Pearl River Palace

groom

Hi all! Anyone had held their wedding dinner at Suntec? The package includes a one-night stay at Ritz Carlton which is something I would like but I'm more concerned about the service during the dinner. Any idea whether the dinner is under the charge of Ritz itself or which organisation?

sok leng

Hi groom,

I had a bad experience with the sales staff and decided not to have the wedding dinner at the ballrooms. Service levels sucks even before my sign up with them, can u imagine how it would turn out if I have signed and things start going wrong on the wedding day? Basically, I just find them unprofessional and very poor in following up.

On the contrary, the chinese restaurant provides better service. Staff are helpful and willing to
explain the details even when they are busy.

groom

Sok Leng,

The Chinese restaurant which u mentioned, is it Pearl River? One of my friend who held her dinner there also have a room at Ritz. Are they under the same management?

sok leng

Hi groom,

Yes, they are all under the suntec bosses, just that different sales team handles the venue. Yah, they have 1 nite stay in a room at Ritz also, and best of all, the total banquet cost will be only 60% of what the ballrooms are charging !!!!

They also have a small reception area for cocktail before the dinner starts. This is something which most chinese restaurant don't have. You may want to consider that.

mae

Hi groom,
My hubby attended a wedding dinner at Pearl River recently, he said the food was so-so only. the service staff played the wrong music for the first entrance. Another fren held her wedding there. when her hubby was abt to make his speech, the mike didn't work. so he had to do a few mike testing. Quite unfortunate. i dun think such things happen often, but jus take note if u intend to book with them.

sok leng

yah... heard also that food is so-so only but come to think of it, whether the food is good is really a subjective thing. Ppl have differing taste. Anyway, after attending so many hotel wedding, their food & service arn't very fantatic either and sometimes, worst than chinese restaurant.

Maybe to avoid unnecessary hiccups, get a close fren to coordinate for you and make sure evrything is running smoothly instead of leaving it all to the restaurant/hotel staff. Just to be sure ......

cleopatra

anyone tried the food at Pearl River Palace before?
actually, i'm attracted by their free one nite's stay in Ritz Carlton...hehehe

welcome any comments. thanks! ;-)

sherry

Can I have some info about the deco and the height of the ceiling for Pear River? As they are in the same level with the function room and ballroom (if I'm not wrong), will the ceiling be as high as the ballromm? And just wondering if my tables are only about 30, will the restaurant still take in walk-in customer? I've called up Pearl River but somehow they mentioned that walk-in customer will go by another entrance, but the following week I've called to make enquiry again, they told me that they would not accept any walk-in customer as long as there's a wedding with the accepted "bookings" of tables. So me getting more confused with this now....appreciate if somebody can share their experience here, especially those who have attend any of the wedding dinner at Perl River.

Thanks in advance! ;-) Sherry

Hi Sherry,

You may want to check with them if your 30 tables meet their numbers of tables which they'll reject walk-in customers. If your bookings meet, please ensure that it is clearly indicated in the agreement.

sherry

Hi Chin Leng,

Thanks for the advice, I'll definitely take note of this point if I'm going to confirm with them. In the meantime, I may be doing a tentative booking so....hope that they are willing to allow me to have the full hall. :-o

Sherry

charlene

Just went to enquire about Pearl River on Saturday, but we were not very impressed. The banquet manager, Pauline, was not professional enough. She just gave us the folder and was not very willing to explain the details to us..

even though we were eyeing the Ritz-Carlton Room
but we are having 2nd thoughts about their service.

*sigh*

Charlene

wildthots

Hi Charlene,

Try calling Jessie (tel. 8252076) or make an appointment with her. She is the assistant manager there. She can explain the package in detail to you.

gracious

Wonder how much would they charge for a table for next year, June? I know that their min. no. of table is 25, but still not very impressed that they do charge for the flow of beer, it's not free flow at all. Is there extra perks added to next year's package?

Charlene,
is Jessie, the asst. mgr of Pearl River Palace Rest.? Yeah, I do agree that Pauline, isn't very helpful at all.

charlene

Hi Gracious,

I did not follow up with them bcos my FH thought they are too expensive considering it is only a restaurant. However, I have the pricing for 2002-Price has increased...

