Plaza Hotel at Beach Road

Hi xiong,
Ur BS not providing the ROM dress?
Get them to loan u a simple tea dress... then u can save up a bit...

Oh... ya... the brides here are rather quiet these days... hee hee... think I am the only chatty one.. :p

jlyn

Hi hi, the old chatty one is here..heehee.. Spoke to Esther earlier.. she sure is enjoying and relaxing at the hotel after her AD. Other than the pouring rain last nite, guessed things went on well during her AD. Let's wait for her to update us then.

Xiong, Vincent was my co-ordinator also. He's great! My AD was on 9 Sept 05..after AD like nothing to talk leh. Still comes in once in a while.. nobody asks anything so went to other threads to see see look look lor. Just pose ur questions here.. the helpful ex-PPR brides will definitely come in and help ;p

Win, is your AD a hot date? If there is another wedding on the same day, you may want to consider an alternative place for cocktail just in case if it rains. Imagine having all the guests cramp up at the common area (bet the 2 ballrms).

agnesguan

Hello.. how come all come to this thread? I went to the 'Plaza' one this morning.. yup, shall wait for esther's updates.. I think mine will be the nx one.. 10Dec.. btw, I went dwn last evening, saw reno works at the lobby... dunno when will it end..

crayola

HI EVERYONE!!!!!!!

I'm back from my 2 day stay at the hotel! The massage was fantastic!

Everything went great and the operations manager Glen and Kriss and of cos not to mention Fiona were fantastic! The AGM was there too, to make sure that everything went well.... The only thing was that it rained cats and dogs at 4pm and my solemnisation was supposed to be held at the pavillion but had to change to ballroom sigh.....

But they were so efficient and accomodating and did everything to the best they can. Majority of my guests told my parents that everything was great! Haven't had the chance to speak to my friends yet to find out how did everything go but i know that there was a lot of food wasted cos the portions were huge!

Dinner started at 830, ended about 1130....

My advice is to make sure you have an efficient coordinator and not worry about anything! That's what i did and all went well.

I had 2 tables empty(41 tables turned up) and they sent the food up to my room after. Hell of a lot of food! I have 4 bottles of hotel wine left and another 8 from my BYO wine. Guests loved the beer they were all raving about it!

All in all we are very happy with everything! Dunno what else to write here so post a question here and will try my best to answer... AM in dream mode now..... Still high from the wedding.... hahahhaha..

Holding another wedding dinner today for my dad's muslim colleagues and those who couldn't make it on Thursday. HAHAHA... dunno anyone for today's dinner...

Chat with you guys soon!

Xiong- we are just as chatty here

agnesguan

Hi esther,
Congrats first!! Great to hear from u and everything went well.. your package comes with 2 nights stay? How nice!!
Wah.. did u n hubby finish the two tables' portion of food? Going for HM?

Hopefully my dinner will turn out fine too..

lynda_low78

Hello all

I am browsing arong when I comes to this thread. I am planning to hold my banquet in PPR as well but my coordinator is Felicia. She seems ok... have anyone here work on your wedding plans with her before?

I was deciding between PPR and Carlton as well but was a bit unhappy about the coordinator from Carlton. I called her once I reached the hotel and I was made to wait for more than 15 mins. Most probably I will go for PPR. They are going through a major renovation now and heard that they will renovate the ballroom.

crayola

Jus found out there were some hiccups during my wedding too.... and it all came from 1 side of the ballroom...the other side had great comments about the staff service and food! I attribute it to the staff.

The complaining side had all the old aunties and they were not professional while the other side had all the younger staff therefore better at everything else.

But all in all i must say they worked their butt off for us! Again kudos to Glen, Kriss and Fiona!

agnes- actually 3 nights but then we gave up 1 room for in laws on actual day. We tried to finish up the food later in the suite and did quite well considering there were only 5 of us hahahahha..... HM can't go sigh.... cos need to go back to wk liao..... Sigh....

Just a piece of advice, be happy in whatever you can and dun bother about hiccups that day, let your coordinator settle it all... if you have a gd coordinator....

lynda-yes there are renovating the hotel in parts. Lobby is being reno now then next chinese ghost festival on 06 will be for the ballrooms.....

Hi esther,
So glad that everything turns out well for your AD. Share with us your pics once they are ready, okie?
I guess you are "luckier" than me in some aspect. Nevertheless, the issue is over and I shall not brood over it.

crayola

butter

most importantly we're happily married.... there are bound to be some hiccups i'm sure... just the extent of it....

sirwin

Hi esther,

welcome bck! glad tat yr wedding went well...surprise surprise, tot usually aunties will provide more dedicated service from those restaurants tat I went to, youngsters while energetic but more raw, so I gt to take note of tis & advised them to mix youngsters & aunties together for a win-win service??? keke

yr wine consumption is lesser as expected hor for yr 41 tables, so yr guests are mostly on beer or hard liquor.

wil go dwn take a look at their reno 3 mths later see wat is in store..keke

doggy_gal

Hi Esther,

Congratulations again. Now status elevated to MRS

So when it started raining, all the guests from both ballrooms had the reception in the shared middle portion? Wasn't it crammed and confusing?

