Plaza Park Royal

padi

Hi Carey
27th May 06. Call Fiona or Felicia to get tickets.

doggy_gal

Fiona just called me. Apparently the actual carpet for the ballroom came in and there's no yellow colour on it. The photo she sent me previously was a sample. So the actual thing is just green.

padi

Hi Agnes, did you get to see the new ballroom? Hmm..Green huh. Should be nice huh.

Hi Meifang, Rachel and those going for the wedding show: Have you received news about the tickets for the show?

doggy_gal

Hi Hui,

Nope i've not seen the ballroom. However Fiona did mention that there's a function this sunday. So may drop by to take a look.

Btw, Fiona got the carpets mixed up. Now she says there's yellow again. Think it's best to see the actual ballroom for ourselves to really know how it looks.

brink_79

Am going to the wedding show too. Unfortunately, these are the details I got from Fiona. If they are bringing you in, you cannot enjoy the spread of food and lucky draw unless you pay the $15.00.
All lucky draws are only for paid person going for the wedding show.
Then the second and third lucky draw is for those who have booked with them previously and for people who confirm their booking that day.

emax

Hi everyone.. yesterday i went to PPR to collect my invitation from Felicia. PPR has really changed quite alot.. maybe some of u have seen the new lobby. It really look more posh! In future, we can have our signage on the plasma tv in the lobby as well as those along the corridor to the ballrooms.
i also went to see the newly renovated stamford room which is my AD ballroom. Needless to say, it has become much nicer than in the past.. the march in aisle seems to be abit longer.. i'm quite satisfied wif it in general.

janna

Hi ladies!

my AD was on the 29th April and according to Fiona, we were e 1st couple to use that Plaza ballroom after the reno!

they only managed to finish e reno on e28th in fact!

trust me all pretty PPR brides here, the ballrooms n in fact the whole hotel looks really nice, esp. e lobby, it's really posh! heh!

received feedback from relatives n friends that food portion was big n yummy too!

the operations manager Roy and Capt Thomas will also ensure that we're all in safe hands as we could see that they really try their best to esure that everything run smoothly, esp. e screening of the montage n also e karaoke system as my hubby n I did a duet for our 2nd march-in.

there were alot of unsettled problems initially during e wedding but they tried their best n all was settled! really impressed with PPR!

intending to write them a compliment letter! =)

padi

Hi Janna!! So glad to hear good feedback! Which ballroom did you use? Did you have 8 course or 9 course? Was the sound system ok? Lightings? Was it white light or orangey yellow light?

Sorry ah so many questions.

I'm really glad to have chosen this place, so many good feedback.

janna

Hiyee Hui!

u so excited until u nv read properly liao lah! me said in the first sentence that we used the Plaza ballroom mah..heehee!

we had a 8course dinner and the sound system was in fact quite good..but definitely not those Bose system standard ya..haha.

the lightings was orangey yellow light if i din rem wrongly..but was quite bright too, not too glaring yet feels romantic! haha

but one thing to take note of is that e pillars in the Plaza ballroom are now squarish, unlike e round ones previously. thus it actually blocks quite a bit of view if u've got too many tables.

in my case, i had 35 tables but as i wanted a 2 door separately for groom n bride march-in, e aisle on each side could only accomdate 3 tables instead of 4 on each side..so in e end, some guests' view were blocked.

rem that if either or ballroom is not occupied, request for an additional LCD projector FOC..it would be of better view for all guests for ur cutesy-pretty montage! heheee

padi

Hi Janna! Oh dear I must be too excited. Hahaha. So blind :p I booked for Stamford room cos I am looking at about 28 tables only.
Is the deco the same??

Great that is orangey yellow light! Cos if the lighting is too white will look like market place. :p

So 8 course is enough to fill our guests huh.
Yea thats great! Okok will remember to ask if the other ballroom is not occupied. Though I am pretty sure it'll be since mine is a hot date.
Thanks for your feedback! Where are you going for honeymoon?

brink_79

Hi Janna,

Yes you are the first one to use the ballroom. I saw Fiona a few weeks ago and she told me they have to finish the renovation by then so that the couple can have the wedding.
Can you share your photos with me as I have not seen the new ballroom yet as that time I went, it was having renovation.

Thanks. My email:[email protected]

padi

Hi Glad! The ballrooms are not pillarless. Got 2 in each ballroom if I am not wrong. Will have to confirm with the rest of them.

