Park Green

Limay/EIG,
I did not really rush them but told the contractor that I am need to vacant my present flat by 22nd. And he promised me to finish the unit in 2 weeks time. I am surprised that they have done all in a week's time

EIG,
next time I go and knock on your door =P

Danny,
Thanks for the link. I enjoyed reading all your fengshui tips

Hi Ah Eng,
You mentioned polishing the parquet flooring, did the maincon promise to get it done for you? Likewise for the marble flooring? Our parquet flooring is getting rougher & acc. to maincon, it's due to heat.

Missylan,
I had bad experience with Melandas, though I will say some of their furnitures look good but yet ex. I ordered a off-white my bedframe from them 3 yrs back and they delivered a rose-white to me instead. My wedding was in one week's time and they screwed up on that. Anyway, it was settled before my wedding date cos I gave them an ultimatum
. So better double confirm when choosing colour of your furniture.

Like you, I also did my shopping during the long weekend, bought a set of sofa...and it can only be delivered next Jan... if I heng heng can move in before Jan, then I got to sit on the flr before my sofa arrives in Jan

Fanta,
Looks like more and more fault will surface even after rectifications are completed... does NTUC owe us some explanation or responsibility that the materials that they provide are of unsatisfactory quality? If the materials they provided are of inferior quality, I rather not get a furnished house and use that sum of money to get my ID to do it

Oh yes, maybe the issue of polishing can be included in this Sat's meeting...Merci, it's still on right? Anyone's attending?

Missylan

Fanta,
no polishing for the flooring..any for yours?

Carol,
where did u get ur sofa?
In fact i feel, not all fault surface after rectifications but rather more 'new' defects in the procedure of rectifying, like the case for my bathroom glass door

Hi Danny,

Are you getting downlights? I got my downlights from Lumiere at Balestier, as my hubby knows the brother of one of the saleperson there (wah, complicated). You can look for Irene. Tell her that Su Mei from Park Green recommended you. Their downlights are the cheapest so far (if they give you the same discount they gave us). Their outdoor light (for the balcony) is also quite cheap. We dun like the other lights they have there (or rather, cannot afford them lah, the dining light we originally wanted cost $1200!)

Yah, talking about lights.. I am wondering why PG is getting us to get our own balcony lights. If everyone got a different light, then wouldn't it look very un-coordinated from the outside? If they insist that everyone get the same grills, then why not the same light?? strange...

Ah eng,
So far maincon said will not polish the flooring but if more complained about the same problem then they shld do something about it. My ID dun even dare to polish for us in case the marble flooring crack later!

hi Carol & Chinnie,
i was reading thru the good comments u had for ur id ( i presume both of u are using the same id?). m thinking of engaging her services for my flat. will u be able to comment on her workmanship and so on, e.g. carpentary...tiling..?

btw, will u be able to send me a copy of ur quote so that i can get a rough idea abt her charges?

thks much!

my email: [email protected]

Hi Merci,

Let me know if this sat is on. Will arrange time to drop by to discuss

On the polishing of marble, was told that the resident handbook states something on the caring and might deal with polishing.

missylan,

I know as a fact that Finique Design did the ID for the temporary show flat (for the deign part anyway). I Kaypo & asked a lot when I visited the showflat.

Hi Aries,
Sat meeting is still on but do not know whether 1 hour is enough to cover all things to be discussed as more people attending will take more time. Perhaps, maybe those who can make it come earlier at 2:00pm. Anyway, I will be there at 2:00pm sharp as there are many defect photos to show.
Hi Carol & Danny
My hubby and I are also Teochew. So ga kee lang pa see bo siang gan :-)

Carol, call me if you cannot come in earlier. You can be there earlier at the management office to settle the vehicle pass and resident pass else by the time you finish inspection the management office would be close by 6pm.

BTW, Cecil Lee went through the Feng Shui audit at my unit today. So far so good. For me, I kiasu a bit :-), I will adopt three methods to counter the sha qi in the toilet : the HU LU, scientific and natural way.

Also, my hubby went on a mission to make friend with maincon today. According to maincon, they would not like to take the risk to grind or polish compress marble because if the quality of compress marble is not consistent at any part of the slab it will crack. That will mean that maincon will now have the obligation to hack and relay all the marble flooring.