Didn't know that there'll be renov. Any idea what kind of renov to which ballroom?

crayola

agnes- yes now getting use to pple calling me Mrs Tan. on AD the hotel staff called the room to ask for Mrs Tan i was like huh? took me about 5 secs before i realised she was asking for me hahahah. Almost told her wrong room!

There wasn't another dinner that night only ours. Yes there were many pple out the the recp area after my solemnisation and they had to ask everyone out of the ballroom to rearrange the ballroom for the dinner cos pple messed up the tables. We gave them only 10 minutes to do so and they did a fantastic job. I'm not sure which ballrooms but confirmed the plaza one (biggest). They are slowly upgrading.

They are also the first 4 star hotel to have the chocolate fountain at the cafe. So can be quite sure that they are on the way for a major revamp.

Win- think you were posting the msg for me bot butter rite? hehehehe Apparently the beer was damn good. Everyone loved it! that's why less wine

apuppy

I am also interested in PPR.can i ask
1) there are 2 ballrooms over there? For the smaller one Stamford is the march going to be short as some mention this matter about it but i dono it means by which ballroom?
2)Are extra perks negotiable or changing to other perks ok?
3)Anyone got any picts of the ballroom to share? I am really interested to see.

publish in the forum is also ok... thanks for the help in advance.

doggy_gal

hmm...mine will be next oct at stamford. since stamford just revamp to include the folding doors, doubt there'll be anything new by next yr. will keep my fingers crossed that even if no new deco at least no construction disturbance by the wedding time!

Hi Apuppy,
for stamford u'll have to walk up a few steps and make a left turn b4 the start of the proper march. so in effect, it's a slightly longer march in than the ballroom.

the best perks will be during the wedding show. i.e. free beer, some free wine/corkage, vouchers, extra night.
but of coz usually by wedding show, the price will be revised for that year.

sirwin

esther, yup, typed too fast..keke. I know U received 2 email notification for tis post.

initially tot at least can host the tea reception outdr for stamford room bride/groom but didnt take note tis wil pose a problem when it rain tat nite...

yes, perks during wedding show is the best, even for other hotels, so do sign up at wedding show unless timing constraint do not allowed U to do so.

ribenna

every1
i am back look like there has been a lot of conversations going on every1 is chatting around so nice....

i was very busy wi my work and slimming
so dun really hv much time on-lline now ,

well glad to know that evey 1 went well for esther and hopefully no hipcup for mine ( keep my finger cross till next yr dec )

well who will be the next PPR bride , is it yr Win ( sirwin ) ??

i just receive my wedding contract from Vincent still havent got time to vet through , everyday work work go sliming

hope i can get in my ROM dress this sat heeeheee

sirwin

nope, xiong, Agnesguan is e nxt bride on 10Dec...
mine sep06.

so qiao, mi also from YC, yes, their ROM dresses are limited but luckily my wife still can choose 1 out of them for our ROM, tat was in sep04 alreadi. keke

Hi xiong,
when is your ROM?

Hi win,
Wow... so your AD is 2 yrs after your ROM... for me, my AD is 8 months after my ROM... haha... my hubby wants to get everything done within the same year...

Hi xiong,
when is your ROM?

Hi win,
Wow... so your AD is 2 yrs after your ROM... for me, my AD is 8 months after my ROM... haha... my hubby wants to get everything done within the same year...

ribenna

oh my rom is 10 dec same as agnes yeah ;p
so now stress man enduring try not to eat too much , no buffet for e till my wedding

sirwin

butter, ya lor, due to some unforeseen circumstances, nearly not considering AD liao, only ROM. Then hw comes U dun wan to hold together since so close? ROM date yr anniversary & AD date yr auspicious date? hee

Hi xiong,
Oh... 10 Dec coming should... Where are you holding your ROM?

Hi win,
My initial plan was to have the solemnization during the AD wedding banquet. But... idea was not accepted by my father in law and at that point of time, I nearly wanted to call off the whole thing. Was pissed with him coz I was thinking, it is my wedding, why must he interfere...
Anyway, in the end we had our ROM on my birthday... I guess this is the one and only way that my hubby could do back then to make me feel better...

sirwin

ic, yr FIL muz hav his reasons, if I can, I wil wan to hold my solemnization & AD on e same dae..keke. At least yr hubbi managed to come out with tis great idea to hav ROM on yr bdae, glad 4 u, u wil feel much beter defin. tis way...hee

My FIL said, he never see people solemnize during the wedding banquet. So, he was against the idea. When I told my mum, she said perfectly fine to solemnize during the dinner coz she had seen it before and felt that it is very nice.
Nevertheless... I didn't get to do it my "ideal" way and settled for the 2nd best...

