Park Green

bbmaru

Hey EIG,
Why not? I can call up Mevin (Jean's hubby) and complain to him first... then see whether he will take action
.. If it's not settled before you leave, then I will follow up for you. My price for that 50-50
Kidding lah!

I will tell you her name when we do meet, but she's a Major there...din ask her what plane she flies... but her hubb (who is a Colonel with the Army) was seconded to anor country for a few yrs and the whole family went together... only come back 2 yrs back... so after such description, if your hubby knows of a Major who just came back, then she the one we are talking about

eijgnohz

Hey Carol,

Ok, I will ask my hubby whether he knows your hubby's uncle wife

You mean you are on such personal (and good) terms with Mervin and Jean!!?!? Wah, in this case must definitely complain! Tell him that I have zero response from Jean Yip despite sending 2 emails to the company. I want a refund of the rebonding, as well as refund of my haircolouring package with Jean Yip. Total will total ard $500. He should top that up to $700 for compensation :p I will give you $150 lah... more impt is to refund my package. :p

bbmaru

EIG,
No lah, I am in no way on such personal terms with them... Wat I meant is to call and get Mervin to the phone and complain to him personally...Later other unsatisfied customers also come to me ah...

I personally feel that a FULL refund is not very likely... usually companies prefer to compensate in the form of services, rather than in cash... same analogy when they rather "redo" the rebonding for you than to refund you money... so will try my best to help you chase after them

kenneth

thanks all. U are supposed to see the HM pics.

I am with the army. The wings means para trained. Let's bring such chat esp with names out of the forum :p

I am from blk 2.

Any news regarding the defects rectification??

The solution for the filter is to turn it off.

boheng

hi all, have u seen the notice regarding the management seeking for volunteers?? they didnt spell out on the areas which the volunteers need to help out on. anyone interested??

ah_eng

Nutty, ur wedding pics are too nice to gv it a miss ;)

My MBR bathroom's tap is rusting!! Arent these stuff supposed to be stainless steel???!!!

bbmaru

Boh Eng,
They will tell you that it's not rust... it's that the chrome fittings have tarnished and they can remove such stains... I dunno (cos I gave up) but you can try asking them to see what they can do about it...

That time I complain about my sink too... but I realise that I wash my sink clean every time with the green wool (I scrub gently only), the rusty spots did not return.. so far so good lor...

As for volunteering, I won't "anyhow" volunteer for NTUC related stuff... got to know what they want us to volunteer to do...

boheng

Carol, we wrote down the rusty towel hanger in our 1st defect form and the contractor has changed a new towel hanger for us

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
Ya lor, the sink they won't change one cos it's not easy...and much more ex then the towel hanger. Talking about that, I remembered they change one for me too
. But nothing was done to the sink

bbmaru

Forgot to add... the marble tiles on my MBR toilet are starting to have problems liao... dunno why there's discolouration... my hubby was saying if the marble tiles are so lousy, might as well dun give us such tiles...in fact, homogenous might be more suitable for toilets...

The water heater guy came over to do a "servicing"... Tell U all... this water heater is way STUPID! The service person blames in on our mixer. We cannot turn our mixer to the centre or slightly to left or right. You can try out with our tap. When there is hot water coming, on the heater controller the "Conbustion" will be lighted up. When you turn the mixer more to the "cold" side, the combustion will go off. If your problem is too warm and too cold, no matter how you adjust the mixer. Then you have to get the techanican to go over to your side do some adjusting.

What he did for me was I can set the controller to 38degress(mixer is turned to extreme warm side), he adjusted at the heater side to my desire temperature. If I wanna warmer, I can adjust from the controller. Then it will not be too warm liao.

The problem of our heater is, we cannot turn the mixer too much, then the water will flow only cold water. The techanican also said sth about the thermostat... cos this gas heater works better on thermostat not our mixer. Boring....

boh eng,
hahaha... quite confusing also...

