Park Green

samily

Hi fruitFLIEStoo,

I have been studying this problem and came to several conclusions.

Conclusion :
Contradict to most Singaporean beliefs, the "fresh" air in Sgp doesn't turn out to be very fresh, due to the high number of diesel vehicles that we have in our city plus the humidity, the air in Sgp carries a lot of dust and is very polluted. (Put a monitor in a room with open window and another one in an air-con room for a month or two and see the difference.)

The only way to reduce the dust in the house is to on the air-con 24hrs and completely seal up the house. Completely includes sealing up the holes below the doors and every single hole that allows the polluted air to come in. Also, that will prevent the humidity from coming in. Humidity causes the dust in the air to stick to surfaces. Noticed that the surface of home applicanes when exposed to open air after a long time have this sticky feeling when you touch it.

Bottomline is : Keep the bad natural air and humidity out of your house. You don't want to breath in that air anyway.

timeflies

Adrian
So jia lat ahh.... are there hair line scratches or deep scratches below ur door? Think you must start to make yourself heard. So guess you are at your unit today?

Missylan
You have problems with your marble too? is it black marks on the edges? Did they grind for you? I heard that grinding of marble causes that.

Samily
Guess I have to just continue to clean the house regularly. Since my lungs have been filled with those air for so long, if too clean think they will not survie haaa.
I tried those plastics to put at the door still dust came in. think DUSTS is every where. We can see them or feel them till they unite. So if you cant beat them, we just have to make do with them. ;)

To all,
Have a great day which builds up to a weekend.

hypoxia

hi fruitflies...

yup was there at 830am .. now home cause leaving town for a while..

its not just bout the scratches.. theres a hump at the doorstep of my MBR... funny rite ... think got to paint the hump yellow and black .. mauhaah!!

told the main con i wanted to him to assign another fella to me for the works.. he agreed that the work done is very sloppy..

timeflies

adrian

wa so abd......
i ever ask before the workers, the Indians will always blame the china workers and vice versa. at the end of the day you do not know who did it

melodie

Hi Eig / Ah Eng

We're having our housewarming party on the same weekend!

We are getting four seasons catering for the buffet session at our place. Food is good!

Neogarden and jack's place catering is gd too!

melodie

ah eng ah... not the four seasons hotel lah.. haha

It's just tat the caterers named themselves four seasons catering lor... hehe

not ex, abt the same as neo garden lor

limay

Melodie - when can we come n Kpo ur place? all done up now ya?
rachel - hehe...u recognised us? yah, was a long flight back, so tired...n now so sian to be back at work after a long break!

ah_eng

Mel...i see....kekeke
Btw..EIG party this week and mine same as urs..next week lah

Actually this week i got 2 small parties at home too....sat-for my inlaws and sun-for my younger bday ;)

ah eng,
Hmm.. food tasting! Wah liao, like wedding banquet! Haahaa...

fruitFLIEStoo,
Yup, had problem with my marble flooring too. Not black marks lah. Standing at my doorway and as sunshine shines through the window, I can see 2-3 rows(from main door to living room window) of flooring problem. Like blur blur stuff. But this blur blur stuff when looked closely, its like white cement seeping into only edges of the marble. Think the workers apply the white cement onto the lippage too long liao and the white cement seep into the marble surface. But dunno what my contractor did, now everything ok liao. Flooring looks shiny and good. There are no discolouration, scratches or uneveness for my unit leh.
Just found another fault, my master tub, there is a cracked tile... Hai, have to write in again!

pinkymint

I have tried four seasons catering and dmc food catering before. Both are good. esp like the kueh la pis from dmc.. mouth watering...

melodie

Limay, u can come on the 22nd...My 3rd housewarming already (house very warm liao :p) hope to see u then

Ah eng... oops, got mixed up... so eig's housewarming party is this weekend ah...

bbmaru

I noticed that PG residents are very "on" type... they are always pple playing tennis every day, day or night...father and son, a bunch of friends, couples... all like playing tennis. Hee, I can watch how well pple play tennis when I return home every night

Anyone used the BBQ pits already? How you all find it? I find the "open air shelter" at the bench area stupid...

limay

hehe...beginning always more "On" mah...was looking out at 10+pm yesterday & the gym was full! Hubby & I said we would go gym/swim every other day...but have yet to start! hah

timeflies

missylan,

so good, your flooring no problem. Your contractor charged you for the magic touches he did?

