Park Green

bbmaru

Hey MissyLan,
Congrats!!! Is yours a baby girl or boy? How heavy is he/she? So now you are doing confinement already? You've moved in already? If so I want to see your baby one of these days!!! I love newborns!!

telok

Missylan
Congratulations! Is a boy or girl? What's the weight?

Carol, thanks for the info. Most of u are opposite me hor.....I must try using binoculars to look out for all of u. Kekeke

bbmaru

Betty,

No lah, I think I shld be the one who say that... Blk 8 (EIG and Ah Eng) is on the right side of your block... only me and MissyLan opp lah

Bino?!! Hee... think you will get to see colourful undies hanging in the balconies before you can locate our units with your binos!!

ah_eng

WAh....given birth??!!! Finally har...kekeke...So how its like to be a young mummy? (I remember tat u are a young gal). How I envy u ...only put on 4kg??!!! ...sHiok ....no need to diet oso can easily slim down. Now u at home doing confinement. If free, post some of ur baby pic and share with us

Oei Carol, dun come and fight over new borns with me ah...kekeke....i love newborns too...cos they sleep the most...hahahaa

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
Wei, you mother of 2 liao still want to fight with me over other pple's newborns... so bad one... MissyLan stay nearer to me leh... I can see her baby more often than you...hahaha

telok

Carol, Ah Eng
Dont fight.... Work harder and manufacture one yrself. Ah Eng shd aim for a girl since she has 2 boys. Hahaha

ah_eng

Betty,
I close factory liao...kekeke
I used to yearn very much for a girl. But now the crave is gone. So long as my kids are healthy, I now really dun mind if I have boys or girls. Heard too much sad stories about unhealthy babies. Really sympathise those parents. I am glad that I have my boys.

U have only a boy at home?

telok

Yes, only one boy. That's why he is my "precious stone" even though he is a big boy now. True, most important the kids are healthy. Especially for mothers, we cant eat and sleep well shd anything happens to them.
U still young, why close factory so early? Now that the govt is encouraging young couples to have more babies (baby bonus), consider reopening yr factory.....

bbmaru

Ah Eng,

Hee... Betty's son is no longer a "boy" liao lah... Her son is already a promising young MAN...

Betty,

Ah Eng's factory's closed liao, mine is not ready for production yet

ah_eng

Betty,
I not young anymore....kekeke
Govt bonus not attractive enuff lah...heehee.
Factory closed hor..but sometimes machine not well protected, accidents might happen too...hahaaa!!!

ya ya ...one promising MAN!!

Carol

Fanta,
long time din hear from u. I just realised during my housewarming party...that u and me got a common fren

telok

Carol
Since u like newborns so much, u shd plan for production.

Ah Eng
Agree, accidents may happen, it may give u what u want.

Baby son, weighing 2.9kg is born 2 weeks earlier, think its becos of this mama went shopping too much(cos of new house lor), my hubby dunno anything one. I am in the year of Monkey, so is my monkey son.

ah eng, mine is really a monkey son! Haahaa...

CONFINEMENT!!! I hate that! Presently, confinement lady takes care of baby. The food... yucks... so boring. GINGER, WINE, GINGER, WINE, GINGER, WINE.... Arrgh
I shall upload baby's pic when my absent-minded hubby rmb to bring back my digital camera wire which I placed in office. I have not move into ParkGreen. Will be moving this Sunday cos my MIL needs to cook for praying and dinner, she wants baby to move to new house. I confinement so think CNY no one will want to come my house cos "Pang Tang"... somemore is CNY...

Yup, accidents might happen unless machine totally seized manufacturing(how can?!?)... kekeke...

bbmaru

MissyLan,
I guess you are not breast-feeding your baby right?

You better be a good girl and obey the rules of confinement cos that's the most crucial time in your entire life to correct anything that's affecting your health... if you dun take care, your health will suffer when you get older... As the saying goes "jiang shi lao de la"

telok

Missylan
Yes Carol is right. Must be a good girl and obey the rules of confinement. Dont be stubborn, if not u will suffer when u get older. If u are breastfeeding, u shd not be taking ginger. Ginger is good for mother but the baby will get jaundice.

