Park Green

Carol,
late congrats...kekeke

Merci,
How old are ur kid(s)? I have two boys (41/2 and 3)...and I dun intend to install grilles too. Will see if they know how to behave first :p

Danny,
Thanks for the FS tips...very useful. Can ask u something. I am planning to place my bed with the solid wall behind, but will end up cannot place pple coming into the room. Since I cannot satisfy both criterias, which one u deem is more impt?

Hi fanta,
I am collecting keys on 16nov alone without my hubby. He will be in overseas on business trip.
So i need my ID helping in checking defects. Most probably will ask my friend to come along.

URGENT. Calling all Block 8 neighbours (EIG I think you are one of them).

Did you guys realise that the emergency staircase for Block 8 are made of steel as compared with Block 2, 6, 10, 12 which are made of concrete.

I checked the Sale and Agreement (Page 21 Clause E) states

Floor (for common areas)
item iii) Staircase :
Finished concrete/cement & sand screed/perforated tread & riser. Homogenous tiles from basement to 1st storey.

Steel staircases are wobbly and subject to weather/corrosion which make it unsafe. Are blk 8 residents being shortchange here ?

Could someone help to check ?

Hi Ah Eng,

My daughter is now 15 months old. Very stubborn and enjoy climbing up and down.

Hi Merci puku

I am from Blk 8.

I did not really notice the staircase but the other Sun day, when I was visitng my unit, there was only 1 lift working, my husband and I climbed the entire flight of steps down. It seemed concrete to me....

Looks like i gotta open my big big eyes to check.

Hi Merci puku,
I'm in blk 8 too. The emergency exit is indeed made of steel only... only saw the low railings. Didn't occur to me the rest were built with concrete. Also I saw a big dent on one of the steps in the 13 storey... really wobbly and i really doubt that the staircase will stand during an emergency.

Also, why is blk 8 the only block with 6 units sharing 2 lifts? the rest are 4 units to 2 lifts. if we are shortchanged, how do we bring this up to NTUC management? What should we do? Fellow blk 8-ers, pls comment too.

Hi Blk 8 neighbours,
It is okay for the staircase railings to be made of steel. But it is definitely not alright for a residential building to have staircase totally made of steel for the most obvious reasons.
1) It is slippery to walk on staircase made of steel.
2)Steel staircase cannot withstand a fire and will collapse during a fire. Cases in shipping that sailors are trapped when fire in the ship destroyed their escape route as it is made of steel which are of higher quality than the emergency staircase found in blk 8.
3)It is vulnerable to weather/corrosion/rust which made it unsafe.

This is a common property defect which will put Blk 8 residents at risk in the event of a disaster which is totally unacceptable. This just can't be special design just for Blk 8.

Merci,

is it just blk 8?

at nuovo, same thing, we hv this steel staircase.

but funny thing, on the other end, is concrete staircase.

not sure wat's the logic behind.

Morning to all

I am finally getting my keys
Just wanna check, did any of you manage to get the gas supply on on the day you got the keys? Power Supply seems reluctant to do for us.

Hi guys - we collected our keys (block 6) yesterday! Are pretty satisfied with the overall workmanship, just filled in the 1st round of defects with the main-con guy, and submitted another piece thereafter.
Overall, nothing major, just some paint/plaster/oil stains here & there, and scratches that can be removed with buffing. Our ID was there as well, and he actually said the workmanship was quite good, just some "normal" defects that can easily be rectified.

We didnt do a thorough check for hollow tiles, but the ones we tapped sounded alright. On the bomb shelter tiles, i assume they sounded hollow because the entire shelter is made of steel, hence the different sounding echo vs. the other rooms

Mark - welcome to the forum! Yah, the turning corner for the car entrance/exit is kinda tight...doesnt help for people like me who just got my driving licence! :oP

Happy Lady - the management office will not be open today (public holiday)

Carol,
Yes, the printout did say not to purposely germinate the green beans. But ceceil did
say need to put some green beans in cotton
with little water. You may ask him again.

Ah Eng,
For direction of the bed, it depends on
the kua number of youself and your hubby to see what are the directions of suitable
for both of you. That is the most important
follow by if you happen to have a favourable
possition that you can view people comming
in, that will be better.

Aries (arieson) :

today public hoilday .. dun think they working to turn on power and gas for u .. i am suprised that r releasing keys today even.

Hi Blk 8 neighbours,
We went to PG today to check out the staircases.
Blk 8 has one steel and one concrete staircases.
Blk 12 has one concrete staircase.
Blk 10 has one concrete staircase.
Blk 6 has two concrete staircase.
Blk 2 has one steel and one concrete staircase.