Conclusion- Cannot turn the mixer too much to the centre. Else there will be no warm water at all. Try testing out the mixer(you will have to go in and out of the toilet)... when you've turn too much to the cold side, the combustion will turn off. Have to play ard then you'll know at which point(mixer) is combustion will go off.

limay

Hmm...yah, so cheem...i have gotten used to letting the water run for abit before showering. That usually solves the problem, just abit of wastage lah. Maybe we can compensate by flushing the toilet bowl less? hehe

Carol - the MBR marble tiles are whitish...what do u mean by discoloration? Actually, think we are quite slack..dont notice all these...all I have been doing is mopping the floor once a week (less than 1 hr) and occasionally getting an auntie to come by & do a thorough cleaning!

eijgnohz

Yah, the rail inside my shower cubicle is also showing signs of rust (at the 'nails' like points). Headache... we can all get the workers to change these for us during this one year period, but what is our long term solution? Can we can them to upgrade their materials and reinstall for us...?

Carol, I think the discoloration is due to soapy deposits getting into the tiles...bo bian one for the shower cubicle..
I am also curious why NTUC uses such materials that's so hard to maintain!

boheng

NTUC thought we very eng.. everytime after bath must keep our toilet marble floor dry dry, clean clean and free from soapy deposits.. hor ah eng..
kao_angry.gif

ahbeng

I had just explored the water filter and confirmly confirmed that the water filter thingy is really a water wasting device leh.

If you go underneath the basin, you can see that there is a tube connected from the filter to the drainage.

To see how it can waste water, just simply unscrew the cap connected to the drainage from the water filter.Press about a cup of water.Look at the tube connected to the drainage. And you can see a lot of water is being drain to a waste.

This is a si peh stupid design water filter leh!

I have then swithed of that water wasting device liao. What can we do now?

261609.gif

ahbeng

I had just explored the water filter and confirmly confirmed that the water filter thingy is really a water wasting device leh.

If you go underneath the basin, you can see that there is a tube connected from the filter to the drainage.

To see how it can waste water, just simply unscrew the cap connected to the drainage from the water filter.Press about a cup of water.Look at the tube connected to the drainage. And you can see a lot of water is being drain to a waste.

This is a si peh stupid design water filter leh!

I have then swithed of that water wasting device liao. What else can we do now?

ah_eng

boh eng,
precisely. I want to change nickname soon...hahhaha

Btw, I just received the approval letter from IRAS on the concessionary property tax rate. Something to note that IRAS is still taxing us on the 10% rate from TOP till the date we shifting in.

ryanwmk

does anyone else in parkgreen face this problem - damp area on living room's ceiling?

does anyone else face similiar problems? the mgmt told me the only way is to grout it or something like that but according to anther friend, the problem is waterproofing and only way to solve it is to undo the tiles above and redo the waterproofing....
if anyone has any solutions, please help.

ah_eng

wmk,
I dun hv this prob now. But used to have it in our prev flat. That time we asked HDB for advice. And they mentioned the same remedy ur fren had suggested.

bbmaru

WMK,
Your friend and Ah Eng is corrected. It's the waterproofing problem... So lousy, the problems are already showing within such a short time... stupid management pple told you stupid things... they just want to save money and make you busy for nothing

No matter what, you must make sure you pester they until they agree to redo the water proofing for you.

Ah Beng,
I agree with you that we have all being given a useless water filter... Water is already scare in Singapore and they are encouraging us to waste water (and money)!! Maybe we shall bring this up during the next management meeting to see what they have got to say about this. If they are reading this, they better give us a good reason by then.

merci_puku

I also had two water leaking ceiling problem. Initially, maincon only wanted to try grouting repeatedly which is definitely does not work as water can find other cevices.
Maincon only start to take action by dismantling part of the wall and ceiling to redo water proofing only after my husband highlighted to BCA to point out that water leak should not even happen if the CONQUAS 21 and QM which BCA advocated are with 100% waterpounding test inspection for each unit wet areas. This indicates all these QM or CONQUAS 21 standard are all advertising and marketing ploy which BCA disclaims all responsibilities.