Carol
U are very experience in motherhood hor....like pple with few kids oredi leh...

bbmaru

To add on to Betty's words, if breastfeeding shouldn't take wine also cos not good for baby. Baby's liver will be harmed if take wine, cos you pass the alcohol to the baby thru your milk... and baby's liver is not fully developed at birth (hence they get jaundice very easily), so you must be very careful when taking things with yellow or orange pigment stuffs... baby's liver cannot break down beta-carotene well...

Betty,
Hee... I am actually qualified to be a confinement lady if I were to switch occupation...
. I got babysitting experience (from newborns to toddlers) leh...

MissyLan should have looked for me since we live so near to one anor

ah_eng

hmm..ahh...if use wine to cook with food, then its okie lah..cos the alcohol content will be fully evaporated liao.

Missylan,
confinement can shift house??!!!
I oso dislike confinement food. I din get a confinement maid. My mum will just cook the dishes I like with minimum ginger and wine

Betty,
do u know tat Carol is a Miss Know-all. U ask her anything...she seems to know the answer to all ..kekeke

telok

Carol, u will be a very highly paid confinement lady. Where u get yr babysitting experience? Looking after yr nephews and neices?

eijgnohz

Carol,
Too bad I am not going to have my baby in Singapore, otherwise, I will definitely get you to be my confinement lady! Definitely better than having MIL to take care of me during confinement because I can at least throw tantrums at you..
hee...

Yah, Missylan,
Best if you stay in bed and recuperate. Many of my female colleagues rushed around during their confinement, and now they have aching backs and this problem and that problem... not good for the body..

Thanx for the advices. I am feeding him formula and breastmilk cos now machine not supplying enough milk. I am taking light ginger... not lots of ginger. My baby went "suntan" for juandice when he is 3 days old. Suntan for 1½ day. Now alright liao. As for wine, I get my confinement lady to brew tonic with the wine. I dun allow her to pour in wine after cooking. I did some reading, not good for baby's brain development. I drink wine after I express my milk the last round then zzz till next morning liao. Now the milk supply seems quite low, will not be dripping like what my mom describe. Now is eat and sleep... Boring... My MIL was worried about me when I am moving to ParkGreen... She always say I beri young.
246493.png

bbmaru

Hahaha... MissyLan, you are indeed very young mah... an alternative to taking ginger is to extract the juice and mix with hot water to bath (thou you smell a bit of ginger...walking ginger!!). This is to expel gas and wind from your body... can prevent rheumatism in future.

If you are not producing enough brest milk, get your confinement lady to make more fish soup... get good fish like "gor her" (dunno the english name). If sick of soup, can also drink the green papaya soup. All these help to increase milk flow... sometimes milk pump will also help stimulate milk... Give them a try lor...

And also, like what Ah Eng said, must rest and recuperate, though some light exercise at home is good. But dun get in contact with water too often, will easily get rheumatism... hence those old wives will tell you not to bathe too often or wash hair during confinement

Ah Eng,
I where got know all... a bit here and a bit there lah

Betty,
I help took care of many of my cousins since they were born when I was young... so my experience was accumulated since then... and I like to read on pregnancy and child care stuff, so learn a bit here and there lor :p

I also got a way to lull babies to sleep leh

telok

Wow Carol, u are fantastic! Must meet up with u asap.. kekeke...
Missylan, if u hv problem lulling yr baby to sleep, get Carol to help, hehehe

ah_eng

Papaya?? I dunno issit because I took papaya during confinement, now my skin very allergic (as per wat my mum claims to be so). I have many mummies friends who take fenugreek (supplement) to boost the milk supply as well

Talking about breastfeeding, I am not an expert cos I am not successful

Carol,
I oso know how to lull babies to sleep (shake them...haahaaa)

Missylan,
is ur baby boy different blood group as urs? As per my boys PD, this will lead to jaundice too.

bbmaru

Betty,
Dun ah!! You suggest that to MissyLan...she will really come knock at my door in the middle of the night if her baby cannot sleep!!

betty,
Yr idea not bad... CAROL.... yr unit number!?!

I took green papaya with fish and pork rib...

Dunno she boil what bathing water for me, brown in colour 1

fanta

Yo! Ah eng, I'm still around....abit too busy to chat nowadays....hee. Can I know which friend of mine so honoured to have known you & myself hah?

