Peony Jade Resturant

candyprincess

hmmm my wedding is during CNY so they said mus tk more exp menu to meet the revenue they have to hit... we didnt tk the most exp menu... we took the 568 one..
u mus check with Pauline bah...

sean - wrestling? *LOL* then u n ur wife gonna show some wrestling moves? heH..

yeh my HB cannot sing... whenever go with frns karaoke he is wallflower... jus sit n drink nia... or play cards but doesnt sing.. Heh

cheekychick

Oshgosh, i asked abt booking for Sep 2009 but Pauline replied dat 2009 prices have not be finalised but will increase by a bit...she say becos its a special coded day, i have to take the 688++ menu *gulp* Lidat...i may as well take hotel? I tink i may change my date afterall loh...Ya, i agree not many perks. Hilltop Garden offers me a very good package thou...but my hubby is hesitating as we only have 20 tables & the march-in is short...so still sourcing around....

candyprincess

hmmm well... i also actually wanted hotel but ended up choosing peony jade as it was all along my 1st choice... Heh... well u do get a hotel room... the food is also quite gd frm wad ive heard.. havent tried their food personally... some hotels may seem really like higher class becos hotel but the food aint that great... end of the day depends on wad u both want ... =)

olengjuz

minimint,

You got 3 hotel choices to choose from...Conrad, Pan Pacific or Merchant Court Swissotel.

PJ was also my first choice. =D

cheekychick

Misscandyprincess, i haven been to PJ yet but soon...Mind sharing how's the layout like? Isit longish type or rectangular type? Do they have themes for u to choose or would it be like the pic i saw on their website?
Thks so much!! Hubby prefers hotels thou but i quite heartpain to spend so much one table juz for a 3hr dinner...

candyprincess

hmmm its like L shaped... when u come out of the lift on the right is the long path to the stage... then on the right at the end of the path are more tables... hmmm the theme is standard.. only the chair ribbon cn choose orangey red like coral col or grey if im nt wrong bah... u really have to go dwn to see sorie i didnt tk pic... il be goin dwn this sunday to have lunch ... bring both parents to discuss dowry and see the plc... so maybe i wil take photos then? =) but the plc is like hw the web shows it is...

wads ur budget per table? hmmm actually add up its more or less hotel rate.. heh... depends on wad menu u take bah...

cheekychick

Missycandyprincess, thanks v much
I've seen the virtual tour juz now & i also tot its like an L-shape...I will be holding it on a Sat so the cheapest menu for me would be 518++ liao...but mine is 2009 so Pauline told me will increase but not more than 5%...so i guess end up around $640-$650 lidat at least
But i actually find it more worthwhile cos its 9-course dinner on weekend. Hotels now all super ex! I duno how so many ppl can afford it...I tink the only hotel rates i can afford would be HIA or Novotel Clarke Quay...around dat range...In quite a dilema, whether to take hotel on weekday or restaurant on weekend...Im gg down on Sunday evening to view the set-up
Pauline says got a wedding dinner tml evening & Sunday evening
Also considering Hilltop Garden but hubby doesnt reali like as the march-in is too short...im only having 20 tables...

candyprincess

hmmm hilltop doesnt give u hotel room... and its a bit far... this one more centralised? ive not been to hilltop but my frn's parents say very nice and quite classy... i think the menu is ard the same price bah... perks more or less the same??? best is to go dwn n see the plc and see how u both feel... =)

cheekychick

Hilltop is quite far for most ppl...But 90% of our guests live in the west, so its quite alrite...I tink ur fren's parents saw the ballroom on the 4th level. The 4th level ballroom is superb...much better than the hotels. Menu, hilltop is cheaper cos its nett price. They also offer me free flow beer, hard liquor & red wine. No plc can offer this liao rite? Its hard to beat this perk alone.

Btw, went down this evening to view already
U r rite, the restaurant looks exactly like how its shown in the pic :p I drove there & found it abit hard to locate cos the sign is not v clear :p Mayb im blur..i like the staircase leading up to the restaurant very much. A lady did cfm to me dat the ribbon is either orange, dark purple or silver & i can choose the colours of the roses..but looks like dark purple matches the best cos the curtains in the restaurant all purple leh....