Hi Janna if it's ok with you can I see your pix too?

rachelkoh

Hi Janna,

Really glad to see so many good comments. Looking forward to my wedding early next yr at PPR
I think that's what every bride wishes

Garfield, both ballrooms have pillars.

padi

Hi all! I went to PPR to take a look at the ballrooms today.
The lobby looks great as emax shared. Very classy. The walkway to the ballroom on the 4th floor now has some woody like of designs quite nice. As for the ballrooms, they changed the lights (yea!) and the carpet. The pillars in Plaza ballroom has been changed squarish as Janna mentioned. Quite nice lah.

I'm happy with the new look. Very excited. But my AD still long long to go. So gotta wait patiently.

moonylove

hi ppl... im oso interested in plaza park royal n happen to gt the contact no and later goin down to view ballroom... haha... im abit gan cheong hor?? but looks really attractive leh... ;P

padi

Hi Moon, not gan cheong at all, good things must act fast. So you are right in making a fast move. Hahaha.

Do let us know what you think after visiting!

moonylove

hey ppl!!
im really glad dat ive gone down to the hotel... though the ballroom is nt really dat 'wow' feelin but can b compare wif the Grand plaza's n i personally felt its better den the furama city centre. but wat attracts us most is the offer!! met up wif Fiona... mm... she looks abit 'dao' lah but i dun find her rude. but after awhile she starts to b friendier... so i supposed its her character. the menu seems gd too... so we might be goin down to sign the package soon... hehe

Hui : same as u... we made a tentive bookin at the stamford room cos we r only having 28tables. at 1st i wanted the plaza room but after goin hm n tink it thru... like a bit empty leh... stamford room more cosy... ;)

padi

Hi Moon: When is your AD?
Ya Stamford ballroom is cosier, plus you can draw up the curtains an have a garden view.
I'm thinking of having my cocktail in the garden.

moonylove

Hui : 13th June 07... hehe... i check the online tong shu it says its nt a gd day for marriage but dis date was given by a shi fu who use mine n hubby's 8 zi to calculate... haiz... dunno hw... i tink im like aunt lor... haha

janna

Hiyyeeee pretty brides to be!

So sorry for the late replies..I've just collected my photos from my photographer yesterday thus will need some time when i'm free den i'll upload all into the comp k? give me a few days time den i'll email to you ladies.

Hui: my hubby n I are intendin to go to Europe, probably in Nov or Dec if by then my AAL is confirmed by my company..hehee

padi

Hi Moon: No lah not aunty. We want the best for the beginning of the rest of our lives with our love ones mah. ;)

Hi Janna: Europe! Wow. So fun.
Going Paris?? Then can have romantic dinner right smacked in a romantic city. Hehehe. I can't wait for time to pass so that my AD can come soon. :p

moonylove

hi brink_79,

mm... we haven sign up wif dem leh... cos nw we r stuck bet plaza n furama city centre... but we've tok to Fiona n she is giving wat the wedding show is giving oso lor... but no waiver of wine corkage. den tel u all hor... guessed im wrong abt wat u all said abt fiona... mm... dunno izit bcos of her character... but she doesnt seems interested lor... i asked whether can try to waive off some of the wine but she gif mi a straight no... n said dat to tok on coming sat (we r supposed to go down n view the ballroom) ;(

padi

Hi Moon, sometimes Fiona gives people the impression that she is arrogant. I think its also because of people who keeps pressing her to give perks (for good reasons of cos as we want value for $$!). But she's really nice when you meet her face to face.
I've noticed that most people do not get to negotiate for more perks as their package is quite standard.
And very comprehensive already.

Don't let that deter you ya? Do give PPR a try.
I think you will like it.

his_her

Hay Ladies!

I also experience bad encounter with Fiona. Like Moon has mentioned she reli BC = bo cham... hahaha... Hui u got a point but to be frank that's her job or rather responsiblity mah. She cant expect pple go there dun sign. Marriage is not a CHEAP tingy leh.

Any way me never sign up with them.... in fact I went to 3 places, Amara, PPR and Changi Village. Ended up I chosen the most expensive 1, Changi. Not I got $$$ wow but at least the co-ordinator set me at ease. I reli cant trust someone so "see high no see low" to prepare my wedding.... BTW Y I commented this cos that day when I went to meet her I and my hubby to be were wearing reli casual. Whether she got judge, up to u to decide. Hee....

moonylove

hui : ya lah wat u said might b true... but the waive of wine corkage is the one n only one item we requested... in the end i decided to change to Felicia...

the reason y im stuck bet furama city centre n PPR is bcos even though furama is alittle x den PPR but the co-ordinator is really v v nice lor... she took down our requests n said dat she will try her best to fight for us... n she did! abit touched by her actions lor... hehe... dats y... but again mayb dats fiona's character... ;)

moon moon : hehe... mi too wearing casual... my hubby wear a berms... mayb dats y oso lor... ;P

padi

Hi Moon and Moon Moon:
So cute haha. I got mixed up for a while.