Missylan, congrats! You must open house during yr son's full month for all your neighbours to view hor.

Limay, every morning oso see you & Alex on the way to work....

telok

Hello Missylan
U really serious ha? Carol will come after me leh....Hahaha
She boils herbs for u to bathe. Is suppose to be good. No rheumatism

ah_eng

Missylan,
PM me..i tell u carol unit number

Fanta,
She is your TP classmate! She said she recognises me in one of the photos u shown her (photos of PG). Hmm.. and I was wondering how come I am in your pics??!!

Hmm..I leave for work at 7.15am....seems tat everybody still at home preparing to go to work...so envy :p

bbmaru

I have just received an email from my colleague about helping this ah pek selling towels in Chinatown. Please spend a min or two to read and let us all do some good deeds (by helping to buy towels from him) as a good start to the new year. Your kindness will be reciprocated

Quote from email :

"Thinking of buying new toiletries such as towels for the coming Chinese New Year???

Remember the circulated email about this old ah pek, selling towels @ Chinatown Complex (the big market at Pagoda street...where currently all the
Chinese new year stalls are situated)....hence while shopping for Chinese New Year goods, why not just drop by his stall...

* For those who have no idea....in short...this ah pek appeared in one of the Channel U TV program, featuring him & his 2 retarded daughters...apparently, selling towels has been his livelihood & has been providing for his 2 grown up daughters...Besides household chores, he has to wash his daughter's clothes & bedsheets as they are not agile enough to go to the toilet......he was offered the government financial grant where he is entitled to claim $240 per month but was rejected by him...reason being that he feels that he is still capable of supporting himself & was fortunate to have his own small stall.... hence, he wanted the $$ to be channelled to other people who might need this $$
more than him.*

That program was about 2-3 years back. The last time i visited him, he was wearing a very old T-shirt, greeting me with smile when i approached
him to buy towels. But on 18 Jan 2005 when i went to the stall, he was seen sitting on a wheelchair, looking sickly & senile....his hand seems to be swollen & unable to move....(looks like stroke) an uncle who is helping him to mann the stall commented that the ah pek is not in good
health & he is just helping him...despite of his health, he still insisted to be at his stall everyday. Though he is unable to serve the customers, he will still sit on his wheelchair & be by his stall...

I would like to take this opportunity to urge
everyone of you...esp on this joyous occasion where happiness & joy is filled along the streets of pagoda, DO look out for this ah pek who is at this small, un-noticed corner at the Chinatown Complex....I went there at ard 8pm & he is still there....his stall unit number is #01-186 (if you forgot, just ask around the other stall holders abt this ah pek with 2 retarded daughters..)

Help him out by buying his towels......Even though it is just a $1 hand-towel.....and trust me, you will not feel that it is a waste of time, going all the way to his stall just to buy towels..... you never know, be it $1 or $10 (for 3 big towels).........a small charitible act would
definitely help to boost this old pek's wish to maintain this stall & ability to support himself till the end of his time...

Please circulated this email around.....as i know alot of people would surely make the trip down to Chinatown to enjoy the ambience of lunar new year...Do drop by.... you never know YOU will just make a difference to his small earnings for that day.............* May you be blessed with love Joy Peace in the coming lunar new year* ..........

Many Many Thanks to You."

End of quote

I really hope that there will be kind souls in PG who will make a trip down to buy some things for him... I'm sure all you pple will need new bath towels or other miscellaneous towels for spring cleaning... please do buy something from him. A dollar to us is nothing but makes a BIG difference to him... if there are pple who really wish to help but couldn't make a trip down, you guys can "tongbang" me to buy (thou I dunno exactly the cost for different types of towels). In such case, I will just collect $10 and buy whatever that $10 allows.

