Park Green

Hi Jaslyn,

You may wish to install 2 lights for the kitchen, one closer to the sink so that you back will not cast a shadow on the sink when you are washing your dishes.

Is there anyone doing false ceiling for the living room? Can share with me your quote? Also, what is the spacing between your downlights?

how do you know that the wall tiles or floor are hollow? did the rest check on these hollowness?
Merci: wat will the contractor do, now that you have found 127 hollow tiles and skirting??? Please advise. Thanks!

Hi Rachel,

U are right, the main-con officer will follow u to check yr defects. Not to worry if u miss out some of the defects be'cos u still can fill up later.

Hi Carol,

Congrat!!! Keep us inform yr keys collection.

Hi missylan,

You should get contractor to change the hollow tiles else you risk having tiles pop in future.
I am in Blk 8.

Hi EIG,
Park Green official construction cost by Tiong Seng Construction is $63.1 mil ($16.9 mil savings of budgeted $80mil by NTUC). This info is found in www.tiongseng.com.sg.

Park Green land cost from SLA shown in the title deed which every owner should have is $67.85 mil.

With an estimated high $10 million for admin/marketing/legal fees, NTUC gets a hefty profit of $40 million. A profit most developers don't make with this kind of development. For example, the land recently offered as a condo project 100meters away from buangkok MRT of about the same size is for tender bid at base price of $114mil. So it is funny for PG land to be half the price just a stone throw away.

Hence for each unit we are just leaseing the land from government at $162000 per unit for 99 years and the rest of the money is construction cost and profit.

Hi Merci puku

How does your husband check for hollow marble & parquet skirting, floor and wall tiles? all by knocking with his fingers?

Hi Alvin/Fanta, do u check for these hollow areas too?

how will the main-con rectify these hollow areas?

Hi Alvin,
Do you know Jeffrey? 2 floor above you. He is my hubby friend. What a small world
I wonder did you turn on the power on the day you collect your keys?

hi, does anyone know if the person with our unit keys work tommorrow (Public Holiday)? does anyone have the contact number of the management office?

Hi Coralla,

As we bought only one screwdriver and didn't expect there can be so many hollow tiles, my husband has to use his fingers while I use the screwdriver.

Let explain what are hollow tiles. Before a tile or parquet is laid the proper procedure is to fill one side of the tile/parquet with glue or cement.

To speed up laying process, the worker can just put two dots glue or cement just to let it stick before laying the tile to the floor/wall. The repercussion to this is that over time water will get trap in between and create a heaven for insects. Even worse, over time the tile might just pops up and by that time owners will need to pay for the rectification as the warrantty is over.

To check for hollow tiles, just tap on it with something you will hear the difference.

Anyway, just for sharing with those who missed out my posting earlier. I will upload the list of defects again to look out for which CONQUAS and BCA highlighted.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Defects
Defects.xls (15.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi sunflower,

u got keys! Great !!
hope to hear from your house 'walkthru' for our blk.

[keys still waiting..waiting..waiting..]

List of defects found. Please add on to the list if you have any things else.

1) scratches on the marbles
2) uneven marble surface (height)
3) sharp edges at edge of marble (eg front
entrance floor)
4) toilet towel holder - multiple dents
5) wall tiles in master toilet - scratches and
cracks
6) cracked / chipped window pane above WC toilet
7) Hollow tiles in bombshelter, living room, WC
toilet
8) Wardrobe door misaligned (cannot open fully)
9) water retention at planting ledge
10) Parquet flooring - scratches
11) wobbly shower glass doors
12) loose fixed-type window panels
13) dents / deep scratches on chrome-plated
metal brackets under the master toilet sink
14) Kitchen cabinets - multiple scratches over
metal-like strip outlining
15) Door - obvious patched surfaces
16) door knobs - multiple scratches
17) patchy paint job on walls
18) stained external windows
19) Deep scratches on shower door chrome-plated
hinges

Hi merci puku,
Thanks for your comprehensive analysis!

can I check: how many downlights are you all installing in the common wc and MBR wc? Am thinking of getting a set of 3-downlights for each wc.. will that be too bright?

Hi merci puku,
Thanks for your comprehensive analysis!

can I check: how many downlights are you all installing in the common wc and MBR wc? Am thinking of getting a set of 3-downlights for each wc.. will that be too bright/ dark?

Hi Kyosho,

We spent two hours just to check hollow tiles before contractor need to go off for another appointment.

You must have spent quite sometime to surface all these detects or you got an army to check the defects for you. ;-P

Old couples like us were left panting for breath just by checking hollow tiles.

BTW: Did you happen the check whether water can seep through the window panes and balcony sliding doors ? Was told by contractor to wait for the rain or activate the water supply to check.

Merci puku,
So can I say that if there is hollow tiles, we have to hire a contractor on our own cost? We are able to dig the tiles up?

Hi merci puku,

wah, that sounds very cheem... what's Sang Yang Kai Tai? Would be great if you can enlighten me

Actually, we are not planning to engage a geomancer to assess the feng shui of the place becos we are not really into this kinda thing (although I do think sometimes it is better to be safe than sorry).. but still, not too sure if the money is worth it. Are you into Feng Shui?