We also check out Singapore Civil Defense Fire Handbook. It states there must be at least one exit staircase for every block of resident built of non-combustible materials that can withstand at least one hour of fire.

From the list of non-combustible material, steel is not one of them.

At least the developer satisfied the fire minimium requirement for a residential building.

mm...seems likw blk 6 is the best :P

hey, all of you not concern about the lift security? i thought since we paid so much for maintenance, we should at least have some security feature where visitors must intercom us before they can use the lift to come up...

Aries,
my power supply is on the same day of collection. And I give them more than 3 working days notice

Danny,
Thanks for the advice. Well, we decide to place our bedhead at the wall nearer to the entrance cos we realised that the aircon when on, will be blowing straight at the bed if we place the bedhead facing the entrance

Poox,
The security will intercom us when we have guests at the main entrance already rite? Tat what they did when my contractors and curtain makers came.

Merci,
I think what NTUC did have at least satisfy all minimum requirements. That why they dare to give us the steel staircase. And they also had issued us the quality cert by BCA. There is nothing much we can do.

Poox,
I think there's nothing they can do or will do since they already install the lift without any of such security feature.

Anyway, the security guards are rather strict about letting pple in...and sometimes they will intercom us when there are visitors. Maybe we can work towards the security guards side, i.e. ask the security to intercom us to confirm the guests' identity before letting them in, rather than let them in then intercom us...

Thanks for the advice. Got them to on the gas after doing some explanation to them. But have to activate it on another day cause the slots I wanted are full.

Went past PG yesterday and realise people are already staying there.

One thing for sure, the security guards are not sleeping

Hi Ah Eng,

The quality cert is for interior only. I have checked the grading for all condo in Singapore. I don't see PG on the list for the overall architecture/structure/design.

Another point is that developer states in the S&P to built common staircases of conrete quality which they didn't. So they are not delivering on what they promised. This is a point which can be bought up to developer just like full length window issue in Bishan Loft.

I believe the units affected will get compensated.

Merci puku,
How are we residents going to bring this staircase issue up to NTUC? By writing letters individually or send them laywers letters or someone to draft and get residents signature?

The quality cert issued means that even if the tiles are hollow, we cannot request them to change new ones??

Likewise for the stabilisers on the toilet glass doors...how to go bout it?

Hi Blk 2 folks, got my keys on Wed, the quality of the tiling was not too good. The marble tiles are uneven and hence resulted in edges popping up from the floor. The contractor who brought us around said that they are still discussing on how to rectify the problem, cos a lot of people are facing the same problem.....sob...sob...

Hi Sunflower
Thks for the info. Did the contractor mentioned how long they will take to rectify the tiles? BTW, which level are u? I'm at L3.

Today has been a quiet day... Has everyone taken leave for a long weekend?? Those who have taken leave and have taken keys should now be in PG... envious...

Alvin,
How's your reno so far? What's the progress like? When will you be moving in?

I think you and the your neighbour from #01-20 should be one of the earliest to move in

can someone share the contact or quotation for Esther?coz I read that Chinnie wedding is today, so i think she wont be able to see my posting. Thanks very much in advance.

I am not staying in PG, but am very interested in Esther's work. currently is sourcing for contractor to do up my hse. like most of you, i need minimum reno

Hi Ah Eng,
I have not managed to book an appt cos they haven't received the 25% yet

Hi Blessed,
Chinnie's wedding is on Sun, 14 Nov (if I'm not wrong) but she might not be free to read the forum now... anyway I think it would be best for you to either email Esther or call her personally to check on your quotations (since ours is EC and the charges might be diff). I can email you her contacts if you are interested

Hi Ah Eng & Carol,
From what I know, units in Bishan Loft who have been given half height windows instead of a full length window at the higher floors has a case to fight as the developer particularly marketed this selling point to the owners in the brochures as well as in the S&P. It is a point that has a ground to dispute about as the owner pay a lot money just ot get the view.

As to the result of this dispute, no one knows as it seems that the developer adopted a divide and conquer strategy preferring to solve at individual level instead of addressing all owners at one go. So the ways of compensation could be different between owners and I believe that they are not allowed to reveal the terms and conditions with others.

Perhaps, we can try our luck at www.bishanloft.com forum.

Coming back to our staircase, first it satisfy the minimum fire requirement so the civil defence will not be our side. So to bring this up as a case, we would need to go through BCA procedures or talk to our lawyers first before brigning this up.

