Perth F&E

nesame

Hi Blue,
Noted. Try if i can squeeze it in my itinerary.

Hi Star,
Wow, you are back liao. When will be my turn to go? hmm. still long long way. Where do you work or stay? I work in Raffles Place and stay in Yishun/Sengkang.

barbapapa

Star,

When you are at the wind farm, is it possible to capture both the wind mill plus the human subject? bcos i want to got there take wedding photos...i saw the pics on the website and it is breathtaking. But considering that the wind mill is huge, don;t know if camera can capture everything......

pink_koala

Wow.. looks like alot pple really going to Perth. Me too going on a 1 week trip with my faimily early May.. hee

Hey Camomile!

Me too visiting Swan Valley & book my car from Budget too
Done my booking online liao & car will be ready at Airport for me too when I there.. hee. Price is really cheap oso, almost same as urs

Actually most of my frens book from Budget & highly recommended to me. Had been booking from them since. Really pleased with their service & cars so far too. Hassle free booking, quick & easy pickup/drop-off & very friendly & efficient service. I love their cars a lot also, cos it's always so new & clean, keke. But of cos most importantly, they're cheap! Heehee.. :p Actually, had wanted to try Baywater in the beginning but most of my frens told me they have quite a no. of 'hidden' cost so didn't go for it.

Anyway, me gonna visit Busselton, Bunbury, Albany..etc. More of southwest region..

pink_koala

Wow.. looks like alot pple really going to Perth. Me too going on a 1 week trip with my family in early May.. hee

Hey Camomile!

Me too visiting Swan Valley & book my car from Budget too
Done my booking online liao & car will be ready at Airport for me too when I there.. hee. Price is really cheap oso, almost same as urs...

Actually most of my frens book from Budget & highly recommended to me. Had been booking from them since. Really pleased with their service & cars so far too. Hassle free booking, quick & easy pickup/drop-off & very friendly & efficient service. I love their cars a lot also, cos it's always so new & clean, keke. But of cos most importantly, they're cheap! Heehee.. :p Actually, had wanted to try Baywater in the beginning but most of my frens told me they have quite a no. of 'hidden' cost so didn't go for it in the end.

Anyway, me gonna visit Busselton, Bunbury, Albany..etc. More of southwest region..

starmed

Low
how many days are u renting the car? cos if u rent less than 7 days, u'll then need the $5 extra per day. Else it's $20 + $8 per day for 7 days. For me, I took the car in morning of 7 mar n return during the morning of 13 march... we returned earlier cos the actual date for return is 14 mar... :p
yup..tax is included in the $20.

blue
yup it's unlimited km within the range of 500km of Perth..which is till Albany n slightly further. All their cars are auto... the only thing of concern is actually not hidden cost(no hidden cost lah) but the range of cars they have..cos ONLY TOYOTA COROLLAs 1.8L are available. No other type of cars are available for rent.
unlike Budget, Hertz..etc. It's either a hatch toyota or sedan.

I've actually asked abt rates from Budget... it seems that I feel it's more ex than Bayswater. I must admitted that Budget is more convenient cos u can pick up the car at airport.. but we've found a national owned rental company who is able to do free delivery to hotel when over there... think the name of comapny is Ace Rent A Car. Didn't know abt the rates but saw on the flyers at the airpport is like from $22/day onwards. Those haven rent any car can check them out... www.acerent.com.au

keke...whoever check them out liao can share the info... so the next time I go Perth, I can rent from them instead of Bayswater..:p

blue
u can catch the wind mill n u in the pic but think the wind mill will look small... sstill it's a good backdrop for pics..

j_camomile

Hi Koala,

Keke.. wat a concidence..

