Park Green

corolla

Hi neighbours, yesterday evening, when i saw the notice again, the venue for our 1st PG gathering on 29 Jan has been changed to the basement carpark near Blk 8. I dont think this is an AGM but just a gathering/feedback session with the managing agent.

alvin

HI Jay,

Welcome!!!

Bought your 20" LCD already? (From MS or HL)

ah_eng

Welcome here JAY!I think u are in the park green forum rite?

Missylan, I am not really good at FS...but i think opening the main door and see the reflection of another door is no good??!! Eg mirror at the dining area cos it seems tat ur food doubled.
extracted from FS web - "To keep prosperity from flowing out of the house, the main entrance shouldn't be aligned with any secondary entrances or large windows" ... so if u have a mirror, the reflection will become another 'entrance' aligned with ur main entrance??!!
Its just my 2 cents worth...mayb the others can gv better advice :p

limay

Hey Jay - welcome!!
Which block are u at? Have u shifted in yet?

Guess they were wondering how to fit at least 100 people into the conference room...the car park is kind of a weird place to have a 'get to know your neighbours' & feedback session thou..then again, no airconditioning + no seats = people wont linger for so long = less complains! hehe

ahbeng

May I know what is the time and venue for the meeting. I would like to join in to bang table because I have got a lot of things to complain.
243109.gif

corolla

Hi Ahbeng,

1st PG gathering (organised by managing agent)
Date: Sat, 29 Jan 2004
Time: 1.30 pm
Venue: Basement carpark (next to Blk 8)

c u there!

timeflies

haaa Ah Beng and missylian (oops sorry) missylan,

Funny picts. Too bad i will not be around. Bang for me too ya...
hmm 29th, does that mean the main con is pulling out already? If they pull out then looking for them, will it be even more difficult?
Oh no......

timeflies

haaa Ah Beng and missylian (oops sorry) missylan,

Funny picts. Too bad i will not be around. Bang for me too ya...
hmm 29th, does that mean the main con is pulling out already? If they pull out then looking for them, will it be even more difficult?
Oh no......

jay_ong

hi ah_eng. alvin & bigtoes, i am from blk 6 started to stay by myself since sunday. not bad, and have not decided to get the LCD yet. there is just so many things to buy with so little time & money.

arieson

Limay,

Agree with you on the wierd location. I am wondering whether we do have such a big place for the gathering if all the residents drive their cars down. Air also not very good.

Aries,
Welcome sign!?! Ai yoh, cannot lah... Wait lots of ppl come and I have to tidy like siao. Maybe "beware of crazy dog" sign... lol

janett

will be there. anybody raising the issue of shuttle bus to hougang or kovan?..i am kinda lousy at public speaking, need some support..

bricriu

G'day fellow PGers,

Has anybody employed a part time maid? I am looking for 1 to come in once a week... Any lobangs? Cheers

dracwy

jay,
are u the jay who is on 13th floor? the one using sam as ID? u came down to our place that day, remember? 8th floor.

kenj1

Hi Neighbours,

Me just shifted in to Park Green recently. Any good lobang for storeroom racks? Please let me know. Thank you.

jay_ong

hi dracwy and kenj1,

i am the one who went to yr place..like my wife said, yr place is splendid...

and for storeroom rack, i feel that the one ikea have is gd, strong and the best thing is price is reasonable. i am not sure abt how those metal racks are thru times, but for ikea, the self satisfaction is there when you managed to build something out of nothing....for me i might get one.

kenj1

Hi Jay,

Thanks for the info. How about those contractor that make the racks? Any good recommendation?

Btw, any of you have the problem with red ants in your unit? There seemed to be quite a few crawling around most corners of the rooms. Have anyone make a complaint on this?

limay

Hey Jay,
Thanks for the compliments! Btw, we went to ur neighbour's (Adrian's) place after visitng yours too...everyone seems friendly enough! So how did you know our bridal was Precious Moments? Guess they are ok, but could be better.

Kenj1 - we initially intended to get the racks from Ikea, but settled for one which advertised in the newspapers cos it was cheaper & they claimed that the load/shelf = 100kg, whereas Ikea's was 60kg. Seemed stable enough when I climbed on; then again, I dont think I am 100kg
Go to www.promptoffice.biz - we got 2 of their steel shelving. They deliver, but you have to DIY, be forewarned - quite abit of work thou!!
As for ants, we saw some when we just shifted in, but they seemed to have disappeared

felicia_ang

Hi sweetiepea,

I use to get a part-time maid, she charging $10 per hr. If you want I can pass u the contact no. Maybe u drop me yr email address so that I can pass u off-line.

bbmaru

I remembered that day I went to someone's house and I saw some red ants... and I told that person to quickly put those ants/cockroach powder to get rid of them before the army of ants starts building nests all over the house and gets out of control...then it will be very difficult to get rid of them... ah eng, were you the one?

Usually it takes no more than 2 days for you see get rid of those ants after you sprinkle the ant powder along the ants' trails. Btw, I notice that there are already lizards in PG compound looking for "permanent residence". You can deter them from crawling thru the main door sill into your house by putting the door brush...

limay

Hey Poox, cant remember exactly, think it was $200+ for the 2 shelves (different sizes). The prices are in the website.

telok

Hi PG Residents

Beware of dengue fever! My son has just got dengue fever. We hv shifted in slightly more than a month. Those who hv potted plants, make sure that there are no still water around. I hv informed the Management to look into this matter.

ah_eng

Carol,
ya was me ...hehehe....my mum gave me the ants powder when she visited me...kekeke
L*****d??!!! U just mentioned tat word!!! yucks! shit! shucks!

