Park Hotel Orchard

poochi77

little lamb, thks for the compliment.. yea we had to exhange a glass of raw egg and as u can see close encounter with one another ha ha ha. But it was fun and enjoyable. When we went up to the room our kakis were still around for part2.

We woke up ard 10-ish but breakfast ends at 10 I think.
I had a total of 36/7 tables, the 30L was suff. cos I told them to serve wine once beer ran out. We used ard 40-50 btls of wine - our friends are drinker profile type.

blizz

Hi Poochi, ya u really had a enjoyable night

May i know when was your big day?This year? Frankly speaking the pkg they offer u was indeed v gd deal.

Can i check is the hotel light dim? Beco that time when i went down for viewing it seem quite dark...

Ya abt the march in...understand the partition on the left side is block. Did the guest feel awkward on this?

Little lamb: Did Crown htl give u 1 or 2 nights? did u rq for additional night? Was your pkg as attractive as poochi?..Now the table price have increased.. I did request for additional but they seem inflexible lor.

rc123

Hi poochi,

Cool.. my tables are less than yours. Hope I dun have to add another barrel of beer. It's understandable to wake up late, so can I request for brunch instead?

Hi blizz,

Yah, mine the same as poochi, weekend package for weekday price. Crown gave 1 nite, additional nite is charged at $250+++. How much is the price per table?

poochi77

littlelamb,
all depends on your crowd we started serving alchol only when guests were seated and I told my dinner coord not to open another barrel jus use wine- most ppl are cool abt it. Seriously I dun think need to lor save the$$. Can try ask for extd time for the breakfast - try to push for it la.

Blizz,
my big day jus finito - was 4 Sep. I booked wif them sometime last Dec.

The lighting is fine - gives it a warm, cosy romantic feel type. But u can enquire abt having it brighter its personel preference.

Well the ballroom is so long so does not make much a diff they can see u for quite sometime even after the entry point la hee hee.. anyway I really didnt notice abt that. Put guys in that area la cos guys seldom bothered abt looking at the wedding couple one! ha ha ha... dats my take cos they only interested in drinking, eating, joking. :p

blizz

little lamb,
Wow yours and Poochi pkg are really at a v good price. Oh now the price hv increased to 798nett per table. Free one table. Anyway, if booked 35 tables not much savings lor..

Poochi,
Thanks for your valuable info...really a great help to me. However, i am confuse now whether to take up the package as the price really increase quite alot..any valuable comments?

poochi77

Blizz,
hmm it depends on your budget but I think they're one of the "affordable" one in town area. The other one I considered was HolidayInn and Amara but didnt like the ballrooms. Well compare the various perks other hotels giving and eliminate whats impt and necc for u. The price didnt incr that much for weekend rt? U definately cant compare the diff with mine and littlelambs offer la. Does yours come with free flow beer?

As for LCD player it mayb a minus pt for some cos they dont have and u have to pay for rental. I have my own -fr my friend so that was not an issue when we signed up.

blizz

Hi Poochi,
The different in price probably incur addition
$3-4k.No free flow of beer,only 3L of beer given.
Ya for other hotel LCD usage is free..theirs have to pay lor..
U r right... for me most impt is ambience,food and must find out any extra hidden cost.

Can i check with you, for their ballroom decoration is standard one right? How do u find the decoration? That day did went down but the pp were trying on the projector and too many pp so didn't really went inside. From outside it seem not bad but a bit plain lor(as in the individual table)

poochi77

blizz sori late reply.. been busy.
How abt the wines free corkage? LCD best is check ard if friends or colleagues have and dun mind leanding you.

Ballrom deco was sufficient and nice. Besides the VIP table is fully decorated the rest of tables very simple - anyway pple are not goin to remember the deco but the gift. Teh gift was nice.

blizz

Hi Poochi,
No problem. Thanks for the reply

Me too busy recently..oh they do waive off but only for limited bottles..thus not really attractive lor.

september

all who interested in holding ur banquet at Crown hotel, they are participating in a bridal fair organise by Bliss mag. from 1st to 3rd Nov at takashimaya (at the atrium there if me heard the co-ordinator correctly)...understand that they hv attractive perks to offer during the fair...do go down to look see look see....

september

hi there, me is a Crown bride to be...hv sign up their package last nite 30 min to 9pm at the Bliss wedding show....hope to see more Crown bride to be here as this thread seem rather quiet lor...

september

they give free flow of beer + corkage waiver for no limit on bottle of wine + $1000 discount on top of thier normal package....do u hv their normal package? hey, since their promo juz end last nite, y dun u try ur luck and call them...u look for Victor Chin lah...dun hv their no. wif me now and see if they can extend the promo to u...coz i tink he mention tat they did agree to extend the promo to some couples till today as they need more time to consider....

september

o...to add on..mine is the weekend package...tink for weekday package it is someting similar except tat they gif 24 bottle of wine (coz normal package oredi got free flow of beer)...but me dun really remember details for weekday package lor

piggypig

hi diana,
so how much you hv to pay per table for the weekend package, plus
free flow of drinks
free flow of beer
free corkage for unlimited bottles of wine
$1000 off total package.