Hi Star,

Just to share. Budget do provide free delivery to your hotel too. When we were rented the car from them in Melbourne City on our last trip, they actually provide free delivery to our hotel & even do a free upgrade to a 3.3L Auto for us. We were really surprised by their service
I'm not too sure if they still have it now though.. haha. Cos afterall, policies do change over the years

And I guess what Koala's friends meant by hidden cost was the excess damage that was not included & also the extra charge u need to pay if u rent less than 7 days, the maximum distance u can travel.. etc. All these have to be considered & it all adds on to the basic cost too. And like wat u said, car selection is pretty restricted too. So as compared to Budget, it's not that straightforward & flexible
I actually have quite a few friends & colleagues last time who rented from Bayswater before & shared the same thoughts & subsequently, they switched to Budget too

Also, as compared to most of the big established rental firms out there (not Bayswater which is of smaller scale), their rates are considerably cheaper too & they have a much wider range of cars to choose from, with lesser & very little restrictions. Service wise I must say they're very recognized too. They also provide flexible rental packages at attractive rates from time to time. Can always check out their website to find out more

Anyway, I guess as long as you're comfortable with what you get & it meets your expectation, it does not matter which rental firm you go to. Everyone here is just sharing what they know or have experienced. I think tt's a really good way to exchange valuable information..

pink_koala

Hiya Camomile!

Yup, me just sharing what I know =)

And we certainly can't compare Budget with Bayswater since Budget is a big established rental company while Bayswater is of a smaller size, so pricing will definitely be slightly more ex than Bayswater lor. It's the same with the other bigger rental firms. In fact, they're much more ex than Budget. And to really compare, Budget is already very cheap & good considering its operational size. They also offer fastbreak programmes which allows even more savings & added protection at a very low cost. Membership is totally free too. Also, given an option, I would rather have the convenience to pick up my car straight from the Airport than to find my own transport to the Hotel first & later have them delivered the car to me. So frankly speaking, whether free delivery makes no difference to me lor.. not a factor to consider

That's why most of my friends choose to go for Budget too, hee. Anyway, like wat u said, as long as meet individual's needs & expectations, does not matter which you go for... as long as u're comfortable, which is most important =)

~~Cheers!

starmed

yo camomile n pink koala
yup..agree wif u gals abt Budget... Bayswater is just an aussie owned(national) company not international. Budget is worldwide lah.. so it's gonna be more ex than Bayswater. I have to agree that Budget is cheaper than Hertz or Thrifty. Check out their rates before..found to be too ex... keke...:p Budget rates to me is also on the ex side. For me, I dun really mind going to to the rental firm to get the car.. ... the factor I looked for is whether the car is in a presentable condition. Very easily met..so guess Bayswater is for me.

Just sharing what I know n experienced ... cos been to Perth 3 times liao... everytime I go also use Bayswater. Just felt comfy wif it.. no complains so far BUT if there's a cheaper n good rental firm, I dun 'jumping' over to there..kekeke...

u gals just enjoy your trip...
u gonna love it there..

nesame

Sorry, should be May. What a huge typo error.

Camomile,
I just test test on Budget to find the rates for my trip but however, not as cheap as yours leh. Moreover, no 2.2L car. 1.8 and then will be 3.5L. The reduce excess is $22 a day which seems very high.

cherly

Star,

Welcome back and glad that you enjoy yr trip there.

I will not book the car thru baywater as they close for Easter week.

Camomile,

Maybe becos i don have fastbreak member, think budget will be quite costly to me. My frens recommend me to book thru M2000, have sent my enquiry to them and find their price quite reasonable. Is your car cover by single vehicle accident too?

barbapapa

How much to rent from Budegt? I check the rates it is like 50 to 60++ for unlimted km per day? Is that what you guys paid for???

starmed

san
can PM me? so I can give u my HP number..

Cherly
yup..that's the prob wif Bayswater...operate like any auusie shop..closed on Public holidays...:p

haha..I LOVE perth so much... toying wif the idea of getting a PR there... since I got an aussie uni degree. ;p life there is so much simpler n peaceful... hahaha..

j_camomile

HI Star,

This is my 3rd time going to Perth too
And each time, I always booked thru them cos have always been very satisfied with their cars & services. Very new & clean cars & ease of pickup & dropoff. Rates are low too as compared to the other rental firms. Even in my last trip to NZ, I oso booked thru them. In fact, most of firends prefer Budget too than any other firms. So again, it all really depends on what u want..

