Park Green

Rachel - got our doorbell from Home Fix-It. There is one in Compass Point. Actually, for doorbells not many options to pick from, have to make sure it is big enough to cover the 2 round casings on the wall now also (else have to plaster to cover the scarring). Been to several DIY shops & they all carry the same few designs.

Ka Ro - we definitely wanted the handover last Sat, so Raymond said they will do the remaining stuff concurrent with the ID works - anyway, just small stuff, scratches on floor, a loose floorboard in the MBR, etc. Just need the floor guy to do some touching up. Now have to bug our ID to finish by end next week!

limay,
Got it. At least not many doorbell to choose, i don't have to crack my brain. So long i get the big one will do
may i know how much each cost?

Can someone tell me are we suppose to have glass sink for all our toilets? My friend highlighted to me that showroom was fitted with glass sink.

Rachel
I'm very frustrated liao... Can't be bothered, anyway they say will do, so we just wait patiently. Sat still hv to talk to them abt buffing our flr again...

When u go to home-fix, they hv 5% disc. for certain cards... Safra card is one of them

Cost btw $20-50 for a doorbell

i had the same impression too actually. but my husband couldn't remember so i didn't pursue it.. i thot the showflat had those very nice glass sinks..
but of course, whether it is in the specs in our agreement is what counts.. i haven't checked that

Fanta,
Yah lor... cos presently living at MIL's another house, beri small(above shopehouse that type)! Then another house is having 4 doggies... worst! I dun think I want to go back to my own mom's house for confinement... Headache...

hi all, did anyone find difficulty in fixing the washing machine water hose into the water tap? I think most of the washing machine hoses cannot be fitted into the taper nose water tap. can anyone advice? Thanks.

Hi kyosho1 (kyosho1), I have been to countless ID firms and none of them I came across charging any amount for a plan!! Dun be fooled!

Hi PG neighbours,

I was informed by maincon today that from today Monday 6 Dec 2004 onwards, the workers will stop work at 7:00pm sharp.

So please be informed that owners who require the keyman to open the door must reach PG before 7pm.

The reason behind this was that maincon has received complaints from our fellow neighbours who are fortunate enough moved in early that the rectifications work at night is disturbing them.

Hence, owners who are still waiting for the rectification to complete will need to wait longer as the adjustment in schedule to accommodate our petty neighbours has slowed down the rectification progress.

rachel & shoezz,
i looked thru the pics i took of the showrooms (both the first & second showrooms). no glass sinks. both showrooms have porcelain sinks like what we have now in our units. so we didn't get shortchanged.

HI Merci,

I think only about 10 units pple moved in & I don't think the main-con is so caring for the neighbours who already shifted in. Maybe they just want to find excuses. Will check for you which neighbour who complain....

Hi Dracwy,

Thanks for checking. Good to know that we weren't ripped off. =) Dunnoe why I kept thinking that we were supposed to have glass sinks.

Hi Rachel,
Yah - we got the doorbell for $19. Those in the $20-50 range have the normal ringing tones, the more ex ones $100+ have a variety to choose from (but more ugly)

Hi Rachel & Limay,
My honeymoon was ok. Did not buy as much as I like to becos my house is already overflowing hahaha.

Two good news when i went to PG yesterday. First, the horrible sup have left the main con hahaha. My place was terribly dirty and dusty though, but they promise that they will clear up the defects and handover on Sunday! Yipee!!!! But that is of cos after closing one eye over some defects lah. The thing I'm still very displeased abt is the uneven flooring.. URGH! The lippage is exactly 1mm!

Thanks Alvin,

Heard the news from the supervisor and keyman. Did not believe them at first. But when I went maincon office at 7:15pm sharp yesterday night to speak to the maincon manager. Every single worker was gone.

Anyway, it is stipulated by law that major construction work including drilling/hacking must stop before 5:00pm.

Renovation law under HDB.

2 Time Allowed for Renovations
2.1 For new blocks, the approved work must be completed within four months from the date of the permit.

2.2 For existing blocks, the approved work must be completed within one month from the date of the permit.

2.3 No Work shall be carried out before 8 am or after 6 pm.

2.4 Noisy Work such as cutting of tiles, demolition of walls and removing floor/wall finishes are restricted from 9.00 am to 5.00 pm during the weekdays. Such works are not allowed on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays.

2.5 At any one time, only two of the approved hand-held power tools or their approved equivalents are allowed to be used.

2.6 Contractors are not allowed to take more than three consecutive days to demolish walls and/or removal of wall/floor finishes.

hi Rachel, think not advisable to get door bell from lightshop..my id brought me to 1 light shop, the same legrand brand door bell that can be found in home fix cost double, unless u want the convenience of the delivery together with your lights..

hi all, any1 bought portable hangers that can be placed on balcony to sun laundry? saw a few at neighbouring shop but seems will rust..any recommendation?

