Perth F&E

cherly

Blue,

I just called baywater last week cos i am going on easter week as well. I am travelling on 8 april and what abt you? Unfortunately, baywater at Adelaine Terrace (the branch near to hay st) will close from 12 or 13 till 17 April. But the branch at subiaco is open. However, we have decided not to trouble ourselves to rent the car there.

starmed

Cherly
MR to albany is abt 357km... u can reach there ard lunch time if u set off in the morning..

nesame

Cherly,
I guess both Star and Camomile had answer yr queries. However, I remember i drive fr Perth to Albany by Albany Highway, it doesn't seem so long. But fr Albany to MR, it is very long and boring drive. Maybe becos we stop in btw for blueberry farm picking our own blueberry and also tree top walk and etc, takes us fr morning to evening before reaching MR.

Camomile,
Are you planning for any fruit orchards for yr gal? I search high & low for it but can't find and seems May period is not a fruit seasons. Cherry, strawberry are all out of season. Whenever we go Aussie, we will add a fruit picking session in our itin, it was real fun!

nesame

hMM, Aussie exchange had dropped quite abit since last week. Abt 1.16 now. It is really a good news for all of us here. Hope it will not rise again till the time i go in May.

barbapapa

cherly,

Me going just before good friday. Oh die that means if the one at hay st is closed, i won't be able to collect the car! Mayb i will try subiaco. Thanks for the info! Where do you rent your car then? Looks like going to rent from Airport...... aiyah so shitty....one obstacle after another. My accomodation at Pemberton is screwed up also bcos i wanted to reach there by 17th April but the cottage which i liked is booked so boh pian got to go there on the 18th. Delaying my schedule by 1 day. wah sian...

nesame

Cherly,
April is the end season of alot of fruits like strawberries, blueberries, cherries and etc. Actually there are fruits blooming thru' out the year but just that the berries season is normally fr Oct-Mar/Apr and we prefer picking strawberry as we never tried before. My last trip to Perth was in end April and i was lucky enough to get some blueberries. The owner just let us pick our own and also did tell us there is nothing much left but still, we manage to get quite abit. Adults enjoy and my nieces enjoy it alot as well. I am sure yr gal will also luv this activity.

And fr MR on way back to Perth, we stop by at Donnybrooks. There's this quite famous working orchard where they grow apples, persimmon, plums, pears and etc. Apples was blooming during that time. Pink Lady apples. You can see it in their website. Plums still left a few lonely 1 hanging on the trees but it was super SWEET when we tasted it. Here's their website,
http://www.oldgoldfields.com.au/

cherly

Blue,

I rent my car from m2000, the staffs are very patient and helpful, u can try to email for yr query and visit their website at www.m2000car.com.au

San,

Thanks for info.

Star,

I read back the past posting and understand you also stayed in Criterion Hotel, how is the hotel? Have you ever tried their Italian dinner?

cherly

Star,

To add to the above posting.

Is the room have only 1 queen size bed or got another single bed? Big enuf for 3 persons cos i am bringing my 2 yrs old daughter along.

barbapapa

cherly,

I checked with bayswater liao. They are open on the 13th April. Whew!! just in time man.....going to pick the car up after touch down fm airport. They are closed by 5pm. Just 1 hr earlier than usual. How much u paying for your car rental at M2000?

j_camomile

Hi San,

Yup! We will be visiting Raeburn Orchards, which is located at Roleystone Armadale, only 25 mins from Perth, very near
It's quite a big orchard & we went there on our last visit during May period too, after having searched high & low for one & finally managed to find one which still have fruits in season, haha. And they were really blooming!

We saw the workers there harvesting the fruits & we oso managed to handpick quite a few sweet, juicy & delicious apples, pears & pessimons. For the apples, u can see almost any brands, like pink lady, granny smith..etc, most of which are to be exported overseas & to Singapore as well. And they also sell jams, marmalades & other fruits produce, fresh from their orchards! It's really interesting!

Raelly enjoyed myself there so this time gonna bring my gal there to have some fun too... heehee!