Can i ask u a few questions? :p

Where will the reception be & where will the couple display their albums for the guests to view? I only saw a red guestbook at the reception table at the entrance.

When u go & change gowns, u have to walk down the same path which leads to the changing-room near the lift rite? The lift leads to where ar? *blur* So sori have to ask u cos quite a few couples were there as well & there isnt anyone i can ask.

I tink Lydia greeted me but im not sure if its her loh...I quite like PJ. Hubby say if my gown is big & fluffy, will knock into the guests anot cos he finds the march-in path abit cramp. The set-up we saw today is 21 tables.

olengjuz

Hi cheeky_chick,
The reception is located at the entrance (just before the flight of stairs), sitting max for 3 ppl else very cramp. The potrait of the bridal couple will place besides the reception too. There will be an area next to the lift (for my case) to place your bridal album for the guests' viewing.

For gown-changing, yep you need to walk on the same red carpet upon returning to the changing room. With regards to the lift, as you walk in from the entrance of the PJ rest, the way leading to the lift is on your left and it will bring you up to level 2. You will see the lift on the 2nd floor when you climb up the stairs from level 1 (on your left i rem).

The march-in aisle is a tad cramp if your gown is big and flair, just be a little careful. Not a big problem I reckon.

***Still Available***
PJ Maps printed on thick, matt card paper. Absolute good quality paper material that also comes with lightly scented fragrance. Selling at $0.40/card now. Do PM me if keen. 70 cards remaining. Thanks.

candyprincess

heh i guess SK answered all the qns as to his experience. =)

hmmm actually Lydia is a nice lady but i really like Pamela... She seems to be there whenever i go by or call... Tried to call Lydia twice but cn nvr seem to get hold of her even calling her HP... but when i ask for Pamela, she's always there and super friendly... when we went for lunch on Sunday, Pamela spoke to us and our parents and she's jus super friendly and nice! I wish she was my coordinator instead... =P

anyway, ya the red carpet walk way seems a bit cramped if u walk dwn with "pom pom" kinda skirt... hehehe...

lettingo

hi, just want to check
if anyone do their ROM and AD dinner both in Peony Jade? I had my ROM in Peony Jade, thought of doing my AD dinner in Peony Jade too, but my frens discourage and say I should do something different for AD since ROM already help in PJ.

need your advise

sean_yeo

Counting to our AD on 5th Aug....4 days to go....

*Beep Bop..Beep Bop*

Hope that things go well & smoothly for the whole day, esp when we sing for 1st march in...so malu if suddenly forgot the lyrics..haha...

cheekychick

Thks SK, for taking the time to answer my queries! Feel its a little awkward if i have to walk down the carpet again to change to EG, meaning the guests will noe wat im up to inside loh...feel abit insecure to change gowns so near my guest :p But i like the place & when i go there, the staff is very frenly..

Missycandyprincess, i agree with u abt Pamela. Actually, i emailed to them both but both came back with different answers to my queries. Lydia is more official while Pamela is very warm & is able to give more info. I suspect Pamela is the over-all in charge? Dun tink the lady who greeted me was Pamela...i tink she is Lydia instead. Is she the one with short curly hair, no specs?

Sean, u must feeling so nervous now! haha..Hope ur wedding will go smoothly!

Hui, thou its the same location but i tink the atmosphere would be totally different as thew deco is different & u will b wearing gowns & all...unless u have invited alot of ppl for ur ROM & ur guest list is more or less the same, then i would tink a different place is better...

candyprincess

hmmmmm short hair no specs is Pamela... didnt notice curls leh... she's quite tall and slim seems to be always in the restaurant...

lydia is long hair and is quite short.... speaks with slight accent.. and wrks office hrs...

overall in charge is supposed to be Pauline but ive never seen her b4... have only emailed b4.. Heh...