I was also wearing casual (I wore jeans), my FH was also wearing berms when we signed and visited the place. I guess maybe its a mismatch. Or she may be experiencing some bad days. True that its her job, I guess it may be tough to be banquet managers. I tried to ask for wavier of wine corkage too she didn't give in. It seems like its across the board.

I've heard good stuff about Furama too! Do check it out soon though! I hear from other brides they are checking the place too!

janna

Hi moon

my coordinator was Fiona too. I can tell u tat she is like what u described, nothing's neg. with her somehow..in fact, one thing i was quite upset wif her was tat i told her clearly i wanted the spiral wedding cake n i was looking forward to seein it on the AD. she took note of it n said okie, no problem at all. Note that she said NO PROBLEM AT ALL.

guess what, during my march in, i did not get to see my "dream" cake..but just a normal wedding cake!!! I felt so damn upset cos i was really lookin forward to it.

when i signed my package with PPR, it was actually Yvonne who was my coordinator..but she left n Fiona took over. At then, Yvonne is really accomdating.

You might wan to try negiotating with Fiona, tell her that u exchange your free flow of beer (if yours is free flow) for 2 barrels of 30litres beer and get her to waive off the wine corkage charges. that was exactly what I did and i tell you, i had 35tables n lotsa drinkers but all was enough.

one thing i must make clear is that I neg. this with Yvonne and not Fiona..so I duno if she'll agree to it anot.

I feel it is not much of a problem cos moreover that time when I signed with Yvonne, i still got $28 dollars off each table and still manage to get this done. dont see why Fiona cant do it.

go down personally to PPR..meet up with her then discuss all these. dun do it on the fone cos she's not that approachable on the fone. but once in person, she actually not too bad still.

hope aLL these helps!

moonylove

hui : ya... ive heard furama nt bad... dats y nw we r like stucked bet both... lolx... but somehw i still likes plaza's food leh... hehe... mayb more selection ba...

janna : hihi... mm... is the yvonne who served u last time nw @ furama?? lolx... cos @ furama i met one yvonne she v cute n v nice lor... i agreed dat she might b alittle better when mit up but mm... mayb dunno lah... gt abit 'pian jian' ba... hehe... so u held ur wedding liao ar??

his_her

HI Moon!

Moon Moon here... so u still using PPR? Can switch 1 mah? But any way me never sign up lah cos Fiona give me bad experience.... Hee.... anyway good luck to u.... make sure u must remind them.

Janna, dun be sad.....
At least u get u DREAM hubby! Hee....

sirwin

helo all,

for those who have a UOB credit card, 1st 50 callers can call up 62908080 (PPR) for a complimentary wedding show entry on the 27th May, so hurry! Give PPR another chance...haha.

For the record, my AD wil be sept tis yr at stamford rm, coordinator is Fiona, signed in 2005 for 2006 pkg. So far I find her realli ok, know her 'style' liao so build my expectation of her alreadi, her accomodating factor is still there I believed...;)

janna

moon: hiyee...me duno where yvonne went to, she juz simply left suddenly w/o informing. i did haf a bad impression of Fiona initially till I met her..she was okie and then I told her straight in the face that I din haf a good impression of her over e fone cos she sounded unapproachable. she explained that saying she was busy n stuffs lah...subsquently meetings was okie liao. yup, held my weddin on the 29th april..frankly speaking, i would love to go through the whole wedding again with my hubby! really enjoyed it alot!

moon moon: hi there moon moon, me no sad liao..haha. yup! got my goody hubby! lol!

hui: i agree with you that felicia is really nice too! she's really experienced n very accomdating too!

moonylove

Rachel : hihi... mm... i haven really met her but over the fone ive told her my concern she said juz ask mi to buy 6bottles of their house wine for show only as there are company they tied up wif n the rest of my wines will b corkage free... dunno izzit worth anot leh...

moon moon : i really dunno m i still using PPR... hehe... still waiting to c their bridal suite... or can anyone show mi the photo for the bridal suite... cos i wanna b fair to FCC... they haf been v v nice lor... n the best thing is their suite is v v big lor... hehe... sorry huh i noe dis is PPR thread but... ;P

janna : hi gal... mayb u can email mi the pic of ur bridal suite?? was waiting for dem to let mi c leh... but til nw still dun haf... was worrying that if that day there is another couple getting marry den hw huh?? wont it b messy n in chaos?? cos mayb the guests dunno wher to go... n the reception will b opp each other rite?? -_-"

my email ==> [email protected]