Here's the link:
http://www.visitarmadale.com.au/orchards.php

cherly

blue,

I think after that they closed for a week, if you are returning the car on 17th or 18th then i think is ok. I got my car thru m2000 at $39 per day for a year old 1.8L nissan.

camomile,

i want to bring my gals there too, i think she will be very happy to see all fruits on tree.

nesame

Hi Camomile,
That's great. So the allow us to pick our own fruits right? Seems very near to Perth but not so sure where is Armadale exactly. Will we passby on way to MR or Swan Valley?

starmed

cherly
the hotel is ok..alot of asia people who go Perth also stayed there..think I ran into a couple of singaporeans too... becos it's only 5 ins walk from the shopping malls at hay st n Murray st.

Their food tried once. Find it not too bad... pretty good to our standard... quite big portion also. Room wise think u can ask for a double room as their double room all come in king bed. should not be a prob to house 3 of u..

San Armadale very near perth.. like what camomile said... think if u travel by albany highway from peth u'll go pass the sub town..

j_camomile

Hi San,

Yup they do. Just ask or let them know when u're there...

Armadale is just south-east of Perth & Raeburn Orchards is located at Roleystone, Raeburn Road. Like what Star said, go along Albany Highway first, then turn east into Brookton Highway, followed by Peet Road then Raeburn Road.

U can refer to this online interactive map to find out the exact location. It's a very useful & detailed map & u can use it to do pre-planning before u go for ur trip, e.g like which road or highway to take & how to get to ur destination. Save u time & gives u a good understanding of the roads there..

Here's the link.. juz click on Maps under 'Useful Info' on right hand column.
http://www.westernaustralia.com/en/

nesame

Hi Star and Camomile,
Ok, i shall find my way there. You 2 are a great help in my planning.

Btw, we can't just drop by as and when at the orchard?

Hi Cherly,
I did enquire car at M2000 as well and think they are quite reasonable too. As I need a Camry at least since my parents will be sitting in my car and also with the huge child seat, a 1.8L car is too crampy, therefore i can't get from Bayswater as well. Cherly, M2000 has a 'Hot Deals' package which is indicated in their web. Did you get that?

j_camomile

Hi San,

Of cos u can..
What I meant was once u reach the orchard, juz let them know they u want to do some fruit picking. And they're open 7 days/week from 9am-5pm, so u can go anytime u want

cherly

San,

My coll just came back from Perth and he said the weather has turned abit cold now, look at the pic he taken, think at least need long sleeve now cos too windy.
They went to oldgold field and told me the fruits there is nice, the pic well taken as well and he said must try the apple juice there.

nesame

Camomile,
thanks for yr info.

Cherly,
Hmm, think the weather change very fast. My colic just came back 2 wks ago. She went during the 1 week March school break and she said it is Hot in the day. Can see her photos are pretty sunny just like Star photos. But for April the time you go, it is definitely much cooler. If you are going down south, it will be more cold there as well. The last trip i went in April, and it is quite cold. However, during the last 2 day of my trip, temp suddenly went up again and I don't even need a long sleeve shirt.

Cherly, yr car fr M2000, did they charge you for bb seat?

cherly

San,

Yup, i guess the weather will turn cold abit in april. Anyway will prepare more clothing for my gals, just in case. Btw, can we bring medicine along? Must be seal and unopen?

M2000 charge $21 for bb seat for my entire trip. However, i don think my gal want to sit there, this amount can be refunded if i don want to use it when i collect my car.

U book yr car thru them too?

j_camomile

Hi San/Cherly,

Waether is definitely cooler in Apr-May period cos it's the autumn season. It can be very unpredictable at times too so it's always better to be on the safe side to bring more clothings & jackets for ur little ones..

Cherly,
Yes u can bring medications along. Just make sure u store them in airtight containers & declare them at custom. Basically, u need to declare all food items u bring into Australia cos they're very strict about it. Like milk powder or cereals.. etc. For milk powder, u're actually allowed 1 opened can/tin as part of your personal baggage when accompanying your kid but all other cans/tins must be unopened. Once u arrive at Perth Aiport, the quarantine inspector will inspect all declared items.