I was away for a day and there were so many posts... PG is still one bustling neighbourhood!

Chinnie, welcome back! Hope you did manage to detach yourself from the worries of your unit and enjoy yourself during your honeymoon. Went up with Esther to your unit on Sat but it was locked so didn't get to see the progress of your unit. But glad to hear that at least some things are moving... I'm sure they are rushing your unit for you

I think I can start reno next week if I can confirm my design by this week since my unit is ready for handover anytime (thou they are still doing some minor work for me now). Must thank Aziz and Samy for their help. Very dedicated pple.

I agree with what Merci has said. Those fortunate neighbours should be more magnanimous to allow rectification works until 8pm. Actually if there are no drillings or cutting of tiles in the evening, I dun see why such work will interfere their lives there. So selfish.

Hey Melodie,
Yeah, I think they girl you saw was me.

Limay,
That John (Indian uncle who has a big maroon brolly) from my blk is indeed friendly. He's so fond of guests that he invites almost everyone he sees to visit his house. He practically "open house" to everyone he sees
, and insisted that we go in and have a look but we didn't cos we were in a hurry...

Seems like a couple of you guys said that the main con is now willing to replace the hollow/uneven tiles now... so Merci, did you manage to get those changed as well?

Hi Batt,
Ya, those portable laundry hangers are not resistance to rust and will get rusty once they ganna rain... and worse, they will topple when there's strong wind...

Btw, can we hang laundry on the balcony meh? I think only those with PES can do that but not on balcony...I remember seeing something like "the management does not allow hanging of laundry on balcony that will affect the aesthetic view of the development" or seomething like that...

Wow, isn't that great? If you are not in a hurry to move, then it will be good. I notice a fair bit of hollow strip of parquet in my room... hai, want to fight for it also cannot cos I want to move in by Jan... so sick

Hi Carol

Yes, I read that too. In fact, when I hung my laundry on the balcony to 'sun' it during winter while I was staying overseas, I received a 'warning' letter from that management.

Hi Carol,

hee... no leh. My heart and soul still here when i was overseas, did Esther tell you i called her to check on status? She ask me why i call her hahaha

They trying to hurry on my case, becos the sup is now Raymond, the same guy whom i collected keys frm. I keep suaning him, so many people handover liao hor, but who is the first unit to collect keys huh? But they got manpower shortage, so they stopped work on my unit yesterday and today
So we will start reno at about the same time? Pray hard hard everthing go smoothly, my house is still in one huge mess and I'm homeless!

Anyway, no one managed to get them to replace the marble tiles for uneveness right? Only for hollow tiles? If can replace, then i definitely run down to their office now hehehe

Hey Chinnie - CONGRATS on ur pending handover! hehe....ur nightmare is ending
Yah, we saw esther last weekend as well, she looked so stressed & flustered! Ur ID is so nice to be doing all the chasing for u.

Anyway - we will be in PG on Sat/Sun, so if u wana come by, just sms me. Our reno starts tomorrow & handover is just after wedding (20th). Think by this weekend they would have done up some wiring & base coat for the walls. Am so glad we are seeing progress now!

Carol - yah, a number of friendly neighbours! Think we have met at least 10 neighbours in our block alone! Even my cousin is on the 3rd floor! When everyone settles in, we definitely should do a get-together BBQ!

Maybe I can share a thought on the aesthetic view of apartments.
I used to live in an apartment in the CBD area of an European city. Strict rules govern the compound and fascade of the building eg No hanging of clothes at window ledge, no potted plants or bicycles or shoe racks along common corridor, standard grills etc etc. To the homeowners (or tenants like myself), it was looked upon as too strict but for visitors, potential tenants & buyers, the building exudes class, and it reflects very well on the personal status of the homeowners/tenants as well. Singapore apartments in some CBD areas has that class, but I guess to a certain extent, it is becos' of expatriate tenants.
I doubt PG can achieve that status (even though I am hoping otherwise), judging from the looks of nearby condos; and I bought PG with that in mind, thus I am contented.
Just my 2 cents worth. Please don't flame me. heh heh. Thanks.

Hi Limay,

Yah, we owe a lot to Esther, she followed up so closely that i think everyone in the maincon knows her liao hehehe.

We will be there on sat and sun, to do the final check before handover. Hope that everything will be ok... Still pretty scared becos they hacked my bathroom, afraid that they produce more defects along the way. My maindoor already got chipped off
Anyway, we can just shout to each other from the balcony hahaha.

So how is your wedding preps? Still very free? Hahaha. You will not be taking photos at PG then? If only they had been faster, you would be able to take your wedding photos in your unit and I would be able to spend Christmas at my house! Boo hoo hoo

Hi Kyosho 1

Though I used to stay in the suburb overseas, the set of strict rules also applies to where I stayed.........

