Park Green

ryue

Hi the price per sq foot is linked to the amount of light and heat that the film can block out. In other words, if u want more blockage then expect to pay more.

I think I engaged a company called Cool N Lite.

lin(minkeemonkee),
Hi... me always online and usually don't off my wireless. Me had my #2, so now a SAHM. You? I am living in blk 12.

Wa... so long didn't log in so many things to read. I owned 2 cars, understood that currently second lot is a privilege. I will not mind paying for second car. I will not blame residents but will blame the stupid designer to design just nice numbers of lots. Anyhow, might be moving out when TOP next year.

minkeemonkee

No one has those white spots on their master bath black flr?
called tiong seng in tdy.. tat china man said i hv to grind it off!! cant be i m the only one that hv it. i remember hearing some complains abt it few yrs back.. jus that i officially stayed in only tis yr n all these spots appear.

missylan,
after so many months i see yr reply! i SAHM at blk 2.

razor

Hi lin,
Yes, the white spots in the master bedroom toilet are a big problem. As long as you use your toilet, you will have it as I was told by Tiong Seng previously that the water will seep into the tiles and caused some reaction and the white spots. The only way to prevent it is to always keep your floor DRY - which means that everytime after using it, you will have to mop the floor dry. That is why my family hardly uses the master bedroom toilet so as to "preserve" the floor as the white spots were a eye sore! Sounds silly, but well. ;P

The other time, I made noise to Tiong Seng, I think that was when I just moved in for about a year or so. They have to come grind and re-buff the flooring. It will look like new after that, but if you don't take care of it, the white spots will come again.

razor

By the way, I think there are several units that have been rented out, although I think we are not allowed to do so. Anyone know what is the market rental rate for Park Green for both 3 and 4-bedroom units?

minkeemonkee

razor ,
thanks... then y use those tiles in bathroom when suppose to be kept dry??? no other residents experiencing this?? the white spots acceptable to owners??

limay

<font color="119911">white spots - yes, these are a mess! Like Razor, we are also avoiding using the MBR shower area after we had Tiong Seng come by and buff the floor. However, after a couple of years, the floor for the guest bathroom has likewise deteriorated. Can blame NTUC Choice Homes for their horrible selection of flooring. Think the only way to get around this is to mop the floor dry everyday (not practical), else hack the tiles out &amp; replace them with ur own selection!</font>

rensea

check w you guys, anyone called you to give a free demo of their house-care/ cleaning services? a person called me and offered a complimentary demo whereby he will buff our floor and dust-cleaning for our matress... he said no obligations one hor.. and he will just get incentive for the demo....

merci_puku

Anyone experience house lizards entering your home and shitting all over the place. It has became a pest problem.

These house lizards are found to be living in lights holder along the corridor outside the main door.

Any idea to stop thes house lizards from coming into the house ?

merci_puku

The white spots found on the MBR floor is called
Efflorescence. Efflorescence is a white powder that may appear on the surface of your stone. It is caused by water carrying mineral salts from below the surface of the stone, rising through the stone, and then evaporating. When the water evaporates, it leaves the powdery substance.

The only way to remove is to repolish till it is remove before sealing the stone with a
good-quality impregnator-type penetrating sealer.

I have asked Tiong Seng to seal for me before moving in. But they not willing to do it as a bottle of sealant is $20+ for sealing 20 Square feet.

In the end, I got my contractor to do it for me. So my floor has no problems.

samily

I had pretty good success against lizards (only one encounter in the few years 'cause I forgot to close the windows that time). What I did :

a. put rubber seal on all gaps below the doors
b. open windows and doors only when people are present (especially kitchen windows/doors). Once I'm done with cooking, I close the windows and doors.

All the best!

lin,
Sorry, seldom log in liao.

About Park Green,
We are planning to sell when the property TOP on 30th Sept. Never knew that to accept the grant we got to stay till 5th year, should not get the grant and can sell away the 3rd year.

The workmanship really telok la. The greenish algae like thing on and off still appearing. Yes, the master bedroom toilet got a thick layer on white stuff... air-condensation and stained the white false ceiling, many problem!

minkeemonkee

merci puku
lizards -
i hv lizards n spiders staying in my kitchen initially.
i put cinnamon sticks ard the kitchen.. works well..havent seen them since.. if it doesnt work for u, get those lizard traps n place ard.. eeekk!!

i know its Efflorescence but didnt tat dumb architect do research on the materials before using it?? lots of gaps on my parquet flr too!! sigh!

i waiting for the KPE to be ready to see how this place will be before i sell off..

tiong seng is still patching my cracks n ceiling !!

merci_puku

lin,
I had reflected on the difficulty to maintain granite and marble floor to Tiong Seng when we move in. But come to think of it what they say is true. Below are three points which they say and I have no ground to rebut.