Do let me know if you are interested to help...and sorry for the super long post

bbmaru

MissyLan,
Ya, I suppose that brown water is herbs... so you can be assured that your confinement lady is also a very good one

Ah Eng,
You want to "hai" me...if MissyLan come and look for me with her baby, I will bring him to your place

bbmaru

Hi Alvin,

Thank you for your kindness

Will sms you once I reach home, or I will pass by your flr to pick up the money. Think most likely I will make a trip down to Chinatown over the weekend

ah_eng

Fanta,
I dun know that u had ur housewarming last weekend

Anyway, do you hv a collg by the name of Shujuan? And she is also her TP classmate.

fanta

Ah eng,
I really blur queen. It was at yr house warming party that you got to know rite? But I never show your pic to anyone leh....scratch head....btw, who is she??

fanta

Ah eng,
Had a couple of housewarming, house very warm liao. Shujuan? She got to know you at the childcare centre?

limay

Hey Alvin/fanta, we have yet to come see ur place leh...
Alvin, need to ask you about home loan refinancing as well...

ah_eng

Fanta,
Shujuan and Linda are ur TP classmates rite? SJ is my sec sch junior and L is my sec classmate. It was at my housewarming party that L told me that SJ mentioned to her tat she(SJ) saw me in one of the pics u show her of PG. And I was wondering how come I am in the pic
Dun worry about the pic thingy. Just surprise that we a common friend

*Still blur??...kekeke*

Limay,
saw ur unit from the pool. Very cosy feeling! Esp like the two pots hanging from the ceiling

*Did I get the rite unit?*

PGers,
did u all refinance ur home loan? I did mine at last year end.

alvin

Hi Carol,

Thanks for your help. Maybe will sms u today to pass you the money.

Hi Limay,

U can called up your banker to check on the convertion rate. I have already convert & for the next 3 years I can save a few thousands dollar on the interest.

ah_eng

Alvin,
how much did u pay for the admin fee?
Wat is the interest rate for the loan u taken up? btw..with which bank?

bbmaru

Ah Eng/Alvin,
I oso want to know more about refinancing... Dun feel like letting OCBC earn my money... cos their interests/benefits are no competitive..

Fanta,
My house ok only lah, where got very beautiful...simple and with minimal maintenance is the theme of my house

Sure can see, but I have a counter at my entrance to collect entrance fee

I usu come home around 9+, close to 10pm, and usu dog-tired by then...so weekdays might not be ideal... if you want, maybe can come on Sat night? I will be out from morning but should be back by then... Hee, Betty also waiting to come when she's available

fanta

Ah eng,
No wonder this Shujuan kept insisting I check with Linda! I oso recalled how come she saw yr pic. SJ said she knew someone fm PG at a childcare ctr at Bedok South. This lady happened to have 2 boys, so I thot it might be you, showed her yr pic but it wasn't. But she concluded that you look very pretty
Then SJ diamdiam, never mention that she knows you, till one moment ago, she's still denying!

Limay,
Can come to my house tonite. Do sms us 1st

limay

Fanta, tonite not good, cos we wont be back till after dinner, and by then ur daughter would be zzzing...
How about we pop by tomorrow night? Carol, i also want to kpo, but not this Sat, my sister's wedding!
Alvin - the conversion with no penalty starts from 2 yrs after the 1st disbursement ya? (not the date we signed with the bank).

fanta

Carol,
Want to know how to save a few thousand dollars thru conversion? Then must open your house to us liao.....hee. We'll try to drop by on Sat, see you

ah_eng

Fanta,

Hee....Dunno whether to say if SJ knows me...cos I happen to be one yr her senior in Sec school (and tat time we always took the same bus to school as well). And it so happens that she is also L's TP classmate. And L is one of my best fren. So can say tat SJ knows me or dunno??

No wonder when I first saw u I tot tat u look familiar. Ur pretty face must be in my memory bank when I saw L's TP pics last time...heehee

Carol,
my loan with UOB. Paid $500 admin fee for refinancing. If u interested, can introduce the AMK branch manager to u (he is my hubb's fren).
Now I can only remember tat my loan is a floating package. Now first yr 1% and 2nd yr 2%

fanta

Limay, my daughter is a night owl, usually still up at 12 midnite. Sms us tonite if you aren't tired. Both tmrw & friday nites, we hv sthg on.

bbmaru

Fanta,
Hee... dun need lah, can come without obligation... if I really want to know about refinancing, I cld ring up my OCBC loan manager to check...

So Sat's on for you... Limay, maybe Sun or Mon evening? If not, then got to wait until after CNY cos I will be busy on CNY eve...