Park Green

vela

Hi Carol,

ya main door gap is quite big, I also scare ants and lizard will crawl in, where u get your door brush? is it a portable pc or must fix it permanetly?

bbmaru

Sharing my 2 cents worth thought on the showerhead... I works fine for me but dunno whether it will be so for all...anyway, what I did was this..

Not sure if you all notice this, but we dun have to wait for the water heater to heat up the water cos it's an instant combustion... all you have to to is to turn on the water heater, then turn on your shower mixer to the extreme left (for maximum hot water) and you get hot water very soon. Once you feel the hot water, you then turn your shower mixer to the temp you require. I got my hot water in seconds when I do that, and my temp is only at 38 degree (which is the minimum temp according to Corolla).

And to get constant supply of hot water, you got to leave your tap on... maybe get a pail to contan the water while you soap so you dun waste water this way...

Maybe you all can try tonight and see how...

corolla

Thanks Carol, no wonder i cant get a constant supply of hot water coz i didnt leave my tap on as i find it's such a waste of water

bbmaru

Hi Velva,
Are you from PG too?

I bought mine from NTUC, they cost about $9+. There's anor hardware shop on the 2nd flr of Rivervale Plaza selling all kinds of household products sells the door brush too. They are a few varieties, one of which cost $9.50.

I thing I noticed about the door brush is the adhesiveness of the tape that came with the brush. It's not that adhesive afterall cos it become loose a few times and I got to stick it back... not sure if I didn't clean the door well enough to get rid of the dust before I stuck it onto the door... but so far it still serves its purpose...cos that little lizard couldn't get into out unit
But for small ants, maybe the brush might not be that effective cos they are too small to block...

bbmaru

Corolla,
I didn't leave the tap on too... cos maybe I didn't take too long to turn it on again... but then again, I think what I did everytime I turnon the tap was to turn the mixer slightly to the left for more hot water to flow out then turn it back to the optimum temp I want after I feel the hot water... for me, I sometimes find the water too hot for comfort

corolla

ya, i couldnt set the temperature below 38. maybe we are too used to electric water heater rather than gas water heater.

telok

Hi Carol, Coralla
I set it at 55 and do not need to keep the tap running. I turn to the extreme left as what Carol has mentioned, when it is hot, I set it in the centre or slightly more to the right. U will get temp just right. To set it to 55 was taught by a friend who is also using the same gas heater. Initially she has problem operating it and she got the technician to come down. This temperature setting is taught by the gas heater technician. U may try it out.

BTW, are all of u attending the residents' gathering this Sat. I may not be able to make it.

bbmaru

Hi Betty,
Thanks for your advice. Hmm... will turning on the temp to max translate into higher gas bill, i.e. same analogy like the aircon? Cos for aircon, the lower the temp, the higher the power consumption = higher PUB bill. Does it mean that the heater will heat up the water at max so that you get hot water at shorter time? *scratch head* Hmmm...maybe should call up one of the Paloma technicians to check on that...

Oh ya, I shld be going for the "wu lin da hui"

ah_eng

Carol,
my sis used tat cos her son skin very sensitive. One mosquito bite on the leg..will become very swollen. Since he is only 1 yr old, she doesnt want to use aromatheraphy on him. And dunno why all the mosquitoes in her inlaws house like to bite her son only :p

telok

Hi Carol
I didn't think of the PUB bill. Will check it out when I receive the next bill.

Enjoy yr "wu lin da hui" and keep us posted

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
Is her son's blood Type A? Cos I think mosquitoes love Type A blood. My hubby always ganna more mosquito bites than me

kenneth

Another can share the quotation and details of ur curtains? i.e. How many bed rooms, type of material for curtains, type of curtain design (roller, day/night, roman etc)..
I stay in 4 bedrooms and want to know how much it will cost to do up the whole house.

kyosho1

Hi Beauty (felicia_ang)

Can you please gimme the number to your part-time maid. Thanks.

To all,
There were mosquito fogging done on a frequent basis for the last 1 month at PG. I hope they continue with that. Dengue is scary

bbmaru

Nutty,
I think the range can be from as low as $1400 to $1800 or more, depending on the type of materials you choose, and whether you want day curtains on top of the usual night curtains. I think the type of curtains play a part in the diff in cost as well.

Mine is a 3+1 and I spent close to $1700 for the whole house. I have day and night curtains for my living and MBR. I have organza for day curtains and some 30% silk type of material for most of my rooms. Hope that helps.

eijgnohz

Hi nutty,

We have the same configuration as you for our home and we spent $1900 for our curtains.

For curtains, we have:
- roman blinds for 2 bedrooms (with the bay windows)
- curtains for the MBR, living room, and the bedroom with full length window
- day curtains for MBR and living room

Curtains are silk like materials from Belgium, and day curtains are those standard types (cost just $170 for both living and MBR). Like what carol mentioned, cost depends largely on the types of materials you choose. Roman blinds are also more costly than roller or curtains due to the mechanism.

limay

Hi nutty - we spent a grand total of circa $600 for our curtains! Only tailor-made the lounge, got the rest (off the shelves or sewn) from IKEA & hubby installed the rods.We have day & night curtains for the lounge, MBR & 1 bedroom, and wooden blinds for the other bedroom & living. hehe...cheap alternative

eijgnohz

Hi Missylan,

No lah, not necessary. Like what Carol mentioned, price is totally dependent on type of curtains, and materials used. Since you have ordered and installed them, then dun think about whether you have been chopped or not...impt thing is you like them.

corolla

Hi Betty, i have set the gas water heater temperature at 55 degree and the water got heated fast and quite constant. thanks!

bbmaru

MissyLan,
You got to compare apples to apples (i.e. material alike) then you can tell whether ganna chop or not. But like what EIG said, pay already then dun think abt it..unless you have not paid in full, then tell the curtain maker that he charged you very high cos all your neighbours got theirs in less than $2K,then see if he can lower his price a bit...

limay

Yalah Missylan, our curtains is so cheap only cos we DIY alot, got the metal rods for IKEA & hubby/ID fixed them on
Just didnt want to pay so much, later have to get a 2nd set when we take them down to wash somemore!

bbmaru

Betty, Corolla & Felicia,

Are we having diff water heaters here??!!
. Tonight I will go try and see what's the min and max temp my heater can allow...