We will probably stick to the basic rules of feng shui, e.g. not too many sharp edges around the home, if we have water feature, must positioned it such that it "flows" into the house, keep toilet bowls' lids down.., etc

Would be great if you can share more pointers with us!

The set of 3 downlights we are thinking of getting for the common toilet is more to light up the key areas: the toilet bowl, shower cubicle, and basin. Same for MBR WC (one light will be directed at the tub instead then).

We are getting installing the set at the point allocated, so that there is no need to loop the downlights here and there (which cost money). Can twist the downlights around also..

Hi Merci puku,

I spent 2 hours checking for defects.
It was raining when I was there. No seepages or water mark on the flooring.

Merci puku (merci_puku) :

wow your place sure do and wonderful view... but realli a little high as well .. feels like playing Fear Factor standing on the balcony..

EIG (eijgnohz)

me getting 1 x PLC , 1 X mirror light for the common toilet. MBR will be getting 2 x PLC , 1 x mirror light

was told by ID that one PLC actually alreadi enuff to light up the common toilet already .

Hi missylan,
You just get the developer contractor to fix it within one year of warranty for free.

Hi EIG,
I am not into feng shui but just happen to read something about having a common toilet in the center of the house will affect health and wealth. Traditional feng shui master advises to stay away from such property but heard from www.ctitv.com (taiwan miao miao miao feng shui programme that there is a cure for this feng shui ailment).

Don't you feel the common toilet is a bit too dark and eerie for comfort.

Hi Merci puku,
Will you go back to PG tmrw or during the weekend? Need you to show us how to check for hollow points if you dun mind, got no clue whether we miss out any.

Hi Rachel,
You know Rachel (2 lvl abv us)? What a small world.....hee

hi everyone!
we've received THE call from the lawyer today and are now expecting a letter from them, which will probably take a tad longer to reach us cos of the PHs around the corner. i'm really clueless as to what happens next. feeling both excited and apprehensive.... can someone fill me in? many thanks.

Thanks for all your congrats. Hope there are minor defects and those who are interested to look see can pop by after I got my keys

I'm starting to wonder whether the developer will entertain our many "demanding" demands such as hollow floors/walls, wobbly shower cubicle, and many others. If they really bow down to us and replace the hollow areas, we might all end up moving in next yr!! And if they really delay our moving in becos of this, we shld also not let them get away with the maintenance fees... aiyo, think I better not say so much cos I haven't gotten my keys... to some extent, I'm still at their mercy!!

Merci puku,
Maybe can intro hubb to us? Juz kidding lah. Can bother you to describe how to go about checking again? Btw, I supposed you're installing grilles since you have children at home? Agreed that PG not children friendly. Am also worried for my girl if she wanders around alone (cannot let it happen).....

Hi merci puku,
We went to PG on Mon to collect our letters. Since we were there, we decided to pop by our unit (no lights yet) just to assess how bright the apt is with moonlight. overall, it's alright, but when we peered into the common WC, it's really very very dark and abit scary (if you look into the mirror). Think the tiles really too dark lah.. but bo bian lah, we bought the place with our eyes open... next time better close the wc door at night before sleeping, haa haa...

To all,
when we picked up our keys, the officer from the maincon actually told us that there are aware of this forum and do read the postings. So for those of who who declare your unit, or use your real name, better not use harsh words here, in case they delay the rectification works for your apt

Busybee, you can call me if you are need someone to fill you in on the follow ups.

Hi fanta,
Facilities within PG is full of child hazards. I do not feel safe for my child to be in the unit till the gaps are close up.

Although we can install grilles for the windows which can make your unit looks like a jailhouse. But how can we put a grille for the balcony. Furthermore, the designs approved by the developer which we can see for ourselve near the club house are simply ugly.

If you guys may notice, the emergency staircase within PG are constructed using steel like those found in ships not to mention the fact that it will rust and rot if not properly maintained. During emergencies, I wonder the staircase can take the weight of everyone while evacuting. I just cannot believe NTUC can cut corners like this to risk the safety of the occupants.

To check for hollow tiles, all you need to do is tap on the every tile with a stick/screwdriver/or whatever you can find. It will sound hollow if the tile is hollow. Try it yourself starting with the bomb shelter/yard WC which I think most units will encounter hollow tiles. In fact, I detected all the tiles in bomb shelter are hollow.

Hi Danny,

Has Cecil Lee come on site to perform the audit ? I am planning to get him on site next week. So far what advice has he shared with you if you don't mind sharing with us.

We just got our keys - Blk 8. One of my neighbours put me onto this forum! Been randomly browsing through the forum and I must say that some of you have "scary" stories man!
Anyway, my advice is to go a few times. You will notice different things each time you visit.

And just curious. Those that drive, don't you find the way the entrance turn into the carpark is very sharp?

