose roses (the gerbera is totally out haha)

For wedding favor, I got the Stirrer pair too, but I mixed with the Wishes coaster (the heart shape glass coaster). The stirrer looks pretty, cute and classy as a gift .. but not tht practical cos its glass .. fragile to be used as a stirrer .. thought very long before deciding on the stirrer as it matches the best with the coaster as both are glass.

Hmm .. we got only 7 favors to choose from .. but if you have a particular favor that you want, I think Felicia can chk with her vendor if there's still stock.

mosaich2t

Ha post more than 20 mins cannot edit ...

Just to add, think saucer is more oriental? So I didnt choose tht .. If saucer, den I will mix with tea cup =P