Park Green

Seems like im the only one staying in blk 10. Got any neighbours same blk as me???

hi folks, i just purchased over the weekend a 3-room in unit 20 (cant remember block what). anyone bought one there too? and i was just wondering, did anyone take up a citibank loan? i just did that too, somehow felt like i was conned.

Glad to see another neighbour!
Why do u feel con about ur loan? Wanna share ur experience? Wld like to be in our mailing list?

you see, citibank's loan locks you in for 3 years, and the third year rate is flexi. basically, i'm at the mercy of citibank, cause whatever board rates they set, i can't get out till after the lock-in period.

i sort of regretted not taking up OCBC's package, but it's kinda late now to talk about it, as i've already signed on the dotted line.

sure, it's great to be on your mailing list, depending on what you send me ha ha.

btw, anyone know of any cheap (but good) lighting contractor?

Mobe540

take up liao...better dun think too much ....look forward to ur hse instead!

why dun u give me ur email contact first ..then i decide wat to send u ...heeheee

i know my hubb knows someone doing lights ...remember he mentioning to get this guy to do for our new house? ..u interested?? but i dunno if he is cheap...hehee

Anyone heard of AT Design? I went to Singapore Expo during the weekends, and their sales people approached me and my bf. Seems like not pushy at all. Reasonable prices too.

I dunno if i shld get a contractor who can manage everything for renovation for me, or shld i get contractors for lightings, carpentry, etc.

hello all,

lightings, dun worry lah. now wat u need to do is have a concept. check out how many power points u want. agar agar the area where your electrical points are being used. end of this year then we consolidate the contractors we know.
From there, we get the best offer.

Why dun we have a checklist what we should get for the house? Let me contribute five essential things

1) Sofa
2) Fridge
3) washing machine
4) Dining Tables and Chairs
5) TV

Over to u guys.

Mobe540, dun worry abt the loan.
Citibank's rate will be more or less close to the board rate in the market.

PG,
my hubb plans to have diff pple to do all the diff functions. But personally i prefer one contractor to do all cos it will be easier to co-ordinate.

Longmarch,
I can only think of another common essential thing ie bedroom furniture for the master bedroom. The rest are more customised to our needs. For eg, I am planning to do a platfrom for my kids' room.

Somehow, I still feel tat it is difficult to imagine w/o the unit's floorplan ....

Let me contribute my share of things to get for our homes. Missylan, I will add on to your list, and will see from what we need for each room:

Living Room:
1. TV
2. TV console
3. Sofa
4. Coffee table
5. Side table
6. Shoe Rack
7. Dining table and chairs
8. VCD/ DVD player

Master Bedroom:
1. Bed
2. Side tables (2)
3. Dresser table
4. TV (smaller one)

Kitchen:
1. Fridge
2. Washing Machine
3. Microwave oven
4. Electric oven (for baking)
5. Rice cooker

Study room:
1. Sofa bed
2. Study table with chair
3. Book shelves

Guest room:
1. Bed

Wah PG, quite a comprehensive list!

Instead of getting two ovens, can consider getting a microwave oven that has baking function. Saw quite a few models at Best Denki, slightly more ex than a microwave, about $500. But can save space lah..

Hey mobe540, i am currently taking a citibank loan too. Thought it's quite ok? I took it cos of the 1% cash rebate, and the checking account idea. Anyway, if you are not happy with the service, can change bank after 3 years. Dun think there is a penalty if you want to change bank.

hmmm, can we use the floor plan in the sales booklet to plan for our renovation? Or there will be a more confirmed floor plan later. Want to start planning for renovation too.

Sakura,

cannot use the sales booklet floor plan for the contractor to do his measurements. Can only use as an estimate. Tat floor plan is not drawn to scale. Somemore the actual unit might come out to +/- 10% difference in size.

Dun think that the sales booklet floor plan can be for a contractor to start on designing or planning. More for ourselves to do estimated planning.

