Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

bear

There will be a bridal show at Plaza hotel this coming Sat, 7th Feb 2004.
Those interested can check out last fri's 'today' paper.

I've read some good & bad comments abt this hotel but I guess thats how everything goes rite? Hmm....

Hi Elaine,
If ur still active in this thread, can u kindly further elaborate on the stuff that went wrong with ur wedding there? At least those who had booked already can looked out for these loopholes..

hi KK,
Seems like ur a satisfied guest in Plaza? Nice to hear..... so anymore nice or bad things?

WEll, those who had intended to take up Plaza, any advice or suggestions as to why or wat?

I have been to Plaza lately to view their ballroom, there were 2 weddings at the same night & I must say that the foyer is indeed a little small but i still think its ok as there are 2 seperate tables & different table top wedding photos displayed so ur guests will know la....
The sales person is way Good! I must say, she put us at ease & can easily blend in nicely, chatting away.....
in fact, alot of the dates are all fully booked up by Plaza, I mean they are like having wedding almost every other day!

fel

Hi skylar,

i'm hving my wedding at plaza hotel but hv yet to see the actual setup for the ballrm. any comments as to the layout of the ballrm? were the tables arranged closly to one another? so do u intend to sign up with plaza?

Hi Fel,

Well, when I went the other time, I managed to see the setup for both the ballrooms coz there are 2 weddings together lor..... & the best thing is that both ballroom are set up differently so its even the best man!!

Well, both looks alrite, it depends on the no. of tables u have leh, coz if u have too many tables in the small ballroom, then it will be packed lor, otherwise, everything is hey ok!

Yes, I have intended too! =)
What abt u?

fenix

I've attended the Bridal show on 7th Feb. Must say the deco did leave a good impression on bf n I. So we booked. We're holding our banquet on 12 nov,at the Stamford ballroom cos we've only got 20 tables. I really would like to hear more feedback fr anyone. Based on food offered that day, i find the standard rather good. But I'm not expecting the same standards cos menu is diff, so is qty. More or less similar, n its satisfactory liao. Afterall, it's 1 of our choices...

Hi Fenix,

So u have attended the Bridal show eh? Well, I missed it though, so u have already booked with them? 20 tables eh? well, for the menu, i think alot of it is based on wat ur choices are rite? So who did u booked with? how was their attitude? Good? btw, how much did u book for the pkg?

fel

hi skylar,

i've already signed up with them last yr. my wedding will be mid of this yr. we'll be using the plaza ballrm.

fel

Hi Fel,

So i see, then u must really have like wat u saw in the Bridal show eh! so care to share with us ur pkg perks etc.... too?
Thanxs!

scribblez

Hi Fenix,

Care to share with us what extra perks you got at the Bridal show? I missed it! *sob sob*

Has anyone ever been to a wedding with 40 tables or more at the Plaza Ballroom? I'm considering this location but am concerned abt the room between tables if we have .

Thanks in advance for everyone's input!

fenix

Hi Skylar,

Yes, we booked with them. Signed with Johnathan Lim. There's this offer of 8% off wkday pkg & 5% off wkend pkg if we sign up that very day. So all the more, it's a very attractive offer. There's corkage charges for wine. Free flow beer. So he asked us to give up the free flow and he threw in 2 x 20l barrel beer and 10 bots of wine. Each add'l bot will be $30 nett. which is fair enough. cos maybe if we got cheaper wine fr outside, plus corkage, comes to abt 30 or even more. I saw there's 0% instalment for some credit cards, but din notice which one. Cos I suppose I was captivated by the 8%/5% disc
. So was busy calculating the disc we could have if we sign up tat very day. I think besides that... no other add'l perks were given.

Hi Fenix!

That was a great deal! Cool.... well at least the little discount does comes a long way man! yah, i believe alot of cards has got this 0%installments plans but have to check which is which.
So u had already book for how many tables ah? btw, when is ur AD? so how much did u paid already for the first payment?
Me also very interested in Plaza....

fenix

Halo Skylar

We dun have many... only 20 tables. So we'd be holding our dinner in the Stamford room. My AD is 11 nov (thurs-deepavali). But cos the next day everyone gotta work, so we decided to hold the dinner on 12 nov. We paid $2k deposit. I think that's quite standard.

How bout you? When is yr AD?

hi Fenix!