Hi San,

1.8L is only an indication of the average car size in the intermediate range. The actual sizes they have within this range is actually between 1.8-2.2L. So if u prefer a bigger car at 2 or 2.2L, u can always let them know during ur booking & they will assign u one, but then of cos subject to availability, depending on location & demand. But so far, there's been no problem for our request each time

And excess reduction is already covered within the basic cost if u're a fastbreak member, & yes, it covers single vehicle accident too & other waivers. Basically, everything will be discounted & included for you when u do ur booking. It's hassle free...

j_camomile

Hi Blue, I paid only $48 per day for a 2.2L Auto car, with unlimited kms per day, excess reduction & child safety seat included

j_camomile

Hi San,

$22 per day is only for rental between 1-6 days. It depends on driver's age too. For rental between 7-14 days, it's only $15. So the longer u rent, the cheaper it is. Of cos if u're a fastbreak member, it will be even cheaper. U can refer to their website to find out more

Also, the price of the car depends on car size, the season u're going as well as the demand & location of rental. As mentioned to Cherly earlier, mine is actually end of May so oredi autumn period nearing winter, not in the peak period so price is definitely cheaper than usual..

cherly

star,

How's the weather there? Did you go to margaret river? 1 nite stay there enuf? Btw, is baywater also cover the windscreen crack under the collosion damage insurance?

nesame

Star,
PMed you already. Star, wanna ask you how is yr Swan Valley trip? Is it worth to go? Btw, you mention there's a nice ice cream there, what's the name?

Camomile,
Me going in end May as well. In fact, very close to yr date but few days later only.

barbapapa

End of may is really cold in the country. The last time i was there, the weather was unpredictable. strong winds and rain.

Hi san,
Thanks for the info. i had applied for the fastbreak. so on the web the price rental is 50 to 60. So with the fastbreak member it is around 48? Cool

j_camomile

Hi Cherly,

They will send u ur membership no. via post. So for subsequent bookings, u only need to quote ur membership no. to enjoy the privileges

Hi Blue/San,

U can refer to this link for the excess reduction covered by Budget. As u can see, they offer a lot more protection like single vehicle accident, windscreen damage & collision with animals.. etc as compared to other rental companies, which mostly doesn't or otherwise offer only very limited protection...

http://www.budget.com.au/tips_protection.php

Btw, I went to Perth on my last trip ard end May too but the weather is very good. No strong winds or rain as expected for this period. In fact, it did not rain at all the whole week we were there. Guess we were really lucky. Generally, it's juz cooling, but not cold.. so feels very comfy.. keke...

j_camomile

Hi Cherly,

They will send u ur membership no. via post. So for subsequent bookings, u only need to quote ur membership no. to enjoy the privileges

Hi Blue/San,

U can refer to this link for the excess reduction covered by Budget. As u can see, they offer a lot more protection like single vehicle accident, windscreen damage & collision with animals.. etc as compared to other rental companies, which mostly doesn't or otherwise offer only very limited protection...

http://www.budget.com.au/tips_protection.php

Btw, I went to Perth on my last trip ard end May too but the weather is very good. No strong winds or rain as expected for this period. In fact, it did not rain at all the whole week we were there. Guess we were really lucky. Generally, it's juz cooling, but not cold.. so feels very comfy.. keke...

starmed

cherly
well basically Margaret River is almost like Swan valley wif its many many wineries n chocolate factory. candy Cow is also there... u'll need to plan where u wanna go..if u are those hardcore wine drinker...hahaha...think 1 week there also not enough... so many wineries... :p if not, 1 nite is sufficient if u arrive there ard noon time for lunch. One place is have to go if u LOVE Lavender is the Cape Lavender... I practically go nuts when there n bought abt A$170 worth of lavender products n wine back. :p

For Bayswater, the wind screen thingy it's covered under collision damage but it's not covered when it's cracked under other circumstances like stone hit your wind screen etc. The cost of such crack is A$50 which u'll need to pay upon return of vehicle. Well, if u wanna more coverage, think Budget is for ya. Like what camomile had said.. think they got more coverage.

