Peony Jade Resturant

hung

Hi, Greta , i just booked a date for my banquet with Peony jade, but yet to sign on the dotted line.. just wondering.. hows ya offer from the resturant? how many tables u had? and can i kapo also to see some of ya pics at the resturant? thanks..
email : [email protected]

blessedger

Hi, Im thinking of having my solm and wedding dnr at PJ, Can anybody adv me briefly how will the arrangement be like? Has anybody tried arriving by the boat? How issit? =D..
It would be great if someone could send me some wedding photos of yours ? Thanks alot!!

greta

Hi all BTB,
Sori i didn't check out this thread for some time.I had 17tables + 1reserve table. Booked their weekend package 1yr in advance in year 2005. Now i think the price increase liao. I didn't arrive by boat, sekali drop into the river...haha. The wedding went smoothly, the chef prepared some yummy food to fill our tummy while we rested in the changing room before the dinner started. The floral deco is lovely...and we use their chinese orchestra music during the whole dinner. Sound system is great and so is the projector. i'll try to upload some photos when i have time. No one complain about the service. Pauline has two email address, do check which one she frequently use if u don't get reply from her. For me, she is very prompt with her email replies. I've tried many high end restaurants before on company functions...PJ is a gem...good value for the food and ambience.

hushbear

hi hamtaro,
thanks for the link. PJ is acutally a very nice and cosy location... but my HB was worry that guest will find it not as high class as hotel ballroom. coz price for weekend is almost similar to some hotel ballroom too. headache...

sspl

hi everyone, im interested to hold my wedding there, can someone be kind enuff 2 share w me some pics so i can have some views on it.. tks..

dreymin

hi hamtoro and angel & other PJ brides,

hv not came in this link for a while

need to ask abt invitation cards for PJ.
my banquet is in July.

how much will PJ pay for the cards? just the cards or includes printing?

hamtaro55

hi Hui,
sorry for the late reply. it's more on individual perception bah.
guess most of those who been to PJ are attracted by its chic ambience

hi Dreymin,
mine also, 70% based on guaranteed guests (exclude printing). extra cards @ $0.50 per pc...

celestial_star

I'm also considering holding my AD at Peony Jade, but i only have max of 8 tables! My AD is in Oct'06 and i still haven't confirmed a venue!!! PANIC!!! Does any one know whether they have min. no. of tables requirement? What are the wedding package prices like? Can any one give me suggestions/ideas? Thanks in advance!!!

rainnqq

HI celestial

I had a friend who's also having less than 10 tables. She has checked with Pauline earlier and Pauline has mentioned that as long as the event's revenue covers her restaurant's daily expenses she can book the whole restaurant exclusively for my friend. Else since you are having 8 tables or so.. why not just cordon off only part of the restaurant?

jer

Hi Celestial,
From my understanding, PJ is quite fully booked for the mth of Oct. Why not you check with them whether ur date is still available for booking. If you booked part of the restaurant they will draw a transparent curtain to segregate from walked-in customers.

angel81

Hi gerls,

Had my wedding at PJ on 12May. It was GREAT! My hb and I received onli good comments abt the place (onli tat its abit hard to find, so muz rem to include a map!), good food, beautiful decor and the svc was good!

Hehe.. Pamela (asst restaurant mgr) and Kenny (restaurant mgr) were fantastic! They help our helpers coordinate everyting and we had a reali great time.

I had quite afew pple sae tat this was one of the best fd they ever had for weddings, and tat it was beta then those in the hotels.

I didn't get the wines from them (got fr an outside source), bt I opened one of their white wines. It was nt reali good. So maybe ur would like to consider sourcing for your own wines. Did not try the restaurant's red wine though.

Overall... TWO THUMBS UP! Dun hesitate gerls... it's a great place. :D

jer

Congratulations Angel! Glad that your dinner went smoothly & PJ rec'd good comments. Hope PJ will maintain their standard in terms of food & services. Cheers!

angel81

hi tulip,
tks tks! keke.. it was a reali good nite. keke..

hi mrs kho,
i've nt gotten the pics fr my PG.. onli got the candid pics tat my helpers took.

pillow

Hi Angel!

Congrats on having had a great wedding dinner!

I've tried PJ's food b4 (nice food), but a bit worried abt std when mass-produced for wedding dinner.

Wud U like to share which menu/dishes U had for ur dinner? Best dishes? (Can e-mail me @ [email protected] if U want)
Was food std same as during food-tasting?
Did U have any tables with 11 or 12 guests? Was the food portion enuf for these guests at bigger tables?

angel81

Hi Pillow,

Tks tks! keke.. dun worry abt the fd.. I've gotten only good comments about the food. Hmm, I had the Unity menu. Tonnes of pple like the chicken/prawns and dessert(my fav!). From what I've eaten, yes, it's the same. My PILs were very happy with the food. Lots of relatives told them that the food was gd, and they felt that they got lots of "face" on tat nite. haha...