Now they are charging between $538 to $638, with 5% discount for weekdays.

Comparing the 2001 and 2002, they added complimentary 30 litres beer, 20% compliementary car park coupons and display of couples' wedding photo on the Suntec mega display screen.

Think the last item is interestng

hope that helps

Charlene

phng

Any comment about Pearl River Rest. had book a date with them for next year march. Comment on their food, service ...etc.

lynx

hi phng

can't help but to post a reply to you. I'd actually wanted to book Pearl River also. But their staff attitude puts me off. They are not exactly unfriendly but just very cold in responding to your needs .. take it or leave it, dun really matter to them. I can't bargain for anything. For instance, I don't really fancy me and my hubby foto appearing at the SUNTEC big screen (one of the perks that they offer), I asked for something else in return. No go. The staff can tell me that they have to rent this from Suntec at very high price and many couples are so happy to have this. Can't help but feel that they are saying that we are some cheapos who don't know how to appreciate such good deal.

If not for this, I would have booked them. The restaruant is unlike many others - no pillars, very spacious. The reception area also quite exclusive. Food-wise, have not tried, so no comments.

Pauline was the one who talked most to us. Perhaps you could find other sales instead. Good luck.

For info, I booked Pin Hsiang in the end. Good food & service. Price so much cheaper than Pearl River. Only drawback - not accessible and restaurant abit run-down.

pearl

Hi Earth,

Why? U interested in booking your wedding dinner there? So far, I've been there for their ala carte buffet n the food is not bad...

earth

Actually I was thinking of having my wedding there as I think they got a big reception area, and the place is quite easy to access!

But I think the price can be considered quite Expensive leh....

How abt yourself? Have you book your venue?

pearl

Hi Earth,

Yeah, that's wat I thot too. I've booked mine. At Pearl River Palace. So far, nobody in this forum seems to have booked at this place.

dearie

Dear Pearl,

Have you confirm your booking with Pearl River Palace? what is the deal like? Can you please share your experience with me?

I am planning for my wedding on Sept 04.

pearl

Hi Dearie,

I've confirm my booking abt a yr ago. Me going for the mid range menu. Comes with free 1 nite stay at Conrad, 30 L beer, free flow of soft drinks/tea/mixers n all the usual stuff... Forgot the exact details oredi cos too long ago. Will go for food tasting in sep. Other than dat, not much contact with the restaurant so far. ;P

What made u keen to sign up with tis restaurant? It doesn't seem to be a very popular choice...

dearie

Hi Pearl,

I think some people have different perception on a certain issue.

The reasons why I am looking at this restaurant is becoz:-
1) firstly, PRP is one of the restaurants that falls within my budget range;
2) My colleague commented that the food is not bad as she has attended her frd's wedding at this restaurant last year;
3) My FH's colleague has just attended a wedding dinner on 15 June 03 and he said the food is not bad but the serving is slow becoz they started the dinner late (at 9pm). I guess if I am having my wedding dinner on a weekday, the guest will tend to come more on time as they have to come directly from work; &
4)My FH likes the place becoz it is accessible and have lots of parking space. My FH is very considerated, he worry for our wedding as well as the guests who are attending.

What about u? What makes you decide to sign up with PRP?

keng

Hi Dearie,

I agree with you that this place is very accessible especially if you have lots of older relatives and friends.

I booked mine last year and will have my dinner there in dec this year.

Despite the place being just a restuarant, it does have a nice ambience and it does give me a comfortable feeling as compared to other resturants ($300 - $400 type).

The food is trusted to be good, i tried it many times already.

pearl

HI Dearie,

For me, I chose PRP also bcos of the location. My hubby n I dun like the idea of our relatives having a hard time finding the place esp those who don't have cars. It is also within our budget range, n it looks better than other restaurants I've been to n at the same time, it's not as ex as hotel ballrooms. My hubby n I don't believe in overstretching our budgets jus for a wedding esp in times like this. We can't expect everybody to give us big angpows so even if we make a loss, I believe we can still manage...

Like Keng, I also find the food not too bad. Never attend any wedding at PRP though. Only it's ala carte buffet.

dearie

Dear Keng and Pearl,

Thank you for your comments.

I have to agree with both of you...