Thank god we discover this before the unit above us move in else it will take a long time to fix the problem.

limay

Hmm..guess we are already resigned to accepting the place as it is...wont be too bothered with the nitty gritty...

On a more pleasant note, now that we have been in this forum for awhile now (and some of us still not met face to face)...what say we have a BBQ gathering for all Park Greeners to catch up..we for one, havent been to any of the residents gatherings that the mgt committee have organised..Maybe on a Sat evening a couple of weeks down the road?

limay

hehe...Alvin, was hoping u could be the organiser since u are so good at such stuff & know most of the people in the forum (and then some)
My suggestion is for the Saturdays of April 2nd or 9th? Is that sufficient time to book a BBQ pit & ample notice for everyone?

Maybe the PGers who are interested can leave their preferred date (2nd, 9th or later), thanks!

ahbeng

how can they provide us such a water wasting device leh? What can we do now leh? Don't tell me we all stay L L and do nothing meh? But if you complain or bang on their table, it can hardly get anything done also right. But what can we do?Hot leh ! Hot leh!

bbmaru

Hey Alvin,
Agree with Limay that you are the best person to organise since I think you are the only one with a list email addresses of most of the pple here

I did my part by calling to check on the availability of the pits on 2 or 9 Apr. Can forget about 2 Apr as ALL the pits are taken and only pits 3 and 4 (facing Punggol Park) are available on 9 Apr. If you guys are interested to have one the 9 Apr, then got to book fast hor...

Actually I might be on a biz trip that week (depending on my boss), but as long as I receive no confirmation to leave that week, I'm ok with 9 Apr

bbmaru

Hey Betty,
No, we didn't swim last Thu. I was not feeling too well (having initial symptoms of cold) so I didn't swim. Ah Eng has something on so she didn't swim as well. We will sure "jio" you if we are going for a swim

I dun think I will be swimming this Thu too as the air condition is really bad. My (sensitive)respiratory system is affected and immunity is low. Dun want to catch a cold after swimming so might be giving it a miss again this week. Think I will wait for the air condition to improve before going to the pool again

limay

Okie so tentatively we set it for Sat, 9th April?
Can the interested people leave their names here:

*****Park Greeners' BBQ*****
Sat, 9th April

1)Carol & hubby
2)Alvin, Fanta & Labelle
3)Betty & hubby
4)Li-May & Alex

Carol - once we have sufficient interest, do u think u can be a dear n book a pit for us? I am quite blur, havent booked one before (plus i lost my voice so cant pick up the phone & call!!) - we dont have to pay the $10 till later right?

telok

Hi Limay
The procedure is to bring resident card to Management office to book. Upon booking, have to pay by cheque of S$10.50 (non-refundable) and S$100.00 for deposit(refundable).

bbmaru

Talking about money, how are we going to organise this BBQ? If the response is overwhelming, I dun think a pit will be sufficient right? Then wat about the food? I dunno if pot luck will be a good idea cos to prepare something for a big group of pple can be a big headache... and who's going to prepare the chicken wings and BBQ stuff? Oh, headache leh... Or would you guys prefer to pay like $8-$10 per head (children FOC) then a few of us can use the money to buy the food needed for the BBQ... would that be a better idea?

limay

hmm...how about if we consider catering in the function room? Even if we have a group of people getting the food, marinating the chicken etc...skali no one wants to slave over the BBQ pit?
But of cos BBQ would be more exciting lah...
Maybe we confirm the attendees first n see if the crowd is manageable?

bbmaru

Does anyone know how much do the residents of The Rivervale pay for their maintenance fee? Does anyone know if the maintenance fees we paid annually are taken into account when determining the Annual Value?

alvin

Hi Carol & Limay,

Sorry for the late reply. I have already send a SMS to some of the neighbours & if they are interested, they will post in the forum. By the way, I can't use my unit to book the BBQ that month be'cos Royce (KA Ro) had use my name to book a BBQ pit on 9th April for his house warming.

ah_eng

Hi, I am not sure if I will be free on the 9th. Might need to go for 'tomb cleaning' with my inlaws. So I KIV first.