So it is better to make owner accept it or let owner to complain to developer so that developer can advise maincon on the next course of action. Rather than to take the risk themselves and than get scolded by owner for delaying the move in as relaying the whole floor will take 3 to 4 weeks.

Farrel,
Oh, I think D'zigneConcept are the ones doing the renovation, not the designing part. Heehee... Anyway, thank you!

Anyone will be hacking anything in their unit?

Hi Carol

I think you should on the water and gas to check. They will record the meter prior to checking. Water has to be checked coz I thot I saw my sink in the common toilet leaking....

some of the minor defects, I think instead of waiting for main con to do, perhaps our ID can do it better?

Anyway, if anyone needs a recommendation of a designer, I do have mine to recommend.

Hi byrdie

I have the same problem about the aircon blocking the false ceiling. But my ID say that he can try to construct it above the aircon as they can work with the current space of 5 inch. Usually, the false ceiling need about 6 inch, I heard.

hi all fengshui believers,
u are making me feeling 'scared' of the common toilet....esp merci 3 ways to fight the sha qi....hahaha...and I am oso a teochew...kekeke

Merci,
the natural way = live plant issit? how bout the scientific way?

Mrs Chan,
my ID oso volunteer to rectify my defects if it is minor too.

Hi Merci,
You & hubb Teochew too?? So nice, pure Teochew family! Ok, I'll give you a ring if I cannot enter earlier... but can you pls email me your number again cos I accidentally deleted it?

Ah Eng,
You Teochew meh? I tot I heard you speak Hokkien all these while?
Looks like we can form a PG Teochew clan soon

Mrs Chan,
Thanks for the advice... I'll make sure I check my sink too

Hey guys - how much is the refuse collection fee for residents doing ID works again? $150 & non refundable?
Mentioned to our ID yesterday & he said this is the 1st time he has heard of the fees being so high, and non-refundable! Is especially unfair to some of us doing just minor ID works (the ID promising to clear all rubbish themselves) and being slapped with the fees.

Carol/Merci Puku - Maybe something that we want to pen to the agenda for discussion at this Saturday's meeting.

missylan,
Me hacking down study to make walk in closet.

This rectification works driving me nuts. It's almost a month and my defects still not rectified! And the best part is my block's supervisor is missing! He refuses to return calls even after leaving messages, has his mobile turned off, and the office staff at the basement office refuses to pick up any phone calls, my hubby went down to look for him and the staff in the office refuse to acknowledge him till he shouted at them "am i invisible?". Anybody's sup is John Han? This is really getting ridiculous. And my unit does not have any major defects... i wanna complain but noone at NTUC is helpful...

Hi Carol,
In fact superpure Teochew, as my grandparents, parents, in-laws, grandparents-in-laws are pure teochew. Please check your email.

Hi Ah eng,
Natural way. Encourage photosynthesis in toilet to remove sha-qi. Scientific way. Use Exhaust fan to suck out sha qi to yard.

Since everyone is doing more or less the same things for renovation. Like false ceiling, ledge shelving, curtains, altar and etc.

Perhaps we can share your ID quotation so that we can avoid to being "chopped carrot" by the ID.

Hi Bigtoes,
As we have limited time, defects rectification discuss will be first priority. If there ample time we can discuss what you have pointed out later.

Anyway, NTUC is the MC for the first six months. It is unlikely of them to waive the renovation fees because it is stated in the resident booklet.

Maybe you may want to delay your renovation till the departure of NTUC as the MC then maybe your wish will come true.

BTW,if anyone don't like the design of grilles perhaps you want wait till the change of MC from NTUC. This is just what happens to other condo developments.

Hi Merci,
Just thought I would point it out (havent even gotten around to reading the resident booklet). Anyway, the sum is too small to lose sleep over, was more concerned with the discrepancies compared to the other ECs.

Carol,
haha ...I am a hokkein speaking Teochew =P

Merci,
so u planning to install an exhaust fan??
If u like, I can drop u my quotation. Gimme me ur email address.

Limay,
the disposal fee is $150 and my ID is absorbing it but I gotto pay the $600 deposit.

Hi Carol & Danny & Bigtoes,

According to Cecil, NTUC high ranking official asked him to find the best unit facing the park even before the launch of PG back in 2002. Cecil said that he actually came to do the audit of the PH at unit 11 2 weeks before the TOP of Park Green. He was surprised that there is no major defect and everything is perfect.

