Park Green

Chinnie, congrats on your wedding!

I think it is better to activate water and electricity supply else how to ensure everything is in a good state? We can lodge a complaint if there are unauthorised use of ourr sources.

Merci Puku, I support your suggestion on the meet up.

Kennette, I think it is normal that the maintenance fees would drop after the MCST took over from the developer 2 years later.

Hi PG neighbours,
If anyone unsatisfied/pissed by the quality of work in PG and is interested to meetup to to discuss the next step of action, please meetup up on 20 Nov 2004 3:00pm (PG Reading Room).

The agenda of this meeting
1) Establish a common understanding on what are acceptable defects and what is not.
2) Establish a common understanding on the methods for the developer to rectify the defects.
3) Share knowledge on the workflow to get defects rectified.
4) Share knowledge on the common defects found in PG Interior/common property.

PS: Maybe someone can get the contractor supervisor to attend or can get outsdie contractor/ID whom have the knowledge of renovation standard to attend as well.

hi aries,
it is compulsory for mc to take over within 12 months.

anybody noticed that the bbq pit (facing Sengkang East Ave) has no top cover..was thinking what would happen if bbq half way and it rains..tot a persplex screen ontop on the wood panels would be practical for rain sheltering

haf been reading this forum on & off...but never signed up till now. your comments have been really helpful.
we had our first appointmt yesterday, haven't really taken a close look at all the areas yet, but noticed similar problems as what some of you have described...
has anyone realised that we have to pay about $10 each time we use the BBQ pits? Is this normal for other EC developments?

was surprise to hear the charge for BBQ pits but checked with a friend staying at Eden, heard they need to pay $20.

guess when we form our own committee, all these can be discussed.

Hi Poox

I live on the 11 flr.

Hi Merci Puku

You gotta on the power and gas to test. We on after the key collection date and was told that the water was ok. The gas however for 1 cooker is blocked. So Must Test!!

missylan,
the wardrobe are light grey colour

Merci,
I wish I can join but 20th, I am shifting my stuffs to my mum place. Needs to vacant my present flat by 21st.

There have been so many posts since I last viewed on Fri evening... first of all, to share a piece of good news with you guys... I have managed to secure my key collection appt this coming Sat!

Must really thank Jenny (at SLF Management) for her help. She went the extra mile for me such that I could book an appt on last Fri, w/o having to wait till Tues
My key collection date coincides with the PG residents' meeting...I'll sure be there for the meeting

Merci puku,
Got to add one more issue to discuss : the wobbly shower screen (to get developer to accede to our request to install a stabilizer).

Mrs Chan,
You mean I can only turn on the gas and power first to test (and not necessary the water since the water sure ok)?

Ah Eng,
Dun worry, I think after the meeting, we will sure have pple who will post an update on the forum... if not, I can update you on conclusion of the meeting, provided the meeting ends before 4pm, cos I'm due to collect my keys at 4pm!

List of defects found. Please add on to the list if you have any things else.

1) scratches on the marbles
2) uneven marble surface (height)
3) sharp edges at edge of marble (eg front
entrance floor)
4) toilet towel holder - multiple dents
5) wall tiles in master toilet - scratches and
cracks
6) cracked / chipped window pane above WC toilet
7) Hollow tiles in bombshelter, living room, WC
toilet
8) Wardrobe door misaligned (cannot open fully)
9) water retention at planting ledge
10) Parquet flooring - scratches
11) wobbly shower glass doors
12) loose fixed-type window panels
13) dents / deep scratches on chrome-plated
metal brackets under the master toilet sink
14) Kitchen cabinets - multiple scratches over
metal-like strip outlining
15) Door - obvious patched surfaces
16) door knobs - multiple scratches
17) patchy paint job on walls
18) stained external windows
19) Deep scratches on shower door chrome-plated
hinges
20) Poorly anodized main door handle

Hi PG neighbours,

My hubby just found the number one defect which most will not notice as it is hidden, difficult to fix and will not show up till a few months later when the false ceiling will stain and rot.

The defect: Leaking drainage in the false ceiling (masterbed room toilet).
Please take a look at pictures uploaded.

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/joieq2003/detail?.dir=85b4&.dnm=350d.jpg

This defect is difficult to detect as most of the time it will go unnotice as the water will dry up quite fast. By the time, you notice this the false ceiling would have stained and rot. Repairs of leak and false ceiling will cost quite a sum of money.

