Peony Jade Resturant

blurblur25

penjop: thanks for the info. my wedding lunch pkg dont come with wedding favours leh. have to prepare it myself. heehee. have not meet kenny & pamela yet leh. want to ask them abt the emcee as well. Oh, i add u in my multiply as well.

donk

felic, thanks for your comments, glad u like them

blurblur, why not u arrange a day to see the samples and if u like them find out how much it will be if you were to get it from them lor. anyway u also need to pay mah, win-win situation for everyone... ;)

purple_rain

Hi Penjop,

U look beautiful on ur AD! So envious of you...

May I have the menu of PJ? U mentioned that they have 3 wedding favours to choose, all are chopsticks?

goldiepooh

Hi all, me new to this forum. I'm 07 BTB and thinking of PJ for my AD. Went down to PJ last week and met up with Pamela. Reading this thread allows me to get to know PJ more and know what to squeeze them liao. haha!

Just to share some points that she had told us.

1. Any GST increase, we will have to absorp
2. Maximum no. of tables is 22 tables but can accomodate up to 250 pax as some tables can seat 11-12 people.
3. Car park is at liang court
4. Server to table ratio is 1 server to 2 tables
5. PJ will prepare fried noodles/rice for couples before the actual dinner commence
6. They will take $1 off per head if you dont want their wedding favors.
7. They only provide the screen not projector we can bring our own. (if i recall correctly, she mentioned rental at $150)
8. If you dont want the hotel room, you can take $200 off. Any upgrade will have to pay the difference.

Thats all I can recall. There are few areas I not so keen on PJ though, some of their chairs are not the restaurant chairs but the normal ones so with tie back (instead of cover) not so nice lor. Too bad PJ not inside a hotel so still need to travel abit.

Saw that some of you had managed to squeeze them for better deals! Now I know what to ask for. keke!

I have PJ 07 packages so if you want, leave your email i send to you.

goldiepooh

Thanks Midas for the advice! will definitly go and bargain.

Just want to check, do you guys talk the terms before placing the deposit to confirm the date or only after all terms agree and contract sign then place deposit?

Is like chicken and egg situation; dont want to place deposit already and no more bargaining power but at the same time want to secure the date

Please kindly advise!

paunic

Hi penjop...

thanks for sharing your pictures! jux view the photos in your blog!

wow.. I'm so impressed by the wedding car! so nice and catchy! something different from what we see normally! your husband is so sweet to have such an idea!

your EG is gorgerous! nice cut and colour on you! and you are so right, your WG looks 500times nicer on you then on the "model"! heeheehee...

donk

Hi Purple, thanks for your compliments... but there are more beautiful brides than me lar... me old girl liao... but cant deny the fact my MUA was good...

they showed me candle, chopsticks and chocolate (i think :p) u can give a call n check with Pamela or Kenny to see if it is still the same fo this year.

as for the menu, let me have your email and i will send it to you, k?

shups: hehe... but i dun have a model figure leh... tink becos it was tailored for me that's why it fits better lor... also my designer quite good, she designed it to compliment my figure lor. just for your info, the WG was initially designed to fit me when i was 65kg... but she and another seamstress at my BS still managed to alter it to fit nicely when i was down to 47kg for my AD... really have to kudos to them....

as for the wedding car, lucky a good fren of my hubby is doing such stuff, so manage to do it at quite a fair price lor... cos not much pple willing to spend the $$$ for just a one-day event. u interested? can ask my hubby to intro the lobang to your man.. keke...

Goldie: it is always good to bargain for more perks, but if the date is more important due to almanac or special dates then i wld rather confirm the place first. anyway, it is a one-in-a-lifetime thing so dun fret too much on such trival issues. on the other hand, if date is not so critical then try to press for as much freebies as possible... kekeke... one other perk that you can bargain for, unlimited complimentary parking.

bb_queen

Penjob

I agree the gown looks so much nicer on you than the model and how did you managed to lose so much weight!!!

I was just told by PJ that the date I want is auspicious so I have to take the $698 package onwards. I am so angry...how can they anyhow increase the price just coz it's an auspicious date!!!! Now have to find alternatives. For that price, I could have paid a little more to go to a hotel.

sunbubble

ACtually I tried to reason out with Pauline with regards to the complimentary...even ask her if PJ could go extra mile by giving me more complimentary coupons...but then I was still told to buy from them if not enough with the 20%. *SIGH*

More heartache when you actually bargain it for unlimited complimentary parking.

donk

Hi BB and SB, i do agree it tends to get quite frustrating during bargaining, and with them being so "popular" now, cant really blame them for trying to "hang up and sell" (if u kno wat i am trying to say). from a business point of view, it is very standard practice. A better saying is - Hit the Iron when it is HOT...!

no doubt one could easily have the dinner at a hotel by paying slightly more than $698. but it will be the entry level instead, and also quite difficult to find the same quality of food.

as for complimentary parking, if really cant get FOC also doesnt cost much lar. in our case, we needed another 22 coupons wich my hubby paid $69.30. IMO, its a small sum to pay to satisfy all your guests.