Sean so exciting!!! do have fun!!! =)

olengjuz

No prob at all cheeky_chick. =) Well, it all takes about less than a min to return to the changing room. Not all guests would be watching you (think they prolly busy having their big feast). Hee :D

I was served by Pamela during first appt and over the phone. However, it turned up to be Leon who's in-charge of my banquet for my luncheon. I was not intro to Kenny at all so din know he's there at my luncheon too. Kinda weird.

Pamela came in later cos on afternoon shift hence din manage to even say hi to her at the banquet.

Seems that everything went very fast...dun even have the time to mingle with guests eh. How I wish I could "turn back time"...heehee

cheekychick

Oh no..missycandyprincess, the one who replied me was Pauline. Pauline Graham, something lidat...i got the names mixed up. U mean there is another coordinator Pamela? Confusing :p When i emailed Lydia abt 2009 pricings, she can only let me noe dat its not ready. I emailed to Pauline & she's able to offer me the date provided im ready to commit & can accept a price increase of at most 5% for the menu. She also mentioned dat for the mth of Nov & Dec this yr, got 20+ weddings for each mth!

SK, thks for the reassurance...do u happen to rem where the projector will be? Looking at the layout of the room, i cannt predict where the projector can be at...somehow, feel dat need at least 2 projectors...

olengjuz

Cheeky_chick > the projector will be place right in front of the stage. Can be quite squeezy at the area when you just about to go up the stage.

Gentle note > Pls get someone to test the sound system few times before banquet starts...cannot play play cos their audio system esp the mic doesnt function well, the wire of the mic keeps falling out (cos they use a tpe to attach wire to mic). We had a hard time testing it when we were there to test the visual & audio systems. Hopefully they can get a new replacement.

lettingo

hi all, thanks for all your advise and warm replies... my rom in pj actually only invited 20 pax... and its in the afternoon in the private room... solemnisation near the lift haha... so i tink if i did my AD in PJ at night, feeling would be totally different, because i realise night scene of PJ is more romantic with the lights on, and also AD i would use the grand room instead of private rooms so feelings would be different, plus more guests will be coming on AD.... in addition, i decided to have the bum boat arrival!!!! i so look forward to it leh!

sean_yeo

Thanks everyone for your well wishes....counting down...3 more days to go....Beep Bop Beep Bop...

Oh ya, SK....
Which mics were u refering to that have problems? We went for rehearsal on Mon and tested out both of their cordless mics for singings and everything was alrite. Did u mean the mic at the rostrum that was abit faulty?

olengjuz

Hi sean, we tested out 3 mics and in fact only one of them is not working properly...not sure where did Leon get it for us..I would propose to have all mics tested out before the event commencement to avoid disappointment eh..

lettingo

i am very sad .... as my friends who attended my ROM commented that Peony Jade is Not fantastic at all, and they dun find the place nice. They even say that if given a choice, they would not hold their ROM in a place like tat , they would rather hold in hotels. But Me and my hubby really tink that Peony Jade is very nice and romantic place.

goldiepooh

Hi Hui, is because you held it in the private room so probably did not have the full wedding decor so your friends think is not nice. Did you see PJ wedding decor before? I did not expect a resturant to have such nice decor but was really surprised when i see for myself. Check with PJ when they have wedding banquet, go and see for yourself. Although people often say banquet is do for your guests/parents not for yourself, but this is your wedding, choose the one that you like and feel good so dont be too swayed by your friends. Do what you like. This is your wedding not theirs.

lettingo

thanks goldiepooh, for your warm response.

I also feel that Peony Jade is really nice and is the best place to hold my wedding banquet. Hotels are really very expensive nowadays, i can't bear to spend the money on so expensive banquets.... sighz.... thanks.... i really feel better now.

candyprincess

hui dun worrie too much.. it is ur wedding and as long as u n ur hubby enjoyed it then its good enough... there wil always be good and bad for every plc... if it is bad why wld pple stil hold weddings and ROMs there?

we all love the plc dont we? HEeee

lovelytulips

hi sean.. congrats../. and jiayou... dun get nervous..

hui, dun think too much. there will always be pple saying gd and bad things. u cant pls everyone. just turm a deaf ear to those who made bad comments.

there are so many brides who are for PJ, there must be nice things abt them la...