San
I've sent u my Perth trip pics... ;p let me know if u haven receive. The ice cream cafe along the West Swan road is called Orggie's ice cream. It's pretty close to the Swan Valley's Margaret River Chocolate factory.

Swan Valley is worth going for a short visit... they have the chocolate factory, ice cream cafe n wineries. U should go there esp if u dun plan to drive down to Margaret River.

starmed

camomile
ok..just sent..

btw..who's interested to see my Perth trip pics..? Ca leave your email here..I'll send the link to ya..

nesame

Star,
Received yr lovely pics. I will be going to MR so not sure is it worth to go Swan. Star, saw yr busselton jetty. I am looking forward to it. Did you went into the UWO? You are so lucky to spot the dolphins in Albany.

Camomile,
Let's cross our finger and pray hard that rain will not come during our May trip. You and me travelling with infants/toddlers, it is best that the weather is good.

Oggies, i will definitely try out if I am there. Anyone tried Simmon's Ice Cremary?

starmed

San
personally, if u are going to Margaret River, Swan valley u can give it a miss if u want to... but no harm dropping by or driving thru the place... like I said, Oggies is in swan valley n if u going to the Caversham park, it's in swan valley too.

yup..I was so thrilled when we spotted the dolphins.. they were 'playing' with the waves.. saw them when we were watching some surfers surfing... it's a sight I'll never forget..

Simmon's ice cream is in Frementle isit? keke.. wanna go try one but we drove past the cafe n missed it...in the end decided to do away wif it cos we'll be going to the oggies ice cream the next day..:p heard it's good too.

the UWO..I didn't go into the observatory... I only went into the recep area.. keke.. find it a bit ex lah... so choose to forego.. for underwater marine life..think no where else can beat Maldives.
Still find Maldives marine n reefs the best..

cherly

star,

Thanks for the photo link. How much you paid for Fawlty Tower at Bunbury? Any link for me to book for the stay? How much is the underwater marine at Busselton? The weather look abit dry n hot now hor.

starmed

cherly
the fawlty tower has no link one..usu I called them to book.(stayed wif them the 2nd time) U need their number? or u can email them..
I paid A$88(inclu tax etc) for one nite..double sharing n the price include a continental breakfast. Cooked breakfast is available but wif a fee.

If i rem correct, it's A$20 per adult n A$11.50 per child..this is not including the entrance fee to the jetty which is A$2.50 for adult. Free for kids. The reefs u see at Busselton is artificial... becos I've seen the nature ones in Maldives..that's why I feel it's abit ex to go in to see man made ones... but if u are interested in the reefs, no harm popping in..
I'm sure it'll be a beautiful sight to behold.

The weather now is the transitional period(summer to autumn)...in the day, it's dry n warm ard 30 degrees..cos basically the sun's all out to shine on u..no clouds one.. u get the perfect blue sky.
at nite, the temp can get chilly..it can go down to 18 degrees...
still it's not as bad as in the summer... we met up wif our friend who's a PR there... he mentioned the summer is a time where u practically can melt one..:p

j_camomile

Hi Star,
Tks for the pics!
It really brought back beautiful memories of our last trip to Perth where we visited Albany & saw a school of dolphins too.. really awesome! Also, the Gaps & Natural Bridges were really fantastic sights. Reminds me of the 12 Apostles in a way
There's a story on the bridge too, tell u one of these days.. keke...
355981.gif

Hi Cherly,
U can visit www.busseltonjetty.com.au to chkout the rates. It's $20.00 for adults & $11.50 for children (3-14 years). I'll be going to the jetty too, heehee...

j_camomile

Hi San,

Ya, really pray hard for good weather. Dun want it to be a spolier in any way
Going in Apr-May period is good cos of the cooling weather. Another reason for going in that period is bcos that's the last week of school & I want to avoid the crowd during school holidays. Also, prices are usually higher too during the holidays. Moreover, my gal now in playgroup so will wait till the last week of her school then bring her there..

