Park Green

ytt197

Hi Jam,

I'm from Blk 10 as well. A few units & myself have had very bad experiences with the Blk 10 sup. (which is the indian guy call Venke).

Once I was so angry that I went down to the main con office to make a compliant abt him to the main con manager.

He is unlike other sup. from other blk (like sup. from blk 12 is so helpful). Very unhelpful, could even accuse that the defect may be done by your renovator etc....(1 thing for sure is that he will never stand in the owner point of view)

Anyway, try not to have him as your unit sup.

snowball2

Anyone from Blk 6 has installed the gate? Our structure is a bit different from other block due to the "bend" outside our main door. Just wonder how much roughly it will cost?

jam

Wow, thanks for all the advice... seems like we've been too nice to let them chuck us at one side / throw us around among the supervisors...
Think I'd better get my hubby to finally call the main con office & speak to them now!!

ah_eng

Mel,
Is ur house open for my visit? ^0^

Limay,
the clothings make up of 50% of my stuff!! Enjoy urself first, then come back and unpack...

Happylady,
I had spec metal grille (2 bedrooms) and one main gate ...cost me $1,050

arieson

sent

melodie

Hi Kent

and i thot i was the only one who suffered... tat indian guy is really too much... hiaz

Hi ah_eng

Had been waiting for u to come over.. hehe :p
Housewarming party tomorrow... U can pop over for some food and drinks if u're free

kompass

I am new to this forum. Great to learn that I have 2 potential neighbours in Kent and Melodie. Guess what, I thought Venka was not too helpful too when we asked him to help us with some flooring defects.

limay

Hey Ah Eng, yah...have so much clothes to shift - and alex still wants to share the wadrobe space 50-50!
Want to unpack as much as possible first lah, would have a total backlog at work once we come back from honeymoon!

Melodie - can i come by ur place to look see tomolo afternoon? Wont be a bother, i promise

Kom - Welcome!

eijgnohz

I am back at work (and finally with a computer) after 5 days of cleaning, unpacking and decorating our new place! Was so satisfying to see everything fall in place, although it was not until late yesterday when things are more or less done, and we get to sit on the couch and relax to smooth Christmas Jazz.

Can I check with those who moved in... did you subscribe to Straits Times? and if so, is it delivered to your door step? Does it come with TODAY newspaper? Feels kinda strange now to not read TODAY on the way to work today...

ytt197

Hi Mel & Kom,

Definitely you 2 are not alone and I am sure there are many others like us. I have even warn the Main Con manager that if Venke keep giving us this kind of service & work, I will write a compliant letter and ask those neighbors whose are unhappy with him to sign and send it to NTUC choicehome & Main Con head office.

Mel & Kom : which floor you are staying? I'm at 3rd floor.

bbmaru

Hey EIG,
You are fast! In the blink of an eye, you are already residing in PG! It was like only yesterday that I visited your at your place!

I think not all areas come with Today, only selected areas come with complimentary copies of Today. Maybe when you subscribe to Straits Time, you can feedback to them that the ALL the PG residents will like to read Today
. Also, the subscription is also higher than those who live in HDB. Condo/private apartments/landed properties are charged at a higher rate
Why huh? Is it becos it's more troublesome for them to pass by the security?

limay

Hey EIG, when can we come visit? Its so exciting seeing how everyones' apartment is falling into place & looking livable now!

Carol - how much are they charging for the papers? I used to pay $22/month (free Today & Streats) for my old house.

bbmaru

Hey Limay,
If you used to stay in a land property or private apartment, then it will be the same price as what you have been paying. Can't remember exactly how much, but I think it shld be around $22 or $24 if I'm not wrong. But dun think they will be giving us Today or Streats unless we "pester" them to give PG residents complimentary copies

hokkaidolady

Hey Kent, Melodie and Kom

I am also from Blk 10. At first that indian guy was quite rude but think he toned down now. It could be due to the complaint Kent made?

ah eng: $1050 is so so EXPENSIVE!!! wow my hubby and I got to re-budget liao lei....

ah_eng

Mel,
Will try to drop by. Mayb I pull EIG along :p

Limay,
be glad that u have only a man to snatch the space with u..cos i have to share with 3 men ..hahaha

Happylady,
if ur budget is lower, go for aluminium grilles instead. The price is much lower

limay

Carol, yah..so blur didnt even know they had different prices for paper delivery. No wonder the indian delivery guy so nice, even wrap in paper bag when it rains...Else can always read the papers online loh.

taka

Really envy you guys, have already moved in.... Anyone from block 6 there? It is so difficult to contact Raymond nowadays, he must have regreted giving his handphone no.and decided to switch it off...

