Park Green

bbmaru

Hi Aries,
Ya, I think I better ask the technician to come down and see... that time I read that one neighbour realise his/her aircon got gas leak or something so that why the air con not cold. I did ask the main con pple to check for me during my rectification period and they say no problem... but it's still not cold leh...so sian!

arieson

Carol, luckily you raise the issue. I better check mine too as I got problem getting it on tt time :p Not sure if I am lousy or the aircon is faulty.

banyan24

Hi Carol,
you seem to be an expert in alot of thgs so pls help me on this one. My new teak frame bed with 4 drawers under it mould growing in one of the drawers despite dehumidifier and mothballs, any other thgs can be apply? IF other Pgers know what to use pls help too. thanks.
jes

arieson

Jes,

If that is a new bed, that should not happen as the wood should be treated unless your plan is really very damp. Check with your furniture shop?

bbmaru

Jes,
Your teak bed drawer has not been properly treated that's why now growing mould. Maybe the drying process isn't done well. You can use Lysol to curb the growth of mould. Wipe away the mould with a piece of clean cloth, then spray that surface with Lysol(if it's a lacquered surface, wipe the Lysol off asap so it won't react with the lacquer). If it's the unlacquered part then you can leave it to air dry after you spray onto the wood. It shld keep the mould away for weeks to months, depending on how humid your room is. Are you staying at low floor cos I notice low flrs tend to be more humid. To prevent it from coming back, spray Lysol on that area once every mth, or over a shorter period of time if the mould comes back in weeks.

Mould balls won't help. It only prevent silverfish and moth from your cupboards... Dehumidifier has its limits...

Hope that helps

bbmaru

Forgot to add that when wiping away the mould, the clean cloth has to be dry cos you dun want to further wet the drawer... if you want, you can try to air that particular drawer under the sun during one of the hot weekends so it can further help to curb the mould growth. It actually a good practice to air all your bed drawers under the sun cos mould growth will spread to the rest of the drawers if they are not treated properly too.

banyan24

Hi aries,
just call barang barang, havent get back to me yet....
carol,
thanks for the help, you r right already spread to the other 2 drawers liao

does ntuc or cold storage carry lysol? only got one type or a few types... later go buy immediately.
dont know is it that im seeing thgs. saw some tiny tiny crawly in the drawer... termite??!!!

bbmaru

Jes,
Supermarkets will sell them. Comes in 2 or 3 fragrances (nice but strong). Pharmacies also got sell them...just that diff places sell diff prices
. Each bottle shld cost around $4-$5.

If you buy from Barang Barang, you can insist that they take back their lousy improperly treated bedframe and change a new one for you. But if you are chin chai and will settle for that, then quickly act on the drawers or else the underneath of your bed will ALL ganna sooner or later.

If those tiny tiny creatures you saw are really small (much smaller than ants), most likely they are not termites as termites are a little bit like ant type. If they are very tiny and look a bit roundish, then it's some common insects (i dunno how to classify them) that appear in damp places. If you whole house is humid, you will also see them crawling on the walls in future!!!

banyan24

The mould thg aside, actually very happy to see that most units opposite blk 6 had install lights and curtains liao. Can still remember my excitment when lights and curtains up in my unit
carol, thk u can ask the main con, dunno leh that time the guy that help me polish the kitchen top told me its corian top leh.. me want to confirm whether true or not..

arieson

Jes, maybe you should consider moving the furniture somewhere.....got high chance that something is living in your drawer.

ah_eng

Jes,
I think u got the customer right to return ur bed??!!

Carol,
why on aircon at 26/27 only?? no wonder not cold....hahaha....even my boys room aircon are set at 22/23 degree ....heeheeee teasing u....why not try on them at a lower degree and see if it turns cool faster??

banyan24

ah eng,
me pai seh as that time saw the delivery ppl carry until sweat than somemore now deliver ard 1 mth liao dunno can exchange or not leh...

timeflies

jes,
Wa so serious ahh.... those insects or organisms are fast workers. Think you should sun them under the sun.

Carol
ah eng is rite, turn down lower.

Alvin think you can call V cool see if they have tjose type of films. Or check those car forums see if there are any others who do OEM films and if they carry, think you can pay a bit to ask them to do for you. Maybe once they start doing yours, they see a future in houses, they treat yours as show flats for their services.

melodie

Hi Alvin

I noe wat u're talking abt. My mum's place using that. I'm trying to get her to recall who did the window film for her...

Outside cannot see inside, but inside can see outside right? :p

Hi Carol

The air-con temp. shld be set at ard 25 degrees or below for u to be able to feel the cool breeze...

bbmaru

Ah Eng and Fruitflies too,
Why I didn't lower the temp was for 2 reasons. First the temp was based on the temp I has been setting when I was using my aircon back in my old house. My aircon was cool even at 27-28 on warm nights and can sustain the coolness even when I switch it to economy mode. This inverter aircon is supposed to save energy by adjusting/functioning according to the surrounding temp. It was on a relatively cool night so I expect it to be at least cool. But I can't even feel cool air coming out from it...like air coming out from a weak fan. Only when I turn on the "powerful" mode then it gave out slightly cool air.