Anyway, I find Plaza's poolside very nice... it's a very romantic place to hold solemnization... especially when the sun is setting... Cool...

doggy_gal

Talking abt solmenization, has anyone seen a renewal of vows? I've already ROM. but simiarly i find plaza poolside and gazebo romantic for solemnization. Dunno if can do a renewal of vows b4 the banquet. Any idea who i need to get to do this?

brink_79

Hi esther,

First of all, congrats on becoming a Mrs..

Have a few questions for you, hope u can help answer.
1)You had your solmenization at the poolside, did they charge you any additional charges for setting up the place?Was it stated in your contract?

2)When you say, you gave them 10 minutes to rearrange the tables, isn't the ballroom already setup before the guests arrive?

3)If there is a wedding at the other room, would they be using the entrance at the poolside?

4)You were staying in the hotel for three nights, was it inclusive in the package that you sign or you pay extra for it?

5)When did you sign the package?

Sorry for having so many questions. Could you also share your wedding photos with me.

Thank you. My email: [email protected]

crayola

Hi Brink

1)You had your solmenization at the poolside, did they charge you any additional charges for setting up the place?Was it stated in your contract?

No there wasn't any other charges but you have to be prepared that it might rain (which was what happened to my wedding)and so it would have to be held in the ballroom. Don't expect much decor to be done to it just the basics. It initially wasn't stated in teh contract but i made them do so. Just to be safe on our side. Whatever you want and they agreed upon, make sure it's stated on your contract, even if it's a minor thing. Cos in any event of miscommunication there's always the contract as a back up.

2)When you say, you gave them 10 minutes to rearrange the tables, isn't the ballroom already setup before the guests arrive?

The ballroom was all set up nicely but cos it rained, i had to change the solemnisation to the ballroom. When the guest came they kinda messed up the tables so they had to ask the guests to leave after the solemnisation to re-arrange the mess.

3)If there is a wedding at the other room, would they be using the entrance at the poolside?

Yes there would cos the smaller ballroom's entrance is now at the poolside. Unless it rains then it would be from the insides and there will sure be a mess but there's no choice since the ballrooms are built that way. Maybe after the reno for '06 it might be better?

4)You were staying in the hotel for three nights, was it inclusive in the package that you sign or you pay extra for it?

Yes it was inclusive. 1 nite at bridal suite on the AD, Spa suite the next nite (which was nothing special only a jaccuzzi bathtub, prefered the bridal suite anytime)and a standard room the 3rd but cos we gave up the standard for my in laws so we had 2 nites. We signed up this year just before their April show.

Sorry can't share the wedding pics yet as i've yet to receive them. Only get them 5 weeks later. When i do i will let you guys noe.

Hope i've helped in answering 1 way or another

brink_79

Hi Esther,

Thanks for answering my questions. May have more questions on the way, hope you don't mind.
1)When you book your package, is printing of the cards inclusive?
2)How much did you put as your deposit?
3)When you sign your contract, did you sign it on the spot or after some discussion, they will draft out the contract and you come and sign another day.
4)Did you guests have any complain about the service and food?

crayola

Hi Brink

Main complaint was the service of the "aunty waitresses" and 1 table had complaint about the steamed fish that was cold. Other than that the rest all gave thumbs up. They said they were not expecting gd service nor food from PPR since it's a 4 star hotel but they were all pleasantly surprised and gave them great comments.

The food portions were huge! A few tables couldn't finish it. They loved the dessert, noodles and green curry prawns. Cold dish not fantastic.

I had a 100 voucher for printing of inserts from hotel's printer. Cards were given by hotel. Not too sure if they are still giving away vouchers for printing the inserts.

Deposit was 3k. We made a few changes to the contract as we wanted everything to be black and white. There were a couple of thru and fro before signing. You really shouldn't sign on the spot you should always take it home to read through it carefully before signing if there isn't any mistakes.

hope these helps

carey

Hi to all,

I have just signed up with PPR & wonder when will the renovation of PPr be ready....
Does anyone know by when we shld contact our coordinator with regards to the wedding stuff??

Thanks & Regards

ribenna

hi carey
i am going to sign up soon
still reading throu the contract ;p
when is yr wedding ? mine is next yr dec

crayola

carey- hi welcome!

When's your AD? The reno should be done after the Ghost festival next year. Heard from them they will start the ballroom reno only when it's the 7th month.

Usually the food tasting is 1-2 months before the AD and that's when most of the meetings will really start like confirm wedding favours how many tables etc....

crayola

carey- dun worry you have lots of time to plan. Just dun leave all to the last minute like me. hahahaha.... have fun planning....

win- hahahaha not weird lah wish my husband was more involved like you....

xin2

hi to all ex PPR and going-to-be PPR brides,

I'm new to this thread but really enjoyed reading all ur comments. I've signed up with PPR so just wanna see if it's really good.

Esther: congrats on ur wedding. So everything went on well? ur coordinator is Fiona as well? I find her quite friendly.

Really have so much to plan for wedding. tiring.... but it's once in a life time lor...

crayola

Felicia-

yes Fiona is fantastic! She is very approachable..... Just shout in here and i'm sure past PPR brides/grooms will help you if they can.....