Park Green

Danielle

in a way, you are right. I believe Park green is slated for completion i.e. TOP in March 2005 (correct me somebody if i'm wrong), but that's the official date given. According to the agent who sold me the apt, TOP usually comes earlier. Imagine if the developers said TOP in Dec 2003, and only March 2004 you get the keys, i think everyone will kick up a fuss. so the idea here is to play it safe with the TOP date.

missylan: i'm still sticking to my budget store IKEA

longmarch: you buying 0311?

Welcome da nelle. I m getting married in October 2004 as well but hope the TOP could be earlier.

The roof is being built now and many of teh window frames are also beeing installed already. As for landscaping, roads, floorings internally
should not take up so much time.

Anyway wat mobe540 says always very accurate one.
So i believe it's less than 311 days to go.

Mobe540, say hello to ur beautiful girl for me, very cute.

Hi Mobe540
I thought of getting chinese furniture so may go to Macau or Zhuhai to get. As for IKEA stuff, I wil just get the stuff like acessories, lightings and cutlery on the 1st level.

longmarch, feeling rich? the car, now antique furniture, i;m envous.

but you are absolutely right abt me being accurate.

308 days to go!!!!!

Dear mobe540,

I had the most bizarre dream last night. I dreamt you were actually Chow Yun Fatt who's bought a flat at Park Green and simply can't wait to move in!

It's a far-fetched silly thing to dream, but thought I'd share it with you. If I psychoanalyse the dream I suppose it's a product of an overactive imagination coupled with a genuine excitement about moving in and setting up home for the first time in my life.

How many more days now?

eh, thanks Longmarch for the intro, but dont have to make me sound so handsome lah(i'm just as humble too, besides being good looking).

Danielle: the real question is - do you idolise CYF? if you do, then thanks for holding me in such high regard. If your answer is no, i dread to think of how this may affect me pychologically over the years, after i move into PG.

anyways, before i go...

299 DAYS TO GO!!!

Haha!!

you people kill me! It's funny because I didn't even know that you were male when I dreamt it. Do I idolise CYF? No, I've never idolised anyone in my life!

Maybe you mean if I think he's handsome. Haha.. well I think he's one of the few stars worth respecting and admiring because his marriage to that Singaporean lady, unlike so many others, is stable. A real good, faithful, loyal kind of a man he is - think my dream was also a result of talking about his marriage with some other friends of mine.

Now these are the qualities of a real man, eh, ladies?

What do y'all think?

=) P.S. mobe, your remark on being humble is so totally something my fiance will say about himself to me too! freaky.

haha maybe there could be this remote chance that I'm ACTUALLY your fiance?

hey folks, let's all not twiddle our thumbs and stare blankly at our screens...we should all be like Danielle (that's a really nice name you know)and go "HOW MANY MORE DAYS NOW?!!"

and what's the answer you might ask?

298 days and counting down!!!!

hey mobe540,

from the look of the construction at this moment.
(roofs are almost completed, internal works have started)

I reckon the count down should start at 180days.

180 days and counting down.

longmarch - serious? you mean all the blocks are up already? i thought work hasnt started yet on a few blocks.

so when you collecting the car? excited right. december, my comapny organising a self drive (something like a car rally) to KL, Penang and Malacca. i should be going. you interested? WT most prob will go, dunno abt F, MZ and the rest.I think it's quite cheap (accomodation and some meals).

Went to see the site last weekend. Almost all the blocks are working on the penthouses now, underground car park looks more or less completed and they are covering them up. Some of the aircons are already placed on the ledge and the showflat is also ready. HOWEVER, the showflat kitchen has a different orientation as what was shown in the floorplan!!!!

The agent said that the project is almost 90% sold, and expected TOP is still August 2004. They are offering discounts for the remaining units (about $20k less than what I bought for) and there are still a couple of units that are really quite good! So if you all have any friends and relatives who are interested in Park Green, now is the best time to grab it!

I understand that when there's a discount they wil take away the warbrobes fr om the other two rooms but 20K of saving good leh.
U can actually fix urself at a small fraction of 20K

TOP August 2004, I dun think so but will be earlier.
August TOP, then move in will be
'Good Brother month' already.

I believe it's June 2003 TOP

Huh? NO! There's a discount of 20k for all remaining units (actually 28k, but I already had a 8k discount when I bought my unit). There are wardrobes for ALL rooms, and cabinets for kitchen...

Even the showflat is for sale, with all furniture and fittings.. Ard 570+k, quite a good deal since its a 4 bedroom

I hope they will TOP earlier too, but looking at Bishan Loft, I think the date given by NTUC for their TOP is quite accurate. we shall wait and see.

Chinnie,
Alamak really hah... what is the colour of the wardrobe, scarly the material not good. Haahaa... Next time, must c and ask the agent before buying. My agent Dennis must have close my case easily. Heehee...