Citibank promotions now on:
S$1000 off the total food bill
Corkage waiver for 12 bottles of wine
Complimentary usage of LCD projector

september

hi piggypig, it depend on how many table u r hving...the price is $798/table so for me...i hv 38 tables so per table work out to be ard $772 after the $1000 rebate lor...

aware abt Citibank promo too but it is nt as gd as the promo Crown run at Bliss Wedding Fair except tat it dun hv the complimentary usage of LCD projector lor...

september

aiyo...this thread is so quiet....any crown bride to be out there?

also, would like to hear the views/comments for those who hv hold their banquet wif crown before leh.....

rc123

I was a Crown bride. Would like to compliment the staff at Crown for making my dinner a success and a memorable one. They are v pro in terms of sound arrangement, service, timing etc. I love the deco too... v nice. There's not a single bit of hiccup (not that i know of). Have enjoyed my time there and it was very nice of the captain to waive off additional carpark coupons. Glad that I've chosen Crown for my wedding dinner.

rc123

I was a Crown bride. Would like to compliment the staff at Crown for making my dinner a success and a memorable one. They are v pro in terms of sound arrangement, service, timing etc. I love the deco too... v nice. There's not a single bit of hiccup (not that i know of). Have enjoyed my time there and it was very nice of the captain to waive off additional carpark coupons. Glad that I've chosen Crown for my wedding dinner.

september

hi little lamb, so u hv go thru ur customary liao...congrats....great to noe tat u hv a great time on ur AD, me finally sign up wif Crown during the Bliss magazine wedding fair as their perks offer are rather attractive and are wat i wan....how r the food? also, if u dun mind, can i see ur photo.... my email is [email protected] thks...

contentedbride

hi Crown brides to be, i m also a Crown bride on 29 Oct. The dinner has been wonderful and a success, with the help of Victor Chin (Sales), and Christopher Lum (F&B)... They have been very polite, nice and detailed.. Look for them, they are very good... Good luck, Cheers.

bluey07

Hi, I am Crown bride to-be too! Anyone any idea the food portion big? Scared the food portion too little for my guests... believe to be big eaters.. hhaha.. any problem for the parking lots? They complementary tickets quite little... around 30pcs which for sure insufficient for all my guests as most of them drive.... worried....

september

cynthia, me also worried abt the complimentary parking coupons thus is current requesting them to gif more and to waive off the surcharge for additional parking coupons lor...why dun u try requesting wif them again?

phmiracle

Hi I'm also a Crown BTB... have signed up with them during the Bliss show... think the package should be not too bad : )

september

welcome dreamz, it good to see more bride to be of Crown coz this thread is simply too quiet.... me also sign uop during the Bliss Wedding Fair on the last day half an hr before the fair is over....hahaha...

cynthia, btw, my negotiation wif Crown on the parking coupon failed liao, the max. parking coupon they are giving me on complimentary is 35 and any additional is at $3.15 each...

phmiracle

Hi Diana when is your AD? Mine is on 18 Nov 06. Have been thinking abt the 'duty paid' thingy with the wine n hard liquor... jus wondering if there's any way to bring in the DFS ones... any idea?

phmiracle

thanks diana...anyway diana think u did ur best with ur negotiation. maybe you jus have to tell some of ur guests to park in the carpark near to crown hotel... think the fee is per entry.

Hi cynthia nice to know tat u r also another crown btb. anyway i realise crown doesn't advertise in the bridal mag...

did u all consider other venues b4 deciding on crown?

september

hi dreamz, some gals tell me to paste the chinese character 'xi' over the DFS words...but nt sure if this will work....tink my requirement of hard liquor will nt be much only my dad frenz drinking ba....so tink mayb juz buy some then mix some DFS bottle to mix water touch fish 'hoon shui mo yu'....

me considering to buy the additional coupons if required on the day itself lor...

my other consideration is Amara....was deciding between this two...but chose Crown bcoz of the free flow of beer and no limit on no. of bottle for wine corkage waiver....

o...my AD is 1st Oct 2006 - Children Day hee hee

how abt u?

phmiracle

ya that's a good idea... will look at the bottles when i'm at DFS... leaving for BKK next week

Mine AD is 18 Nov 2006 - 1 mth after yours... have u gotten ur BS already? so have u ROMed or u'll be having it on ur AD?