1. Which condo uses cheap tiles instead of natural stones like marble/granite ? If owner wants to use cheap tiles might as well buy HDB.

2. Is there anything in the world either cheap tiles or expensive material can look as new with usage without maintainance ?

3. If natural stone is difficult to maintain either you pay $$$ to get professionals to maintain it or you do it yourself ?

If you are too lazy to do it and no $$$ to pay professional to do it, either you dont use your bathroom or dont complain.

merci_puku

It came to my attention that my neighbours encountered a fair bit of mould and mild dew problem.

As my family is very prone to Sick Building Symdrome due to mild dew. Major reason I did not encounter this problem is mainly because we install ventilation fan in toilets before we move in.

Perhaps, you may want to consider this solution if mould and milddew is seriously causing a problem.

http://www.kdk.com.sg/homeventilation/photo_gallery.html

rensea

do you get irritating calls from ppty agents asking whether wish to sell our unit? I mean this is crazy rite, we dun have any rights to sell till sept 09 whereby it's 5 years from the TOP of sept 04....

wonder what this is all abt...

arieson

unless the market is so bad that may explain the calling, they must know a way to sell. Wonder how they get our details too...

gerald

I have got an approved unit for sale in Park Green.
3 bedroom, 1346 sqft, high floor, scenic view.
Call me @ 96988885.

rensea

AGM is coming again... unresolved issues like car parking, reading room needs to dealt with...

is it sensitive to suggest a change of management agent? Or at least get a couple more tendors to check competitiveness of the current agent.... but need support from some more parties to push it through i guess....

hanyan

Have not come to this site for a very long time and so glad to see it still alive. I hope to get some help from people here. And if you are a dog owner, pls take note, as this might be of concern to you.

I'm currently working from home. For the last few mths, I hear every week the sound of a dog whimpering. It usually happen during the day time, but maybe once or twice in the evening. From the sound of it, it shd be one of those small 'toy dogs'. It happens very often, at least 2, 3 times a week (but I don't stay at home all the time.. so it can also be happening when I was away). I highly suspect it's an abuse. Once, I was sitting by the pool and I heard it. I saw a dog in one of the ground flr n'bour's place looking out helplessly look from the patio. I guess that dog knows that his/her own kind was being abused.

Btw, I'm living in blk 10. It's definitely from the few blks around me. So if you are staying around my area, has a small dog at home which you might have left with a maid while you're at work (I assume that the abuser is the maid or whoever else is at home when the owner is not at home), be sure to check that your dog is not being abused.

I'm hoping to try to find out the exact apartment and then go report it to SPCA. I think it sounds serious enough to warrant attention from SPCA because today, I can even hear the beating sound.

Even if you don't own a dog but know that it is your n'bour's dog being abused, pls drop me an email. I'll bring it up to SPCA.

ohio

Always saw some swimming coaches teaches the children swimming, but don't have the chance to ask directly from the coach (don't want to interupt their lesson). Anyone got any swimming coach contact?

ireneng55

Its better you view how they teach and see for yourself if you are comfortable with it. My son's swimming instructor is on reservist for 3 months. I'm waiting for him to come back. They got a replacement but don't really like the others teaching methods esp when my son is only 5 years old.

sept03

Anyone know if there are cracks and water sepage in wall and roof, will Tiong Seng be doing it? Do we have to pay them to do it?

I noticed many cracks on my wall and these cracks are very long.

merci_puku

If there are water seepage, TS should cover. YOu need to inform MC to get TS in.

Hairline crack. Use Nippon special paint and paint over.

rchtym

Hi Guys,
Great to see this thread is still active after so long. Have not been visiting this thread ever sine i moved into PG.

May i know has anyone encounter Algae in their piping? Recently i collect a pale of Algae from the Washing machine hose. Resulted in choking my washing machine.
According to the MC, the warranty period is over. We have to call Tiong Seng to ask them to clear the pipe for us, cost will bear by the owner. Any idea how much is the cost?

chinnie

Was having a leisurely swim at the pool just now when i saw this couple with their two grandsons (supposedly) playing at the adult pool steps. Suddenly, I noticed the man bringing one grandson to urine at the tree next to the pool
Decided to be "neighbourly" and shut my trap.... Then, he started to bring another grandson to the tree and "take up position"
kao_angry.gif

Started telling them that the toilet is just nearby and the boy should not be urinating there. Guess what? The man brought the boy to the toilet and the woman started protesting loudly that its just the tree, and would not stop complaining even when i swam away
kao_frustrated.gif

Sigh... with this kind of behaviour, we can look forward to smelling "eau de urine" at the pool liao

jam

does anyone know if there's any private bus that can pick us from Park Green to CBD every morning?

now that the KPE is opened right in front of us, it'll be so much faster to travel by road but a bit too expensive to get husband to detour and drop me in town every day.

if there isn't a private bus doing that now, would anyone be interested if we charter a minibus together?

zee_e

OKP clinches $5.7m contract from National Parks Board to build three park connectors.