I have gone down to take a look the other day with my colleague and there was a wedding going on at that time.... the place looks presentable, nice ambience, carpetted, gives me a cosy feeling... hehehehe

Like Pearl, my FH and I also do not believe in overstretching our budget and we definitely do not want to end up in debt at the Beginning of our new Life together...

I have never dine there before... perhaps i will ask my FH to go down one day after we have shortlisted our list of venues... I am sure PRP will be one of them... hehehhe

bridengroom

Hi everyone, any comments for the restaurant River Palace @ Suntec? How is the service and food? Does it taste the same as the day u went for the food tasting? I'm having lots of query...pls help....

mahjong

Anyone been to Pearl River recently?? Give ur frank comment on the place. Quality of food, service, perks and etc

Mark

leeds

I went there for CNY dinner and the food is absolutely yummy!!
especially the cold dish with the jelly fish, suckling pig etc… Really good!

soupie

hi matthew, attended my fren's wedding there in early february this yr and i was quite impressed.

foodwise was very good.. the dishes were served hot and all were yummy.. deco wise.. think they have improved since last yr.. cos when i shared my fren's wedding pics with another fren.. she mentioned that last yr when one of her frens used pearl river the deco was too plain.

overall i think it's a good choice for a restaurant especially if u can take the full capacity.. if not they may have walk in customers.. somemore the reception area is big and spacious.

but service wise.. do not expect hotel standards lor.. the waitresses are those aunties.. they are prompt in serving but dun expect to be pampered and waited on hands and feet hehe :p

overall this restaurant left me with a good impression.. i had my company lunch there once last yr too.. and the food was yummy too

kokchien

<font color="0000ff">Hi Joy and Matthew,</font>
<font color="aa00aa">I just went for my food tasting last month and the dishes were good. All whom I invited for the free food tasting was very happy with the food. Their pricing is also reasonable and service is good.
You should definitely consider it if you're looking for a restaurant that serves delicious cantonese food. Most hotels that i attend my friend's/relative's wedding aren't that good, they only pay for the ambience.</font>

jasjas

Hi Bow Wow,

Which package u taking fr PRP n wat is ur opinion so far?
I intend to book with them...but still not sure.
I was told dat there is a cocktail reception b4 the dinner commence.

jasjas

Anyone been to PRP @Suntec 4 wedding dinner or hold ur wedding dinner there?

Need some comments abt restaurant..
Tot of confirming wif PRP but duno whether I made a right choice..

avril

I've been to wedding there..Food is ok..Actually all hotel/restaurant taste similar to me..hehe..But I think the lights a bit bright, not so romantic feel, march in slightly short..So actually the couple walk very very slow. Then projector location not good. The white screen put in front of a aquarium..Oh yeah, I think they hv those aquarium for ppl to choose fish to cook..Unsightly..Other than that, it was ok.

jasjas

Hi avril,

Thnxs for ur feedback...
Personally, I've bn dere for "normal" dinner, find dat the food is not bad. As for ambience, i dint reali notice at tat time.
Gonna view their wedding setting tis wkend, as there is a wedding dinner cum cocktail reception on the day.

The march in is quite short n i was told dat there hv no projector &amp; screen for photo montage..
Either i rent fr Suntec or i bring in myself.
. Worst cum to worst, there is no montage for me.

As for wedding package wise, the price is reasonable lor..but I still got the "dilemma" feeling..

avril

Oh yeah, the wedding I attended spent 1k extra for decorations, to get floral arch, and real flower along the aisle. But for the similar price..I think Pan pac/holiday inn is better. Oh yeah, no white cover for chair..They've got a ballroom beside the restaurant..That one looks better, with white chair cover etc

jasjas

Yah, the coordinator told me if i were to hold in the ballroom..need to get their most exp menu..
I oso duno...see how on Sat.

bin

would like to check with u, how much shd i bao for an ex-colleague wedding dinner this sat @ Pearl River? Think I'll top up $20 abv the cost of each table

sunny3

I've attended a banquet there today. Food not bad. But I don't like the lotus rice...very fishy. Also, the mango pudding has little mango taste but more flour taste.

yun76

anyone been to their gallary wedding ?? how isit..? how is their deco? can compare to suntec gallary?