sleepycat1

PJ for weddings is nice. In fact, I consider it one of the nicest restaurants to host a dinner. Cos the deco is very tastefully done and probably better than some of the lower end hotels. I like the fact that they even have flowers decorating the stairway leading up to the restaurant. I think if you are thinking of value for money and not wanting to spend too much, PJ is a very good choice

Just my 2 cents worth!

olengjuz

There are definitely more good reviews than bad ones (can count the no. of bad ones eh). Worry not about what your guests said, HUI...more imptly it's your feeling that makes you feel comfortable with the rest. Moreover, like what others have siad. ROM & AD settling is very much different. Go..go ....go...for Pj. =)

pinpong

Hi Hui,

Had my dinner in PJ in March 07, no regret, only regret was HB & me dun get to eat d scallops, yummy. approx 97% of our guests gave good comments, only a handfuls gave negative findings. Majority over-writes.. hehee...

There will definitely b compliments & feedback, as d saying "even our fingers r not of d small height". cant please everyone. As long as u r happy, it is ur big day.

Cant really judge/compare with d ROM & d wedding dinner, when pple had only attended d ROM session @ PJ.
Anyway thumb up for PJ!. ; )

lettingo

thanks alot!

yeah, i really love Peony jade alot... in fact, one of my reasons of holding my wedding dinner there again, is to remiscise the solemnisation day i had with hubby.... i am glad there are so many Peony jade brides and i agree that no other restaurant is so beautifully decorated like PJ.

cheekychick

Thks SK, for your advice...were your guests who were near the changing room, able to view the projector? Its a tad far cos the restaurant is quite longish...

I agree with Sleepycat...I find PJ nice becos they even bother to have the chair ribbons for other chairs. Normally, only VIP chairs got more deco. But theirs everything also got...

Can i ask if its possible to change the menu abit? Like fried rice to ee fu noodles? Anyone here can comment on the yam paste? cos most of my guests are orh-ni lovers :D

olengjuz

Cheeky_chick > When I was there to do the audio testing, I actually did check on the visibility from the very last table (next to the changing room) to the projector. The screen looks a tad small but still able to view (proviidng no standing guests eh).

With regards to changing of menu, it's no problem to do so. I had my desserts changed to the mango in pomelo sacs cos mine was held in the afternoon. A nice, cold dessert to cool them down before leaving the banquet hall to walk under the scorching sun..hee... On the other hand, my auntie told me that if no fresh coconut milk is used for the yam paste dessert, it could spoil the overall taste. Moreover, if the yam paste is not well mixed, it would turn quite awful too. I come from a Teochew family and definitely the yam paste dessert is a favourite for us however, when come to think that PJ serves a blend of cantonese & szechuan cuisines hence we thought they might not able to deliver a fine yam paste dessert. It was okay when we had them during the FT.

We like both desserts but we loved the cold dessert even more.

cheekychick

Hi SK, thks! Actually, i tink 18 tables are more suitable for PJ else reali quite cramp...but i will still be having 20 tables loh...Oh, urs was afternoon! Both sides are hokkien for mine but seems like everyone loves orh-ni & ee fu but actually hor, i hate both :p I love mango in pomelo sacs! Heh~ Btw, did ur guests auotmatically noe dat the wedding albums are placed near the lift? Actually, the lift is for who ar? The bride?? Guests will climb the staircase rite? Actually, find dat the price of PJ quite premium for a restaurant...but most of the ppl here says dat the service & food is good, so i guess its better than holding it at a cheaper place but wori abt the food standard & service...

olengjuz

Hi cheeky_chick, I would recommend PJ for a nice decor setup and since you be having 20tabs why not consider making your wedding a good one at PJ? Though price is quite exp for PJ as a rest...it's a good price for quality, service and overall. (Personally, I think even their cheapest banquet menu shall deem fit already) Dun compromise for the price. It should be the best, not cheap ones. Pay abit more but the memories can last for a lifetime.