So u booked ur accomodations yet? Me will be going for a short farmstay at Swan Valley. Will be staying at The River Retreat..

j_camomile

Hi San,

Ya, really pray hard for good weather. Dun want it to be a spolier in any way
Going in Apr-May period is good cos of the cooling weather. Another reason for going in that period is bcos that's the last week of school & I want to avoid the crowd during school holidays. Also, prices are usually higher too during the holidays. Moreover, my gal now in playgroup so will wait till the last week of her school then bring her there..

So u booked ur accomodations yet? Me will be going for a short farmstay at Swan Valley. Will be staying at The River Retreat..

nesame

Hi Camomile,
Nope, i had yet to book my accomodation but however had roughly source for it and will do the bookings in April. Now still yet to fully plan out my itinerary. Swan Valley still pondering should I give it a miss again this round since it seems almost the same as MR.

j_camomile

Hi San,

I see. In that case, maybe u can just pop by Swan Valley (if u hv time) since u've oredi planned to visit since MR. Cos for me, I feel that MR is rather similar to Swan Valley, so frankly speaking, no point staying over at both places. At Swan Valley, u can also go for the Wagon Trial or visit the Wildlife Park there. For us, wun be going MR tis time cos oredi been there on our last visit..

starmed

cherly
keke... I stayed there for a nite only... yup..agree wif ya...the hotels or motels seem pretty ex.. I splurge on the accom in MR.. stayed at Quay West Resort Bunker Bay. I booked thru asiarooms and found out the rates they offer is cheaper than other hotel booking web sites n the hotel's web site..

Low
Sent..

San
yup.. swan valley actually can be covered within a day n it's rather near PErth city... like what camomile had said... MR n swan valley is rather similar.. maybe u just drop by the ice cream cafe if u r keen..

nesame

Hi Camomile/star,
Actually I had been to MR/Albany during my last trip. This time revisit again lor. If go North, too far and short for my trip, so MR will be more ideal. However, plan to stay in Dunsborough instead of MR. Try a different town this time. MR very ulu leh and like in forest type. Still remember we drove and reach there abt 6+pm and it is total darkness since no lamps on the streets. Still thought we had lost our way and so we stop by 1 side and shine our head lamps to check where are we and so happen we are at the road side of a cemetary. So scary but fun.

barbapapa

STAR STAR,

When u going to Perth, how long before did it take you to call and book the cars at bayswater? Does 1 month before we arrive a good guestimate? When you book thru bayswater, did u have to leave ur credit card number? i am a bit panicking because i am going b4 good friday and there might not be any vehicles left to rent then......sigh....

starmed

Yo blue
u can call them a mth before...dun worry..they have plenty of cars...anyway they only have toyota corolla... no other choices leh... u dun have to leave your credit details..just your name n date u need the car. do ask for the recep's name n make sure u go to the coorect branch to collect the car.

San
wah...so exciting...
well.. if u drive to walpole n albany.. think it's even more ulu along the way... one point of the drive..there's even no HP reception... we were thinking if the car break down or what..siao liao... only can pray n hope for a vehicle to pass by. The thing is the highway we drove does not have high traffic volume...we'll like driving fast to get out of that area...hahaha..

barbapapa

Hi Star,

Thanks for the infor! i always booked the car when i arrived there and never called to make booking. but bcos its the holidays, i need to make sure i got the car man......

Oh just to contribute a story. I had an accident in countryside before. On the way to albany,I hit a kangaroo at sunset and was stranded in the middle of nowhere. No telephone reception and nothing. just practically sit in the car and wait for car to pick us up. ...luckily the australians are friendly enough to bring us to their town and later we took a ride to albany and take their national bus back to perth. What a ride!

nesame

Star,
Think i did pass by walpole. Not so sure cos' my trip fr Albany to MR, we stop by some place like Pemberton and etc. I know these so call highway are all inside forests.

Blue,
Oh no, so will you get fine by hitting on a kangaroo? Your car can't proceed after that?