According to my law firm, the end prdt can be +/-10% in size of our S&P agreement.

hi guys

there is a clause in the T&C if we are shortchanged, they have to pay us the difference.
There is an acceptance Criteria - I think the percentage is specified.

As for Floor Plan, I think we can request from the developer. I m sure they have it. Dun know
whether must pay.

PG, tat's all I can afford

Living Room:
1. TV - ok
2. TV console - will get a rack
3. Sofa -ok
4. Coffee table - ok
5. Side table - good to have
6. Shoe Rack - ok
7. Dining table and chairs - must have
8. VCD/ DVD player existing

Master Bedroom:
1. Bed - must have
2. Side tables (2)- one i think enough
3. Dresser table - good to have
4. TV (smaller one) - good to have

Kitchen:
1. Fridge - must have
2. Washing Machine - must have
3. Microwave oven - good to have
4. Electric oven (for baking) - good to have
5. Rice cooker - must have

Study room:
1. Sofa bed - good to have
2. Study table with chair - - must have
3. Book shelves - must have

Guest room:
1. Bed - existing

It reads

Not more than 35 of the area = No reduction
More than 3% of the area - Reduction at unit purchase Price per square meter of deficiency which is in excess of 3% of the area

Missylan,

ur title deed will show the actual floor area ......when the proj is completed.

With regards to my msg regarding the
air-con.

I think we can disregard the inverter system
which the agent julian told my friend.

From wat I know there are only 3 players
i the inverter market - Mitsubishi
Toshiba and LG.

If PArk Green is using Daikin then it will not be an inverter system

Ermm, I think our air con might still be a Daikin Inverter.

I heard that Bishan Loft (another project by NTUC) is given Diakin Inverter, so perhaps they got bulk discount
Furthermore, Daikin does have inverter system, though I'm not sure if they are in the retail market.

As this is the first time, we have our own house and will be doing all these renovation stuffs. I would like to know at least how much will be needed for some minor renovation and buying of furnitures?

Living Room:
1. TV - getting flat screen 37" or 42" those hang on the wall
2. TV console - 2 small on each side
3. Sofa - a must
4. Coffee table - a must
5. Side table -
6. Shoe Rack - build in
7. Dining table and chairs - a must
8. VCD/ DVD player - a must

Master Bedroom:
1. Bed - custom made bigger size- can flip and flap
2. Side tables (2)- dun need
3. Dresser table - no need
4. TV (smaller one) - don't want (sleeping got radiation not good)
5. Door - custom made door
Kitchen:
1. Fridge - must have
2. Washing Machine - must have
3. Microwave oven - good to have (conventional)
4. Rice cooker - must have
5. Some hacking, open concept kitchen

Study room:
1. Sofa bed - no need
2. Study table with chair - - must have
3. Book shelves - must have
4. Wall to be hacked, glass replace- must get permission

Guest room:
1. Bed - existing
2. wardrobe
3. Door - custom made door

Master room:
Bathtub - will be removed, jacuzzi tub

Lights etc, curtains, bath accessories etc.... How much is enough? We are now saving up for renovation and furnitures....

Headache...........

Missylan,

WAH!!! U have so many plans for hacking .....think the renovations is going to cost u a bomb!!! Hacking and rebuilding is the most expensive portion of renovations and tat is why resale flats renovations cost are higher than new ones ....

I am planning to save $15k for simple renovation already.....*head swelling* ...heheee

note : no need to get bathroom accessories. Those towel handles, mirrors, etc are all provided!

hi missylan,

like ah eng, i plan to spend $10-15k for simple renovation..... still got to allocate some expenses for my wedding too..... quite taxing!

When I saw Missylan's plans for hacking, I was thinking to myself. Actually initially I also wanted an open-concept kitchen and jaccuzzi bathtub. Sigh.... with all the wedding preparation costs, we have to tighten our budget, so we have to do what is really necessary. We would still have my L-box for lightings, cos I felt tat the correct lightings can do wonders to the house.

Today I got to go back to office to work. So ku3 ming4!