Wonder how's Sean is doing eh? He's having his banquet at PJ tmr eh? *rolls eyes*

cheekychick

Hi SK, hubby doesnt like the cheapest menu...i tot the weekday menu & the cheapest weekend menu all the same dishes, juz different way of cooking & different sauces?? Cos im considering to have the dinner on a weekday but if hubby doesnt like the cheapest menu, i may as well hold on Sat liao loh...

Btw, ask a stupid question. If guests take mrt to Clarke Quay, how to walk to PJ ar?? And hor, since entitled to one nite hotel stay, the balance how to settle? Settle b4 leaving for the hotel or come back the next day?

olengjuz

Hi CC, in that case, can choose other preferred menu. Of course, not neccessary to have the cheapest menu for your guests. I meant be it their cheapest menu, you be still served with really nice delicacies. :D

Walking from the CQ MRT to PJ takes about 10-15mins, normal pace. Inform your guests to exit from the Cnetral Shopping Mall leading to the river side. Get them to cross the link bridge and turn left heading to Liang Court's direction. Also let them know it's located opp to Liang Court, rest is similar to shophouses type. I printed maps to guide them to PJ too.

During FT or even after FT, you be reminded to inform your coordinator or Pauline of your choice of Hotel. Pauline will send you a booking confirmation + booking reference to check in. Whatever bills you have with PJ need to be settled after your banquet. You dont have to pay a cent after the hotel check out. I rem checking in at Conrad using Name or IC. I even laised directly with the CSO for early check-in. Their service is good.

candyprincess

today is sean's big day! heheh or shld i say yesterday? past midnite le.. heheheheh hope all went well!!! =)

Cheeeeeky - when u sign up they wil tel u all that u nid to knw.. hehehe ya mus pay after dinner... hmmm so i guess have to make necessary arrangements... =)

sean_yeo

Hi Ladies....haha...just finished hair combing ceremony & eating tang yuan, now doing a final check of email and forum before i go sleep and wake up at 6am, all the way till night time liao

If anyone is interested to hold your dinner in PJ, u r more than welcomed to drop by and take a look ")

Will post updates on the overall food & service after everything is settled.

cheekychick

SK, thks for the info! Im looking at the current 518++ menu & i tot of changing a few dishes :p Hope dat they r flexible enuf to let me change, heh~ Thou my intended date is like 2yrs away, getting excited liao :p Pauline assured me dat the price increase would be 5% at most & if im willing to commit, juz place a 1K deposit. But not sure if its safe to do dat so early? Can advise if any draft contract will be given? Cos Qianxi restaurants dun issue contracts all..

Thks Missycandyprincess :p Gan cheong, ask so many things, heh~ Now Seah must resting liao loh..preparing for his big nite ahead :p Tink we'll get to see his feedback on PJ here soon

candyprincess

cheeky - no worries heee... =) u ask so many now ah.. when u go sign u may have run out of things to ask.. jus like me ahahahahahahaha when i went to sign i also didnt ask much.. didnt knw wad to ask liao.. hurhurhur

cheekychick

Missycandyprincess, do u tink it will be too early if i book with Pauline coming Dec? For mid 2009 *gulp* Or i shld book when their real 2009 pricings are out? Can ask if PJ will give black & white contract? :p Paiseh, asking questions again, hehe...Btw, how long ago did u target PJ b4 deciding on PJ for ur wedding venue?

candyprincess

hmmm i actually started lookin ard early last yr... jus surfing.. checking out websites.. and forums... i wanted some place that was cosy and pillarless... i came across peony jade in sgbrides and found the price to be reasonable as well as layout not bad plus the fact cantonese food... so jus put it on my list.. at the same time i stil looked ard for other hotels...

i went for bridal show at holiday inn... also went to view ballroom at furama and novotel... i basically chose according to our budget... we didnt want to spend more than 800 per table... =) when u choose ur budget, it sort of narrows down ur choices... also nwadays u cn see the web for their menus... some of their floor plans...

actually we wanted club chinois but the layout nt likeable for us... and all along peony jade was in my mind but i pushed it to the back... hehe... til i went dwn to see the plc i was almost sold! initially our wedding date is 22 nov 08 and it was olredi booked by someone... so was quite disappointed and was goin to book novotel... then my boss said the food there not that good lo... then our wedding date changed becos of getting flat also... hehe...