PS: BB, i also quite surprised i managed to slim down to my ideal weight. basically, i stayed off all carboh food for 10 months, only giving myself a little treat once or twice per month, but also very small portion onli. totally no supper and buffet too. and also worked out quite a lot with weights to tone up. really glad everything turn out well.

blurblur25

penjop: me oso trying to lost at least 15kg. i hope i can achive it. think quite diffcult to ask for comp parking, Pauline say 'dont worry abt this small money'. hahaha
here abit there abit will add up to a big amt liao. i only manage to get 20L of free beer. Wine is chargable @ $20 per bootle. dont know 20L is enough for my wedding lunch for ard 18tables??

blurblur25

another question 20% of the parking coupon is base on the headcount right? if i have 18tables (180 ppl), i get 36 coupons??? Also if the GST has not increase by than, there is no xtra charges like service charges, GST etc. Is all NETT right?

bb_queen

penjop,

Ya...they are indeed very popular now. I understand that the boss wants to make money but it's not good business ethics to just increase price as and when he likes
No choice loh. You do have a point abt $700 being the entry level for hotel banquets.

Now I am just comtemplating if I should just stick to PJ and pay $700 or just pay another $100 more to go to a hotel. At least, people will give better ang pows if we have it in hotels right? Headache!

donk

blurblur: with determination, u sure can make it... at least do it for the PS and AD, so that can have photos to show for in the future... keke...

20L FOC beer beri good liao leh... it is equivalent to almost $400. my hubby have to pay for 30L at $540, which only half was consumed and cannot tapao the remaining also

anyway, nowadays beer no need so much as red wine is more popular. my 22 tables consumed 30L of red wine which my hubby bought from wholesale centre. IMO, at $20 per btl, can get very good quality red wine from supermarkets, need not buy from PJ. and yours is lunch somemore, so less pple will drink.

u r rite on the parking coupon calculations and nett price.

BB: errr, i cant really agree with pple giving better ang pows if the dinner is held in a hotel. maybe true for closer frens and colleagues. but anyway, that is beside the point. i find pple tend to go for hotel just for the ambience. those that chose restaurants would be for the food. ask youeself tis question, u want good ambience and posh settings? or good quality and tasty food. it may make you decide better.

bb_queen

Penjop

I want ambience and had wanted a 5 star hotel coz ultimately I don't get to eat the food but I have to go for restaurant to please FFIL. That's why I chose PJ coz it seems to have both :p I like PJ a lot but now waiting for FILs to confirm if a Monday night is ok for them since that weekend we wanted is the "auspicious" weekend.

Purple Rain

They will throw in perks even with the cheapest dinner package.

blurblur25

penjop: thank you for answering all my question! u r so helpful.
Pauline say if we are bringing outside wine, must let me know the brand to make sure it match PJ status. She might reject brand that she feel is not good.

donk

BB: yes, i do agree that PJ has the ambience which may surpass some hotels even... as for the food, think it suits the majority based on the feedback received so far...

blurblur: no problem, am glad that i was able to help. as for the wine, no worries. there are many brands out there in the range of $15 to $20. just let Pauline know the brand in advnace, shld not be a problem. worse case they will request you to announce to your guests that the wine being served was provided by yourself and not the restaurant nia.

yu83

hi blurblur may i know what pkg u sign? and how many tables?i cant negotiate for 20L of beer lei...i even book my rom with them

candyprincess

penjop: can i ask how did u manage to lose wgt? im also tryin to lose but very hard... nid to lose ard 15kg hai..

btw i emailed pauline and asked for feb 08 prices but she said not out yet.. den i told her cny is 7th feb... i wana book 16th feb... which falls during cny.. she says nid to pay extra as it is cny week ... hmmmm shall see how bah...

ygc91285

Went to Pj recently to find out more about the wedding lunch package. Was told there will be a lot of restriction if you go for 12 or less tables. Like cant make too much noise, long speech, yum sheng, march in (from the stairway) etc before 2pm. If you sign for the lunch package (i.e. 498), almost half of the perk items not included. Quite disappointed, thought can put down deposit today to secure the date. At the end, sign up another package at another restaurant instead. So you gotta to clarify before you put down your deposit. No doubt the ambience is nice and cosy. Cheers!

blurblur25

yu83: mine is wedding lunch, contract stated 15 tables but we will try to sercure 18tables so that we can have the whole PJ ourself. our pkg is special cause I negotiate with Pauline. we dont have much perks as well. only manage to get 20L of beer, invitation card, parking coupons(20%).

blurblur25

yu83: we signed up with Pauline last year, and she mention she going to increase the price for 07 menu, dont know is that the reason she is less reluctant to give u more perks.

mei_

I'm interested of taking up PJ .. Can I know as it is juz a restaurant, will they rush their serving of food ? I hv being to one restaurant, after 9.30pm the dishes came out every 10mins which is very rushing. They completed by 10.30pm as the waitress/ waiters rushing home at 11pm.
Will PJ face this problem too ??

yu83

hi blurblur thks..i sign up this year though,coz my wedding is 08 and last year they are not opened for 08 dates. i booked wkend dinner(20tables)and rom with them...

blurblur25

yu83: i think PH has not much problem with the food & service base on the feedback from the forum. main problem i think is pauline. heeehee. her ya ya attitude.

blurblur25

I just find out that PJ get their wine supply from Wine Bos, they are only charging $220 per case(12 bottles) and PJ is charging $20 per bottle. A saving of $20 per case.

bb_queen

May I ask if anyone has taken the $698 package. With the GST increase, this will be $712. You think it's worth it? I am very upset now.