I think its light grey if I'm not wrong, cant really remember. Why not go to the showflat and take a look again? You can decide if the quality is good enough for you then

Anyone knows the property tax payable for an EC unit? My fren staying at Florida says that she is paying $1000+ per year.

Assessment
• Basis of Computation of Property Tax
The property tax payable per year is based on a percentage (tax rate) of the Annual Value of the property. The property tax rate is 4% for wholly owner-occupied residential properties and 10% for other properties.

• Annual Value
Annual Value is the estimated annual rent your property can fetch if it were rented out. Generally, IRAS will determine the Annual Value of your property by comparing rentals of similar properties in the vicinity of your property.
The Annual Value is determined in the same manner regardless of whether the property is let-out, wholly owner-occupied or vacant.

The Annual Value of the land is determined at 5% of the market value of the land. When a building is demolished, the land would have to be assessed by this method.

• Objection to Annual Value
A Valuation Notice will be sent to you when IRAS determines or adjusts the Annual Value of your property. If you do not agree with the proposed Annual Value, you may lodge an objection within 21 days of the service of the Valuation Notice.
From 1 Jan 2003, for any date after the service of the Valuation Notice, you may lodge your objection at any time of the year, as long as your objection is with respect to the Annual Value ascribed to your property in the current year.

• Appeal to the Decision of Objection
We do consider your grounds of objection carefully before we decide on your objection. However, you may appeal to the Valuation Review Board (VRB) if you wish to pursue your request for a lower Annual Value.

Please note that you need to appeal to the VRB within 21 days of the notice of decision on your objection and that a fee is chargeable. For each appeal, the VRB charges:
• $50 for a property paying owner-occupier's tax rate; and
• $200 for other properties.

In your appeal, you have to state the grounds of your appeal and whether you have an agent to represent you in the appeal.

• Assessment on New Properties
For all new properties, Property Tax begins on the effective date of the Temporary Occupation Permit (T.O.P.). If you take possession of the property at a later date, you have to settle with the developer/vendor directly for the tax payable from the date of T.O.P. to the date of possession of the property in accordance with the provisions in the Sale and Purchase Agreement.

i went to have a look at PG last weekend.
windows are coming up.
did not see club house starting.
most floors are up..... and running .? not sure

Hope it "gets up" soon.

B)

so what are some of the costs that we will incur after moving in, excluding living expenses and stuff like that.

1) property tax - $1000 per year
2) mortgage protection - any idea how much?
3) home insurance - any idea how much?
4) conservency charges - $250 per month
5) anything else?

mortgage and home insurance has to depends on your coverage, rite?
Others will include electricity & water bills....hmm..wat else?? *scratch head*

hello all, i just bought a 3+S unit, 142sqm, at block 2 facing inside. Wish i could have a better choice of units, but i just came back from a long overseas trip.
I paid around 550k for the unit. 13 floor.
Btw..if anyone is interested to have a spreadsheet of the exact amt u pay every month, plz do leave a msg here. Do u know that at the end of the day? The total amt of money u pay for ur unit inclusive of all interest payment amounds to roughly 150% of the nett purchase price? For me, by the time i complete all payment at the end of 30 yrs, i would have pay approximately 750k!!

well..what do u think? I am not sure about u, but it was an eye opener for me to know the amount of money bank earn from normal beings like us. 2ndly, i know i have to sell above that amount so as not to lose money in the future.

for 30years, at around 3% rate
interest payments >= 50% of nett purchase

thus if possible, once you can pay more per month,
to reduce the interest payments.
most of it are from cpf, thus you may not feel the pinch on ur on-hand cash, even if you do not increase montly paymts.

to Kenneth: I bought a unit at block 2 too, level 8.

cool blue: tat's cool. Wat unit? facing where? I am quite interested abt the ppl living in EC as this is my first time.

Kenneth,
I believe all the buyers of PG are first time owners =P btw...hv u received the mailing list??

Longmarch,
How to increase $20 to our first mthly instalment every year??

what's the interbank rates? i understand it's going up.

Stick with OCBC, UOB no problem.

But if refinancing is cheaper including the lawyer's fee, then it is better to refinance.

However looking at the rates we got, i think
stick with the current rates we have is better.

My two cents worth.

Ah Eng as for the ballon repayment, you have to work out whether incremental, ur lifestyle allows it.

Hi Mr/Mrs Ah eng, i received the mailing list already thanks. No emails so far from the group. Is there a separate forum?

Anyway wat is the rate of interest for the first 3 years for u guys? I am still waiting for OCBC 1 yr - 1.3, 2 yr - 2.5, 3 yr - 2.75. The reason i am waiting is for them to give me more discount as i am long time supporter of them! Keeping finger crossed of course!

I approached OUB, Citibank. OUB same rate as OCBC. Citibank rate higher, but include cash rebate which if u didn't do proper calculation, u might think it's cheaper. Well..my calculation says so anyway.

Wat does Ballon repayment means?

Anyone visit to construction? My current place is only 15 mins away so i can feel the excitement everytime i see it.