So guys take note.

merci puku, you & your husband are really good at checking for these defects : )

so we should open up the false ceiling above the shower area to check if the pipes are leaking issit? not quite sure what to look out for...

i noticed today that the black wall tiles in the common toilet rubs off black powder on your fingers. does anyone know why? can't imagine hanging towels or clothes against the wall and having it stained black.
also, the black floor tiles in my common toilet seems to have a lot of these white stains all over.
is this a common problem or only for my unit?

Anyone engage D'zigneConcept to do up your home? Are they the ones who did up ParkGreen showflat? Roughly how much is the designing fee? Any comment?

Thank you...
222436.jpg

To check against this defect. Need to coordinate with your neighbour living on top of you to flood their toilet with water (water test at drainage area) to see if the leak affect you.

I went to PG yesterday and found 2 more defects. These are not there when I collect the keys. The workers 'created' them when rectifying the defects. One is scratches on the MBR toilet glass door. Very bad. Even the contractor told me gotto change the whole glassdoor.

Merci/Carol,
seems like the 2 of you collecting keys on the same day.

Ah Eng,
No lah, Merci already collected keys last Tues. That's why she's able to point out so many crucial defects...including the leakage.

Merci,
You and your hubb are really good at checking defects! Such things like leakage are usually overlooked by most pple and you spotted it! Can you be my "defects consultant" when I'm checking for defects

On the earlier postings on how secure the compound is, I think the security is very good, becos they even bother to call us on our handphone to confirm that we have an appointment with our contractor, who had arrived at PG before us.

We spoke to the main con yesterday on how long the rectification works are going to take.. apparently, they need 3 more weeks, and 1 week has already passed without much rectification works going on.. think it's becos there are more apts to rectify/ prepare .. sigh..so housewarming will be in Jan earliest

Carol,
oops ..i blur again...read that Merci is collecting keys at 4pm...its you instead...kekeke

EIG,
I think depends on the number of defects for the period of time for them to do their rectification...cos my place defects are 80% rectified

Hi Ah Eng,

You are so fortunate! But you collected your keys after me right? I collected on 6/11/04. Maybe you have less defects.. I dun see any masking tapes on your door when I passed your apt to get to my apt ..

Guys who have done ur defects, or are in the process of it - would you say that they can hand over within 2-3 weeks from ur key collection date?
Did most also apply for water/electricity/gas immediately as well? We applied, then cancelled cos the main-con guy said not to till they hand over to prevent misuse by their workers...

Ah Eng,
You are busy (with the moving house stuff over the weekend)until you blur blur again right?

Danny,
How long did you leave your fruits (i.e. pineapple & oranges) in the house? Or did you remove them the very same day when you leave? I was told to remove them in case the workers who come to do the rectification take away the stuff... will they do that? Did you also sprinkle all parts of your house (including the toilets, laundry area and bomb shelter) with rice and green beans?

Limay,
I was thinking of not applying for water supply until the rectifications have been done...but if we dun apply for electricity & gas, how to check the air con and gas stove?? If there are problems with the air cons or stove, then ask them to rectify again after their inital rectification? That would be a waste of time isn't it? In that case, NTUC shld provide electricity (like what CDL did) for us to check for air con leakage...

missylan,

I don't think D'zigneConcept were the designer for the showflat. From what I learnt when visiting showflat, Finique Design were the Interior Designer.

Wow ! meri_puku, you guys really look at all the details. Do you really have all that big void in the ceiling ? (such a waste) or are the pictures taken in the common areas ?

Hi Carol,
Yah..we initially applied for water & electricity but was advised by the main-con fella who took us in for 1st round inspection not to do so till we changed the locks. But was also wondering how long it would take if they need to do a 2nd round of rectifications...met a neighbour on the 1st floor who was also complaining that his friend in another EC had 2 weeks of free water/electricity to check their defects.

Carol,
I leave the pineapple, green beans for 3 days and throw them away in the forth day. According to Feng Shui master, he says spill the rice and green beans for the whole house and leave them for few days.

Well, it is up to you if you
want to throw the green beans and rice before
you leave for the first day. I read somewhere
that 15 mins will do.

I initially thought I could eat the pineapple.
Quite expensive ... $4 for the pineapple at
cold storage.

So sad to see the floor with scratches and stains.

Merci and carol,
FYI. Read in Adeline Pang book about the toilet in the center of the house, the remedy is to put a live plant and kitchen salt in the toilet.
Guess, different Feng Shui masters uses different
approach for this.

For those that faces the Swimming pool,
please do not put a clock facing the balgony
to outside. According to Feng Shui master,
it is giving your neighbour opposite a funneral.

EIG,
hmm...you passed my unit?? U staying same level as me? which unit?
My unit not much defects. But there are glasses problems that have to be solved after shifting in. I collected my keys on the 8th.