Well, i was also looking at about 20 too but then now like got about 25 liao.... sigh.... add & add lor, i wanted something small & cozy...
hmmm... my AD not picked yet but we thot of Sept lor btw, ur stamford room is it the one where u will need to like walk up a little flight of steps one?
So wat about the room given? & also like perhaps the gifts for guest etc??

fenix

hi Skylar,

Yes... Stamford room is the one with a small flight of steps from the entrance. Its kinda unique actually, cos the march-in will be up the stairs, then a little L-shape before reaching the stage.

As stated in the pkg, for my 20 tables, oni entitled to Deluxe Room. Not bridal suite
. And the wedding favour, they have heart-shaped chocolates or chopsticks. We chose chopsticks lor.
Ur AD is this Sept? How come u still haven't booked yet? I tot me booking this yr for coming Nov04 wedding already not very in advance, cos some of my frens book >1yr ahead. Esp so for those fav hotels like Pan pac, Marina Mand etc. Have u gotten yr bridal pkg? May I ask which one?

Hi Fenix,
ya lor... i know a little late liao but still see see first lor..... hmmm... i quite like stamford room too! coz of the little stairs up & also the whole ambience very cosy lor... nice feeling, rather than those big big cold cold ballroom, not very nice! =p
for my BS, confirmed already... wat abt u?
me already went for my first appt, but not done yet.... urs leh? so u confirmed on 20 tables liao?

fenix

Hi Skylar

I agree with you that the Stamford room is indeed 1 that gives a cosy feeling. Yes, we have confirmed our 20 tables liao. Signed and thumb-printed (hehe... jus kidding on this one)

Me signed up with Bridal Concept. (all done on the day when plaza held the bridal fair tog with BC lor.) everything all settled in 1day. Abit too fast, but at least we are glad we did. If not, my FH always OT OT, dunno when will go shop for BS. Wat bout u? Which BS is yrs?

Hi Fenix,

well at least u settled everything liao, got another thing off ur mind to do lor,,, me also done liao but diff day lah, my BS is White Link, have u gone for ur 1st appt already? coz ur AD also Sept rite? must start gg liao, i have already done with my 1st appt, waiting for the 2nd one soon

so u cfm ur 20 tables liao ah? me still thinking lor but agree with u that the stamford room very nice & cosy! good choice u made there! =)

fenix

Hi Skylar,

We are glad that we have gotten dinner and BS settled! Our AD is in Nov, not Sept
. Still early to go for 1st appt lar. WL is a good choice. Got a fren who's oso with WL. Her AD next Sat 6 March.

I wish you all the best in deciding yr banquet. If u do sign up with Plaza, let me know, surely glad to know 1 more Plaza bride.

Sure thing Fenix!

will let u know when i am done! heheehe...
coz now bz with the bridal things more....
keep me updated should u find out anything new in Plaza ya!

elaineong5

dear all, skylar

well i'm am a vey unhappy bride with plaza last year. i do not wish to elaborate more to bring up my unhappness. but just to let u ppl here know some of the thing tat happen so that all of u will not tat worry.

well the food tasting is definetly better then the actual day. lot of my guest commemded tat the food taste awfully, all are serve cold and not hot. i was so upset and embrasse. i book with them becos hear a lot of ppl comment that food was nice but all turn out to be oppsite.
if 2 wedding together the lobby will be very crowded and messy like a market place, and the co-ordinator will be split to plan 2 wedding and lot of problem will arise....... i do not wish to say wat u happen.
I can say tat i am a happy bride during the day but a very sad and nearly burst into tear bride during the banquet.

tat all i can say. good luck to those who had book with them

hi Elaine,

Well, i symptize with u really, but can u care to tell us more & elaborate on the unhappy things that happen??? at least all of us here can beware.

as for the food, hot but served cold??? Gosh!! u all should have made a complaint there & then coz u will also get to eat some food at the AD too rite?

btw, who was ur coodinator & the person in charge of ur wedding?

bao

I have book with Plaza, yesterday i went for food tasting, i am kinna dissappointed with their $560 food, all the food is suck!!, too salty, wrong combination of food served. i aunty commented, the yam shouldn't cook with chilli, pork shouldn't cook with mushroom, all the mixture is very bad. i was so depress but no choice, as i have sign with them.

we complaint to the captain, she say the banquet chief and restaurant chief is different, the hotel just use their restaurant for food tasting (si chuan dou hua). i'm really worried about my banquet.

tomolo i will talk to the banquet manager, see how is she gonna help us.

amyab

My wedding is in May (Plaza Ballroom)abt 42tables and I had attended my cousin's wedding in March this year (sTamford room).