Perhaps, you may want to get the help of our good neighbour to pull some strings if there are things things are not going your way.

bricriu,
Oh, so can hack... Ppl is telling me cannot hack cos new unit... Me thinking of changing the toilets' tiles and might want to hack study room's wall also.

Thanx

ahh..so have to hang around at the lift lobby & accidentally bump into the owners of the pent house. hehe...obviously more care has been given to VIP units during the construction...
Ah Eng - our ID is not paying for either (unless their damage the common area, then they will fork out the $600), but he is waiving the post-reno cleaning fees for the unit.

Bricriu (bricriu) :

i dun even know who is in charge of my defects....! how to find out... my is abt toreach 3 weeks as well .. and onli very little done.. even my ID oso look shocked!

Kenneth,
You need to check with key keeper who is the in-charge of your unit. The maincon should have informed you of the person in charge and he should have written down the name of person in charge and contact number on the defects form during the first round of inspection.

Kenneth,
Do come down to the meeting also. Everyone's contribution is valuable. It's at 2pm, reading room right, Merci? Is the reading room opened for use yet?

Limay,
Will yourself and Alex be coming?

Fanta,
Wat about yourself and Alvin?

Hi Carol,
We have to go get lights with the ID in the late morning and hv an appnt with the mirror guy at 3pm in PG. Will pop by, but wont be staying for the entirety.

Carol,
If our furniture arrives on time this sat, then we'll be there......had some bad experience with late deliveries already

Limay,
Ok then. See you there!

Fanta,
One of you can attend the meeting and the other stay at home to wait for the delivery... anyway we are very near the gate, so you can see the vehicles that are coming in...

Carol,
Alvin will be busy shifting in some furniture himself on sat while I wait for delivery, that's why can't confirm with you. Anyway, will still try to pop by. You collecting keys on the same day as well? Congrats!

I will try to pop by this sat too. Can't confirm as it really depend on my office which might need me to go back this sat aft.

Will be in PG morning though.

Carol,
We've got some kind souls willing to help us move so ka kee lai.....hee. Your turn to get busy will come very soon

Long times never log into this forum be'cos very busy with my reno for the past one week. For those who want to have an adjustable storeroom rack, u can contact this company called: M.S.S Reno (Mr. Wee H/P: 97619543), the price is from S$120 - S$250.00 (Price includes of delivery, plywood & rubber feet).

Hi Alvin,
The storeroom storage is the steel racks right? You forgot to mention the most impt item which is the steel bars
. I think I might need that...thanks!

Hi Alvin,
So is most of ur reno done liao? For ur bomb shelter racks, does the $250 pricing pay for enough rack space for the whole room? We were looking to get adjustable steel racks from IKEA (2 units @$199 each for 5 rows of shelving) which fits just nicely into the entire room.

Hi Carol/ Limay,

I think is steel rack (those warehouse type - not nice ones lah but is very strong), I do a L shape rack with 4 level at S$220.00

Hi Alvin,
I just came back from PG. Went to check defects. Saw this lady yelling at main con people looking for Adeline. She say Adeline promise to complete her defects after delaying for one month but still not complete. Kind of embarrasing. After that i saw her yelling at Adeline just outside key colletion room.

Actually I saw plenty of yelling at Park Green.. saw some yelling at the management office pple for forms for resident cards (8 pcs!) and yelling at the workers...

..really hope that the pple there are not the agressive or demanding type.. hard to get along

aiyoh... chum..

think our neighbours would be those typical quarrelsome people, or maybe those kiasu type who will dive into the pool every other day.. just so as to be the first.

To add on, monday was pouring and there was this group of family territorising the coverway. My poor 11mths old nephew got to squeeze by the narrow way and got bits of rain water onto him. If only those neighbours were kind enuff to move abit for my sis, so that the bb got dun get caught wif the rain *sigh*

Well,there are always some good and some bad pple that makes the world. So let's not let these neighbours affect us

Byrdie,
If I got the time, I will go to the pool everyday cos this is my favourite form of exercise

Talking about living graciously... being the pessimistic me, I think there are more (worse incidents) to come. Wait till we see the pool and BBQ pits being misused, food waste and litters lying around after BBQ sessions, empty drink cans in the tennis court, etc etc...*faint*

Actually one shouldn't be criticised if they make full use of the facilities everyday (since we all paid for them). As long as we use them considerately, we are all good neighbours