Carol,
I asked for the power on the day i collected the keys with the purpose to check the electricity and gas and water. The person who brot us for the first inspection showed me where the elect and water meter stopped. The number is recorded for our checking purposes. If we did not use much water or elect, then the meter will not have jumped too much.

Danny,
I thot fengshui normally dun advise to beautify toilets with plants?? So in our case, since the toilet is at the central, so we can put a live plant?

Ah Eng,
The live plant and kitchen salt is a remedy
given by Adeline Pang's book.

The guord (hu lu) above the ceiling of
the toilet is given by cecil lee.

I am using the latter solution.

Hey Danny,
You mean you left the fruits there for 3 dys and no one moves/removes them? And I thought the fruits can be eaten? I know oranges can bring home to eat...but didn't ask abt the pineapple

So you intend to put plant or hu lu? I think putting hu lu (though a little "o-bit") in the toilet is more practical since if you put a plant, you got to ensure it gets sufficient sunlight and water... if not, dying plant or withering is also bad for FS

Carol,
Yes, I am using the hu lu.
No one remove them after the 3rd day maybe
because no one came to rectify defects

According to the Feng Shui master, we should throw all away. I do not use oranges and thus
do not know about oranges.

Danny/Carol,
I think i will put a pot of money plant in the bathroom...u talking bout the common one rite?? And the kitchen salt = the cooking salt?

Ah Eng,
yes, the common toilet as it is in the center of the house.
Yes, cooking salt.

Congrats ah eng that are defects are rectified.
Me dunno when...
Did you have scratches on your parquet floor and
stains on the compress marble?

Danny,
I assume you are Hokkien right? Cecil never ask you to put oranges meh? Hmm...he seems "forgetful" to me...maybe too many things to remember so he cld have left out things... he told me to bring 2 oranges and an angbao at the 4 corners of the living/dining room, plus one more angbao and huat kueh to be placed on the stove... or cld it be that diff dialect grp got diff things to perform? Oh yes, you manage to find the golden hu lu already? No size restrictions right? I might want to get a small one

Carol,
There are different kind of hu lu you
can find in one of the shop near Clementi interchange. Need not be a big one. Any
type of hu lu will do (but prefered gold).

No, me teo chew. He did not mentioned about the oranges and angbao at the 4 corners leh.
I think those that you mention is for Move in, is it? I have not read that yet.

I think this period cecil lee seems to have alot
of appointments. (good buisness). Anyway, how you find him?

Hi Danny,
So you are Teochew...Teochew lang, ga gee lang
me Teochew too, but hubb Hokkien, so got to follow his dialect grp.

I always get him by his HP. So far our communication is via phone and fax
He's coming to my place next Mon.

we're starting our renovation next monday. we had a hard time settling on the false ceiling in the living/dining area. the aircon was the huge obstacle for us to construct it.

how are you all constructing your false ceiling?

we're starting our renovation next monday. we had a hard time settling on the false ceiling in the living/dining area. the aircon was the huge obstacle that prevented us in constructing it like the way we wanted.

how are you all constructing your false ceiling?

Danny,
No stains on the compressed marble...but there are scratches on the parquet. However, these scratches cannot be rectified and can be covered when the parquet are polished.

Byrdie,
I am not constructing a false ceiling there...cos i dun wish to block the aircon unit or shift them. Will do a L box instead.

Hi Ah Eng - wow...congrats! They completed ur defect rectification in about 1 week? Thats fast..how many sheet(s) of defect forms did u fill & did u chase them (hence so fast)?

Hi Ah Eng,

Woh! Your rectification works is really fast. Did you asked them to speed up or anything like dat? Yup, thought I told you earlier..my unit is #06-11... U same floor also right? You mentioned that you faces the field.. I realised that there's two unit per floor that faces the empty field. You will be my immediate neighbour, if your is the one closer to Punggol Park/ buangkok drive (I faces the park).

Farrel,
D'zigneCconcept said that most of the renovation work is done by them though they are not classified as they main company. Dunno why, so confusing... maybe the showflat done by few contractors.

Seems like me blk 12 is the last one to collect keys. Cheque just arrive my lawyer office today, tomorrow will be going to the bank to be cleared(another 2 days), think can only make appt on 19th. Sian....

Anyone getting sofa from Melandas? Quite worried about quality as we're looking at their suede material... These 2 holidays have been around shopping around...

Hi byrdie,

I am doing a false ceiling throughout the living/ dining room area. My contractor said that the 5 inch space available above the aircon units is adequate for a false ceiling. Our lighting engineer (or electrician lah) also said that the space is adequate for the downlights. Will take their word for it.