My cousin's wedding everything went smoothly any everyone commented that the food was nice.They chosen the 560 one and changed some dishes and each table cost abt 600. They had their food tasting in the restaurant and the food sucks...

I will be changing some dishes first before i do my food tasting.The guy in charge will arrange the banquets chef to cook the food during the tasting rather than go to the restaurant(different chef different taste)

jasc

I'm new to this forum. I'm planning for my wedding in Jan05 and quite certain that I would sign up with Plaza for the banquet of about 25 or more tables using Stamford Ballroom. Can anyone share their experience when negotiate for extra perks, something that you might have missed out and you would like to include.

Amy, do you pay for extra to have the Banquet Chef to prepare for the food tasting?

amyab

Hi JasC,

you don have to pay extra for the banquets chef to do the food tasting.They will be the ones doing the cooking on the actual day so it will be more accurate.

bao

i'm back!! everything is over. now i can share with u guys my experience with Plaza hotel. I would give good rating for this hotel.
1. the suit room is nice and big.
2. food - feedback from guests - good and better than food tasting
3. service for VIP table is very good
4. organiser is friendly and helpful
5. they will pack the food for bride and groom after banquet. (ask them to heat-up before send to ur room)

remember to bring ur potrait picture. Coz i didn't know got such stand for that.

overall I'm quite satisfied with this hotel.

remember to check the bill before payment, coz they charge the reserve table which we closed.

Advice:- get ur helper to co-ordinate and if possible closed the 2 reserved table which is not chargeble if u didn't open. We have made a mistake by not inform our helper on this. however we manage to closed one table. and save $$

Hi Bao!
Congrats!! so everything is finally over eh! Glad that everything turn out smoothly for you!!
And also the overall of the hotel was Good too!!
will take note of the reserved tables tat u mentioned, so any pixs for us to peek eh?

Wishing you happy marriage!

bao

Felicia, but than she was hospitalised before our wedding, then this Nally take over. Both are quite helpful

My is Felicia too, i find her very helpful too! She is back from her hospitalization already

Butter,
that will depends on whether its the standard pkg or do u want to have ur dishes changed as these will all add up the cost too! maybe u can try calling up the hotel to check?

Hi Skylar,
Emailed Plaza this morning and Felicia had already sent me their wedding package. Any idea whether do they have any LCD projector for me to use? :)

jasc

Hi butterkiss

Understand that the hotel itself does not provide the projector but could assist to source one with a cost.

hi butter,
so u using the projector ah? have not check with them yet, but since u already had, then i also think $150 alrite lah hor?

btw, when is ur Ad?

Hi skylar,
My AD will be next yr June 25 (still long way)... but we are a bit kiasu, so will be placing our deposit this coming weekend... just went to see Felicia last Sat... very friendly and funny lady... :)
When is your AD??

cynfei

hi. like to check whether plaza parkroyal ball room will be too cramped for 45 tables? anyone who have attended wedding there with this many tables? the ballroom does not look spacious enough... though their max capacity is 48...

Hi butter,
my AD is this coming Sept lor..... really so many things to do!!

Hi Cynfei,
if u take the bigger ballroom, I would think its ok, for 45 tables coz its meant for 48, then like dat at least not too cramped up & more cozy lor, if ur ballroom too big lor, looks like very empty leh....

Hello skylar,
You are taking the smaller ballroom?
I just went there for a wedding dinner last Sat.... The food portion is huge and it's nice!
Take the yam paste as the dessert... It's bery unique and according to Felicia, it's not easy for the kitchen staff to prepare... hee hee... It's not like the usual yam paste we always have....

Which AD photographer did you engage?

tiewster

SKYLAR!!! U took ur package from Plaza too?? keekekekek.... same same ley!....by the way...do u all know that the Suite is under renovation & wld not be ready till Dec????

tiewster

hi butter

yes it wld affecting us...but then again hor.. what cld be done?? sighz... They offered us 2 attaching rooms to us...but we decided we just take a normal room....wait till they renovated the suites liao....find another day we go back to enjoy a full day with my wife lor....

what abt u:?? wld it affect u??

oh... so, they will "compensate" u after that...
For me, never affect me coz my AD will be next year June... When is yours?
Felicia told me lots of stuff about the bridal suite the other day... Never really pay attention coz it doesn't affect me... But I think she was saying the "stand-by" suites which she will be giving will not be as big as the original one...
Are you using the bigger ballroom?