If u hv any further doubts the food items u're bringing, u can always email them at [email protected] & they will respond to ur queries respond within 7-10 working days. U can also refer to their website at www.aqis.gov.au/airports for further info on what items can or cannot be brought into Australia

j_camomile

Cherly,

If u email them now will still hv time, cos the other time when I made my enquiry, I actually received a reply from them 3 days later, pretty fast.. so it all depends on how busy they are. 7-10 working days is juz the time frame they give.

Mayb u can oso let me know wat other queries u hv I see if I can help since I've enquired from them before.. so prob same questions..

nesame

Cherly,
You are flying next wk. Very excited hor? My trip still have almost 2 mths to go. I had grown taller recently cos' neck had grown longer. hehehe.

Me has yet to confirm my car rental but so far, find M2000 rate is quite reasonable. May take from them as well. For car seat, i have to get it but same for my gal, definitely she will not sit long in it unless she sleeps. Headache for the long distance drive.

cherly

San,

Ya ya,, abit excited. Hmmm, my gal can sit still in car without car seat, we are quite disciple her. Think their price quite reasonable lah.

Camomile,

U mean i need to put all medicine in air tight container even i put inside my lunggage and check in? Or u mean only for hand carry up?

j_camomile

Hi Cherly,

Yes, u need to keep all food items either in air-tight containers or ziplock, whether hand carry or luggage check-in. And it must be clean. The food items u're bringing muz also be free from contamination of any kind. E.g if u bring polished rice, u need to ensure there must be no soils, live insects or other forms of seeds/ vegetation present before u pack into ur container. Else, it'll be destroyed, confiscated or 'treated' over there. And not all kinds of food are allowed. If in doubt, u need to check first before u bring. For tis, u can refer to the website I gave u earlier or simply email them..

Anyway, remember declare all food items, cos they will inspect every one when u reach there, esp. if u're bringing quite a few food items with u, the likelyhood of them inspecting is rather high

j_camomile

Oh, for medicine, it's ok if u do not store in airtight containers, can use ziploc or other forms of storage. U can just pack them into ur lugggage or hand-carry, as long as the medicine itself is properly sealed & declared

cherly

Camomile,

Thanks for all the info. I got no much food to bring cos my gals don really snack much. I just need to bring some medicine to standy and a tin of 400g of her milk powder. She is quite easy to handle, can eat all adults food.

j_camomile

Hi Cherly,

Ya, my gal too.. eats almost anything, like a garbage truck keke. She's not choosy over food & she's got a huge appetite too
But I'll still be bringing some rice & some organic rolled oats along to cook for her at times cos I do not want her to rely solely on outside food, it's not good for her. Moreover, it's very quick & easy to prepare yet nutritious

Btw, how old ur gals? U hv 2 right?

cherly

camomile,

No, i only have a 2 yrs old gal. Just discover i am preggie again over the weekend, how ah? Can take flight?

j_camomile

Hi Cherly,

Congrats!
How many mths or weeks now? Did u see ur gynae yet? It's ok to travel but I still think it's better to consult with ur gynae on that since she knows ur condition well based on ur previous pregancy so can give u better advise on tt. Cos usually the 1st 3 mths is still considered unstable so gotta be more careful. Other than tt, shld be no issue unless u hv special medical condition.

nesame

Cherly,
Congrats! Better to check with your gynae first. Should not be a problem as some people travel before they discovered they are pregnant. However, now you discovered before you travel, will feel abit uneasy for sure.

Wow, so busy this 2 days trying to finalize my things no time to post. Cherly, M2000 now had a hot deals just for 1st - 13th April just right for you. Maybe you should check out if it is better than your deal now. Think they should be able to give it to you.

cherly

camomile / san,

Will check it out with M2000. I am flying off tomorrow nite, shall update you gals when i return.
My gal is very happy and asking me everyday, when are we going holiday? When i told her we are going tomorrow, she give me a sweet smile and said ok. I guess she knows the word of holiday cos she has a story is abt Rabbit going for holiday.

nesame

Cherly,
Bon Voyage and take care! Show us yr nice pics when you returen ok?