Hmm.. we did have tables of 11. Very few only, cuz got pple last min din come mah. The food are enough lah, bt tink mayb u can mix the gender of those tables of 11. Which means to sae not all guys at that table.. if nt sure nt enuff to eat, as guys eat mre mah. keke.. hope this helps...

Hi hamtaro,
I've sent u a PM abt the wines liao.

icehody

just to say that PJ had been great. had my wedding dinner on last week...everyone said the food was very good. all my guests gave praises.

i hv to thank lydia for coordinating my dinner, kenny and pamela for their great job..they were the coolest captains..

for those that signed up with PJ, don't worry, they live up to their reputation.

cheers.

pillow

Hi, Angel!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! U've kinda set my mind at ease.

llina,

Thank you for assuring us!

angel81

Hi vonn,

keke..yah loh.. very fast leh.. hmm.. my pics still nt okie yet.. still got sme pics tat my xiongdis took tat they haven give mi yet.. after i've consolidated and uploaded them will send u the link k?

angel81

Oh ya.. vonn,

dun tink will b so fast though.. cuz i gg on honeymoon nex wkend.. so c if i got time to upload nex wk anot loh. will try to do so b4 HM.. keke

~mimosa~

hi angel & llina,

thanx so much for sharing n ur assurance!
i b holding my ROM there next mth...so excited!!

will b my turn to share after my turn!
was so worried dat their standard might drop due to the increasing popularity of PJ =)

angel81

Hi tingting..
glad i can help. keke.. dun worry, the captains/mgrs are very gd. congrates and slp earli to b a pretty bride! :D

Hi pillow,
keke.. it'll come very soon... enjoy ur preps and do share with us after ur AD. keke

sspl

Dear Gals, im interested to hold my wedding there next year, but got some questions, duno if anyone can pls help or advise..
i intend to have my solem in the evening w few of close frds and relatives in a private room as they stated then proceed to normal banquet at 7pm, cos i dun think all guests wil reach punctually so by the time all tables are filled up then solem starts then aftherwhich dinner starts, i scared all my guests die of hunger liao, haha.. So has anyone done this before? Is there any extra charge for that usage of the room? Do u think its better or shall i do the solem at the stage instead? I somehow feel that the stage is kind of small looking at the website.. As i havent been done there to see it myself.. Wil the setup be w the windows all opened, or will they draw the curtains ah? I know i got alot of ques, really appre if someone could help me out, cos i never knew that planning for wedding could be such a chore, big headache liao.. My Actual date shd be Oct next yr, do u think its too early too book now? Im also looking at small ballroom of hotels.. Cos my guests is ard 200px only.. PLs help, tks so much! Much appreciated..

sspl

btw, when wil u guys have the bridal shoot ah? normally is it 6 mths before atual date of the banquet? is there a time frame as in how long must hold the dinner otherwise they wont loan the gowns to us ah? tks.. 'sratch head"..

rainnqq

hi sspl

bridal shoot actually depends on your bridal studio. Have got to check with your bridal studio how long they need to compile all your photos and let you review properly before putting everything into an album.

As for renting of gowns for Actual Day, don't think there's a max time frame (at least haven't heard of such yet). I'm having my PS end June and my AD is in Dec this yr. It's about 6mths too! Partially this is due to the 2 seventh month this year.

rainnqq

And btw sspl..

Booking one year ahead seems like the normal practice here. Provided you are sure you are taking up that restaurant/hotel. The advantage for booking early is of course you will be booking the dinner banquet at this yr's price which is definitely cheaper than next yr's price
(they increase their price yearly!)

PJ has max 22 tables but can carry 250pax max with some tables taking more than 10pax. Take a trip down there with your FH to have a look at the place
LOoking at it from the website and seeing it in real can be very different

HA! Planning for a wedding can be tough esp in the beginning stage when you are sourcing for venue/BS/PG/VG etc. Once everything settled then you guys will probably lapsed into a period of relaxation till about 3 mths of so before your AD :p hehe.. but it's a fun process! Have fun while you are at it!

sspl

Hi Rainie, tks so much for ur advice! where u took u shoots at ar? if out already, pls share w me ah.. im looking at julia wedding news, the shoots all very nice, but its a little out of my budget, its ard 6k lor.. ermm, regarding booking of the venue, ya lor, looking at the website looks nice but duno if actual place lightnings and all nice a not hor? but i wanna see a actual wedding set up instead of just the normal restuarant like tt lor.. hhehee..ya hor, this yr wil be cheaper but i saw the website have a promi stating FOC tables lor... thought wanna hang ard and wait for more promo like this first then book! hahhah ...can share w me if u done w ur AD end year.. so i can have more ideas abt it.. hahah, ya, its fun when i have loads of help and advice from GUO LAI REN hahah.. otherwise wedding planning can be such a tough job sia..

rainnqq

Hi sspl

Not exactly a good referral as guo lai ren
I had a tough and stressful time checking out the venue beginning this year too! I'm a late planner, u see. By the time I was looking for venue beginning this year, most were already taken up.