I booked this package and Pamela didn't even want to give me 1 more extra complimentary parking coupons. Damn it and to think that you lucky ladies could negotiate for even free beer.

lab_baby79

hi BBqueen,
I took the $698 package too. Was also fusturated on the GST increase.

I nego for quite a lot of perks though...what have you nego for?

yu83

hi BBQueen, maybe u should look for kenny that time,think he better to nego although i never get free beer,i took $598 and also book rom with them.he give 30%,waive projector fees, and 8 bottles of wine..

goldiepooh

Hi BB Queen, i took the $698 package as well as the week I am holding is festive season so they want a minimum takings. Well, I find this reasonable since they prob will earn more opening to public for that period as compared to holding WB at lower package. I had checked with other restaurants, they also requested the same thing.

I feel that the $698 menu is not too bad. If take this pricing to hotel banquets, probably will not get such menu.

As for the GST if implemented, it will affect everywhere, so other restaurants and hotels will increase their price also. So even if you had booked at other places, you will still face the GST increase situation. What most important is hopefully the govt doesnt implement it this year!! :p

I am not sure about you gals but previous experiences at helping out at reception, most of the time, the parking coupons are not totally used up.

Dont be upset BB_Queen, get Pamela to give you free desserts (I was told not include in the 6 course) during the food tasting!

Dont let it spoil your wedding mood!

blurblur25

BB Queen: dont b upset. I didnt get much perks as well. Goldiepooh is right, once the GST is implement, everywhere is affected. Seriously, even before the GST increase lots of shops has already increase their price

Anyone getting the wine from PJ?

donk

Hi gals, sorry for the late reply as jus gotten back from a short trip across the weekend with hubby to Bintan

i totally agree with wat Goldie said, it is our BIG day so dun let all the little perks and what not dampen your mood. of course everyone will try to get as many freebies as possible but once you have signed on the contract, its quite diificult to squeeze more things from them so dun have to fret too much over it. just concentrate on the rest of the preparations and get ready to be a beautiful bride.

candy: as i hv posted earlier, i kept off all carboh and exercise quite a fair bit lor... all-in-all, must have the determination. set a realistic target and work towards it. once reached, set another one till u finally hit your ideal weight

goldiepooh

hi blurblur, dont forget PJ will charge corkage fee if you bring wine from outside but if I not wrong, they give up to 50% free corkages. So you need to work the sum to see which is more worth lor

lab_baby79

Hi blurblur,
I agreed with goodiepooh.

my contract stated that PJ charging me $10 corkage charges per bottle. although wine bros chargg cheaper but after I add up the corkage, it is not..

kaylee

Hi all. Just booked my AD dinner with PJ for Jan 2008. I want to have something fuss-free and simple hence the restaurant seems to fit perfect. Hopefully, everything will go well. :D

goldiepooh

Hi Joelle, check your mail!

Hi blurblur, so you managed to nego for free corkages! because the package stated gives up to 50% free corkages only. I will be getting the wine from them so no issue on the corkages lor.

Hi Kaylee, no worries, everything will be fine! Must trust the professionals since PJ holds WB so many times every year.

blurblur25

Hi Goldiepooh, actually I didnt nego for free corkages, but after seeing u mention abt the 50% corkage. Extract the below as per my contract with PJ:
11. CORKAGE We are pleased to waive all corkage charges. All alcoholic beverages must be SEALED and DUTY PAID to protect our liquor licence with the authorities. Any other beverages are not permitted to be brought into the Restaurant. If bringing in your own wines, we would like to know the names of such wines in advance and where deemed not suitable, we reserve the right not to have these served on our premises.

blurblur25

I run through my 1st email with Pauline, didnt nego for waiver of corkage, maybe im lucky that she waive it for us? Heehee

Anyone get to waive all the corkage charges as well?

bb_queen

To all who comforted me, Thanks. Blurblur, did u receive the contract right after you signed the package? Blurblur and penjob, can you email me at [email protected]?

Has anyone changed any items in the menu? Do u need to top up?

candeecake

penjop, you mention PJ is supplying 70% for the cards, meaning if I'm having 220 guests, they will provide me 154 pcs FOC; and if I decide not to take the cards from T-dragon, Pauline will only rebate $0.50 each. So, PJ will rebate for 154 or 220 number of cards?? Thanks! =)