Btw, can you change yr hot deals package? Me waiting for them to update their web after 13 April to see if there is any hot deals for my period. However, they never indicate on the hot deals insurance excess is how much.

cherly

San,

Sure, will share the pic when i return.
As for the hot deals, hb already email to them, waiting for their reply cos car is under his charge.

j_camomile

Hi Cherly!
Hva a great trip & take care of ur health ya!

Hi San,
Just to let u know that Raeburn Orchard no longer allows fruit picking now cos they're more focused on their business now *sigh..* But of cos u're still free to roam around on their 50 acres of property & admire the beautiful fruits on the trees. Sure ur kids will love them...

Good thing about them is that they have fruits all around the season, so sure u can see any one of them anytime u go. And besides the wide variety of fresh fruit like stone fruit, apples, pears, pessimons, oranges, fuji fruit & cherries for sale, they also have home-made jams, dried fruits, nuts & preserves, local pure honey, Margaret River Chocolates, nougat, fruit candy, fruit ice creams & fruit sorbet too. So if u intend to pop by, dun forget to check them out ya!
359799.gif

Makes me drool oredi... keke...

nesame

Cherly,
So their hot deals are really cheaper than what they quote you. Hopefully they replied you fast. Usually their reply are quite fast from my enquiry so far.

Camomile,
What a pity! In that case, I may not go as it is not within the route. Maybe I will try if I can catch any along the way.

cherly

San,

They have replied us, end up the price is as same as they quoted us b4, becos they have a PH surcharge of $38.

Star,

Yes, flying off tonight and will share my pic when i return.

j_camomile

Hi San,

Ya lor.. cos they say now they're now primarily producing for export quality so dun allow anymore..
But of cos if u have time to pop by, can always take a stroll thru their orchard, shld be able to see lotsa apples & pessimons still
Too bad the it's not the strawberry season yet, else can visit the Strawberry Fields in Wanneroo to handpick some strawberries. It's juz 30 mins north of Perth, very near also. Anyway, since u travelling further south, can juz visit The Old Goldfields again lah..

Hi Cherly,
Have a safe trip & enjoy urself!

cherly

Greeting from Perth. Its cold here, so windy. Will be leaving perth city tomorrow and head to southwest part, guess will be more cold than here.

nesame

Camomile,
May not visit Old Goldfields as I need to detour out to stop along at Donnybrooks. See if I got any luck along my way to bump into any orchards for fruit picking. Too bad strawberries are not in season now, I will love to handpick it.

Cherly,
Glad to see your posting. It's cold even in April now, oh my, then next month when i am going, it will definitely be colder. Oh no, where can I get thicker sweater for my gal at this summer season in S'pore now? Real headache. The one I bought for her during my Dec trip to HK, not sure if it stills fit her plus is it warm enough to be wear in Perth.

Cherly, see your posting makes me look forward to my trip even more. I am so ENVY!

j_camomile

Hi Cherly,

Glad to hear fm u. Hope u enjoyed ur trip so far. Have fun & share with us ur pics when u're back ya.. take care!

Hi San,

Ya.. will be even colder in June cos it's winter time. So make sure bring more clothings for ur gal. U can chk out the Winter Time store, they have lotsa different kinds of jackets & sweater for kids too. They might have some sales going on now. Kiddy Palace is also another good place to source out. U can also check out yahoo auctions for kids sweater & clothings. Can get very cheap & brand new ones between $12-$25 even for brands like OshKosh & Baby Gap..
In addition, u can juz wear an extra set of clothings for her inside first before u put on her jacket. Will definitely keep her warm

nesame

Star,
Can I check with you if we need to pay entrance fee for the Busselton jetty even not going for the underwater?

Btw, which is a better route to use for going to Margaret River fr Perth? Understand there is a highway route and a Coast route.

Camomile,
Think I will let her wear double/triple layer. So on the 1st day if it really too cold, then I will buy from there. More design to choose from.