We changed the key early this month and now left with minor defects which were not rectified ever since the handover

roooller

subscription of straits times is same for all. only the delivery charges apply. HDB $1, condo/EC $2, landed $3. per copy $0.70 compared if u buy outside $0.80.

there's 2 types of frequency. daily and weekend.

hope this info helps.

eijgnohz

Hi Limay and Carol,

Sure! You are all welcome to visit me! can come during this weekend, I should be around.

Carol and taka, the reason why I can move in within 2 weeks of keys collection is becos I have minimal reno (just false ceiling, basic carpentry and lights). Dun worry, it will be your turn soon! I still have some defects that's not rectified yet, but now that we are staying at PG, it is actually more convenient to rectify the defects, since I can just call my blk's supervisor anytime and get them to do the work there and then. Dun need to make special trips down to PG as compared to last time when I was not staying there yet. Somemore can hang around and supervise them now

ah eng, keke, you have also been bz these past few days at PG too
yah, you can bring me round to meet more pple... so far, I have only meet you, carol, limay and alex.

And thanks to all, for the info on the newspaper!

next is to look for cable tv and internet connection..sigh.. so troublesome...

bbmaru

EIG,
Indeed, moving house is troublesome and tiresome chore. I wonder why there are pple who enjoy moving every few yrs by choice... one house moving is enough to make me crazy... got to juggle between work, present housework and supervision of the reno/rectification... I hope this "circus" juggling job will end soon.

Anyone taking long leave during the CNY period? I will be at home throughout the CNY week, if eng eng by then can go swimming or exercise to my heart's content... Ah Eng, EIG, joining me or not?

taka

We got the key in early Nov, exactly one month later the key was handovered to us. Too bad that we got the key during festive period, all are rushing to move in before Christmas and New Year, so our carpenter also rushing like mad...

Ours also minor reno, but the contractors are having holiday mood now, going off for holidays... cannot do anything to stop them from going right? Anyway, don't think about it now, hope to move in early Jan... wish me luck!

EIG,
will ask you the procedures when it is our turn

limay

Ours even more minor reno - started last wed & finished this monday; we checked out of hotel after wedding & shifted in same day!

Btw Taka - we are also at block 6!

EIG - we wont be in this weekend! Sat have to do a final shift of all my junk from my parents place
So cham, Xmas day also have to move stuff....Sunday have to pack cos we are going for honeymoon on Sun nite!! Going to be away 17 days, so we want to finish what we can before that...else come back, got backlog of work somemore, & if have to shift - can die ahh

limay

Wow...totally quiet today! Just want to wish all Park Greeners a Merry Xmas & a Happy New Year as well

We wont be online till after we are back from our honeymoon in mid-Jan! Be seeing more of you guys in PG then!!

bbmaru

It hasn't be soooo quiet for sooo long...guess everyone must still be clearing leave, staying at home or out of the country enjoying their super long holdiay...

bbmaru

Hee hee, Missylan,
Of course I know you are in Singapore, cos you're almost due how to be able to go out of Singapore for holiday?

But the long weekend surely slowed down exisitng reno or rectification work

alvin

HI Misslan,

Any you in PG last Sat? I think I saw you in the car park.

Hi Mobe540,

What a small world!!! Now then I know that you are my sister in law's friend.

merci_puku

Did anyone asked for a quotation for a protection coat of sealant over your granite/marble flooring ?

Would appreciate if anyone could share this information so that I can make a decision whether to do it myself or hire a contractor to do it. Thanks

Alvin,
How do U know it's me? I was there in the evening time... went to measure fridge and washing machine area and left.

Carol,
Yah lor, holiday... long weekend. But contractor going to start my unit wiring, then the light box, then painting, then my curtains then I can start moving stuff in. The last thing is the TV console for living and master bedroom. As the consoles aren't able to make it in time.

Merci,
My contractor said that he never heard of compressed marble doing the protection. He said if do scared will be discoloured... Any advice? I want to do the protection too. Hai... should have choose granite, more durable after I did some reading!

merci_puku

missylan,
Marble/granite are porous material which are susceptible to stains. Are compress marble made of marble material ? If yes, then it should be protected.
Is there a possibility where wax based sealant can cause discolouration ? Can test on a piece first before deciding.