By the way, anyone know about those grassroots leaders who snapped up unit 11 facing the park even before they are launched. Perhaps they can help since they are staying in BLK 8 as well

Wei, Chinnie, how come you still here?? You better go get very prepared for your big day on Sun... you not kan cheong I also kan cheong for you...quick go go...

hi carol

i'm not that worried for people driving in from the front entrance, what is more of a concern is people following residents into the compound. maybe i'm a little paranoid....my parents' condo maintenance is only $180 but they've got all these security features...just feel a bit short changed :P

Hi Carol,

I really NOT gan cheong leh hahaha... only know what are the things to be done each day hehehe. Ok ok.. i go sleep liao, if not later people think how come panda also wear wedding gown.. hahaha

Just got my Notice to take Vacant Possession from my lawyer. Was told to write a cheque of $1512 for 6 mths advance maintenance fee as well as $135.06 for survey fee.

May i know roughly how long will the bank tank to disburse the 25%? My bank is OCBC.

Sigh, my hopes of a lower maintenance fee (or waiver) has been dashed. $252 a month! Higher than some full fledge condo and EC. Furthermore flooring and other defects as discovered by Sunflower(joyyen) in Blk 2, not to mentioned the less then desired facilities (cracked tennis court) and suana (???) add to the disappointment.

Btw..anyone has the same unit as mine? C5, 144sqm/1550sqft. Would like to take a look to aid in my interior design. Would appreciate if i can see see look look

Hi anyone knows who in NTUC choice homes that i can write a letter to raise my concerns as well as to ask for an explaination in some matters like defects, high maintenance fees and other safety matters? Preferably someone of senior management.

I for once can't sit around and let NTUC get away with this.

Hi PG neighbours,

Main con has advised against the activation of water and electricity till rectification of defects are completed. Is there any truth in this as I can see many owners activate the services before defects rectification are completed.

BTW, how can one activate water and electricity ?
Will appreciate anyone can advise. Cheers

Hi Merci puku,
just activate on line...fix a time and date and they will sms you to confirm. The technicians were very prompt. Whole process took less than 5 mins..was a breeze.Anyway that's becos my wife did it. Ha...

I need help on the flooring. Any of you or relatives or friends are into flooring? You see most outside contractors say that compressed can be grinded and polished till smooth and even..but the main con insisted our compressed marble cannot be grinded. They even challenged me to grind... So I asked for a piece of compressed marble and I realised only a top thin layer is marble...the bulk of the remaining layer is concrete..does this explain why our compressed marble cannot be grinded? Are compressed marbles all like that? If so, should have gone for granite... but why all outside contractors say compressed marbles (lighter tone ones)can be grinded till suay suay? Are we short changed by getting lower grade tiles?I'm quite vexed with the flooring....

Hi Chinnie,

thanks! oh your wedding is Sun! Congrats, and hope everything goes well and most impt enjoy yourself!

hi nutty,

for ur floor area, $252 is not so bad. I too tot my maintenance will be less than $300 ( i m not a resident of PG)... but to my disappointment, it is $300
... n my flr area is abt 20sqm smaller then yours.

Hi Tokky,
When we bought the unit in Mar 2003, we wanted granite but wasn`t even given a choice. CB Richard say NTUC has fixed the flooring to be compressed marble.

You should take a look at my unit. Found many hollow tiles/parquet on skirting, wall and floor all over. It is such poor workmanship that my feng shui master whom just audited my unit commented as well.

I hope to gather more owners in PG to discuss about this. I have seen other units which are quite well done.

As for the marble, it can be grinded but the polisher must be quite good ensure polish will maintaina even tone throughout. However, the marble will lose the chemically coated enhance shine you are seeing now.

As for me, I don't care about the shine as I am more concerned with the evenness as any marble will lose it's shine over a period of use.

Can we call upon a meetup with owners whom are unsatisfied/pissed by the quality of work in PG to discuss the next step of action ?

hi blessed (blessed), if considering the other maintenance fees that other condos charge, 252 is very bad!!
Anyway where do u stay?

Hi, all !

Couldn't help myself from "k'poing" after seeing all these comments.

Merci_puku,
The main con cannot say you cannot turn on the utilities whether electricity or water or gas, surely its up to you.

Tokky,
Compressed marble can be polished although strongly not advisable as this may change colour once the top few microns of thickness is removed. Whoever is doing the polishing must also be very profesional to know what he/she is doing and how to do it. Very light polishing or so called "buffing" can usually bring back the sheen of the marble without doing any damage. Compressed marble is like homogeneous material so its not just the top layer is marble, the whole piece should consist of the same material.

Have a great hari raya holiday !

Hi all, you can activate your power/water at the following website:

http://www.psupply.com.sg/cs_services_frameset.asp?ID=

As for why the main con advise against activating your power/water is to safeguard the residents to prevent the workers working on rectifications to use your elect/water. But I guess you are still free to activate as and when you want

Hi Betty Loo, the contractor is obligated to rectify the defects within 1 mth that you collect the keys. Otherwise, we can engaged our own contractor to do the work and claim from the maincon.