Carol + limay
Tennis i think will always be "on" for the non-office hours. I went to my friends condo Queens (singapore tallest), their badminton and tennis is scary. Say you wanna book at non-office hr at 7pm, on any day say friday. You would have to go down to the guardroom at 12midnight last thurday to book if not if you wait till 7am before you go work, it will be taken up. Scary right!
but guess its because they have many residents.

Oh yes Guess their conservancy............ $190
Wa so cheap. My friend has two cars and he pays lesser maintenance fees per month than HDB households as each car in the multi storey car park is charged $90. Plus disposal charges, HDB households pays more than a condo each month.

sigh PG should have built higher than we need not pay so much each month

poox

four seasons pretty good but i've got a bad experience with them....my yam paste desert came without yam paste! so my guests only had coconut milk and sago for desert

my personal fav is angeli, used them for my church wedding, quite a few of my guest approach me for their contacts. check out angeli.com.sg

fruitFLIEStoo,
Yah, go home liao will not keep staring at the floor... wait neighbour thought I have mental problem... keep staring at floor! Hahaha

bbmaru

Hi Fruitfliestoo (what a long and complicated name *LOL*),
You moved in already? Just as I was saying that tennis court is perpetually booked, I observed that it was not as "hot" as the swimming pool over the weekend. The jaccuzi was so packed! Till now, I still have not gone to the gym, played tennis or soaked in the pool since I moved in a week ago cos I'm still busy unpacking... it's such a slow and painful process... too many things.. dun even know where and how to store them?!!

The housework is also anor killer... the floor gets dusty in just a few days (mine shld be better as compared to some units cos I put a door brush at my main door) and have to mop often...

timeflies

hi Carol,
Haha it was meant to be timelies, Furitflies too but end up the other way round.

Nope I have not moved in yet. Have a comfortable time frame so will not be moving soon.
Yes dusts are EVERYWHERE.
slow down with the housework and start to enjoy what PG has to offer. Housework and cleaning is never ending. Keep an eye close and enjoy the pool jacuzzi n gym....

limay

Hey Carol, Yah...the dust is unbelievable! I cant even be bothered to mop/wipe cos everything gets coated again in no time! hehe...excuse for being lazy

What is worst is the noise pollution!! Some unit above us is doing major reno, and we get woken up by the sound of drilling even during the weekends
So people who are eagerly waiting to shift in, there is not rush...wait till ur neighbours are in first!

timeflies

WA 7.30am drilling starts wa....
to start work so early on a Sunday is barbaric.
Mus start educating the drillers on the bible. Sunday is rest day haaa

ah_eng

Hmm..i tot that there shd be no drilling work on Sunday? Sat, my electrician came at 5 plus, the guard had called and asked if there is any drilling work. After my assurance, then they let the electrician leave. I heard from my ID tat if there is any drilling after the 'restricted time', the ID firm or contractor are at risk of getting their licence suspended.

Carol,
still unpacking aah? Tot ur storeroom shelves are ready? Then make full use of it ...kekeke

limay

My god, then I should lodge a complain man...our place has drilling all times of the day...a couple of days I even heard drilling at 11+pm! And weekends the din usually starts by 8am, no need to use alarm to wake up anymore!!

ah_eng

Limay,
some drilling works could be done by the residents themselves instead of the contractors. Then complain oso no use. But at least let the management knows. Drilling at 11pm is too inconsiderate!

limay

Yah Ah Eng, was assuming so..maybe drilling to hang up paintings & such. Will have to make do with having some inconsiderate residents I suppose...

Yup,
Resident can do drilling in afternoon time(even Sunday is ok) mah, why make life difficult for the rest of the residents!?!

So Gan Cheong to hang the beautiful pictures...

My unit can be ready this weekend liao. Hehehe... Luckily, I dun have to move furnitures etc... just clothings, baby stuff and myself. Hubby will be carrying the stuff. Hohoho...

Estimated end of this month or first week of Feb. Hope not CNY!!! Aaahh... driving me crazy! Scared, packing half way and AAAHHH....