Mainboard-listed OKP Holdings (OKP), one of the leading infrastructure and civil engineering firms, says it has secured a $5.7 million contract from the National Parks Board (NParks) for the construction of three park connectors at Sungei Pinang, Sungei Serangoon and Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5.

The project was awarded to OKP’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Eng Lam Contractors Co (Pte) Ltd. Work is expected to begin in late-June and will take nine months to complete. The scope of works includes construction of jogging tracks, cycling tracks, entrance plazas, signages and concrete ramps as well as landscaping works, demolition works and electrical works.

The three park connectors are:
• Sungei Pinang Park Connector along Sungei Pinang off Buangkok Drive;
• Sungei Serangoon Park Connector along Sungei Serangoon off Sengkang East Drive and Tebing Walk; and
• Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5 Park Connector from Ang Mo Kio Town Garden West to existing Buangkok Park Connector along Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5
-------------------------------------------------

The park connector along Sungei Pinang should be along the stretch between Park Green and Punggol Park.

razor

Hi all! Long time no come in here. Hope everyone's doing fine.

Anyway, just to check. Anyone of you done up your window grilles? Who do you do with and how much does it costs? Any recommendations?

merci_puku

There are 32 units selling in Park Green.

Wonder how is the progress of MC recovering the outstanding maintenance fees owed by units not paying ? Last I heard the total figure run into >$100,000. Anyone had any idea ?

zee_e

Really? I'm looking at getting a unit in Park Green, are there any serious issues that i should be aware of? e.g. the carpark issue mentioned earlier in this thread, maintenance fee etc.

joyyen

Hi, I have brought some silicone kitchenware to test the market here in Singapore and they are now available for sale on www.Bulkbazaar.sg. Please check them out as silicone products are highly heat resistant, easy to clean, and creates cheerful kitchen environment as they are so colourful. At the same time, due to the flexible material, storage is a breeze for our usual small kitchens. These items are good as house warming gifts as well. Let silicone pave the way to easier kitchen chores!

Park Green orders will be entitled to 5% off the listed selling price on the website (discounted selling price to be rounded down to the nearest 10cents).

limay

<font color="aa00aa">Hi guys - been along while since I checked this forum

Merci puku (merci_puku)- just 32 units? I would assume there are more - at my block (6) alone, there are at least 3 renovations going on at anyone time now! Are u guys still getting calls from ERA, Propnex, etc to ask if u are keen to sell/rent? Am getting calls at least every other nite...irritating when u aren't looking to sell!

Park Connector - that is great news! No need to make a long detour to get to Punggol Park

Xmas lights - how come the Xmas lights out front &amp; by the pool aren't out yet??</font>

zee_e

i'm one of the new owners!

but renting out for the short term till i get married next year and move in officially

missc

In case u found ur perfect furniture at Barang Barang, I can offer 25% off my voucher value of $500. Reason for letting go is because the items there don't fit my house decor theme. Pls PM me if interested.

Woohoo... thread still alive!

Bigtoes, Merci Puku, razor, Rachel... all the familiar nicks!

Algae thingy for me is gone... completely gone liao. Selling prices here are crazy lah... from like $600K shoot up to almost $800K or more for an EC. But 1 thing I love Park Green is the KPE so accessible for us.

bbmaru

Wow, I'm equally surprised that this thread is still alive!! Yay to Parkgreeners! It's been more than 5 yrs since we started this thread and we're still occasionally chatting here!

It's good to know that our property is so hot but I do agree with Limay that it can be annoying at times to keep getting calls from property agents asking if we wanna sell..

Missylan, I tot that time u said u wanted to sell ONCE the 5 yr restriction is up? Looks like u've changed your mind... LOL!!

I'm hoping that the big green field beside our development doesn't get sold... so that we can continue to enjoy unobstructed breezes

zee_e

i've actually yet to move in, currently renting out for the moment till end of this year when we hold our wedding dinner

Should be in time for christmas though

limay

Wow, this thread has gone quiet...won't be surprised that 1/2 of the forummers have moved out of PG! I was checking on transactions done, and there was close to 7-8 in April 2010 alone. Wonder where all the Park Greeners are moving out to...

zee_e

You should have check the no of transactions in Oct 09.

Just wondering, is there really no demand for a shuttle bus from PG to the nearest mrt station?