But rest assure the brides on this forum are most helpful!
Been generous with their advices and it was great to have people to share and provide assurance and pointers :p

As for having a look at the actual set up of the wedding banquet. Give them a ring to check out when's the next scheduled wedding. Pop down and have a look see. There's no obligation to confirm them even after the tour

Wow! FOC table? Haha.. didn't have that when I signed up with them. But again, do a thorough study of your own requirements of the wedding banquet e.g wine/beer/both :p, reception, overall decor, cocktail, flavours, dishes and lots more. Then compare with the perks they offer and see if there are stuffs u can compromise and then ask for exchange etc or so. Always room for bargain

Alright.. dun wanna bore u too much!
Just a word of advice.. don be too hard on yourself during the selection process.. MUST ENJOY haha

angel81

Hi sspl,

Should you wish to see how the actual set up is, juz give them a call and ask wen is their next wedding. Then make a trip dwn on that dae b4 the wedding (say abt 5plus) to take a look at the actual set up. keke.. tat's wat alot of pple do.

Hmm.. lighting? it's those normal dim lights loh, bt nt too dim until can't see aniting.. a nice romantic dim loh.. hahha...

May I suggest that u can consider having your solm at the alfresco area on the 1st floor? That's a very nice place to say your vows with afew close frens/relatives. I wanted to do tat at first, bt in the end have to do a last min change of plans due to wet weather. So I solm on the stage upstairs. It's not that small, dun worry. It's a stage that is juz nice for the necessary pple, rather cosy. The decor is gd to take pics too. keke

Dun worry abt ur guests, normally they wud arrive on time if u tell them it's solm. And if ur banquet is set for 7pm, normally the bulk will arrive ard 7.45pm, so it won't overlap with ur solm.

A suggestion, if u wan ur banquet to start at 7pm, ur solm can be at 6.45. Cocktails for ur solm to start at 6.15, so guests will have a buffer time of 1/2hr to arrive.

As for ur windows, they are closed, cuz got aircon. Curtains are open to allow ur guests to enjoy the view outside.

I do agree with Rainqq, book early to avoid disappointment. If u reali like there, no harm booking earli mah rite?

Enjoy ur preps!

sspl

Hi Rainie & Angel,

Tks so much for ur advice and pointers, wil cal them to check on the next wedding date so i can pop up to see the decor and all.. Ya, must bargain for more perks sia, otherwise as wat ppl mentioned,once sign contract liao, no more room for argue liao,, ahhaah.

Abt solem at the alfresco area, is it open space as u mentioned due to wet weather u did it on the stage instead.. thats means all passer by can see us ah. i wil be shy lorr. wahaha.. When was ur wedding, just over? SO u guo lai ren liao, can help me more then.. Do u mind share w me some pics of the actual solem and the banquet dinner stuff.. [email protected]
Abt the planning of the time, i wi definately look into ur timing as sole, actually i jus wanna a few relatives and close frds to witness the process only.. Abit hesitant to do it on stage, as scared not prompt arrival of guests and afraid they hungry liao..

Abt booking early, ya,, agree.. wil do dwn and see see w FH before making to BIG step sia! Tks, do chat again!

angel81

Hi Sspl,

U r welcome. Yupz thats the place I was toking abt. Actually if u went by there before, they have some partitions that will block off most of the view. So it's okie actually.

For the timing, tink we def cant confirm the exact timing that the guests will come. So plan as what u intend to, and if there are afew earli birds, juz welcome them loh. Normally guests will arrive late for banquet and on time for solm.. so dun worry too much k?
For mine, there were afew more guests than what I intended, bt it made it fun too. keke.. by the time u r up on the stage.. ur back will b facing the guests.. so wun have time to b shy.. and all of ur mind will b on that moment where u promise to share ur life with ur FH.

Advice from a "guo lai ren".. juz plan as u deem fit, dun worry too much and enjoy it! keke...

My pics haven upload.. will show wen it's done..

sspl

Hey Angel, tks ya.. ya, think i wi lhave the idea of the solom either or.. discuss w FB then see how.. Btw, where u had ur BS at ah? i need to souce out for nice price and gowns.. and also , wat u wore at the banquet ah? is it day WG for the solem then change to EG for the yum seng and all.. i was thinking of wat gown to match the style of cheena retuarant theme leh,, thinking of cheongsum but scared look like waitress instead.. wahhaha..

Ideas to share? cos i know MTM gowns wil take a longer time.. then i intend to desig own style of gown, see if they can accomodate, but scared ex leh.. How sia? Cos my figure not superub.. then im not tall too, so is my FH,, so i cant wear nice gown w too high heels leh.. Help sia.. Somemore i hate 'can can' and chiffon matterial, cos i wil freak and weat like no body biz,, hehe
im looking at satin material only leh.. sianz, no option, so wana see which BS is gd..

Awaiting for ur photos then! Im a KanCheong Spider.. hahahha