Actually I do have an existing bathtub at home. Was bought so that i can enjoy soaking time during bathtime. Now it is meant for my kids' fun. Before buying PG, i was still telling my hubb that our new house will not hv a bathtub (its tiring to wash tat!!) and now tat PG comes wif it, I told my hubb that the bathtub to be for display only ...hahaaa!!

PG,
wat's a L-box .....me very sua ku

An L-box is quite similar to cornices at the edges of the ceiling, except that it is simpler in design. It resembles a simple photo frame with lights on them when you look up the ceiling.

Wah, these few weeks' weather is really horrifying. Feel like falling sick everytime I go out to have my lunch.

i think i know wat u mean ....i had it at my present house too .....but for the new unit, my hubb is looking at false ceiling ....

i m lucky to have a collg who drives ...so lunch tpt is no problem ...no need to walk ....so tummy showing but skin not suffering from the sun...heheee

hi Sakura, citibank's giving 2% cash rebate at the moment, so i'm one up on you!!! anyway, i know you can change banks after 3 years , but as you know, only the 1st 2 years are fixed rates. the 3rd will fluctuate according to the board rates the bank sets. so how? citibank can kill you in the third year, and i will suffer the same fate as all citibank loaners.

so i see all of you have started a list of to-buy household items...maybe i can come up with one list that tells you what NOT to buy.

here's it!

1. Crocheted toilet paper covers
2. blow up furniture
3. wine coolers
4. salad spinners
5. g-string sanitary towel
6. rocking chair

Mobe,

i understand that the third year rate could be high but say 2 percentage point more. how much
do u have to pay for interest. dun u have the cash rebate which is enough to pay back the interest?

If u r alowed a partial payment say during TOP, the principal amount will decrease thus third year interest rate how high they set will not
affect you.

Do u see it?

Cheers, mate.

I agree with Longmarch with the rates. btw, by looking at all bank loans. OCBC is one of the lowest rate.
I took up OCBC as it's a local bank.

Other banks ABN or Maybank offer quite attractive rates but not interested.

Btw, have u guys taken up any mortgage protector or assets insurance. An guys here in insurance, can help. Thanks.

I have checked with UOB Assurance an estimate premium to pay for a $350k coverage for 20 years (last 4 years is premium-free) and they est that the annual premium to be paid is around $550. This mort ins pays only when one owner had TPD or death. Any comments??

I bought mortgage insurance to cover my loan amount. Think I kiasu a bit, cos I'm basically an "insurance" person. I once told my mum tat she's the beneficiary of all my insurance policies, except for the mortgage insurance policy. I see insurance as a form of savings, something which forces me to put aside a sum of money every month.

I might be re-financing my bank loan in few years' time. Cannot stand my bank's service anymore. Just going to tahan them for few years.

I think it's pointless to refinance since the interest rates are rock bottom. people refinance
because they are paying interest rates about 4-5%
and the new bank gives them maybe 2.5% for 1st year for the new contract.

In our case, after two years refinance will be
pointless. moreover look at our third year
rate, switching to another bank is pointless.

thanks for the advice long march, but i was just doing some mental calculations in my head, an extra 2 percentage points can translate to several hundred dollars more in my monthly instalments. but hey, i'm already stuck in this, so might as well learn to live with it.

btw, i believe NTUC Income home insurance plans are still very good.

PGSengkang: you buying Income?

i tink it's better to buy mortgage insurance from the bank you took the mortgage loan from.

im looking at re-financing from 4th year onwards.

does anyone know if it is mandatory to take up an MPP with the bank you took the loan from? cos NTUC Income's MPP is still cheaper than most.

It is not mandatory to take up a MPP with the bank u took the loan.

mobe540 ....thanks for the info ..will chk it out.

so PGsengkang is Andrew har ??? kekeke...

hi ah eng

guess again but dun assume other people. hehehe

hi longmarch

dun impersonate other people as well.

Anyway any guys into drinking tomorrow?

hey guys, will keep u update if i got any pics.
So far my friend din take any shots.