Penang

d1amonds

hi S,
not sure u already know this or not but taxis in penang don't go by meter, so be prepare to haggle. It's best if u know what's roughly the price or else u might end up paying more

d1amonds

actually i would recommend tat u rent a car and drive on ur own.
penang is a small island, u won't get lost much..keke..

worry

yeah i saw this tip from another forum b4 too. but they say can request to use meter.
And i too wonder abt the security there too. wonder is snatch thief in broad daylight is common.

worry

I think i better dun drive lah. I drive very lousy one. Heard that ppl drive there very pro. anyhow zig zag then i cham.

mulberry, u went to Penang b4?

d1amonds

but my frens staying in penang say they don't use meter wor..

yup, me n my hubby went there in Dec06. however, we borrowed a car from a family fren and hubby drove

but u r right, they drivers there a pretty 'terrible'...keke..if u r timid driver, then better not drive there.

worry

last time how u go to Penang? By Air or Coach?

Me intending to go by Coach but wondering which coach is better. Grassland seems good but exp. Considering Konsortium or Transtar as well. This weekend got NATAS fair. Dunno the coach prices will be cheaper there or not.

d1amonds

we went by SQ, hubby claimed his krisflyers miles.

i think to penang is abt 10hrs by coach? then i think u better choose the nicest n most comfortable coach. i heard Transtar (the 1st class one) is very comfy.

worry

take by plane good leh.

yeah.. i heard by coach is ard 10 hrs. and i've checked that all leave at night one. so nothing to see as well.

I also heard the Transtar first class one quite good. got massage chair somemore. Hopelly got discount in NATAS fair. else waste my $3 entrance fee.

worry

really? that is good. My hubby like to take photos, then his camera quite good. i worry that he take photo half way then got ppl snatch it away. think i worry for nothing. hehe

last time which hotel u stay? I think i very "chan zhui". after hearing so many tales abt delicious food there. i am drooling and can't wait to go there soon. hehe.

d1amonds

but of coz dun go purposely parading the camera at night and in those not many ppl places lah.

i stayed at cititel. quite value for money hotel. room is clean n spacious.

yeah i really miss the food there...loved their fried kuay teow n fried oyster omellete...yum yum..

uberrimae

cititel is good, have been there twice and both at cititel, excellent location to komtar and food
there is a cab 'station' opp the hotel hence getting cabs is not a prob. else can take a 10min walk to komtar where the bus interchange is..

worry

I'm going with my mum as well. so 3 of us to stay into one room. I've checked out Cititel for triple room is kinda out of budget for us. Probably when me and my hubby go will try Cititel.

lavenderbear

Hi, i was in Penang 3 weeks ago. My FH & I drove up, it was really a long drive. We had stayed overnight in KL to break the journey. Driving up Penang is pretty easy, however, the stretch after Ipoh has got steep bends. I drove in Penang 'cos i was too lazy to read the maps. I think driving in the town area is horrible 'cos there's many many one way roads which arent denoted on maps. Otherwise, food is fabulous. We stayed in G Hotel, along Gurney Drive, strongly recommend it. Fantastic location, new hotel, affordable price RM260nett