Secondly, what I understand is that the lower the temp, the higher the power consumption. So if temp around 26 is supposed to be able to cool the room (moreover my old MBR is bigger than the current one), I dun think I want to pay more for my PUB bill to let the aircon performed at what it's supposed to be at 26 degree. Furthermore, inverter supposed to be more efficient in terms of energy consumption, so that's why I'm wondering why it's under-performing

If the warranty includes the service trips, I going to call soon... anyway it's free so I rather not guess why it's not working as fine was I thought it would be...

ah_eng

Carol,
then ur aircon does sounds faulty. For my case, we on it to 3 fans mode...not powerful mode...took about 5-10 mins..coool already.

laputa

Carol,

The shop is at Blk 32 New Market Road (People's Park Hawker Centre next to OG) #02-1068

From 1 Mar 05 the new address is Blk 34 Upper Cross Street #02-152

The tel number of the shop is 65344377 (for both locations)

dracwy

Carol,
did u jump out to the air con ledge to turn on the air con valve? i did that for my unit, the air cons are quite cold. u may wanna get ur hubby to jump out to the ledge to check whether the valves are turned on, got about 4 or 5 valves, juz be careful...

timeflies

Carol,
Then before they come, you should turn on the aircon down to 18 then call and say not cold at all. cause my bro home also uses inverter. It was cold within minutes.Therefore good to complain now since I see many air con units at the main con areas kekeke....

fruitFLIEStoo,
No leh, they didn't do any hacking at all... I cannot be there to watch them did up my lightbox.I think I remember seeing them running brackets all over my ceiling then install the lightbox. No hacking done.

Carol,
Wa, 26degree is cooling? I on 22 degrees every night...

corolla

Hi neighbours,

Yesterday evening, saw the notice on the PG 1st gathering on 29 Jan 2005 at 1.30pm at function room. Do get ready ur complain list.

arieson

Hi coralla, who is organising the first PG gathering? the managing agent, SLF?

Hi All, how do you identify the aircon valve. Fropping by this 2 days to try out the aircon.

bbmaru

Wa, cool! Finally there's a "gathering" on the complaints... I will definitely attend if nothing crops up that Sat.

MissyLan,
I know you pregnant so your body temp is slightly higher.. that's why you need cooler temp (or is it already a habit?). But dun sleep in aircon room when doing confinement hor... wait ganna "hong sip".

Actually I dun really need a very cool room to be able to sleep. As long as it's comfortable temp to lull me to sleep, I'm ok with it. Moreover, yesterday I went to read up on the manual. The recommended/optimum temp is around the temp I mentioned earlier, i.e. 26-28 degree. It's suppose to be cool enough and yet saves energy. So I'm still trying out to figure what's up with my air con.

Drawcy,
My aircon valves were open that time when I tested them after I got my keys. It's the maincon worker that climbed out to open them for me

limay

Jes - we are also at block 6 - drilling goes on everyday, no peace & quiet on weekends! Which floor are u on?

Aries - yes, the residents get together notice was put up by the managing agent. Will definitely turn up to KPO & meet the other residents!

corolla

Hi, the gathering is organised by the managing agent. The Notice also state the Agenda which include briefing by the Architect and Main Con pple. Refreshment also included :p

bbmaru

Hee, resfreshments provided... I think they come from our 6 mths maintenance fee we've paid. Whatever expenses they incur now come from our maintenance fees...

Good, we will get a chance to see who's the dumb architect who came out with user-unfriendly designs!

banyan24

Hi Limay, im on the 11th floor.

Carol, Eng and Aries: just recieve a call from barang barang. They willing to change the whole bedframe for me
. Im actually quite surprise that they will do that, two thumbs up for their aftersales service.

So far anyone had try Lavish Dine catering? Can give feedbacks? Or any good halal caterer to recommand? Thanks.

bbmaru

Oh is it?? Wee, that's the price to pay for the sufferings of 391 households

Shldn't the person who accepted the architect's designs in the first place be penalised too?

Anyway, since the key pple will be there next Sat, by hook or by crook also got to be there man!

banyan24

Btw, can I check re: the cooker hoob. How come still found oil stains on cupboard doors and oily feel on the floor despite I on the power to 2-3... how to see whether hoob function ok or not? Is there a service person we can call in? I always cover when stir-fry but still end up oil stains all over

Also carol where did you buy the door brush for the main door and how much? thanks...

limay

Hey Jes - hehe...ok, we are on the 8th floor. Of the people in this PG thread, Chinnie is on the 10th, Royce is on the 4th. Another client of my ID is on the 13th & my cousin is on the 3rd! small world
Are ur immediate neighbours in yet? 2 of mine are, the next door one is still doing their reno (they had major hacking for the floor tiles)

banyan24

yap limay, saw ur double happiness sticker on your door when Hubby and me went around to racky. Must have enjoy ur NZ trip rt

Haven see anyone in our block do metal gate yet... maybe bcos of the odd doorway design.. r u planning to have metal gate?