Me too actually wanted to go back to amara cos we did our ROM there... but the menu for crown seems much 'superior' n my parents sort of insist on good food... so finally decided on crown.

my dad also told me nowadays not many ppl will wan to drink hard liquor so maybe i am only bringing in 6 - 8 bottles.

Guess this thread will not be lonely after all... hee hee

september

hi dreamz, my BS is White Link, it is the first ting we settled mths before ROM...o..ya...me ROM liao on 9th May 2005...actually i did heard good feedback on Amara food too....but mayb Crown better lor...coz although i hv nv dine in Crown resturant or hv any wedding dinner there, i do heard alot of positive feedback from frenz on Crown food lor....

so u ROM liao too...when? this yr too? btw, if u go back to Amara, will they gif u additional perks since u hv hold ur ROM there?

heehee, i tink slowly more brides to be will join us here...

phmiracle

Diana,
me too hv nvr dine in crown but my parents did... they oso said food is gd... i actually pester HB to sign up soon cos i wanted more time to prepare for BIG day...
so tt day b4 signing up with crown we went hotel shopping... from orchard to tanglin regent hotel...

me ROMed on 19 sept 05 at amara poolside... nice wedding planner at amara... i din ask if i will get the extra perks but think shld have some. anyway last sat was the amara bridal show... din go cos have already signed up with crown. the food during my ROM was good esp the choclate cake... hee hee kind of missed the feeling of preparing for ROM...

My HB was asking me tt day if i will miss all these wedding preparation after my AD... of course I said. but he din understand why we women have so much to prepare... men always like tt...

september

ya...i heard abt the yummy cake before too...

aiya...guys will nv understand coz they nv really do so much preparation as us gals mah...heeheehee

blizz

Hi Diana n Dreamz..May i know did crown hotel give any additional night stay at the bridal suite ??

september

hi blizz, mine do nt hv additional night stay coz it is the promotional package during Bliss Wedding Fair.....u got?

phmiracle

Hi Diana n blizz
sorry for not replying promptly... jus got back from my overseas trip.

How's everyone? Hopefully everyone is fine n looking forward to the new year.

I didn't get an extra night stay too... but i guess u can check with victor abt this. it's quite difficult to get additional perks from crown

anyway diana, remember i told u tt crown didn't advertise in any bridal mag? they have one in the latest her world bridal mag... the perks are also quite good.

september

hi blizz...since u hv nt sign, remember to request for wat u want first then until they compromise wif something u satisfy if they cant gif u wat u wan then sign....

dreamz....really huh...is it tat mag tat gif away love song? muz go buy and see liao...hahaha

phmiracle

diana... yup it's tt mag which is giving away the cd... 5 pieces of music... not too bad. but i'm still waiting for the next issue of style mag to be published... : >

september

dreamz, me got the mag too...saw the promo liao...still the bliss wedding fair promo which i sign better...coz free flow of beer and corkage waiver for all bottles of wine and liquor is my top top priority mah...keke

gingerfish

Hi, I intended to go Crown Hotel to have a look at their ballroom, but we didn't as we hv not fix our actual day date yet. Has anyone view their ballroom & does it have any pillars?

Btw, the co-ordinator that i was supposed to meet up was Vanessa. Anyone has spoken to her before?

september

hi emily, there is actually no pillars but understand from another bride to be that there is one side of the parition which is blocked but i did nt noticed it wen i went down to view the ballroom the last time...tink it will still be best tat u see it personally and have a feel of it...btw, the ballroom is low-ceiling one and we like it coz it wont make us feel beri small....but understand tat alot of couples like high-ceiling ballroom coz it look more grand ba...

ya, i hv spoken to her before quite nice lady...

gingerfish

Hi Diana,

Thank you for your advice. Ya, maybe i should go down personally to have a look.

But, I am not sure wat are additional perks that I can request for, other than waiver of corkage for wine & additional parking coupons. Can you or anyone provide me with some advice?

gingerfish

Hi Diana,

Thank you for your advice. Ya, maybe i should go down personally to have a look.

But, I am not sure wat are additional perks that I can request for, other than waiver of corkage for wine & additional parking coupons. Can you or anyone provide me with some advice?

september

tink u can ask for additional night stay in the bridal suite, free usage of projector, food tasting for 10 pax, extend hr for day room, late check out, free flow of beer, special rate for oversea guest etc....

hopes the above help ;-)

gingerfish

Hi Little Lamb,

The deco & ambience seems very nice..
Just to check with you, the photo frame wedding favour supplied by the hotel?