Hi batt,
Thanx for the advice. I will got to DIY shop and buy the doorbell

limay,
Think i go for the normal type of doorbell
Not going to waste more money on small little things.

Hi chinnie,
They manage to change my kitchen hollow tiles. But now they trying to find the matching colour of the yard tiles for me.

KaRo - no lah, not BBQ on 1st Jan, will see when the bulk of us shift in loh, maybe sometime nearer CNY? Then we can have a after dinner tour of all the new units!

Chinnie - yah, wedding is next weekend! Think I am getting more stressed about the apartment than wedding preps lah..also more bothered about projects at work i need to get done before i go on long leave...!(nerd)
Wont be taking pix at PG for the wedding day, just going to stop by Botanic Gardens on the way to hotel for check-in. Will catch up with u this weekend!

Yah, i spent a couple of years in Sydney & we also had v strict rules on what u can put at the balcony! Even the flower pots had to be of a certain colour! I already see PG residents hanging clothes in the balcony (instead of the designated area at the yard) - quite unsightly from the LRT! Apparently the new apartment at YCK is worst - hubby says he can see all the colours of people undies hanging out to dry when the MRT passes by

Oh, now they do change hollow tiles... wat about parquet? Do they do that too?

I think it's too much to hang their undies at the balcony 'for all to see'
It's so unsightly and doesn't reflect too well on the owner too. If it's those very thick towels which need strong sun (if not will give off smell), I still can understand, but undies?!! Gosh...

Merci,
Heehee... dunno got exact timing for contractors to stop working one... I pregnant can act depression mah.
229074.png

Hi ALL,
Now me having headache liao cos yesterday I went to PG, got 1 guy is polishing my unit floorings. Was happy. Today, I can see ALL the defects now I am having depression liao. Now so worried that I cannot move in for my confinement. The marbles have holes(think they dropped sth or the tiles come in this way, then they bochap) and in btw each tiles, there is a white cement lining. The white cement lining seep into the marbles liao! Now the view on the centre part of each marbles are shining but the edges are blur! It is most visible way is for me to stand at the door with the sun shining in... Wah liao... So heartache and so worried now... Going to meet contractor tomorrow. Dunno they are able to rush it for me?
My contractor said that their workmanship is like shit! He said this type of job, they dare to submit to owners! Hai....
229075.png

hi just would like to share.
for those interested to get dryer.
u might b interested to look into gas dryer.
PUB is the only one marketing this brand Rinnai.
demo can be demo at the PUB.
too bad i didn't get to noe abt this, else i would definitely opt for this, as gas dryer would be more gentle on ur fabric and most importantly it's gentle on ur electricity bill too.

currently they hving promo for the 1st 500 sets, ea set $499. any extension of gas pipe, they will subsidize up to $70. v.gd deal as i understand they use to sell for $800+.

Carol,
My friend place they change the timber flooring because the water soak in. As for the hollow timber floor i am not really sure.

at nite sunshield might wat ah_eng has said, blocked ur poolview as it's reflective at night.

but then unless u on ur aircon, least u should open ur window n still get poolview.

haha...dont talk about other people lah, for all u know, when most of the PG residents are in, we maybe seeing colourful undies on several balconies too...urgh

Missylan - we got frosted laminates from a Home Fix-it, going to use that for part of the bay ledge windows (the portion at a right angle to main windows). Saw that one unit facing the pool covered all their windows with blue frosting - not sure if mgt would ask them to remove it for the sake of uniformity (blue windows vs. ours in green)?

ah_eng/roooller,
I am looking at the sample, there are some without reflective layer. Some very close to our window's colour. But stated there that they have can block off certain Ultra-Violet/Solar Energy Reject/Visual Light transmission and tickness of the film. They are scratch resistent coated. By the way, my unit too high to view the pool. Unless I open my windows at the living room and push my head out or get out of the balcony in my master.

Bigtoes,
I think we shouldn't "spoil" the outlook of the property. Not to worry, I will not choose a colour different from my windows. I will choose a colour close to the original. If management allows different colours, then a bit like HDB liao(blue, black, purple, yellow etc).
Thought our windows are in grey? Green meh?

hi missylan,

the higher the % of rejecting heat, the higher the premium. those without reflective, chances r they r not solar resistant.

but do chk with ur management, as some MC dun allow v.high % as at night it's reflective.

i can intro my supplier if u r interested. but i dun hv his contact now.

Hey Roooller,
You are still around... thought you won't be in the forum anymore since you have already moved into your new house

So is everything ok there for you? Any problems like ours?

Do share with us your contacts for the sunshield thingy...

roooller,
I saw from the films that all having the "solar energy rejected"... only the % more or less. Thanx for the advice, if didn't consult teh management, wait they ask me to remove then I siao liao... Delay again!
229131.png

Its ok, I'm letting the curtain guy doing this film also... So everything under 1 person easier... Thanx a lot