Thank you Alvin for the sms alert.

jjpg

Hi PGer,

Are you all aware that all Park Green households are paying the same maintenance fee of $252.00/month for each unit regardless of the size of the unit. Whether it is 3-Bedroom, 3 + study, 4-Bedroom and Penthouse!

Anyone has concern or issue on this ?

limay

Alvin,
How was the response to ur sms for the BBQ? If not sufficient interest then we just wait till another time loh....
Ah Eng, yah - just realised that Qing Ming is that week as well...

test - are u sure? I assumed that the maintenance corresponded to floor area..

eijgnohz

I think in a sense it is quite fair that everyone pays the same maintenance fee (just in case you think I stay in a penthouse, I dun..:p)

...The common corridor/ lobby area is the same for all, and everyone has the same right to use the pool/ gym/ function room/ BBQ pit. Everyone also only has only 1 carpark lot. So shouldn't everyone pay the same fee? not as if they the bigger units have more carpark lots or corridor area........?

jjpg

Limay,

Yes. 100% sure. Have checked with BCA and NTUC Choice Homes and this is confirmed! And 4 share value per unit cannot be changed unless all units agree.

EIG,

you may be right in certain sense. However, when it comes to refurnishing(Exterior Painting and cleaning) of Park Green 5 years time. Isnt Penthouse occupying bigger surface area ?

If you visit other EC or condo, they will tell you that maintenance fee is dependent on the size! But this is not true for PG.

arieson

By the way, anyone know if the maincon is going to paint the common area like the common corridor on each floor. Look untidy for many

jjpg

All,

Below is the respones for Choice Homes regarding the maintenance fee.

“The amount of contribution levied on the subsidiary proprietor depend on the share values of his or her unit. Hence a unit with a higher share value will contribute a higher levy.

The Commissioner of Buildings has certain guidelines pertaining to the computation of share values and such computation is done by a registered surveyor. A developer is not to sell any unit in his development unless a schedule of strata units showing the proposed share values has been filed and accepted by the Commissioner. The Commissioner will have to satisfy himself that the proposed share values are allocated in a just and equitable manner. In Park Green, the share value has been properly filed and accepted by the Commissioner and all units have the same number of share value, that is, 4 share value. Hence the contribution is all the same.”

bbmaru

EIG,
No doubt I will agree with you that it's fair in a way that everyone pays the same maintenance fee since those living in the penthouse are also entitled to the same facilities and number of carpark lot. But then why in the first place tell us that the maintenance fee is based on the area/size of your unit? What's that stupid formula they use to calculate the maintenance fee? Is that becos we have some big shots occupying the penthouse hence the same maintenance fee? I dun know?!

Test,
Where did you get the info from? You asked your penthouse neighbour?

bbmaru

Hey Test,
Now I see... you wrote to NTUC? I wonder how they derived the "same" share value??? But note, in NTUC's response, they did not mention anything about SIZE = SHARE VALUE... tricky!

jjpg

Carol,

No lah. Jus managed to find out my way. And have written to NTUC Choice Homes and had called up BCA and confirmed with them. All 391 units in Park Green are having 4 shares per unit. This share values cannot be changed even when MC is formed -- according to BCA staff.

Any changes in share value will need approval from all units in PG.

BCA guidelines during the time when Choice Homes submitted for share value application is for unit of size 101sqm to 200sqm is 4 share value.

fanta

Hey pple,
Long time no chat. We also just found out from the mgmt that they count from the very day key was collected for the maintenance fee. You guys aware? This is def not fair esp for those with a whole list of defects.