Betty,
oh dear! hope he is better! I did not have any plants too cos my hubb knew tat we will be too busy to take care of the plants.

bbmaru

Ah Eng,
My hubby caught one small disgusting black LIZARD outside our house...and that's the end of it. Usually I will not spare a single lizard whenever I see it... I just cannot tolerate LIZARDS!!

DENGUE FEVER?!! Gosh! That's bad! Only a few mths after PG TOPed and now we already have mosquitoes breeding in our compounds?? Could it be from the bare patch of land beside PG? The management better do a thorough inspection/investigation... this is no laughing matter...

Betty,
Luckily you spotted the symptoms early...otherwise it's beyond imagination... Hope your son is ok now...

For those with potted plants at home, pls be considerate and do check and get rid of stagnant water in your house...

telok

Hi Ah Eng, Carol
Thks for yr concern. My son is now recovering but his palete is still low, only 55 yesterday as compared to 150 for a normal person. He has discharged fm hospital and is now resting at home.

Coralla
I'm staying at Blk 2.

On Sat, I saw an ambulance in PG compound, dont know what happened to the guy, hope is not another case of dengue.

limay

Hi Betty - I hope he recovers fast!
Didnt think there would be mossies breeding so fast, with most of the units still unoccupied. The mgt committee is also fogging the place every month...Yah, maybe they are from the empty plot of land...

We saw the ambulance too, think it was a she, and that she was swimming & got into some difficulty? Cramps or something? Was at the pool area...Hope it was nothing serious too

bbmaru

Hey Betty,
Blk 2? Tat's farthest away from the bare land... think the management really got to spring into action to find out what and where went wrong... Do keep a close watch on your son's recovery. Hope he's coping fine

Just told my hubby about the dengue incident.. scary. To think that he was still saying that he spotted mosquitoes on a few occasions... hope they are not Andes

ah_eng

Hmm...might be from the park?!
my unit facing the plot of land..but i dun see a mosquito *touch wood* ...anyway ..this is definitely a serious matter!

Betty,
ur son's case sounds quite worrying. I really can understand how u feel now. Cos my boy was hospitalised once for pneumonia case. Very heart-breaking. Meanwhile, do take good care of urself and of course ur boy. Btw, my sis just got one 'mosquito killer' from taka. Dunno wat that thing its called. But its like those light which can attracts flies..then when they flew near, they get shocked by the light and die. It cost less than $20.

telok

Ah Eng
Thanks, I bought mosquito repellers, mosquito mats from NTUC (hopes is not too late).

I hv seen some mosquitos at my unit but I dont know where my son got sting. He has gone to Punggol and at sites (He is oredi working). It seems there are outbreaks of dengue fever in Malaysia. He did not go out of Spore. In the hospital, I noticed there are quite a few cases of dengue fever in a day (scary)

For precaution, I post it in this forum in order for all of us to be careful as he could hv got sting at PG. Better be safe than sorry....

corolla

Btw, did anyone find the water heater very user unfriendly? i have to turn the tap on for 2 to 3 mins before the water is hot and thereafter, the water is either real hot or cold. difficult to get the right temperature. i have set the temperature at 38 which is the minimum.

ah_eng

Betty,
It's better late than never. Thanks for the alert! Cos I have an ex-collg who died from dengue fever!! Ur thot will be greatly appreciated by us ...esp those with young kids and older parents.

limay

Yes Corolla, the water heater is not the most effective! Was also wondering how come it takes so long (& wastes so much water) before it gets the to right temperature (& that is after we leave the heater on for at least 10 min before using). Of cos, the shower head is also the worst - falls off after a few uses...saw the shower head in the shop that day, about $15. Not that cheap, but still so lousy!

bbmaru

Haha Betty, I still thought your son is a little boy...he's already a grown up!!
Think he shld be recovering fast since adults' immunity is stronger so it should take a shorter time to "spring back" to normal.

Anyway, mosquitoe repellant is the best short-term solution for the time being. For those into aromatherapy, Citronella will be a good oil to use. I have a Lampe Berger at home so I will use these oils called Pyrethre and Citronnelle to repel mosquitoes.

Ah Eng,
That lamp is good for attracting and killing mosquitoes and other flying insects but it can get very messy (and I suppose it's unhygienic)... the insects get electrocuted and their bodies just got "blasted" up by the electric voltage!! Imagine them "wu ma fen shi"... you get pieces of dead insects' bodies all over the floor every now and then...

corolla

ya Limay, the shower head was spoilt in less than a month after using and we have requested for a replacement.

Betty, 55 degree issit on the high side? i have set the minimun at 38 and i find the water oredi very hot! i will try later on. thanks!

cyrusiii

My 1st post here. Although I've been following this thread for many months! haha...
Sorry to hear abt Betty's boy, hope he's better now. Yah, Sengkang does have some dengue cases recently. Guess we all have to be careful.
i haven't moved in yet, but I'll be at blk 2 too