our 1st choice for wedding date was 16 feb 08 but his mum didnt wan it so early.. so went to see feng shui master and got 22 nov 08... but since it was taken by someone and hdb giving keys soon, we decided to go back to 16 feb 08.. his parents initially were very very unhappy but managed to pull it thru la.. heee... sorie ah bit long winded.. muahahaha

anyway after we saw the plc the 2nd time, we gave deposit then told his folks and mine.. hehe then we had lunch there last sunday with both parents to talk abt dowry and stuff.. mus say the food was really good... very unique.. the staff also really frenly and nice... =) eh we didnt taste the food for our wedding... we ordered ala carte.. tad pricey though.. hehe cost us 200++ for that lunch... argHx... anyway, if u n ur hubbs set ur mind on choosing PJ then i suggest u book now... dont wait n wait ... pple wil snap up the date u want ... u may think u r kiasu but i assure u, there r pple more kiasu then u! heheheh happened to us ma.. hahahahah =X

we didnt get black n white contract... but u cn request i think.. we filled up a form which they gave us... it has our data as well as the menu we have chosen... hmmm also they wil give u the receipt when u make deposit lo... anyway we didnt haggle for anything... lydia offered the free beer so she filled that up in the form... so thats it... hope all this helps hehehehehe

sleepycat1

PJ do issue a contract. You have to chase them abit to give it to you. It is better this way since the contract spells out all the conditions, some of which might not be mentioned in your discussion with them. I booked PJ in Mar/Apr this year for my wedding dinner for 20 Jan 08. And signed the contract by end June after a few ding dongs cos they got my menu wrong :p

So candyprincess, u might want to get them to draw up your contract with you soon.

Morning Gals,

U all so lucky to have free beer. it seemed that my package is not tat attractive. 30% carpark coupon. free rental of projector and chrg us $380 for 30l of beer.

Mine package is nt the cheapest one. but i always liase with pauline-the boss. so wonder is it better to talk to her assistant.

cheekychick

Missycandyprincess, thks for sharing! Wondering if im too kiasu to book now cos even Pauline cannt cfm the exact 2009 pricing to me thou she assured me wont increase by more than 5%....Im looking at July 2009...hmmm...Btw, i suggested Club Chinois to hubby too but the moment he saw the floorplan, he rejected. He say will have pillars at the sides & duno wat got function rooms at the side which they nv reali draw out, only drew out the lines...but my hubby used to work in Intercon part-time banquet when he was studying so he noes loh...I still prefer PJ's layout, heh~ Meaning u didnt book too early also rite...ur timing is quite alrite loh
Mine is like...2yrs later *gulp* Actually i target 19 Sep 09 but realised the date clashed with my dad. Pauline dat time still say cos its special coded date, i hv to take the most ex menu *gulp gulp* But now dat i changing to July 09, hope she wont require me to take most ex menu....

Hilltop Garden offer me free flow beer, red wine, hard liquor, stout & the normal soft drinks, mixers & chinese tea. Good rite? Real tempted dat time but hubby stopped me cos he doesnt reali like the ballroom...we only have 20 tables so the small ballrooms are not v nice...march-in is very short too. But perks are real good & they allow us to book now to secure this yr's price...but...heh~

Sleepycat1, any probs with the menu ar? Cos i may wana change a couple of dishes, wondering if dats difficult to negotiate..So there is a contract afterall...I still prefer to have a contract. Else they have so many weddings & stuff, how to rem wats agreed between us ar?...

Oshgosh, tink for PJ, its either free this or free dat, dun have everything free wor...$380 for 30L beer is market price. Hotel is charging $800+ *gulp* I tink Pauline is a very nice person...meaning pauline is ur co-ordinator lar? I guess, its becos she bother to entertain me & answer my many questions thou i only plan for 2009 loh. Some places hear dat i wan 2009 hor, bochap me liao...Nowadays, not many ppl drink beer rite? Mayb 30L is enuf then u can bring ur own hard liquor?