Merci,
But understand that granite more heavy duty than marble. Marble more prone to scratches... this is what my friend who chose granite told me so. I chose granite for my dining table, the salesperson told me the same thing. For absorption, granite is slightly slower than marble.

But how much will the protection work cost? Any idea?

alvin

Hi Missylan,

I think is you be'cos I was at the carpark & I saw a pregnant lady walking out of the lift in blk 12.

ytt197

Hi all PGers,

I have try talking to the main con nicely and patiently but guess if we go to them individually, they dun listen. I am really impatient with their poor workmanship, stupid design(layout), playing delaying tatic, poor block sup. service etc....

I would like to consolidate all the complaints, have everyone sign on it and send it to NTUC choice home. I think we deserve some explaination from them.

Wonder if those who are victims of their poor workmanship and service, could we meet-up next Sat. 08/01/05 at the reading room at 2pm so that we could consolidate the compliants and sign this letter.

If after sending and still nothing is done from their part. I am thinking of sending it to StraitTime and/or others newspaper to ensure that other Singaporean will not make the same mistake.

But, of course those bock sup. with really good service should be praise in this letter as well.

Alvin,
Wow, blk12 onli me pregnant?!? Hehee... guess it was me... Saw quite a few same blk neighbours but don't know how to start conversation. :p

Kenneth,
I was quoted close to 1K for my unit. I chose the highest % which ParkGreen management accepts. The brand is SunShield. But still thinking whether to do or not.

Kent,
My blk Malay contractor is a nice guy. He did my flooring within 2 weeks. Sorry to know that yr blk contractor is so irresponsible.

snowball2

Hi Kent,

My block supervisor (Blk 6), is ok, but need a little push. So far, we have been very patient with them and the work is done for us... though there are still a couple of items outstanding, but we are all set in a few days' time.

mobe5forty

Hey Alvin, yes indeed! what a coincidence. I was very much surprised when I bumped into your sis in law in the lift, and when she told me your unit #, my jaw almost landed on the ground! I did drop by your place on Christmas day anyway, din really got the chance to speak to you. we'll catch up again anyway.

but I must say your house is done up really well. especially liked the water feature and the feature wall with your mounted LCD. Very very nice.

alvin

Hi Kent,

Nice to meet you & your wife on X'mas nite in the carpark.

Hi Missylan,

I think you never see me be'cos I was inside my car. I am the one who also start the conversation when I see any person from PG, KeKe....

HI Mobe540,

Thanks, My water feature is very cheap...only S$188 (from compass point)

banyan24

Hi Alvin,
may i know whether your water feature is indoor/outdoor?
if im not wrong your feature from the basement 1 shop right?
How's the service of the delivery person, any complaints re: the feature?
jes

ytt197

Hi Alvin,

Nice to meet your family & you too. Yr daughter is really cute. Great chat with you. Feel free to come over to take a look if you are free. But, of course it will be a while before I will be able to stay in.

Hi Missylan & Snowball2, thanks. I understand that blk 12 sup. is a very nice guy. I have friend staying there as well.

Actually what I am trying to compile is all those poor workmanship, illogical design/layout etc.. that most of us are suffering (e.g uneven flooring etc..) I think Main Con or NTUC should explain to us why we are getting this kind of poor workmanship?

kenneth

Kent, i think it's a good move, but i suggest u skip the Strait Times part. Previously this idea was brought up but was discarded as some forumers believed the complaint letter would bring down the value of our place.

bbmaru

Indeed, we can create all the havoc we want in NTUC's office, but we have to skip the Straits Time part. Dun think our ppty can suffer anor blow.

Btw, is there anyone out there who has granite flooring and has done polishing for your floor to remove the uneven tiles? Can anyone advise on the result? Now last minute the main con pple are telling me they dun have the machine to do that type of polishing (to even out the lippage) for granite... delay my reno work. Pissed!

ytt197

Hi Nutty,

True. Actually just want them to know that we are not quite happy with their workmanship & service.

Hi all PGers,

I think we dun even need to meet-up. Just put down your complaints (not defect) and send it to my email: [email protected] (Pls indicate your blk & unit #). I will compile them and then send it to the Main Con & NTUC choice home. Hope that they could meet-up with us and provide us some explaination. Will praise blk 12 sup.
in the letter as well. Thks.

merci_puku

Hi Kent,

Has the maincon exceeded the time limit for them to complete rectification for your unit ? If yes, you reserve the right to issue the notice of intent to repair the defects yourself.