Eer... must pay cover charge to see my baby you know... Hmm... I shall plan out with hubby see how to charge. Maybe ParkGreeners have 10%.
242194.png

kenneth

Hi fellow forumers esp those with false ceiling, got a question to ask.
At the location where the lowered false ceiling meets the aircon unit, did ur contractor leave a gap for the air con (which will look very ugly) or did u pay for the air-con contractor to shift the air con unit lower? if so..how much did u pay per unit?

poox

anyone of u put the sun protector film on the sliding doors and windows? Is it true that we need to follow certain colour code? Can someone share the quotation with me? u can email me at [email protected]

rchtym

Hi limay,
I agree with you our block a lot of units still doing reno and drilling. I was there today the whole day to take delivery already can not take the noise. Think i am glad to move in later.

ah_eng

Limay,
just bear with it .....no choice!

Missylan,
if ur baby comes out on CNY eve...at 12am...wah..we can see u on TV....kekeke...btw..u expecting boy or girl??

kompass

Hi Nutty,

I don't like the "gap" around the air con either. My ID managed to install the false ceiling above the air-con unit such that there is no "gap" around the air con yet has sufficient space to service the air con. However, the downlights used must be the horizontal lying sort and not the vertical types.

jam

Nutty,
I did shift the two aircons in the living room cos' I have a very think false ceiling. However, there'll still be a gap between the false ceiling and the aircon because you need space for the aircon to take in air from the room and also to service the aircon in future.. in fact, we are now very worried that the space may not be sufficient for the servicing....
we shifted the aircon at abt $400.

limay

Yah...cant wait for the noise & dust to settle!!

Anyway - we finally got the pix from the NZ honeymoon online! Lots of scenic shots, anyone interested to take a peek, just give me a holler with ur email addy ya!

ah eng,
Cannot lah... that pregnant face on TV... terrible...

fruitFLIEStoo,
No leh, no hacking needed. Wires are hidden inside the lightbox itself liao leh.

poox,
I was thinking of getting the sunshield for my living room also. But after much consideration, I think dun need cos I got curtains liao. Live in liao then see how first lor, if really very warm, then get ppl to add on sunshield.

alvin

Hi Missylan,

I have called up Sunshield & he only provide these film that both inside & outside also cannot see. I am looking for these film that I can see outside but outside cannot see us for the window in the kitchen be'cos we are so near to our next blk neighbour, any lobang?

bbmaru

Anyone having problems with their aircons? Does it take a long time to cool the room? I switch on a few times and I dun get instant cool air... I can hardly feel it... I switch it on at 26-27 degrees and left the room closed for half an hr and I still hardly feel the coolness? What could be wrong? Can't be the inverter technology right?

timeflies

missylan,
The light box is by the side rite. Then the wiring is in the center of the house. How to conceal in the light box? The person who did light box say electrician will hack into celing or will have to run external casing.
How did yours hide the wires in the centre of the hall?

Alvin
hahaha think those police interrogators can help you with that haaa... your house can then be like interrogation house.. you see and take notes of all your surroundings haaa

alvin

Hi fruitfiletoo,

I think only the police interrogator have this kind of film keke..... Btw, beside sunshield, do you know any other company that also do this kind of film?

arieson

Carol,

For your aircon, do you feel any cold air coming from the vent. If not, then I think it is time to call the technician when the aircon is under warranty.

laputa

My friend owns a hardware shop, selling all kinds of home equipment/appliances, e.g. shower heads, taps, electric drills, ladders, felt protectors, WD40, locks, measuring tapes, ropes, safety boots, gloves, dish drainers, door stoppers, batteries... almost everything you can expect from premium DIY shops like Home-Fix. His prices are sometimes half-price, or even lower.

If you're interested, PM me with the items you want and I can check the pricing for you. No obligations to buy.

bbmaru

Rochelle,
Aiyo, now then you come into our thread to advertise for your friend... so many of us who had moved in for some time had already bought most, if not all of what we need... I have already paid hundreds of $$ to other hardware shops and NTUC...

But never mind, you can still give us his/her contacts and we will pay a visit to the shop when we need more household items. Thanks!