Anyone knows what's the purpose of having the timer? You set the time and it doesn't switch off by itself... then why bother to have that silly timer?

telok

Carol, I never bother to use the timer. I suppose we are all having the same water heater. Actually, need not use timer. After finish, just off it, need to use, on it again lor......Thats what I am doing. It heats up very fast.

bbmaru

Maybe tonight I'm going to read the manual ONCE AGAIN... now scratching head as to why diff pple got diff experience using the same kind of heater...

Betty,
I'm the type who's concerned about high PUB bills... so I'm most concerned when it comes to things like air con and heater as they consume the most energy. Dunno if the bill will be higher if I forgot to switch off the heater after I've bathed and realised only the next monring??! Cannot, tonight must do some reading

telok

Carol
I was told the consumption of gas is very low. Even if u hv forgotten to switch it off, there is a cut-off time automatically. Previously, I used to on my electric water heater 365 days at my 4-rm HDB flat. My mthly bill comes up to abt $130. My maid cooks, mop, wash everyday. Is it consider high? But here, I'm also afraid of high PUB bills, therefore I did not on it all the time. I do remember to switch it off cos I will always check.

bbmaru

Betty,
Hee, you're also like me, scare of high bills... Actually $130 for a household of 4-5 is not at all high, esp if you did switch on aircon on some days. My old PUB bill came up to as much as $160 in those very hot mths when we would turn on the aircon at night before we sleep.

I hope my bill will not not exceed $80 every mth now...

ah eng,
No leh, wanting to do roller blind but was not adviced cos my supplier said cos our windows are full length and quite wide apart. As I like darkness for bedrooms. So she said roller blinds will have gap in btw, gaps around 1".

telok

Yes, when I just shifted into my 4-rm flat, my PUB was $180 and more. I almost die of heart attack. That's the time when I on my aircon everynight. I even get the PUB pple to come down to check my meter. He told me that I hv computer, tvs, video, electric water pot, etc, etc........Immediately, I stop using aircon and use fan instead. I also bought a device that helps to reduce the electricity. After cutting down my aircon usage and with the help of the device (dont know whether it really helps or not).

Now, I am more cautious in my new house. Anyway, I dont need to on aircon as it is very windy.

bbmaru

Hey Betty,
One of these days you must show me the device if got the chance. Maybe you can come visit me or I go visit you

Ya, agree it's really windy in PG over the past 2 weeks...but noticed that the winds are not as strong this week... can only feel the wind if I open my windows really wide. Otherwise, not much winds liao leh...

bbmaru

Hey Betty,
Are you registered in the forum specially for PGers? If so, can PM me at that PG forum your address and I give you mine? My username is bbmaru there

bbmaru

Hey Betty,
Here's the forum URL http://forum.parkgreen.info/index.php?

Registration is easy. But if you want to chat in topics only meant for PG owners, then you got to PM Teak (our kind web administrator for that site)some info before Teak convert your user status to PG owners. Then go browse around and maybe can also chat with other PG owners

bbmaru

Not sure if anyone noticed this last night. I came home around 9pm last night and saw a group of guys playing tennis. They looked like they are enjoying their ball game cos laughter can be heard once in a while.

2 hrs later at , they are still at their game... like a bunch of Duracell Bunnies....still full of energy...
I really kowtow to them..

But one question, can we play till that late? Cos it was almost 11.30pm when they left the court...I thought the court's lights are usually off after 10 or 10.30pm..?

telok

Ya, I saw pple playing tennis but didnt know that they ends so late. Fm my understanding, is upto 10pm. The switches of the lights are inside the court (need to self service). U can actually inform the security to stop these inconsiderate pple.

Hi Carol, I hv registered in the PG forum. U take a look. I hv sent u a message (testing)to make sure that I can PM before giving u my address. Cheers!

bbmaru

Betty,

Hee, I saw your message and reply liao

No lah, I didn't inform the security cos that's the first time I encounter these Duracell Bunnies. Moreover, I wasn't sleeping at that time yet so not that bad. If I didn't hear wrongly, I think they did "shhh" one anor when they got too loud.. so they are not totally inconsiderate... maybe they just want to play a little longer since it's that last slot. Anyway, they look like a funny bunch

But if they get too rowdy and plays till that late every night, then maybe more residents (including me) will be put off by the noises.

limay

Hey Carol,
Yah, we were swimming at about 9pm & heard these guys as well
First time using the pool, & it was totally empty...quite romantic at night!

ahbeng

wah lau eh! Just recieved my first time PUB bill and it was $158 leh!

I dont understand why is there a deposit of $150 leh , will someone kindly explain what the $150 is for? Thank you very much.
245132.gif

bbmaru

Ah Beng,
The $150 deposit acts as a security cos PUB scare in case you run off without paying...

So in fact your bill is only $8. Everyone here in PG (as in staying in condo) pays $150 for the deposit. No choice lor...

ahbeng

But any idea how or when then will we get back our deposit of $150? We will be lossing the interest that we could have earn if we put it in the bank.