My direct neigbour in twelve level already move in (nice family). My friendly neigbour next door had finish reno too (like the idea that they remove the toilet bowl and water closet from the small wc and they change their kitchen +yard door). the opposite neigbours one under reno the other break key liao

Btw, did u remove the toilet bowl from the wc? coz we didnt do any reno so now wondering how much will that coz?

bbmaru

Hey Jes,
You can buy the door brush (close to $10) at any DIY shops, as well as NTUC. If you or your hubby is a Safra member, you get 5% discount if you buy from Home-Fix DIY shop at Compasspoint. I bought mine at NTUC Rivervale Mall during the 20% household items promo, so I saved almost $2 for each brush! Good deal!

The hob is not a fool-proof gadget to suck all the oily fumes when you cook. You sounded as if you cook very often or you cook very oily food like fried stuff. Otherwise, it shldn't be that oily... I cooked a few times since I moved in, but so far not that oily leh...

banyan24

carol, oic.. just stick the brush on or have to nail.. planning to get those as everwhere dusty (head big when cleaning).
no lah, only stir-fried, no deep-fry as dun like oily stuff.. just trying to figure out why hoob nt functioning as well as expected.

bbmaru

Haha, you are having problems with your hob and I'm having problems with my aircon

The ones I bought at NTUC is the stickable ones, thou they came with additional nails in case you want to double secure... or could it be becos the adhesive tape is not sticky enough in the long run that's why they includes some standby nails?

arieson

Hi Limay, why's your neighbour hacking the floor tiles? Are they asking the main con to do it as unhappy with the flooring?

Jes, congrats on getting new furniture.

ah_eng

Jes,
Good for u! Now got another new bed...kekeke

Aiya! I cannot attend the gathering! Gg with my hubb to pray his ah gong for his death anniversary!

Carol,
26 to be the temp? Hmm....tonite I will try and see if its cooling. No boys tonite, so can sleep in aircon room ...haaa!

limay

Aries -their tiles were uneven (quite bad actually), so the had the main-con hacked out some of the marble flooring to replace...the balcony tiles also had to be changed cos the floor was slanted & collecting rain water!

Jes - yah, ours is the door with the glittery gold sticker! We didnt change the measly kitchen toilet but we did do tiny blue tiling at the bottom section of the yard area for our dog to scratch himself against. Chinnie on the 10th floor removed her toilet bowl - you might want to check with her on the cost

We are the 2nd to shift in on our floor; 1st neighbour didnt do any ID work & shifted in the day they got their keys, the other one just repainted the walls & in the process of moving in now!

banyan24

Limay thanks for the info.

Hi Chinnie, may I noe how much esther charge for removal of toilet bowl + water closet? Do u need to retile the whole WC? thanks.

Hi Carol,
Me now hormones change, became cooler, before pregnancy, I scared hot, scared like siao... 26degree, I cannot sleep liao, I find you drink Kopi if I cannot sleep! I am the one who said that the 1st designer was sacked. Think the one who accepted it also kinda siao one...

I went to IKEA and bought 2 rolls of window shield. Not able to shield ultra-violet etc... only can block peeping tom... hehehe... I can stick myself. By the way, our ELBA stuiff is old ones... Old meaning outdated... I saw this design few years back...

Alvin,
I think PG only accepts brand from Sunshield.

bbmaru

Maybe the designer was been "considerate" to want to have the light point near the wardrobe so that the light near the wardrobe can shine into the wardrobe and easily see the clothings in the wardrobe mah... who knows backfired since not all want to have downlights in the MBR

Oh, I have a question... any idea where we can park our bicycle if we dun want to store it in our unit? I saw a few bicycles in the car park...can we park like that? If we dun have a bicycle parking lot, they shld provide and allocate a bicycle parking lots for those who owns a bicycle...

Paging for all FENGSHUI Da Si,

Can I place a mirror in front of my main door? That means when opening the door, will see mirror in front of me...

timeflies

wa... AGM
Wonder when they will form the committee. I think all of you here in this forum should be in the committee and we can discuss certain issues online and when we put up for proposition, not alot of resistance.

Carol
I think if he thought of putting light Box in MBR i think hes stupier... why create a light box pt for the MBR and not living room. Wa unless 1 architect design one part of the house.
sigh i think at the end of the say they will jus claim Ïts within Industrial Tolerence"so they wun cdo anything

Aries,
For my unit, when I open my main door, I will "bang" into a wall. Hehehe... I am hanging a mirror on that wall not on the back of the door..