Merci puku,
We saw the grille design as well. It's a common design for most condos. We're def gg to install them for safety reason no matter how ugly. Gonna be a bit of headache for you as your unit has got balcony rite? Which floor are you on? Thx for your reminder to check on the bomb shelter/yard area which is the most neglected area

Hi Merci,
We have meet once offsite.
Onsite will be this coming Sat.

He has lots of printouts
for Ba Zi, Auspicious dates for both (Husb &amp; Wife)
, house directions, colours in particular section of the house, proposed bed, desk directions, moving in/key collection procedures.

a. Not to have bed head with two rectanle. It is
like having 2 coffins.
b. In the dining, not to have 3 drop down rectangle lights, it will be like joysticks for the dead.
c. In all the bedrooms, to have 1,3,5, odd number of ceiling lights.
d. When you walk in from the main door, not to get chop off by the living or dining fan, it should be cleared.
e. Put hu lu (prefer gold) above ceiling of the common toilet as toilet in the center of the house will loose health and wealth.
f. colours to use in each section of the house.
g. to take note of the sun facing when arranging your tv,bed,desk
h. Bed head should have wall support and
prefered when your sleeping position can view
who is coming in to the room

Hope that helps

Fanta,
Both Merci puku and Missylan's units are really not for the faint-hearted!! That day I was standing at Chinnie's balcony at 10th flr, I was already feeling weak when I look down from there!!

Merci puku, I told Cecil Lee that you will be contacting him anytime...he said it's better to get him as early as possible in case he has got other appts on that particular day you chose. Do give me feedback after his audit, ok?

Hi Fanta,
Instead of putting grills, it will be cheaper and nicer to install keys/lock for all the windows. But have to keep in mind to lock when child is at home. It will be a bit stuffy but we can always on the aircon. As for the balcony it will the most tricky part as I am on the top floor.

Hi Danny,
Thanks for sharing so many FS tips with us here... those who are not engaging a FS master and yet want to do some DIY FS will sure find this helpful!

What did he ask you to do on the key collection day? To bring pineapple and stuff like that? Is the key collection day as important as the moving in day? How do you find him?

Merci puku, yours is the penthouse? The view from your unit must be magnificient. One thing I like about PG is it's actually quite breezy at night. We wld love to have natural fresh air than turning on the air-con all the time. Therefore, will go ahead to install grilles for the top portion of the windows though ugly lah.

Yah Carol, my legs turned jelly when I KPO went up to 17th flr to take a look at the penthouse.......kekeke

Carol,

The procedure for Moving in and key collection is different and cecil lee did not say which is more important... Anyway, just do it.

For key collection:
a. Before step into the house, roll (not throw) the pinapple to the middle of the house.

After the main contractor leaves no one else should remain in the house except the owners to do these:
a. Get green beans and rice to spray the whole house. Leave it for few days (preferably 3 days)
b. get some green beans and put in cotton with little water and place in the living room and also
also downstairs below your house where there are plants. Leave it for few days (preferably 3 days).

Thats it.
I have not read the move in yet.

I find cecil not outspoken, ... more on the soft side. He explanation not systematic. He
has lots of printouts but need you to read your
own for Ba Zi. He only explains the house proposal and the auspicious dates.

Hi Danny,
Thanks for the info and feedback. So I guess we are paying lesser to do more reading up (which I think may not be that bad afterall since we tend to remember better when we read it ourselves as compared to hearing all those lengthy info from the master himself. As for the unsystematic part...hmm...hope he can improve on it. He may be "soft" becos he's not so "pushy" and outspoken as he may not want to scare pple with too many supernatural stuff... unlike some masters who says a lot of bad things about the house and want you to buy this and that FS oraments from him (so that he can earn more out of it)

Anyway since I have already decided to engage him, I'll just have to have faith in him and hope that he will be able to share more FS knowledge with me. Some masters dun even bother to elaborate and expect you to listen to everything they say without further explanations. I hate those

Carol,
Overall Cecil lee is ok, no worries.
Yes, he will not say bad things about the house,
only what you should do. He also does not say buy
this and that, only buy from outside the hu lu.

Best of luck with your new house.

Hi Carol,
I will get my hubby to contact Cecil Lee (at thetel number published at website) for the audit. Thanks.

Hi Fanta,
I am on the 16th floor.

Hi Danny,
Thanks a lot for sharing with us. Hope you can feedback on your upcoming onsite audit.

Anyway, I spoken to my hubby on the green beans process. He asked me to ask you what happens to the green beans (grow/turn black/etc) after three days. Hope you can feedback.

Merci,

Just leave it in your house for a few days... just hope that they will grow..(But i think
how to without water). But possibly the ones
that you put with cotton in the living room will.

Hope that answers your question.

Hi Rachel,
What a coincidence. Didn't follow the thread closely......have you gotten your keys? We shall gather one of these days &amp; talk more

Danny,
I dun understand what's the purpose of putting some green beans in wet cotton wool (to germinate?) I was told not to germinate the green beans on purpose if we are scattering green beans... contridictions??

Hi Mercipuku,
Check your email